(2011/09) Sep 2011

hmmm... i m not very sure oso le.. itz not all "positive effects" as promised but some ba.. i dun see in the first yr tat he can sleep sound n smooth in the middle of the night but becoz of his bad reflux tatz y he couldnt sleep well thruout the night oso.. As in long run, maybe there will be some good effect ba like in term of his temperament.. becoz tis time i m going to use both babyplus n oso classical music for tis preg..

Sing Yee, the set I have is similar to Babyplus, but you can hook it up to your own CD player. So you don't have to listen to the same 'boring' music if you don't wish to :p

WhatI did was to rotate different types of classical music. When I'm in the car, we normally play the Disney songs (those from cartoons).

My dad is classical music 'siao', so he has loads of CDs and he will have a 'pick of the week' for his grandson. And he used to make me listen to Sound of Music when I was preggie too (and my boy loves the DVD and can sing all the songs with high accuracy on lyrics - complete with actions!).

Positive thing I saw from my boy: Easy to soothe to sleep with soft humming or soft music in background. & can sleep through loud noises (ok is this cos of my job when I was preggie. haha. all the crazy students shouting everyday.)

Wah all talking abt food here... Makes me hungry .

In my first few mths: I just avoided all seafood n slowly catchin up on meat cos somehow bb doesn't like all these..

Hb still restricts seafood for me till today. Anyway I usually refrain from seafood on normal days.

For steamboat buffet: can try hotpot at m hotel. Soup base very nice..has tomyum, laksa,chicken n fish .. Hygiene n service all very gd.

Chong Qing s standard def dropped. Def not going back agn.

Anyway also be careful abt stalls u buy food from.. ESP now that we r preg. We r usually very particular abt hygiene.. Be it spore or overseas .

Loveberries: u don't have to really eat sugary stuff. Just by eating normal food is enough to raise sugar level. Drinking fruit juice is one of the fastest ways. Just eat like every 2hrs or so. But keep some sweets in your bag for emergency.

mareike: i cannot stop eating them[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but my sources are fresh.proven cos i eat them both preg.

ilovesashimi: go to sakuraya at parkway.cheap and good.or not goodwood park jap restaurant.I only eat these 2 places de sashimi when i preggy.but the prices is alot of differences.You'll enjoy sakuraya.I'm sure.

I go to amara hotel for fresh oysters my hubby works there so he will personally clean the oysters for me so we know it is safe.den eat with loads of lemon juice and tobasco sauce!!!Slurp!!YUMZ!!!:D""""

Can anyone tell me wat is detailed scan? I had opt for amino hence not taking Oscar, do I need to do detailed scan too?

amnio tests the amniotic fluid for down syndrome and other genetic defects. Detailed scan is to basic look at the whole of baby and his developments and measurements to make sure everything is in order.so i think you will be doing detailed scan too. I enjoy the extra long period studying and having a close look at cute little baby in my tummy so intimately:D

Hunnymummy: these are jap restaurants wor. Sure sashimi not from japan? Aiyoh the way u describe oysters makes my saliva drippin non stop. Haha.

P00h: good luck in ur retest. Hope everything goes smoothly.

Jojo: why did u opt for amnio? It's typically something not really by choice. But if u gg for it then detailed scanning or Oscar is not really needed. At least that's what my Gynae said. Note that amnio also has some risk in miscarriage unlike other tests.

Ilovesashimi- I'm over 35 heard Oscar result always give wrong result, don't wad to go thru 2 tests. I knew that some risk is there but had decided to do the test after reading reviews n advice fron frenz.

jojo: i see.. pls have good rest after the test.. gfs told me, MC will be given so that you can have some rest after dat.

Schedule this coming Monday for the test, think 2 days of MC will be given to rest.

btw, simbaobao love yr food blog- especially the pasta look so yummy !

Jojo: actually I'm gg for amnio too under Gynae suggestion. Main reason cos I was under high risk cat for my #1 although then I wasn't even 35. So this time round Gynae said dun waste $$ and just go for amnio. when urs scheduled?

It can be a long process depending on bb position. Previously it took more tjan half a day and got to keep drinking water and walk around for bb to be in the right position.

Ilovesashimi-Thk for informing . Will get prepare to wait for at least half a day. I thou it is only a 30 mins test. When urs test scheduled?

jojo & ilovesashimi, my fren's wife did the amino test and she was given mc for 1 wk for full bedrest to prevent m/c. maybe it is better to take more days of rest after your amino tests to be on ks side. good luck for the test!

jojo & sashimi - good luck for your upcoming amino test [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good night everyone! Had a lousy day at work today. Hope tomo will be a better one for all of us!

good morning all! hope everyone had a gd sleep last night. I was assaulted with leg cramp in the middle of the night. So painful ... still can feel the strain on my left calf.

what can i do to ease the pain? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pommes u can try to drink some isotonic drink cos when our body not enough salt then will cramp.

I was admitted to kk last night cos I having contraction, hope tat baby is ok.

adelene: oh dear! blessings to u and baby. take care.

