(2011/07) July 2011

Mao shan Wang

ah! Finally had my taste on durians this year! Bought 2 packs of Mao san Wang from NTUC. Delicious! Yummy! 1 pack has the creamy the sweeter taste, whereas the other has the bitter taste. But now feeling very hot and bloated.. Hehe.. Not forgetting the burps..

Mount Alvernia Tour

The whole tour was quite short and brief coz most of the rooms were fully occupied. I just had a chance to peek at the double room. Here are the few key points :

1.) all the items will be provided by hospital. The only thing we need to bring is one set of baby clothes for discharge. She also recommend us to bring our own button pyjamas coz hospital gown not convenient for BF.

2.) rooming in with baby: if single room, can room in with Bb 24 hours. But double or four bedded, can only room in day time. Need to send Bb back to nursery at night. But if Bb hungry at night, nurses will bring the Bb to mummy for BF.

3.) car park is $5.10 per day for in house patient. Ermm.. The car park quite cramp lo.. Very hard to find parking. But then they provide free valet service. There are attendants who can help u to park your car in case u wanna rush off for admission.

4.) for admission, we can go directly to the delivery suite in level 3. Admission process will be done at level 3 from 7am-9pm. After that, admission will need to be done at the admission office at level 1.

5.) I quite like the delivery suite compared to the hospital back in Msia. They have TV, CD player, arm chair for husband. We can request for gym ball and mat. I also had a chance to take a look at the water birth delivery suite. It's just a additional bath tub available in the toilet.. Of coz the toilet quite nice la.. Cost $500 extra before gst, and only 2 gynaes are supporting water birth in SG.

6.) oh btw the delivery suite n wards have wireless, dun tell your husbands in case they bring their work to hospital ;p

7.) they have a chapel for baby blessing before discharge, but u need to inform them if u want the service.

8.) we are not allow to bring our own breast pump. If u need to use, have to rent from them at $20 per day.

9.) she did mentioned that Bb will get a free bag during discharge, I asked what's provided in the bag, she said she dunno coz it's sealed -_-'''

Hi all MTBs,

It's my first time posting here. Been reading this thread silently as I am also July MTB.

May I know if anyone is travelling in the third trimester?

If yes, how long is the flight?

I am going for a trip to Jinan, China in third trimester.

If it's a direct flight, I am still ok but I need to board on and off 6 times(one way trip) to get there. Return trip means boarding on and off for 12 times.

I hope for those who are also travelling in 3rd tri or had the experience, please share with me your views. Thanks a lot!

Hi MTB,

Sorry to disturb. I have gave up breastfeeding and have the following for sale:

1) Medela mini electric plus (preloved) - $100

2) Medela mini electric (preloved) - $60

3) Pigeon breastmilk storage bag (new) - $12

4) U shape nursing pillow (new) - $25

5) Maternity swimwear, L size (new) - $40

Self collection at jurong. PM me if you are interested.

One mummy was asking abt promo/BP price of Neurogain S rite? But I can't remember who was asking...

And I was supposed to let u know but only managed to find the contact now.

Can that mummy pm me or if anyone else also keen in the neurogain s, to pm me then i'll pass u the contacts?

Yest went gynae, and was asked to go for glucose test next week.

Just wondering if any mummies also going for glucose test only now? Think some mummies went for it during 1st or 2nd trimester rite?

Coopie

Did dr tan ask u to go for the glucose test?

I have a pre-loved Medela Pump In Style Breastpump in Traveler Backpack to let go at $300. V good condition. Original box from Mums & Babes still available.

Contents: (as stated on box)

Pump In Style Breastpump

Microfiber backpack

Removable motor unit

Removable cooler carrier

Double pumping Accessory Kit (2 funnels, 2 tubing) –however for hygiene purposes it is recommended to get new ones

Manual breast pump

Cooling Element

4 Medela Breastmilk Bottles & lids

AC adaptor

Battery Pak

Willing to throw in:

3 brand new Medela membranes (needed for the funnel) FOC

10 glass bottles with caps (lids) –good for storing expressed breast milk. Size is compatible with Medela breast pump, just attach directly onto funnel, express, cap and store!

Interested, please PM me or sms 9180 2300.

