(2011/09) Sep 2011

Choco, Niño - actually my symptoms for this Bb is also different hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] guess symptoms r not that accurate.

Simbaobao, yes, my scan at camden medical centre will give me a cd back. Got it for #1. hopefully cost cutting, I still want for my #2 haha ;D Not sure abt detailed scans elsewhere [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I recall for my detailed scan for #1 at TMC, can bring thumbdrive along and they will save in thumbdrive for us. They did not provide CD...

Not too sure about now though...

@sychosis: I realized we have a mutual friend in Sylvia.. Hahah.

@simbaobao: hehe. I know Amanda too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all... hope all had a great weekend so far!

as for me, weekend was not so good. went to KKH 24 hours women a&e on fri as shingles still spreading and was feeling worried. got assigned to a doc which does has not have U/S machine and only had doppler to hear bb heartbeat. no medicine was given and was a wasted trip. on sat, i suddenly had bad cramps whole day and was so freaked out. so hb sent me to kkh 24 women a&e again. this time managed to do u/s and showed bb growing well. wat a relief. unfortunately, i had UTI instead. argghhh... according to that doc, coz immune system is down, so can easily contract other illness. now really must take care. hopefully no more illness after this for me. does anyone knows where can I find 100% unsweetened cranberry juice?

during the scan, tried to ask the doc to check if can see the gender but my naughty bb refused to cooperate. so i guess have to wait for detailed scan or my next gynae visit and hope can see the gender.

dolphin - did you take up PEM's herbal package?

chocolate15 - She (CK) is my sec school's friend.

So happy to see many more joining the FB group. But don't ditch this forum.. ok? Wishing everyone a good Sunday! Will log in later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning ladies!

@mareike - try to drink more water and also cranberry juice for the UTI problem. I had tt condition yrs ago. Would they give u antibiotics after the urine culture results are out? I remembered it took a couple rounds of antibiotics to recover and also have to depend on what bacteria u r infected with.

@pommes - i signed up with PEM and took their herbal package too cos we feel tt it will be a hassle to keep going to the medicinal hall to buy the herbs when the CL is going to prepare the tonic for me. But I think it will be cheaper if you buy them urself but then we wanted to save the trouble.

@gina - i've accepted ur fb le. how abt the grp? can i search for it myself or have to invite?

Going to my mum's place for lunch soon... will log in later

@Mareike Do you wish to drink cranberry juice to improve/prevent UTI? Quite difficult to find unsweetened cranberry juice but i bought a alkaline drink(satchel forms n mix with water) from my gynae to decrease the acidity in the body. Apparently, that helps to prevent UTI.

Hope we will be able to see bb gender on next visit.

@gina Sorry leh , but still cannot and i didnt see any request in FB. I try searching September 2011MTB also cannot find. Or do u want to put down the link here to guide me to the page?

Yay finally I'm in the group! Will take some time to run through all the mummies' individual profiles later haha...

Mareikebb: I think you can try Nature's Farm...my ex-colleague got it from there previously. Yea UTI very common. Is yours accompanied by fever and the flu symptoms too?

@igop: I think I posted earlier that I can't find your email address. If you don't mind, can you resend pl?

For those who have sent me a PM with your email add, I will be requesting for you to be friends.

Afterwhich, you just need to accept my request and I will add you to the group. You will be able to see the link to the group on the left column of the homepage. For those using iPhone, you can select Pages on the main menu interface.

I will have limited Internet access next 2 days cos out of town but will login when I get access. And will update once I receive your PM.

