(2011/09) Sep 2011

I have the following pre-loved items to let go at attractive prices. Condition 9/10 as seldom used.

1. Peg Perego Pilko Switch (Red, 2010) at $600 (retail ~$1,000) (full recline and reversible)

2. Baby Bjorn Synergy in Blue (Air Mesh material) at $160 (retail $280)

3. My Breast Friend Nursing Pillow at $35 (retail $80)

4. Ameda Lactaline Dual Electric Pump at $160 (retail $329)

Pls PM me if interested

BlossomsBB - Not really. I sms my gynae when I fell ill last week. Asked if I could take strepsils/see GP. He replied yes. So I did both.

At GP, I did tell him I'm pregnant so he was very conservative in prescription. Refused to give antibiotics at first. But after 2 days MC, I got worse, that's when he gave me 5 days antibiotics. I'm feeling quite guilty about loading myself with such stuff but I wont be able to function at work/sleep without them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

#2, thanks. I'll try cotton wool n olive oil.

Simbaobao, we went to you long zi too. He will suggest the best name based on his counting of the strokes from bb's birth date, n also suggest some other characters for u to choose from in case u dun like his best name suggestion. I pick from the characters given instead as the characters given in the best name has no meaning. Prefer chinese words with meanings but we also believe if got help in choosing the name for our child could help make their life smooth, no harm going to the master.

For You Long Zi, I heard these days his disciples will tend to the clients instead. Do we get to see the master himself?

Mummies, I'm in a really foul mood today. Wasn't feeling well in the morn, hip n back ache n got slight tummy pain. Then my mum tell me make sure I got help during confinement cos she can't help everyday. I'm asking for help from my mum n mil coz of #1. Need someone jaga him n keep him company so asked them if they could tk turns come to help. Already cfm my CL so she will help cook for my #1 but still worried abt if he wants bao bao or who to bathe him, change his diapers, bring him to toilet to poo etc. He doesn't like strangers to handle him esp bathe/poo time, rather not do it so asking them to help instead of CL. I can't touch water so can't do all these. Juz need their help for confinement mth but met with unwillingness n making me feel so wretched asking for help. My mil also another story so I thought my own mum may be more willing but j shd hv known better from #1's experience. Am planning to go for csect, so i def can't do much for him my 1st 2 wks. Making me very stressed n feels like crying with all these. If I can, rather I can do everything myself! N they r family. I really hates asking for help!! Crying when I think I may hv to put my #1 in cc. Sorry mummies for the ranting, I need to vent. Think I'm too possessive n protective of my #1 but he has been with me, under my care since birth. Now juz coz of 1 mth?!? Maybe I shd just discard all the traditional thinking n bo chap n cont to tk care of him myself. At times like this, I really dislike my family. Never any help forthcoming, gives me all types of problems n even when asked for help, must makes me feel so wretched. ... asking for help. Coz already planning to go for csect, i def can't do much for him my 1st 2 wks. Making me very stressed n feels like crying with all these. If I can, rather I can do everything myself! N they r considered family. I really hates asking for help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Can't bring myself to engage maid, I hv deep probia from the stories I hear. Crying when I think I may hv to put my #1 in cc. Think I'm too possessive n protective of my #1 but he has been with me, under my care since birth. Now juz coz of 1 mth?!? Maybe I shd just discard all the traditional thinking n bo chap n cont to tk care of him myself. At times like this, I really dislike my family. Never any help forthcoming, gives me all types of problems n even when asked for help, must makes me feel so wretched....

wow been a busy mornin here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Had my first prenatal class this morning.

all the breathing didnt have me hungry for food. first time could last from breakfast at 730 till ard 130 with no thinking of food nor symptons of hunger . infact super energetic!!

very impressed with bb!

Kelly : i ordered my quinny buzz during taka fair ..scheduled to deliver in July. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina : i thought to buy early also..but when i saw the mountain of stuff to get [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] i think i better wait for the new house to be ready , really no space to keep .

Babycot : i was thinking to get those which can slowly convert according to age of bb.

havent looked much at it.

but will ask ard from frens when they start to know the pregnancy in these 2 mths [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tummy: yeah mine is protruding already and it's quite firm. Funny is that it's more protrudin at night compared to morning ..mb after all the food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

#2: i see.. thanks will pop by to take a look.. i need new clothing soon.. getting bored with my clothings alrdy...

Kyle: there is antibiotic means for preg woman isn't it? dat time i was really sick.. the doc i see.. said IF no choice he will give dat to me.. i told him I DUN WAN.. haha den i complained to my gyane.. he said no use to take such medi coz its not strong enuff to kill the bugs away...