Jas: yes was asked to go for glucose test too, cos my baby apparently grew very big and I'd put on 4kg from the last visit...And I made the mistake of telling her I ate a lot during my US trip so I think she thot I should check just in case... Did u put on a lot of weight too?

Also I heard it's "compulsory" for older mothers too as the risk of gestational diabetes supposed to increase with age...

Coopie

When I reached the clinic, I was immediately asked to go for scanning first, cos dr tan was rushing to go for a forum.

My weight, blood pressure and urine strip were only checked after the scan. So the glucose test wouldn't be due to my weight gain cos she dun even know how much I've gained.

Anyway I gained 3kg from last checkup.

I asked the nurse how come my last 2 pregnancies I didn't have to go for glucose test, and this time I had to, she couldn't answer me. So I told hubby maybe now I old already...

So when are y going for your test? 8:30am too?

Btw when's your edd again? Mine changed to 11 July and she said I can deliver end June.

U going for natural or c sec?

Hmm yah could be cos of age? I am probably going sometime this week, haven't decided when yet depending on work... Yah 8.30am and gotta fast the night before. The nurses also gave me registration form for hospital and paedetrician too...who did u use for ur first 2 kids?

Hoping to go for natural if possible... Edd is 8 July still. Urs is Caesarian?

Been a while since I came in... Alot more active on FB nowadays...

Maelyn - hw did u find Mt A after the tour in general?

MTB any PD to recommend fm Mt A? Gynae was asking if I have any preferance...

Coopie

So fast give u registration form already??

But dr tan also asked if I have picked a date, told her I've not.

I have been using dr Irene Chan as PD for my 2 kids.

She's popular, clinic always packed.

Very motherly doctor.

She's located on 19th floor.

You can checkout her website.

http://www.ikids.com.sg/

Yes this time also c sec.

Hi dancebaby, I am also going to be travelling in my 3rd trimester (~30 weeks). Will be taking an 8-hr direct flight to Singapore from Brisbane and back again. You will need to get a letter from your gynae to state that you are fit for travel. Different airlines will have their own policies so it's best to check with them.

Hi Chinook,

Thanks for your reply.

8 hours seem long too. We will need to drink lots of water on board and also move around.

I am concerned due to different feedbacks(3rd tri travel) I heard from friends. So it should be fine to travel if we are feeling alright ya?

morning all Mummies!!!

Monday again but never mind...we r nearer to c our lil bunny~~~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Into my 3rd tri already....guess most mummies already into it liao, right??? really start to counting down...

morning..

feimei > when does 3rd tri starts? from wk 28 or wk 29??

sigh sigh.. monday blues ah.. when baby comes out, no more er ren shi jie with hubby already. :'(

xinyue> dunnu is 27th or 28th leh...hahahaa...definately not 29th!!!

Hmmm~~~~nvm la..bb will be ur lamp post....hahahaha

lynn,

I have not been to other hospital in SG, so I can't really do a comparison. Overall Mount A looks kinda small to me. Very cramped lobby and rooms. If you have a big family and expect lots of vistors, you can opt for family suite, thats what the tour conductor told us. However, I think the facilities in the room are quite good. I hope their services are good too. They have a few wings of maternity wards and each has its own nursery, pretty convenient. The wards are generally quite quiet. Good for rest. Their Delivery suites are quite comfortable, spacious enough for relaxation. So far the staffs looks friendly to me. I see that they are also pretty pro-breastfeeding.

27th week is 3rd tri lo.... i cant wait to count dwn fast. feel so sianz when i saw my manager face. feel like slapping him. lollzzzz

oh btw, after we deliver in the delivery suite, the baby will be weighed, cleaned at the delivery suite just beside us. We are to stay in the delivery suite for an hour so that they can monitor the condition of the mother and baby. And this is the BEST time to introduce breastfeeding!

My last delivery experience in Msia is that after the baby pops out, the baby is cleaned then taken away from you. Then, after my episotomy, I was rushed out of the delivery suite. Totally no bonding between mummy and baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

feimei,

If you read breastfeeding books, the best time to introduce is within the first hour after delivery. The first thing that the bb will look for is your nipple and suck on the breast. You can google for Breast Crawl. Its a practice where after the baby is born, the baby is given the chance to crawl on your body to look for your nipple. Its a very natural thing. Anyway you will not have milk yet, just colustrum, so don't worry, bb won't get overfed.