So if you don't hear from me yet, not to worry. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

janice, kkh only did urine strip test and say i have mild UTI based on the test results and my description of the pain. was given 5 days of antibiotics and some satchets to mix with water to drink. the doc says by end of today, the pain should subside. now the pain is getting less intense.

igop, i think the alkaline drink you said should be same as what kkh gave me. but is only for 5 days. yes, is thinking of taking cranberry juice regularly to prevent UTI from happening again. was told is common to have UTI often when pregnant so thot better to take precaution.

bisforbb, thanks. i will check it out nature farm later. nope, I did not have flu or fever, just bad cramps at womb, vagina and cervix area. that's why thot something wrong with bb and quickly go KKH A&E. this is the first time i got UTI so didn't know it was UTI til doc told me.

janice & pommes, actually, if you can get the list of herbs you need for confinement, you can ask go to the shops at bugis (near simalu temple) and buy. it is much cheaper there than any medicinal halls. the shop that is famous there is called long ma biao or something. my MIL always go there to buy herbs to brew soups for whole family.

Mmmm anyone did detail scan in NUH before? hehe i dun mind bringing my own CD/thumb drive to store the image back..

Gina: oh.. hehe wat a small world.. i know her from forum too :p

Actually can we dun take herbal bath? Just normal hot water??? I am very scared tat it might coz irraition on my skin. i ever bought the lemongrass shower foam from the BP section.. i cannot use it everyday.. if not, i will get patches on my skin after tat :s

Mummies, do u notice tat ur tummy is getting heavier? i felt a big pressure on my tummy these few days.. is it normal??? HB told me is baby dancing inside ..

Gina I just resend you my email. Thanks

@Mareike Heh , mine is a box that comes in around 20 satchels. And on the box, it says can drink 3-4 times daily. But my gynae asked me to drink once a day. Its citrus flavor and quite refreshing. I like ! Btw, how does the urine strip test indicates u have UTI? Cos im curious by the urine strip test at every gynae visit... What does that test for?

@simbaobao , my tummy also become heavier and i always have the stretching feel . Even if thats bb moving, i also dun know cos i cant really tell the difference.

igop: i can feel more movement now though not the powerful one.. and the side of the waist like going very "aching" esp @ nite..

Simbaobao, I get that aching waist feeling too! Think it's my sleep position though... tried adjusting last nite with 3 pillows and feel better now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

janice - did you find the herbal tonic soup help you in anyway?

mareike - my mum is checking out is it really that much to buy all the herbs. She is also concerned that I may not be suitable to take such tonic soup at one go.

sung - Missed out your post earlier on. I would luv to have the CD of my baby. You mean the sonographer is a silly person? Why? He/ She talks a lot?

-----------

I'm at week 16 now.. but I dun feel anything.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/uhoh.gif]

@pommes Did u go for the hospital tour at gleneagles? How was it arrange and how was it? i emailed them but they only came back to me with the prices but no details of the hospital tour.

igop - I haven't gone for the hospital tour yet. But I got the details.

Mon, Wed, Fri - 3pm

Tues 12 noon

Thursday 4pm

Sat - 11am

Call 64705610/ 5615 to make your hospital tour appt. Was told weekday usually quite okay. But for weekend, must call 1-2 weeks in advance to book your place.

Thanks pommes. will check it out. Im considering mt A too bcos i was told that its a non profit hospital and the profit goes to charity in states. Furthermore, its nearer to my place. But more or less, im settled with Gleneagles and wish that the hospital tour can convince me .

Simbaobao : I went to nuh for my #1

, will be going there for #2 also as their package is much cheaper n location is near my house.

But as for delivery I'll go to tmc.

During confirmnt for #1 I also use the herbs boil with water then use for shower.

My Edd change to 22-sep, pls help update, thanks.

Hvnt know gender yet, 2 more weeks to see gyne. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mareika,

Take care. Cranberry helps to prevent UTI so u might want to get some. In the meantime, rest well!

simbaobao,

not sure if tummy is heavier but my bump is really growing at quite a fast speed from last week. Looks like my maternity clothes got to come out soon!

chocolate15,

I checked the chinese calendar. Our age plus month of conception is supposedly boy. Let's see how zhun the chinese calendar is. Heh.. Though i too wish for another girl. more convenient in terms of pass me downs and pri sch registration. heh

#1 pray & love, thanks. my hubby already helped me bought from nature farm.

pommes, how much additional you need to top up for the herbs? according to my MIL, the 1st 2 weeks after giving birth, cannot take bu. think after 2 weeks then can start starting herbs. also, purchase those rice wine like hong zao wine to cook food is not very expensive and can use for many meals. hope this is of help to you.

tmr will be the start of 16 week for me. feel like it is a dream that i managed to come so far. yet, can't wait for sep to arrive and deliver my little angel to feel really secure that my little angel is alive and in my arms. silly me right?

hi ladies.. what a weekend!