I took a mth to recover from my cough with hot honey + lemon & bird nest as told by my gyane dat it works better den normal medi..

sung: yeap i heard abt this master.. my niece name was picked by him.. haha my hb had the same logic with u.. must get a good name for baby.. coz he felt his dad gave him the wrong name dat made him tripped on his career and life..

Sung: Dont be upset, I am sure you are not alone when it comes to asking family members for help. I sometimes feel that its better to engage an outsider (CL/Maid/helper etc) as just let the money do the talking...

I too am in a foul mood, but not because of my pregnancy, but work.I heard something from my supervisor that my director thought my performance last yr was average when I felt that I worked so hard... I was really on the verge of tears.. Suddenly, I just feel like I should 'ren' and hold till I finish my ML, then resign from my job... since I am not valued at all for my contributions...

who was talking about using steroids for the rashes? i think better not. although faster..but steriods is really strong!

Kyra : i can only suggest no dairy/sugar/caffine for food wise.

being ill is the body's way of clearing itself..similar to rashes it's another way of clearing toxins out of our body.

Fruits : better stick to mainly apples/berries like strawberries raspberries cherries...just avoid those not suitable for preggy ladies.

Drink more water to clear all the toxins

Avoid all kinds of processed foods of any form like all types of frozen food/sausages/burger patties/fries/canned food etc)

Eat more of fresh foods or clear soup based ones.

lastly stay positive!

you have already taken the antibiotics.

no point beating yourself over it..

just focus on how to get better as u still have a little inside you to take care who can feel all your emotions.

Many a times people "shoot"(should) themselves over what they shd not do or shd do.(which is focusing on the past) They forget the present and waste their energy over split milk.

Our energy is precious! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sung: hugz hugz... u r not alone.. i am facing the same issue too.. dat day my aunty heard dat i am looking for a CL and asked me why i din't asked my mum.. i told her.. MY MUM? MY ML??? i will end up in depression during confinment.. they be of no helps BUT i need to give them helps in the end.. so i rather like many ppl told me.. u pay more to get help rather then to get relationship more sour which agreed to it..

somemore as a 1st time mum.. i really need someone experience to guide me and offer me helps rather den i need to serve them during my confinment.

This You Long Zi..is he situated in Thomson?

i think there's another master with similar name like You Rong Zi (old uncle in geylang) hahaha

Yeah i'm not going to think of any mandarin name..just let the master choose. Whatever he says is the best, i'll go along with it. hehe

What a mum right! Anyway been seeing this master for years already..

Sung, good to vent out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] *hugz*

You're not alone.

And if things don't work out with your mum/MIL, you can try looking for a nanny instead of CC? At least nanny will have more individual attention for your #1. & CC isn't that bad actually. I sent my boy to CC at 18mths though we have a maid to take care of him (my mum call me heartless & KS), but my boy really learnt a lot there and became very independent and learn to follow instructions.

I remember I saw somewhere there's this PT nanny that goes to ppl's house for babysitting. Maybe you could try that. At least under your watchful eye so you won't feel bad or worried.

#2 : 7 shirts!! hehe.. can wear all your new goodies already.

i have started wearing my maternity pants already..the best investment so far. esp when going toilet time..just pull up and down no need to worry about forgetting to zip or bottom.hehe

i raided my sister's cupboard the other day..found clothes i can actually wear when tummy gets bigger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina : it's $30 for 60 mins. it's at chip bee gardens. u can google omshivayoga.

There are others around but i didnt bother looking. It's the usual one i usually go and i know the instructors pretty well . Comfy with the environment also.

Sung: I'm sure in your calmer state, you can come up with something which you can accept and your #1 is happy.

Mothers are very capable lor.

Have a good discuss with your husband.

At least you are STHM and can do so much more for/with your children .

I hv yet to decide the long term schedule for bb care after initial 1st 2 mths, although i have a rough idea.

had a call to inform avout my Oscar's and triple blood test results, NORMAL. didnt tell me score so i guess the nitty gritty can be saved for next visit for gynae to explain.

at 12 wks, gynae tried to peep and said 60% its a girl, next visit can be 90% sure. personally i prefer girls but all throughout this pregnancy i had this feeling its a boy. since theres no "bird" there now, is it possible for it to appear in a month's time?

also, first time saw my BB in action. the scan was very clear could see limbs and BB face profile. wonder who BB looks like... BB was in a curved position like this comma , with one hand behind one head. the nurse had to describe to me of course before i could make it out. it was making a few sudden jerky jumps, very funny!

when i shared with in laws, mother and grandmother in law self announced that sure BOY because of the un-lady like pose that i described my BB was in. felt pressured after that....