Pommes : how many months are u now? if really in pain, better to go see reliable therapist..

i usually use essential oils(u have to get good quality PURE ones) to rub on areas if there's any ache or anywhatsoever.

adelene - oh dear! Hope u n bb are doing well now.

bunnz - I'm at week 16 now. Hmm.. where do get good and pure essential oil? I have a lot of these essential oil at home. Mostly from body shop. But they discontinued so I bought from push cart at Suntec.

adelene

gosh, hope everything is ok for u n bb now.. remember to rest more n dun move around becoz itz very dangerous n unusual for u to have such contraction so early...

p00H,Nurse also called me to go back to retake urine test, same comment as urs! i believe the lab contaminated our urine, wan earn extra $40 from us to do another test!

if there's a good response I may start a spree but provided the prices I get here in Thailand is lower than SG

Quick peek here.

Ade, take good care of yourself now n rem dun move unnecessarily. Too early for contractions now, must bed rest n bed rest. Can the docs give u any med/drip to lessen/stop the contractions? I rem being on drip n given jab to stop mine when I had them early last preg. Hopes all's well for u n Bb soon!

Jojo: mine scheduled on 19th April @ TMC. Yours? It can be as fast as 30 mins provided bb be good and be in the right position. They actually poke the needles away from the baby so as not to hurt it. For my 1st one, my gal was so curious, towards the end when doc was pulling out the needle, she stretched out her hands towards it.. even the nurse made a slight worrying sound but before she can reached, the needle was out. It was quite an experience. *phew*

Mareike: Thanks. Not sure though cos the last time I was only give the day MC. I guess as long as needle didnt touch the bb, should be fine ba. I just started in new role in my company so not so good to take long MC. Will pray very very hard that everything goes smoothly.

Adeline: hope both you and bb are doing well.

Pommes: Thanks Pommes. For leg cramp at night, try to wear socks when sleeping - it helps. For massaging - i would suggest pure olive oil too cos thats what my prenatal massage lady suggested too.

El-Nino: what spree are you thinking of doing?

ILS - Mt Sapola, essential oil because its light, a friend told me it cost her $18/bot, but cost $12 here in Thailand. will check if prices are reasonable before I decide. waiting for their response

Morn when i swallow the fish oil, bec of the size of the pill (its big), almost make me vomit out.. haiz. hate swallowing big pills.

@adelene: How did you know they are contractions? Sorry huh, coz its my bb #1, I am just wondering what are the tell tale signs... or does any other mummy know?

Take care everyone!

adelene: rest well and take care.. hope u and bb are fine..

chine: you also got the call from clinic?? i am going down soon

p00h, yes. but i wrking tis sat too, can onli go down nex sat. u update me ur results ok? i am unsure wat hapen, so cockup

Nurse from gynae clinic just called to tell me the results from my triple blood test I took on sat are ok. Phew! Decided not to take the Oscar and just do the same tests I did when I had #1.

hi Sept mummies! I'm from Oct thread. wondering if any of you interested to join Private Group InspireMum Pre-Natal Yoga 10 sessions at $300

The studio: Inspire Mum & Baby @ Tanjong Pagar UP Studio (CENTRAL)

79b Tanjong Pagar Rd (5 mins walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT)

We are trying to gather some ppl to form the private group... and looking to held on weekends. Do let me know if anyone interested to join us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me again, signing in from out of singapore. hehe.

Okay, have accepted those who have added me and have added you all to the group. Start posting! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For the rest who have PM-ed me, I have sent you requests, do accept it ya. When I receive the notification on the acceptance, I'll add you to the group.

@koume: Congrats! Focus on getting enough rest for yourself and baby!

okay, once again, signing out for now. Hope everyone is having a fab Tuesday! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Koume: Woman of courage! =)) Way to go in making sacrifices for baby! Sure your little one will appreciate you lots for it. =) Take even better care of yourself then!

Mareike and Hunnymummy: I’m also a good friend of piles. Sigh…it started long time ago when I had bad constipation over a few years and then it developed. So now in pregnancy, it visits whenever I forget my trusty fibre drink. Hunnymummy, if you get it so often, then maybe consider to get one? It can get much worse after we deliver coz we won’t dare to push for fear of tearing the wound! Mine is very good…from Metamucil. =)) As for iron pills, I know that mine has an ingredient that prevents constipation. Touch wood, but so far since I started being on iron, bowel movements have been perfectly good…thank God!

Bunnz: My gynae gave me iron in end of 1st trimester after the results of the blood test for haem levels are out. Mine was only slightly low but she (as always kiasu) decided to give me still for safety reasons…so I guess not everyone may need it, depending on their haem levels…

Loveberries: How about trying complex instead of refined carbs as a good source of slow-release sugar? Your doc should be referring to that…i.e. things like brown rice and wholewheat bread etc!

Adelene: Please take good care…I’m sure you’ll be fine yea? Try not to worry too much too! =)

choco15 : is it? i need to go look at face book again.. hehe

Pommes : i ship mine from US.

If any gals really int, let me know.

can google youngliving essential oils

prices are ard US20 (excl shipping) range for the more popular and common ones for common minor aliments like flu/fever/sore throat/indigestion/headache etc

one oil is enough for the above ailments ..peppermint (safe enough to consume,240 drops per bottle)

i dont trust those body shops or any ones via the push carts..the oils have to be top grade theruputic oils. also any aromatherapy oil which needs to be burnt over candle light is not pure. cos the heat wld have further damaged the oils.