Lion King was so cute!! Love all the animal effects. Had a super nice dinner just opp the threatre..

Everything went well till we got the news my grandfather passed on ..we were on our way home then.

Everybody is at the funeral now except me.

MOther said not to go first..hb said not to even go at all..I thought at least go once wld be gd enough for me just to pay my respects.

one part of me is saying not to get attached to my grandfather's physical body (I dont have to see him as I stilll can do my part for him even though i'm not at the funeral, the other part is saying going once to pay respects is ok)

Shang Nao Jin

Getting restless at home now!

Hb is at funeral doin my part for me..

Only consolation is I made it to the temple this morning. Some tibet monks were there doing a mini retreat.

Mareike : rem to drink lots of water..I got UTI once before..can change undies more often and wear cotton ones as often as possible.

Vivien: I see.. I went NUH for Oscar too n will b doing detail scan with them in may.

Haven't decided if I wan go tmc or mt a.. Headache deciding these 2 Pl..

Asura: my tummy Oso became bigger overnite.. My Sis told me is normAl.. Will always happened.. I felt it much heavier nw compare to few weeks ago...

My maternity skirt oso can't fit alrdy.. Became so uncomfortable... Nw I kept wearing dress coz more comfortable..

simbaobao : maternity skirt cant fit?? wow that's quick

mb u can make decisions when u go for hospitals tour

still trying to find my wat in fb for the group

Bunnz: coz I found it during the 1st mth den who knows tummy suddenly balloon up much faster den I expected.. Lol n my bunny doesn't like very fitting clothing.. So no choice but to left in in cold palace 1st..

bunnz,

I remember my grandma passed away when my cousin was pregnant. She attended the funeral on one of the nites but she had a red string tied to her waist. U can check if that will help if u really wanna attend.

I do agree that physically dont need to attend. When my #1 was born, i din go tombsweeping on my grandma's tomb. the nite after they visited her tomb, that nite i dreamt of her telling me that she wanted to see my gal. woke up and see a moth in my room. Scary lor.. anyway, went down to her alter to show her my new baby. Until now i still never go qingming but i go pray at her alter with my gal every CNY. No more dreams. Was thinking it was quite weird because i was never attached to my late grandma.

Asura79 : thanks for advice. Have to see how it goes ..My paternal grandpa passed away last nov and this morning only was his tablet put up. MUm also asked me to stay home.

Haiz.. i better go do more chanting for them..

weird things do happen and i do enjoy the fact that they cant be explained.

simbaobao: oic lady shd hv told u whether can wear till full term etc.. anyway after birth still can wear. i'm expectin my maternity pants/bras to be loyal thruout!!

Simbaobao, actually, some ppl just dun like pants/skirt during pregnancy. I have ex-colleagues who are like that. They just don't like the elastic around their waist, even if it's loose or low.

Bunnz/#2 : Yeap but nvm tat skirt still can b used as normal wear after birth *hopefully*

hb told me to keep it for #2 den wear .. Lol I felt like telling him.. I wanna stop at 1 eh...

#2: Yeap ESP nw the tummy suddeny balloon up my lil tummy doesn't enjoy being tied up.. Not even when I wear it low -_-" cannot expose my tummy to others beside the daddy.. I wad telling hb.. Baby n daddy same frequency.. Both r conservative.. Can only let their eyes see only ..

@pommes - this is my #1 leh... I don know if their tonics will help. We ordered from them during our confirmation of their service out of convenience.

