(2011/07) July 2011

Feimei ~ I cant agree with you more. That's why I usually book for morning appointment and I really hate to wait. Remembered my 1st appt ( in the afternoon) i waited from 1.30pm to 4.30pm!!! pissed lor!!!

tze> yea~~the waiting time kills!!! Arrrghhh~~but DS is done at Ward 52A, right? other scan done at the lvl 1 clinic, right???

feimei: my oscar was scheduled at 3!! I cant recall how long I waited but it was cos I had great company!! Suying and Audrey Hiera were there too!!

lizzie> yes mornings are better.. my ds was at 8am.. my detailed scan tmr is at 3pm.. cant imagine how long i have to wait..

my frenx gave me some samples of Anmum...i jus tried 1 cup jus now...(i did not make the whole pack, jus half a pack)...not soo milky taste...compared to the previous one i m taking, Mamil Mama....even thou i onli put 3scoops...the milky taste already very strong.... +_+"

Janice, signing package is good cos u don't have to worry about payment every time u go over, unless u buy med or do special scans.

My DS is next week and appt at 9.30am. They asked me to not work that day cos if bb not cooperative, I can go Jalan and come back again. I wonder if I'm having a boy or girl.

My boy is about 16-17kg and recently very manja, wants to be carried.

Jan,

Package is more economical. I just signed a package last saturday with my gynae. $700 for 7-8 visits, include ultra-scan, urine test, blood pressure and consultation. Usually my ultrascan already costs $80 and consultation $50.

But of course the package don't include supplements and additional tests (if required).

My gynae package is also $700. But nvr include medicine n additional tests. But my scan I already paid as a package $400+.

Did any of u have buy insurance for baby?

eLcH/Nana-mum/baby> omg i didnt know. tot its a monthly thingy. thank you so much.

baby> initially i wanted to go for jocelyn wong but her nurse named josephine is super stuck up, arrogant, lousy services. so changed to eunice chua.

nana-num> oh my gynae's fee is opposite of yours. e last time i paid consultation $80, scan $40. excluding gst.

all mummies> which mummies is with TLC?? any package wif TLC? its so difficult to get thru their phone. -_-

Event : July 2011 MTBs gathering

Date : 18 feb 2011

Time : 7pm

Venue : Marche @ 313

Attending :

1.) Audrey (7pm)

2.) Lynn (7pm)

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn

5) Wendycsk

6) sweet pea

7) zachmommy (TBD - depending on time)

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (7pm)

13) Lizzie (sugarspunlily) (Halal food pls =D )

14) jas

15) Cactusnah (7pm)

16) pillow4 (7pm)

17) pinkyrose (will hv dinner with lizzie 1st b4 joining u gals)

18) Icezjo (7pm)

19) feimei (7pm)

20) modisch (7pm)

21) Px22 (7pm)

22) baby_manja(will meet with lizzie & pinkyrose for dinner first)

23) syrah (will most likely be late)

Lizzie/sunshine,

My scan at ADC cost $128.40 (after GST; $120 before). As it's twins, it's stated as high risk obstetric scan. I had 2 appointment slots to scan both of them and it took slightly over an hour in total. Yours being singleton will be ard 30mins and prob half the price of mine.

Event : July 2011 MTBs gathering

Date : 18 feb 2011

Time : 7pm

Venue : Marche @ 313

Attending :

1.) Audrey (Will go Q up at 6.30 for the table, pass the table to pillow, den link up with Lizzie & co. for halal dinner, den back to Marche for dessert)

2.) Lynn (7pm)

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn

5) Wendycsk

6) sweet pea

7) zachmommy (TBD - depending on time)

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (7pm)

13) Lizzie (sugarspunlily) (Halal food pls =D )

14) jas

15) Cactusnah (7pm)

16) pillow4 (7pm)

17) pinkyrose (will hv dinner with lizzie 1st b4 joining u gals)

18) Icezjo (7pm)

19) feimei (7pm)

20) modisch (7pm)

21) Px22 (7pm)

22) baby_manja(will meet with lizzie & pinkyrose for dinner first)

23) syrah (will most likely be late)

Hi Jan-ice, Audrey & USagibb

It's my first pregnancy and I waited 10 years for this to happen. I've heard many labor stories from friends, aunties and sister. But I never bother to find out more, but I know it's painful.

I also aware that different people have different pain threshold. I dun know mine, but I have to have faith to have this baby my way. Hehehe!!!

I have and aunt who just delivered her 2nd and basically she's been giving me some advices and tips. She had epidural for the 1st child and that caused her a long labour which she hated and after reading alot about it, she decided to have hew own way for her 2nd.

She went to Dr AZIZ at Kembangan Plaza, who was supportive of her decision not to induce when she passed her 39 weeks!

She crossed over her 40th and had contractions by then but she kept note of the pain and the frequency before decided that it's time to go Raffles!

She admitted at 4am, refused drip for assisted opening of cervic and refused to be strapped for hours on the bed. She had her baby monitored every 20mins and while waiting she did the exercises which she learnt online. hehehe..very funny right??

She walked, so that the pain was bearable. I think she dilated quite fast naturally, so at 8am, Dr Aziz came, pricked her waterbag and she popped at 10am!

It was a fast one! And she was glad she did it. She told me I can too..but she cannot avoid epiosotomy tho (cutting of vagina).