EDD keeps changing... early Oct now late Sep....

Sung - Cheer Up! I think one of the most tricky things is dealing with family members. Just the other day, a gf was confiding in me that her hb isnt very supportive at home, given that she needs to juggle work, pets, chores and p/t degree course. She works for the family biz and her mum + sister are also very demanding. I was telling her, can train your husband, try to rope him in and let him know you appreciate his help. But towards family, can only tolerate...

I agree with BlossomsBB that sometimes it might be easier to engage an outsider. That is why although my parents have offered to help, I still decided to get a CL. I can foresee a new baby tiring everyone out and mum/dad screaming stress or that I aint doing enough. So to avoid such conflicts, I rather have a stranger at home to help out.

Perhaps can start to "train" #1? Rope in hb or mum/MIL to start bathing him etc. Once he is more comfy, it might be easier for the mothers to jaga him or even CL to manage him.

Simbaobao - Yup, I was given antibiotics in the end, for 5 days. GP wasnt very keen to give until I got more sick after 2 days. I cannot take 1 month. 2 weeks already killing me. I cannot function properly at work. Also cannot sleep well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

anybody can just provide a confinement to-do, not-to-do list so we can take care of ourselves?

dont really see the point in engaging a confinement lady for nearly $2k a month to cook and look after baby.

somehow just uncomfortable with stranger taking such a huge role from me to cater to my BB and living in my house.

Gilera, actually it's rather simple. No touching water. Must use warm boiled water to brush teeth/wipe face. And must wipe dry ASAP.

No direct wind, must keep warm.

Must not drink plain water (I don't believe in this). Drink only red date tea.

End up, I drank only warm water during confinement cos the red date tea just made me more and more thirsty.

Food wise, just follow confinement food recipes if cooking on your own. Else, catering will be fine.

kyle: rest well.. drink tonnes of water.. the weather is really bad nowsaday.. one moment BIG SUNNY side dat can cook a sunny side egg.. the next moment is so freezing cold...

my gyane kept telling me its still early to see anything.. baby still small.. hopefully on the next visit which is on april fool... baby won't make a fool on us.. ( my frds were like HUH why picked such a date) haha it din occured on my mind its april fool dat day.. coz hb no nid to wrk mah...

I'm at the clinic now. Just had the scan.. Bb's legs r folded so can't see the gender... Hehe...

Hope to know 3 weeks later..

blomssomsBB: i only took folic acid in my first trim, 2nd trim taking fish oil n multi-vitamin only. My gynae only prescribe me 42 tabs of duphaston 2 weeks ago when i got some bleeding... My gynae din prescribe me many supplements, that's y my friend said my gynae very steady, her gynae very "kiasu" and conservative, so prescribed her a few supplements..

But my hb find my supplements intake is not enough, always ask me to take calcium n iron, n ask me whether wanna take 蓝藻, cos his sis taking all these during her pregnancy..

Maybe next visit gonna ask my gynae whether need to take calcium n iron pills.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1D1R - "No touching water" omg, how to bathe i cannot imagine not bathing and washing hair for one month.

if only drinking read date tea - would the breastmilk be 'flavoured' ahhahaha...

seriously hope MIL doesnt come over during confinement to monitor me not bathing.

uncomfortable mom = unhappy mom

@gina, u can feel by placing a palm size below the belly button and it feels soft at the same time a bit tout ( above the panty line) Just like what igop's mentioned, from her description i reckon that hers uterus has move up. U can ask yr gyne to let u try feel[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Sung, stay cool. I believe when the time arrive , there will be help available hence not to worry. Yep i agree that mothers are capable creations, im sure things will fall in place.

sO Qiao i went kovan too. had a hair cut, did some banking transactions and walk ard for a while.. realise i cant walk too long ..

and realise i was walking q slowly when an elderly lady overtook me..lolx

Now am bk with yu tiao and soya bean drink ..hee

Juz finished preparing dinner.. eating pasta AGAIN.. haha baby just love pasta.. even can eat it everyday -_-" steam some chicken balls to add in..

gilera: i din wash my hair for 1 mth.. lol! but i still towel clean myself daily. Need to use rice wine with luke warm water and wipe...

i drank red date tea most of the time, but when taking med, i drank warm water.

okay.... this confinement business is getting very serious...

with all this tailored 'confinement waters' what's the ratio to add for rice wine and red dates? can just use agar-ation?

everyday must make fresh stock?

