(2011/09) Sep 2011

Went to get the Pigeon bottle sterilizer after work, the stuff we bought for bb is building up. Also managed to get the car seat from Taka fair yesterday. Have arranged for it to be delivered together with the Quinny Buzz. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, just to let you mummies know I saw the belly belt when I was at Kiddy Palace (Tampines) so for mummies staying in the East and are keen to get, can drop by there to get yours. Comes in a set of 3 colours for 29.90.

Asura: hehe same I can never follow faithfully on a given recipe.. Always tweaked it ard ... Wow u know how to make roasted pork!!!! Dat is my dad n hb's fav... Can u guide me on how to make it???

Good morning everyone!

simbaobao - you are up early again!

gina - wow, you very fast in getting baby's stuff. We only look see look see, haven't get anything yet. May I know what brand of car seat you got? Also from Quinny?

I won't be in office these 2 days. Will check the postings at the end of the day. WIshing everyone a great day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@asura - belly belt is like a pants extender. Allows you to wear your normal / pre-preg pants up till 8 months or so. Tempting! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Pommes - I got the car seat from this brand called Baby Shield but it's for 9 months up to 6 years. Doubles up as a booster seat when child turns older. We will still need one for new borns, maybe maxi cosi cos it fits onto the Quinny. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have you decided on yours?

Gina, I'll get hubby to pop by kiddy palace at Tampines later (and he can get Koi for me since he's there too)... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simbaobao,

My roast pork is marinated western style (Black pepper, garlic, olive oil, salt/sea salt, herbs). The skin is a bit like crackling rather than the chinese roast pork cos i din bother and too lazy to poke many times, just used knife and fork to cut the skin and poke a bit.. whahaha. Actually quite easy cos after marinate just bake it. I cant remember how long to bake cos i keep watching the condition of pork but i did record down the initial termperature i used. Will let u know again. I marinate the pork overnite.

@#2 - Queue always very long... and can we drink Koi?? I've been resisiting for 3 months!

@Asura - agree, I've also switched to more dresses, so didnt get it yesterday. Will think over. Plus my pants are mostly slim fit, even if belly fit, legs wouldnt. Hee. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

blossomsbb: I am still taking the Duphaston .. I also feel like stopping. As it is a medication to 'tiao' our hormones, my gynae mentioned that the morning sickness and water retention will be more jialat.Since the dr has given you the option to stop, why don't you stop and see how things go?

# 2: Please don't go for foot reflexology yet. I did ask my gynae before and she said there are some accupoints in the feet that will cause premature labor and bleeding. Stictly no no. And no massage on the belly too as it will stimulate contractions. I am so yearning for a massage too ... Heavy head and aching shoulders and back ..

Simbaobao: now i am craving for mei cai kou rou! *drool* yummy, and i love the fatty portion most :p

SJ, I asked my friend's dad, he say if they are properly trained, they will know which accupoints to avoid...

Actually for my first pregnancy, I did foot reflexology at Wan Yang but had to wait very long for the 'master'... And I did it in third tri...

My friend's dad does housecalls... So I might ask him to come over for foot reflexology and shoulder massage...

#2 : the book is "Fit for Life" by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond. Very old book. They have few versions though. talks about food combinin and stuff.

personal experience : i used to fall sick all the time when i started teaching for first 2 years. every mth sure fall sick and sure need to cancel students almost every other week here and there. sinus issue every morning. headaches now and then esp in the afternoons

Over the years try different diets .the best i felt was when i ate purely semi solids like mainly fruits and only veg(as little cooked food as possible) we were on high energy at all times..super alert! sad to say..not sure how feasible it is for long term..maybe more like one day a week kind

We even went veg for 3 years..

but after we changed back to normal food

My body became very sensitive to the foods i eat which i take it as a good sign as they are like warning signs to me. I once fell sick for 2-4 weeks after my ils left. mil was cooking food for 2 weeks with lots of salt.!

Whenever i have mucus, i know it's caused by foods i eat..mainly ice cream/something dairy involved

Present day: sinus is gone for at least 2 years or more, very min headaches which i know it's my body tellin me i need to take rest.

