(2011/09) Sep 2011

@bunnz so far I haven take any blood test for DS yet and I was told that the triple blood is to test for abnormalities which includes DS. I also confuse by all the tests .

@ yating so it's normal . Phew... Felt more relieve now.

Hi all mummies.....

Re: Pills

During my last monday visit in my 12th week, my gynae gave me the following supplements: 1) Multi-vitamin, 2) Calcuim pills, 3) DHA (fish oil), plus my left over folic acid. as there are still leftover so i just continue to take.

But whenever I took the DHA pills, when i bulp, it stink of fish... & I feel like vomitting....

RE: sensational pain/ cramp

Yes I'm experiencing cramp ard my abdominal area too.

I didnt get a good sleep last night. Had been up at 2am & 4.30 am.... I'm having bad headache today again. & the vomitting feeling havnt stop... Am quite worried as I'm gg for my Europe trip on 21Apr11. Hope my energy level will get back & MS will go away....

Bunnz: I also remembered the Gynae said that i need to take 2 bld test. and only remembered one is for DS. triple test and the OSCAR is the same test right only diff is the accuracy of the test.

Ya. now i dun even dare to do full stretching in the morning when u wake up. now only can flex the arms.. hahaha..

Supplements - I have stopped regular supplements for about 2 weeks as I have been ill. Alot of medicine to be taken everyday so I somehow just skip the supplements. Is it ok to have stopped for awhile? Gynae gave me multi-vits & calcium while sinseh gave me Bu Tai Yao.

Hair Loss - My hair loss is still bad. Was telling hb, after delivery, I not only need Marie France, I will also need Yun Nan :p

Travelling - Thanks ladies for your advice. Think I'll check with gynae first, just in case got rejected at boarding area. By the way, where else do you think it is safe for a babymoon these days? We have confirmed our road trip and cruise trip but for babymoon, somehow alot of constraints:

Hong Kong - boss told me got radiation scare

Taiwan - earthquakes

Bangkok - may have election in May

Nose Bleeding - I was reading some article and saw that our respiratory system/sinus might expand during pregnancy. Thus might get congested nose. Could that be the case? I had a common cold 2 weeks ago (fever, flu, cough and sore throat). But after 1 week, I still get blocked nose EVERYDAY and I'm still coughing with phelgm. I dont know if the infection hasnt cleared or really there's some sinus expanding which cause the congestion [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ginn: i think u will be better in the following week. I was goin thru the same as you till i hit the 13th week.

Igop: Yes. =).

Kylekyra: I also had cold 2 weeks ago. and stil occasional cough with phelgm too!

alamak kyra : u are making me jealous! :p

hb confined me to spore till after birth, bribed me w few staycations though)

road trip/cruise/plus baby moon. u have incl almost all modes of transport!!

how about down under?

aust?

shanghai?

Are u better now? yeah it's ok to stop supplements for a while. body also cant take it. sometimes also cant absorb well.

Yating : i still went for yoga anyway but in some poses felt the hard lump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Kyra I also have blocked nose every night which makes it difficult for me to breathe thru the nose.

About the concern i posted earlier on, i think mine is round ligament pain which is a brief stabbing, jabbing pain when change position, getting up from bed etc... n is common in 2nd trimester. Felt more relieve now....

@bunnz where did u go for yoga lessons? im interested in pre natal yoga too. I used to be active before pregnancy but now i felt 10 years older n always feel breathless ... even my mum walks so much faster than me.

igop : i go for normal yoga lessons. the instructors will modify certain poses for me. I do read up on pregnancy yoga as well so i kinda know what type of poses to avoid.

I have also been doing yoga for more than a while. I go to omshivayoga near turf city.

tried prenatal once last week and a little slow for me for now. will go back to prenatal when tummy is bigger.

Yeah i felt my joints were goin to get rusty anytime esp in the last 2 mths.

swimming helps a lot too(which i started some time ago,thank god )

Chekc with your gynae

it's normal for pregnant ladies to feel breathless more easily though.

Had Wendy's for lunch... now abit regretful. Not healthy and I ate too much fries plus cold soft drink. Now feeling uncomfy again... probably little baby also dun like fast food, like his papa.

Weather also so hot nowadays... I keep drinking water.. until so bloated.

RE: hair loss

I read from book that during pregnancy period, our hair cycle supposed to be at "resting period" and after delivery, hair will start to drop more. But I am dropping quite a lot now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] really scared I will be bald soon

RE: Swimming

Anyone bought swim suit for preggie woman? I dunno if I should get one. My 1 piece swim suit doesn't fit me. My bikini top like a bit small now for my boobs now. bunnz - how do you cope?

Simbaobao

U wun feel anything even the gynae cut u dwn there becoz the pain can already knock u out n u will be in such pain n numb till u din even realise he is cutting u dwn there... Lol!!!

Same for the stitch coz u will be in total shack out n numbness to even feel pain... It depend on ur pain torlerance level during the process too...