@mareike - Ic. so they didn't do culture.

And agree that if have the list of tonics, can go and buy the tonics ourselves. But don have list Ha... I doubt my MIL and mum knows much abt these tonics too. Maybe when my MIL finds out that we ordered tonic from our confinement agency, she will start nagging (y u don go shop and buy huh?! etc...).

@Asura - what chinese calender? u have the link to share?

janice,

I saw the photocopy version. Some of my friends have it. Not sure where to find it. If able to get, will share it.

For herbs, need to buy some herb bag for bathing, red dates, dang sheng, du zhong, wolfberries, dried longans. The remaining are not very urgent, even du zhong is not urgent. The CL will tell u and go buy. For us, my hb brought my CL to the medical hall, she buy, my hb pay.

simbaobao,

I also find it very uncomfortable to have something at my waist. hate those that are under the bump. Even the undies. Now i am looking for those cover bump undies, damn ex. haiz. My maternity clothes during #1 are mainly dresses. But i love the maternity yoga pants at carrfour. Cheap and good.. hee hee.. i was still wearing them even i got preg with #2. whahahaha

asura, thanks. ya, will be on mc for this coming week as well to recover from shingles.

bunnz, condelences to you and your family. hope you are not too grieved over this. if you are a pantang person, best not attend.

asura, simbaobao, my stomach (above waist) also ballooned up greatly which i think is my fats. coz according to my gynae, my uterus has not moved up to the stomach yet but i don't understand why my stomach become so big. but it feel so uncomfy and the skin feels very stretched even though i apply stretch mark oil to moisturize already. is this normal?

janice, you can go to the medicinal shops and ask them what herbs to buy to standby for confinement. they will definitely be able to advise you. then when your confinement lady comes, you can ask her what needs to be purchased and your hb can buy during weekend. so no worries about the herbs.

Asura: yeap.. i changed all my undies to those can cover my bump now.. HB laffed till pengsan.. he said like ah ma undies.. i told him I DUN CARE..

Pooh, are u in FB grp alrdy?

Mareike: mine fats alrdy very thick.. hehe *blush* and my bump are like suddenly balloon up when i woke up.. kind of surprising.. but my gyane haven't complained yet.. ytd everyone asking if i am having a boy? i went.. HUH i dunno eh.. baby doesn't want us to know.. they went.. the shape look like one.. but i tink shape doesn't telly de.. i saw my frds ones.. some very round but are boy.. den some very pointed but are gals..

i juz hope baby dun get too huge.. if not, will have a hard time delivering since i alrdya plus size.. -_-"

Thanks pooh n mareike .

I m ok..

Not really panting but for sake of little one , it s still better to be safe. Do Anything also must think twice now.

Just got news poor hb may hv to stay the night.. They think so highly of him.. He went to help since 3 pm in afternoon.

Pooh: I m also lost in fb.

Mareike : rest well!

Simbaobao: whr dd u get undies from?

Morning!!

Simbaobao, I cant stand having anything covering my tummy. Still prefer to wear low cut undies that go under the belly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Even for shorts/pants/skirts, I still prefer to wear them low [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE: Shape of belly

Actually I think it depends very much on individual body build/womb structure. Nothing much to do with gender for baby.

Cos for my #1, I carried low and belly was pointed. Mainly due to my small frame [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Most of my bigger sized cousins had round bellies regardless of boy or girl.

RE: Herbs

Honestly, I think my mum only bought red dates, longan and wolfberries for me. Cos the rest of the herbs I don't like. Most of my confinement food was cooked with sesame oil and ginger. Soups were mainly red dates, wolfberries & sometimes ginseng.

Cos at that time not too sure whether the herbs will affect BM or not, so didn't really dare to buy too much too. My mum bought from Victoria Street Market (near Bugis) where they sell all the dried goods & herbs.

good morning mummies, hope all is well

Gina, i accepted your friend's request but didnt see the group under Sep-2011.