Cant even rem the last time i took panadols

of cos coupled with natural remedies for minor colds etc

Definitely no more cancellations of lessons here and there due to unwell. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Food and exercise is def very important in keeping ourselves in peak condition.

With the infomation these days, there's so much out there which people can do to keep themselves healthy. We still have so much to learn! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

That's why I really admire those yogis and fitness pros. They are so very disciplined in their way of life! They really put in so much hard work to get to where they are now. I cant imagine how much they have gone through to get to where they are .or how strong their mental power is.

Sorry i had a urge to share more today.

We really are in charge of our own health.

Every consequence happens because of a choice we make.

Gina: you are fast! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we are taking our time.. most likely ard june to aug then get most stuff.

simbaobao : so that is meicaikourou.. i def have not eaten before. looks interesting. but def not for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

p00H, Mine is on mon eh, i will 'MISS' u again.

hmm.. some says mummy tummy will be smaller n sharper for boys, is it true for u?

r u takin the blood test? rem mus fast 3 hr eh

Gina : my gynae visit is this Monday. detailed scanning only in early MAY.

When is yours?

When is your quinny coming?I heard it shd come with a guarantee?

btw i asked my friend yest..she has a bb boy. also doesnt have ms symptons. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stomach shape - my colleague both P are boys but not v sharp shape. My first P is a boy and sharp shape. I guess the shape myth is not true.

@chine: What is the blood test that you need to take that requires fasting??? This is the first time I am hearing this..., hmmm...

@bunnz: I asked around amongst my kolics..., one had a boy and so severe MS she was hospitalized and put on drip for a week..., another had a girl and had to take 1.5 months off for bed rest..., Somehow the link between MS and bb gender is not strong, and depends alot on the mummy's own hormonal levels.

As for stomach shape, what I noticed was that for boys you cant really tell if the mum is pregnant from the backview... but for mums carrying girls, they tend to be round all over LOL... (not sure true or not, again based on my "agaration")... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For mummies who have had rashes before, how long did it take for the rashes to go away? Mine seems to be on-off [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sung: Thank you for the advice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kelly: I'm resting at home mostly, heading out of my house only for breakfast with my husband? Rest of the time he force me to stay home. So I've been doing household chores. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thank you very much for asking! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will ask husband to go Tampines with me to buy Koi~

#2: Orhhh, the one near Old Chang Kee? My husband loves the Ru Rou Fan!

BlossomsBB: Mine is pre-existing eczema, which was aggrevated by pregnancy, it's also on/off basis. Gynae says its hormones.

@Koume: I dont have pre-existing eczema, which is what makes me so moody and sian over the bout of rashes I have now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

For my 1st P, rashes appear on tummy on 3rd trim. Gynae precribe medicine cream which has little bit of steriod but is ok for use. After giving birth, the rashes remain but subside and only come back occasionally upon heat. I have existing eczema but dun have rashes on tummy until after P.

Now these rashes start to act up early in this P. I am using the stretch mark cream from Mustela to stop the itch. Mustela has good range of bb products and eczema cream so seems quite mild.

For 1st P i use clarins oil but very ex, one oil is $80++. Now maybe more ex since its 3yrs since 1st P. Mustela cost $50 but shd be able to use for whole P.

Btw for cream dun apply thick thick bec' it will worsen.. just apply thin layer in the morn n night.

hi ladies ,how does yr belly feels now? is it hard?

since i started on the medication, my tummy seems not to be as hard . it s soft this am.

is it beocs my uterus has been soften?

Pommes: hope you have a good day today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Asura: i always tink its hard to do roasted pork esp after tat must clean the oven like mad.. lol HB had been requesting BUT i told him.. buy easier la..

I teased him.. next time he had to eat baby food when bb start to eat solid foods.. he gave me dat pity look.. haha so funny to see his face went :S

SJ: hehe i removed all the fatty parts.. never fancy it.. my hb was like HUH den u might as well used lean meat BUT den.. it won't taste good without the fats dripping into it...

Oh ya, i had a qnz today to ask.. anyone used any master to calculate the kid's name? Any one to recommend?