Gilera, can bathe... but must boil herb water to bathe... The herbs can be bought easily from medical hall [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But honestly, once inside the toilet, who knows what I'm using to bathe?? :p I only use the herb water initially. Then I use warm water (as warm as I can tahan) to shower :p

Muffin, I wanted to go bank but was very tired already. So went home :p

thanx i guess the gist of it all is to keep super warm all the time.

so in the end i signed up for TMC FBI card and chose the backpack. didnt even get to see the insides but presume backpacks are more practical for dads so thier hands are free to carry more stuff!

i have just heard the issue about certain bananas from my grandmother in law, my mom and my colleague. have always prefered the fluffy del monte bananas though...

is it true that if you try to deliver naturally but end up with C sec, u have to pay both fees instead of C sec fees?

hv read that the gas is of no use. but am inspired by my 50+ colleague's experience : "at the end of it all, you just want your BB out, so it doesnt matter how they get it out, just get it out!!! no need be hero"

p/s once u sign up for TMC FBI card (which i did just before my oscar's) everywhere in TMC knows you are FBI member in thier system, even before you recieve the actual card.

also, have gained 1kg since last appt, which is OK. am trying not to gain so much...

oh, the blood test was not that bad but after that, the area is now bruised! does it mean the nurse anyhow poke.

@Jenn Chng: OOOhh.. exciting. All the best!

@Muffin: Thanks! I will try to feel for it.. when I get home. Hehe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i tink there is no way i can dun touch water or dun bath OR worst DUN wash my hair.. i will get ito crazy mode..

cannot imagine the smell lo.. -_-" wat a big turn off.. esp beginning i believed we will have some bleeding + breastfeeding going on... i cannot imagine how baby can tahan the smell tis smelly mummy had..

i cant wait to hear all the updates on genders [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can i ask when bb move , u feel like veri tiny ripple feel.. is it? smthg like a small stirring ..

muffin: yes yes.. sometimes is like fish swimming inside..

recently.. i told bb to move to the centre when i slp @ nite... coz i felt baby always on my rite.. when i slp on my rite.. its like so uncomfortable.. so i asked baby to moved to centre so tat baby can have more space as well.. hehe amazingly for the 1st 2 nite it wrk.. coz i felt the lil tapping baby gave me in the centre.. but ytd.. baby refused to move...

Simbaobao, I couldn't take it too. Bought the dry powder to rinse hair, specially for confinement but did not like it.

So I bathed. :p But had to make sure I blow dry my hair & have to lock the door plus close all windows to make sure no 'wind'.

Simbaobao - yes! if no bathe and wash hair i sure pek-cek one. will seriously fall sick from the oily hair and germs on unwashed skin.. eeeek!as it is, every morning and night have to bathe then feel comfortable.

when can we feel BB? now at 12 wks, tummy feels sore but gynae said its coz of uterus growing and stretching. tummy feels dangling with each step liao - think too fat to begin with.

also, feel urgent when standing but only little pee. thought the frequent urination suppose to subside by now...

#2, do u mean that if we do breastfeeding we shouldn't be taking those wine made for confinement period? I always tot it should be ok since the wine was for us to keep warm, and it's different from the alcohol we get at Clarke Quay? :p

Daddysbao, alcohol is alcohol, no matter in what form. Initially my mum added DOM and Martell but I told her must boil until the alcohol evaporate totally if she really wanna add. After a while, she also don't bother to add already.

Alcohol can be passed through breastmilk. So if you don't want baby to become an alcohol addict, then best to avoid [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] (my mum still proudly told me that she put a dash of martell in my milk when I was younger to knock me out - no wonder me and my siblings are all good drinkers! Trained from young! hahaha!)

I know of ppl who drink the rice wine during confinement, but they wait till 2-3hours later then breastfeed.

I couldn't wait cos I was expressing every 2 hours. So I chose to avoid. I kept warm by wearing warm PJs are hiding in my blanket [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Cos my mum's place is super windy (natural wind).

can anyone share tactics to convince hubby that we need a maid when BB arrives... he shuts off when the topic is mentioned. wonder is it due to a stranger in the house or the cost of it or that he sees no need for it.

Gilera: I am 15 gg into 16 weeks .. I manage to feel the tapper feeling from BB when I am 14 weeks.. Not very hard or strong feel n it Juz came out if a sudden kind..

hey gilera,

i also have frequent urge to pee....and when sometimes i try to hold my bladder at night (cos i lazy to go toilet)....my whole abdominal area will really hurt....