PinkieMie - Same same. I'm so worried that I will see bald patches soon. And it is very irritating to see hair all over my toilet/pillow/basin.

Yating - Think there is some viral going around. Alot of pax in office are sick but I'm the only one who isnt recovering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bunnz - Haha! Yes, hb was also saying that I am covering land, sea and air. I was hoping that the babymoon can be a trip filled with good food + shopping, alas all the 3 possible destinations dont seem too safe now. I was thinking of Aussie too, then hb said May will be cold, go for what ah? Haiz! I'm back in office since last week, can function cos no fever (touchwood). But still having blocked nose and coughing badly. I'm depending on nasal spray and strepsils after finishing the med from GP.

igop - Could it be sinus expanding ah? I try to find the article later. My nose are so blocked that I cant breathe. Tried to breathe through mouth but my sore throat got worse.

P3: tat sound so ... Was telling hb I hope I can go totally nature.. Dun wan Epi ... He gave me a very uncertain look dat I might faint on the spot coz of the faint..

Lolz

Re: blood test for DS

I understand fr my gynae that there are 2 options of blood tests. One is Oscar done ard week 11, they combine the NT neckfold test results n blood test done on the same day n calculate a ratio based on the mummy age. The 2nd type of test is called triple blood test done at wk 15 n together with mummy age, they derive a ratio. You can choose any of the tests but both are not compulsory.

Re: hair loss

I checked with my gynae whether can I do rebonding during preg n she say up to me but to play safe, I'm waiting till after delivery. She also mentioned that our hair should be at our fullest during preg n will start to shed 3 to 4 months after delivery. Mb you can check with your gynae whether you need more supplements to stop the hair loss?

P3 : :S loss for words

kyra : immune system for preg ladies is also weaker as we have a little one who takes whatever nutrients they want from our body.

if you go brisbane, shdnt be too cold..unlike melb which has unpredictable weather.

u better get your health properly back first [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pommes : i have a 2 piece swimsuit, a top with a zip in front and a sports like shorts. i just pull shorts down a little hehe

have not tried bikini, will try when tummy really gets huge

simbabobao : it'll be benificial to read up on prep to facilitate natural birth.. I have the same plan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But i believe there's things we can do along the way to help facilitate natural birth like physical exercise/mental prep /still finding out more .

Currently reading a book called mind over labour..got it from the library

kyra : read the article.just wondering why wld they suggest to dab petroleum jelly under the nose.. there must be better alternatives.

Is it some angmoh remedy ah? Abit uncommon for us to use petroleum jelly, can we apply Vicks Rub?

I also pity my hb and dogs. Since I fell ill, hb has been sleeping on sofa and the dogs are out with him. I get the whole room to myself so that we wont disturb one another. And he leaves it up to me if I need aircon/fan at night. I also want to prevent him from falling sick, cos as it is, I already have no energy to do much at home. And if he falls ill too, I'm very sure I will pick up the virus again.

Very keen to invest in humidifier like what #2 did: http://www.whattoexpect.com/pregnancy/symptoms-and-solutions/nasal-congestion.aspx

I'm so naughty today. Keep thinking of coffee. Must be these 2 days, I tasted the "forbidden food" (cold soft drink) that now, my head is full of coffee. Plus, I'm so drowsy now... it doesn't help.

I need distraction!

ya.. really.. but if ur pain tolerant is high, then can always try it out, but of coz it really depend how u able to handle the pain, the size and health of the baby upon delivery, how fast ur cervix open.. if not when ur cervix open so slow n the misery will be like never ending n u definitely will do anything to speed up the process to have the bb out asap!! Oso if ur bb in stress, u might end up in emergency c-sect too, which later on might cost u a bomb..

dun feel bad in having the idea of having epidural, becoz it can help to speed up the opening of ur cervix when u r more relax..

so before ur cervix dilates till 7cm, n u already cannot take it.. take epidural then..

daddysbao

ya.. tatz y giving birth is a matter of life and death.. when u already in so much pain during the process, the numbness after the ordeal makes the cutting n stitching just nothing... LOLL!!

and yes.. mind over body is very important if u really wanna go totally without drugs.. exercise helps alot too..

Kyra, the humidifier is good. My hubby bought EuroAce. Looks like broken egg shell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sung: You were not the only one awake at 4+/5am in the morning..I was awake too, just didn't login to the forum!

ILoveSashimi/Mareike/b.isforbb: Wah! Lucky I just bear with the pain..if not! Kwa kwa kwa..thanks guys! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sigh..rushed back home during lunch. This time is husband's turn to get high fever and flu. By the time I came home, he was breaking into cold sweat and his body felt like an oven! Sponge him with cold water then gave him half a char siew bao, gave him panadol then follow him see doctor. Just gave him medicine but need to monitor him. Sigh..did I pass my flu to him? I'm still recovering too..

I think my "fan4 wan3 nan3 bao3" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] March has been a terrible/bittersweet month for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Oh. My nose bled too when I was in the shower this morning. Haha..