@Muffin: I dont think its got to do with the softening of the uterus..., every pregnancy is different to begin with and so its normal for it to be different...,

I do have days my belly feels soft and somedays hard, but whats common is this tight feeling I get these days... How far along are you? If the uterus had yet to move upwards, its likely to be less hard...,

If you had done the ultrasound and heard your bb heartbeat, I am sure things are ok! If you are concerned, check with Dr. Poon...

Morning everyone!

@Muffin mine's never hard. it's always soft, so that's why i always think that whatever's protruding out is my own fats. :p

i heard the tummy is supposed to be hard where the bb is.. is that true?

@Simbaobao we had asked a master to look at our house fengshui b4 we moved in, so we might ask him to calculate the bb's name when born. But i prefer to think up a few characters then ask him to tell me which ones can be used. :p

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

am appoaching 16 tomlo. My uterus has moved up , doc taught me how to feel it :

yep i think soft is normal cos i read at the other threads that doc prescribe medication for those too hard but their doc only starts them from week 22 onwards ..

@bunnz: We decided to get the necessities as we see them becos I don't think I will have the strength or stamina to attend baby fairs and long periods of shopping by August or so. So, we accumulate slowly. The damage on the bank also not that bad. Haha

My next visit is next Fri. Haven't been informed of detailed scanning, will check with gynae during my visit next Fri. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Delivery of Quinny and car seat will be this Sat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning ladies!!

@simbaobao the master that my friends always go to for names is "you long zi" .

@muffin Mine is a bit hard , about a palm size below the belly button. N it's slightly protruding. Maybe u can ring your gynae n ask him/ her for assurance?

@blossom try not to scratch your rashes as it will worsen the condition . What kind of shower pdts do u use? Perphaps u can try sebamad, or those kind of 5.5 ph balance shower gal? Did your gynae prescribe u steroid cream? It's usually fast in clearing up rashes n according to my gynae it's safe to use in pregnancy.

Any mummies using Vicks inhaler? I'm having blocked nose these few days n tot of using that. But it's actually a prohibited article into japan n ban in japan . Wondering how safe it is....

Gina,

Does the stroller comes with warranty?? hehe....i'm torn btw quinny, peg perego and inglesina...quinny is so cool, but really heavy..cos we dun drive...thus also cannot buy too heavy one..but my husband is so impressed with the hydraulic sys of the quinny buzz..when we order during taka sale, they can deliver at a later time right??

@Kelly: Yes, it does, but I can't remember how long. Yea, we were impressed with the specs too. We were looking for stability so were ok with the slightly heavier weight.

Yes, we can get them to deliver at a later date even if we buy them now.

Having bad flu and working off-site, is hell.

@igop: I did not scratch the rashes, which I feel its clearing up slowly. I do have a cream prescribed that is pregnancy safe (my friend's baby is using the same cream as me as he has ezcema haha). Thanks for the recommendation on the shower gel; I didnt think that it could be a possibility of the shower gel but I will buy the sebamed to try! Thanks ya!

@Kelly: You can consider Maclaren..., a few of my friends do not drive and they recommend using the Maclaren as it is light enough and easy to handle by just one adult..., you can go check it out....

@all mummies: Has anyone started buying baby cots/playpens??? Any recommendations?

hi Blossoms,

my hb is a techie guy...haha...he likes something looking really robust and best if some mechanics cld impress him..haha...he saw maclaren...he finds it too "simple", then the frame not as sturdy...hahaha...one kind one la my guy..hehe

Sebamed – I have tried using it but it cause my eczema to flare up instead. In the end I use Physiogel, which is also the brand recommend by PD to my boy. He has the eczema problem from me.

bb cot - pls dun buy too big cot. I bot the biggest cot and end up it has to be de-installed before taking out of the bedroom as it can't fit through the bedroom door. so i find it quite ley chey. Morever, my boy dun sleep on it after 1 yr old.

stroller - pls dun buy too big or heavy.. v difficult to use esp in Singapore, like supermarket etc. My first stroller is 10KG, nice and comfortable and big. My boy enjoy. But i suffer bec' 10KG v heavy to carry up and down stairs where there is no escalators/lift. So we only use it when driving out. I use the carrier when going to nearby places/walking.

why we buy tat stroller - bec my hb said v nice and comfy. he say he will carry out bec i complain heavy. end up he oso no carry it out unless we drive.

when we go to supermarket, i keep knocking into people. then go PD, the nurse ask us to leave the stroller outside bec' its too big and block people. nurse always call it "Merceles Pram".

bunnz - So is there any food/fruits which we should take aplenty when we fall sick?