If you delay on breastfeeding, baby will loses their sucking instinct and will need a little more effort to teach them how to breastfeed.

Xinyue

Will still be able to get er ren shi jie. But takes awhile lah. Maybe when bb is one year old and more settled down. Now that my #1 is 20 months old and in childcare, we finally get more time for ourselves. But #2 coming out soon. Haha! But be prepared that relationship with hubby will be abit different when bb is out, then again, it takes time to adjust. We're doing great now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think I am in third trimester this week too! Gees.. time really flies.. am excited and anxious! can't wait to see my bb.. Kinda curious #2 will look like daddy or mummy? hmm.. coz my #1 looks totally like daddy. Putting a little hope that #2 will look like me.. hehe

maelyn> yeah...i heard ppl saying the best time to intro bb to suckle is during the golden 1hr....but usually will the nurse let u do it or u Must request u wan to do it??? u noe...if u r with those old aunty nurses...they usually dun bother letting u doing such thing...becos they will tink u can always do it when u back in the ward mah...they need to clean up the mess fast in the delivery room....(what i heard lol!!!)

feimei... hw i wish faster lo. i relise dat. even we r pregnant or we have previledge no ppl will care even our own manager ;( sickening guy sia....

during my 1day lesson @ KKH the nurses say if we wanted to breatfeed dan must always rem once gv birth breastfeed our precious first b4 they push away & feed bb wif milk powder.

i still got abt 2 weeks to 3rd trimester .. but hmm e rest of 2nd trimester i hope can njoy coz it seems my MS is back earlier this time round [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

suying> i mus rem to inform the nurse when in the delivery room lol....hahahhaaa....or write on my palm...if i can't tok, i show them my note on my palm....hahahahahaa....

aiyaa...all boss r like tat la...mine oso same...ask me make stupig decision in deciding who is my backup when i m away n these two guys hv been back stabbing each other...soo i m force to choose either of them jus that my boss dun wan to be the BAD person in deciding who is my backup....i oso feel my life Sucks in work....when we r out, u think those ppl who really backup us, will really do our things??? pls la...they got their work to do...who cares on our work mann....soo after 4mths back...tons of shit to clear!!!! i can't imagine~~~ :S

feimei > Ok, thanks..

daph > so it's adapting all over again. argh. think besides the baby as lamp post, also got the MIL as BIG lamp post. she is now coming to my place very single weekend! ARGH... cant imagine how many times per week will she pop by.. or worst, she decides to stick to my place... ARGHHHHHHHHH.. That is worst than having a sickening boss.. sickening boss, at worst, change job. sickening MIL.. cannot change..

Sorry.. just need somewhere to vent out frustration.

hihi morning all mtbs

yes monday again

think i will take 3rd tri start in week 27....mean i hv 1more week to reach 3rd tri...jia you jia you

feimei...yes feeling so excited leh...able to hug n kiss my bb in another 3mth times....still remember when we 1st meet in this forum...whr everyone tested +ve, then 12wk oscar, 20wk detailed scan...this is a really a very precious moment for me.

suying..."ren"...our maternity is coming...on the way liao

Suying...remember when u check in KKh for delivery...remember must instructed the nurse that you wanted breastfeed...so they won't feed ur bb with milk powder...

sunshine > hehe.. must enjoy this moment.. before it is gone in the blink of an eye..

btw anyone kept a mom and baby journal??

I've a brand new Quinny Buzz 3 stroller, willing to let go at $800. Price neg. Was given to me as a baby shower gift. Interested pls pm me. Thanx.

Color of stroller: Roller Pink. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5327760.jpg]

I've got 1 x BN Avent Philips Steam Sterilizer (24hr model) - received as gift (retailing at $199 sgd)

Selling @ $160 cash / willing to exchange for vouchers (taka / robinsons / isetan / tangs / best denki / ntuc)

please PM me if interested.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5327856.jpg]

Thanks Jas, will check her out. They recommended a Wong May Lin or something like that.

Happy Monday all! Been very busy recently and no time to post much. I think I'm in my 3rd trimester too and getting very excited and nervous at same time. Still so many things to do before baby comes, but really looking to maternity leave and being a mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Travelling in third trimester--I have a friend who just came back from a long trip in her 32nd week. I think it's fine as long as you feel ok, but just remember to pace yourself...