I'm not confident, but I believe if we remain calm, do the breathing exercise and focus, I'm sure we too can have a less stressful labour and dilation will be faster.

One tip worth following would be; whenever there is a huge contraction, tell ourselves we are one contraction away from meeting our junior.

But of course, if C-sect is necessary, we shd never avoid it for both safety.

Also I think support from hubby is important too. I warned my hubby not to be impatient with me and forced me to take epidural bcos altho it is painless, but seriously, you wont really get the actual feel of birthing.

I wont be sure if I'll have a second chance to have a kid, so, hopefully lah...hpefully it'll be all naturale for me.

From stories which I heard, induce would only prolong your labour. Preferaly try to avoid induce unless you wish the baby to see the world at a certain day eg on Hubby annual leave etc.

bella> oh wow, it must be a mircule for you to have this baby. i felt so touched. congratulations!

just curious if go thru e epiosotomy tho (cutting of vagina) is it become loose and our hb will stop loving us??

Janice,

I read from a magazine that the cutting prevents the vagina from tearing too much (in cases where cutting is neccessary) and that will cause greater pain.

Aiyo.. Don't be silly.. Why will hb stop loving us? Going through pregnancy and child-birth is a very great feat and hb should be proud us of no matter how our "down there" becomes.

nana-mum> [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i m worried since my hb working in china, u know. anyway thanks for ur great sharing. its very helpful to us especially we are 1st-timers.

Janice,

Not great sharing la.. Heehee.. What I know is a bit from here a bit from there de..

I also read that if we do kegel exercise (the exercise that u do something like tighten down there to hold ur urine), we can recover faster and the muscle will be tighter. So maybe we can all try to do that now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am a first-time mummy too.. So i understand how u feel, because there r many times when I freaked out and worried myself silly.. Heheh.. But after reading what other mummies think and feel about the same topic, i will realise that things are not as bad as what i imagined after all. That's why we are all here to support one another~~

Bella, r u delivering in KKH? If yes, they will only administrate abt 70% epid so that you will still feel the pain enuff to want to push....

Ladies, I will like to join this thread, expecting #2 - Boy, EDD 16 Jul, KKH, Dr SF Loh.....

Feeling v tired now, as my #1 is only 8mths+. This pregnancy came as a surprise to us as we didn't think that I will be conceiving so easily this time...but v glad that we are adding a new member to the family that soon...8)

tze- mine is also prof tan...

bella- im touched reading ur story...muz be very precious to u

lizzie- gd luck!

soontobe- welcome welcome!

congrats & welcome soon to be... im wif Dr Loh too ;)

Lizzie....congrats.... thanks for the amt. think mine will have additonal cost for the sugar level result ;( hope everything goes well for mi. 9more days for mi to go.... by the way yr scan takes hw long??

lynn > am in week 20+ already.

yaya > update us..

sunshine > yup.. but sometimes cannot stand those ppl keep speculating the baby's gender. -_-

feimei > that's why I said before, the milk, nutrients more or less there. Is more of whether one can tahan the taste (milky taste) and the sweetness.

Sigh.. the scans (oscar and DS), think also depends on who is in front of u. for my oscar, the mom in front of me carrying twins and the twins not co-operative. I waited 1.5 hrs plus. Appt was in the morning somemore..

aiyo.. am the only one with status of hospital unknown.

gals.. how do you all choose your hospital?

jgwee> we r more then happy that u offer the help!!! u realli can do it?? dun get 'caught' by ur boss doing personal thingy leh....kekekekeke

Ladies! My scan took about 1 hour in total excluding the half hour walk i had to take cos my baby showed everything but hid his heart from the sonographer heehee ;)

After i walked AND nagged, he finally showed heehee

My results were communicated to me by my gynae.

She also suggested that i go for physiotheraphy to ease my back and neckache ;)

Hi ladies.. been reading silently these days.. glad to see so many good updates...

Just done my DS too... expecting gal.. so happy coz #1 is boy. Really confirm guaranteed close factory after this. The DS went very well and my sonographer is very pro in explaining each screen she's scanning. The important areas that she scan are:

Whether the fingers & toes are seperated, the heart size,kidney, spine, several body area blood flow whether is it smooth, brain structure, head circumference, the thickness of the neck membrane, baby's lip & nostril to check for cleft lip, , ears to make sure at correct position, baby's weight and of coz the genital area to determine gender. Some of the above like the neck membrane is only scanned when i pop the question coz by right during oscar scan already measured. But i Kia See.. so ask again. She added that reason y must do DS scan now and not later than 22 weeks is because by 22 week baby's rib will be form and blocked the vital organs.. I really learn alot during this DS..

Later i Ask gynae about sterilization after birth, gana scolded.. haha.. says still so young.. go for short term contraceptive better.

J2010t

Din realise our EDD sooo close! Dr Sim be very busy!

xinyue

My hospital/gynae is by friend's recommendation. And though my gynae can also deliver in Mt A, but her clinic at TMC so i chose TMC easier and i simply LOVES TMC's papaya fish soup.. haa..

congratZ, babycarrot!!! realli can close prod liao...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] start ur shopping spree bahhh!!!

Oh yah... the only issue with the scan is that my placenta is still low. Hope it will go up when baby grows bigger. I'm advise not to carry heavy things and not to walk too much. Oh.. and my baby estimated weight is 20g above average.. haha.. think i must watch my diet!

Enjoy your dinner 2mro ladies! Upload some photos here?