I'm still not well. Sore Throat, Flu and Cough. Alot of mucus + phlegm. Thank God no fever this week else I wont be able to function at work. I didnt go back to the doctor because:

1) Trying to cut down on medicine, he wasnt very willing to prescribe antibiotics last week anyway

2) Have max out my medical benefits this year

3) Already taken 3 days MC last week

Feel abit apologetic to my colleagues as I might be spreading germs around but I have tonnes of work to clear as well. I'm relying on the leftover nasal spray, strepsils as well as salt water as gaggle/drink. Also drinking way too much liang teh I think but I think all my symptoms are due to heatiness [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

These 2 weeks have been the worst weeks, besides the W6-7 when I was bleeding and on home-rest. I'm also worried about the baby's growth. Still I'm not gaining weight, no baby movements felt and not eating enough these days.

simbaobao,

oh.. actually it is not too bad and not very difficult. Next time i upload my roast pork pic for u to see. My hb like it.. hee hee...

For chinese names, i go to "you long zi". Just call his office after giving birth, give the birth details and then go down 3 days later to collect the name card. The name card will have a lot of combination of names for u to select. From there, i pick what sounds nice to me.

I remmeber paying ard $120. Actually i feel is paying for convenience, i too lazy to check dictionary. The only thing is that his names will be very cheem to write. lol.. dont know next time our children will come to complain or not.

@ellysia, that's a gd 1 too. I'm using bath n shower oil from maple clinic , which is oily ( my mum hates it) but it's gd for skin with eczema. I'm worried that I will pass my eczema prob to my Bb too. Where does your boy sleep now? I new to get at least 2 playpen . But I'm thinking letting Bb sleep on mattress at my mum's hm instead.

@Kelly: I can totally relate to what you made out your hubby to me as my hubby is also the same! So what I did was to send him to mothercare on his own to check out the strollers LOL...Impressed with the techie looks, he too almost flipped with the weight of some of them... LOL

@Ellysia and igop: thanks for the info on the Physiogel and the products from maple clinic; I think I will try to get some small bottles to try before I invest in big ones...

BTW, do you use any stretch mark cream even with eczema around the belly area? I been feeling my belly getting tighter and I kinda feel it expanding slowly... So stretch marks are something that kinda worries me now too....

@Kylekyra: Sorry to hear about your ailment; did your gynae give the green light to use the nasal spray and strepsils? I dont think taking too much strepsils is good as pregnant mums are always warned against any form of 'medication' that can be bought off the shelf...

Hi Ladies how are you all doing .. i hv been very busy at work and after reach home im so tired that no enrgy to go thru this website ... i am eagerly waiting for my nxt gynea app on 29th .. miss writing and readin this website .. hoep u gals are doing fine tk care

@Blossom my eczema is around my legs and arms area :D But i can feel my belly getting tighter too. And when my hubby see my tummy every time, he will ''wow''. I started using clarins stretch mark cream yesterday.

I just reach home from some quick shopping. Went to Perfect Mum at Kovan to try some pants/shorts. End up, it's free size, so all too big for me!! The saleslady is very nice. She custom order for me (ask the seamtress to sew smaller). Will be ready in 1-2 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And not very exp. I bought 4 capri pants and 2 home-shorts = $220. Some more consider 'tailor-made' cos of my size [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Then went to Hangten to buy some larger size t-shirts to wear at home. Bought 7 shirts for $49. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wave to ellysia! Hey.. remember me? June 2008 mummies.. kekeke.. so qiao.. u having sept 2011 too! nice..

Simbaobao, heartland mall, 2nd level. They have nice maternity tops & dresses but their sizes too big for me... plus too formal for me lah. I work from home, not have fashion show at home :p Plus I still have some nice maternity tops from my first pregnancy... So only bought comfy pants [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]