Btw for those who have given birth before, did you wax down there before giving birth, or did they shave you? If they shaved you, was the hair regrowth itchy/ did it cause any problems?

Have been told I should go for full Brazilian wax before delivering, but have never done one before (usually only do the sides) so very scared...esp since waxing supposed to be more painful during pregnancy cos of the hormones...

Anyone has any experience to share?

xinyue> hahahahahaa....can change MIL unless u change 2gther w ur hubby lol...becos they come in bundle....hahahaha.... =P dun tink too much, let her be bahhh....ur home got spare room for her to Zzz in??? tell her will be bb room lol...then she wun invade into ur hse....

sunshine> hahahaha...i looking at those new thread in Dec....they jus started to say find which gynae...this test n that test...hahahahaa...jus like us in the past....how time flies!!!! :D

wanted to start a journal for my gal but i m the person who lazy to write...hahahahaa...soo nvm mind la...jus keep the scanned fotos lol....ytd hubby jus in-directly hinting...he will cook for us...then i tell him...ur food edible??? hahaa...then he quickily reply...then u cook for me lol...he finally said what he wan to say...i hv not been cooking since 1st tri...sometimes only cooked for myself becos i eat porridge n steam fish....if cook for him...i will cook his favourite n it will be 3 dish one soup...maybe mus practice to cook again...otherwise i will be more n more LAZY!!!! =P

feimei > ya.. now, i try to enjoy what is left of my er ren shi jie.. haha. got spare room lor.. baby already got another room.. zzz

lol.. yeah.. i also go other threads to kpo and sometimes, get to learn new things too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i did the journal.. lazy to paste the scan photos into a sheet.. -_-

dancebaby, I think as long as your doc says you are okay to travel in your 3rd trimester, and you are having a single pregnancy with no complications, it should be fine.

feimei... lollzz... funny u. ya la... i feel they r sucks lo. y gt these kind of ppl.

feimei/sunshine.. yes... during delivery we have to inform nurse. so must rem ;)

coopie... i was told by my fren to shave ourself like dat wont be so shy ;) haha...

coopie

dr tan asked me to do full waxing so that the regrowth will not be itchy or poke the c-sec wound.

so i go 1-2days before my c-sec.

gals, i dun tink any hospital will let u breastfeed the baby during the 1st hour.. last time at TMC i was given the baby immediately after they cleaned him up for photo taking, then bb taken out to be weighed and measured then I m wheeled back to the room and wait. Tink by the 2nd or 3rd hour bb is given to me for breastfeeding.

I dun find that the bb loses its touch to suckle leh..haha. Zach is good at suckling :p (sounds so funny) cos he manage to latch on for the next 8 mths!

I did brazillian wax before my delivery.. mabbe I did it very often previously i dun feel pain :p

u can wax at 35th week but not too near ur EDD cos the therapist may afraid that waxing promotes contraction during the pulling. I used to go Strip but this time round may try Pink Parlour at Raffles Place :p Hate strip cos they keep upsell their services.

xinyue > ur MIL come to ur hse weekends? Do what? Not her own house she can stay whole day? I really wonder what can ppl do the whole day at others house.. haha. My MIL alr 'smart' liao cos each time she come to my house, i go into my room and never come out till she say she is leaving. so i guess now she dun wanna come..:p

thanks all, hmm looks like i should try to go for full waxing too...totally regret not doing it earlier to get used to the pain...first time doing when pregnant will be traumatic i'm sure, aiyoh.

[piyo: yes i think wil be VERY pain. i usually only do the sides and already squirm here and there...can't imagine the full thing...]

feimei > heard shaving will cause the regrowth to be coarse.. while waxing wont.

zach > lol.. she comes over in the afternoon, say ard 1 or 2 pm, slack all the way till 4pm. Then go interchange walk walk, eat dinner and goes home.

Sometimes, she comes, we doing housework.. She good mood, she will help..

Else is come and kaypoh lor.. Come over, open my fridge, freezer.. walk into room - see here see there..

she bad.. treats my place as her own place. keep telling her younger precious son, if he sleepy can sleep in the spare room. got aircon MAH.