I know, #2. I'm wearing a mask since I got home to take care of him. Only removed it just now to eat lunch..I forgot to feed my baby thinking about the father. Oops.

Oh..and can I add that when I said I had to rush home because my husband's sick, my colleague just laughed. Like I'm being ridiculous, just back from leave now urgent need to go again. It keeps going round in my mind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Everytime when i feel slightly better from MS , n want to pick up a new hobby. My bb will strongly object by making me vomit til my head want to explode. And knock me out after that. Juz woke up and it is really hot!!!!

@Bunnz Thanks for the recommendation . Will definitely try yoga after my MS n saliva problem gets better. Swimming is good too but i need a float :p

@Kyra I also dun know whether mine is consider sinus expanding... Mine is blocked nose at night.The humidifier is really very good for dryness!! We bought 1 from best denki and it can auto adjust to the room dryness and bring up the moisture level to its recommended range.

@pommes Im feeling guilty too!!! Yesterday drank ice lemon tea and sprite and now my mum made me ice milk tea. Just now my father offered me his kopi -c , say v nice asked me to try. Faint..

sadly, I'm down with shingles. thot my red patches are just normal allergy, noooo.. it is shingles. this explains the bad back pain as well. now feeling worried. hope the shingles will not affect the lil one. sighzz...

does anyone know if shingles will affect the growth of bb? feeling worried coz the past 2 days, din really feel the fluttering movements from bb. i used to feel it at least once a day. really feel so useless why i keep falling sick and really hope will not affect my bb.

Haha talking abt epidural, I tong until I was 6 cm dilated and finally asked for it! I'll forever rem the nurse telling me, next time pls ask earlier! Til now I am still wondering if I dun ask for epi, can I stand the pain from the cut down there?

Can I ask, who is the mummy who makes the almond drink? How to make? Is it the almonds from chi med stores?

Bunnz, don't worry. Not only I don't take milk, I don't take any dairy pdts at all, incl butter, cakes and ice cream! So for my no 1 I survived on calcium pills all the way. At first I drank soya bean milk, but after I confirmed the gender as boy I stopped. Coz heard that it's not gd for baby boy's devt.

@Simbaobao Really envy u have that courage! Initially i was quite certain i want c-section. But after reading and comparing both natural and c section, natural b can help to pass immunity to babies and prevent them from allergies and asthma which is a major concern to me. I have all sort of allergy problems thus i wish my bb can be healthy and free from all those allergy problems. So i try to start and convince , and preparing my mindset that i can go thru a natural birth with epidural. When i told my hubby that i like to have natural birth with epidural, his jaws dropped. He very unsupportive leh!!!

Igop: lol it's only a tot lo

As if I can tong the pain... I got freaked off when I saw on the clip how they will inject Epi into us.. All thanks to hb.. He had serious bad pain n the doc suggested him to do Epi treatment so he shown it to me....

Lol I kept telling him no no I dun wan dat.. It look so scary la

So he told me 2 nd opt is c sect.. Which had pro n cons

Enjoy den suffer n while recovery might have risk of getting wound infection [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So I told him how abt I try nature WITHOUT Epi

His qnz came: if I faint on the spot ... Gyane must save who 1st??? Scarly end up I will have to do emer c sect

His pocket will get burned till ash...

My ms seem to b swinging ard... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Was feeling good until these few days... I started to get "sick" at the sight of foods...

Oh no.. Pls shoo shoo

#2, I went to GP coz i thot is just normal allergy rash. turns out to be shingles. asked both GP and gynae if shingles will affect bb and both said no. but after reading the internet articles, now i feel so worried that my bb may have birth defects. i'm such a lousy mtb. feel like crying now. really hope bb will be strong and not affected by the shingles.

now praying real hard to quickly recover and not affect bb. sob sob..

hey Mareike,

You rest well ya...perhaps you cld inform ur gynae that you are having shingles, see what he/she says? Think positive ya!! =) jiayou!

hey Mareike,

I think i read that chickenpox is the one that may cause defects...not shingles, but well, it could be pretty uncomfortable for you thou....stop blaming yourself ya..It has nothing to do with you...

@simbaobao your hubby Funny leh. I wanted to watch the natural birth process on You-tube but 5secs later i close the window.Those women in labour are really screaming their heads off which is really scary to watch.. i dun think i even dare to watch the epidural videos, i think i will freak out.

I think really is mind over body. My best friends went thru natural birth without epidural and they told me that they are gg for it again if they get pregnant. They are really those gu niang types and always take mc when they experience menstrual cramps. They say im more ''man'' than them so i can definitely do it. The most i can convince myself is with epidural .. haha

Adelene, we are using Rainbow. My mum bought it when I was born, then use for 20 years before trading in for a newer model. She bought one for us when we move into our own place [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Though exp, I think it's worth it leh. Esp since I have dog at home.

I think they got installment plan right?