(2011/07) July 2011

I'm also a July mother with expected delivery on the 16 July.

But according to gynae, I might give birth in week 37 or 38. *excited*

I would like to ask if pelvic pain meant that baby has engaged? I had this pain these few days. Not sure if I have overwalked or due to baby being engaged. Anyone knows?

sunshinebb well actualli i wan my hubby to b around to ask questions coz i dun ask my gyn any questions hahahaha so every time last time i go on my own i can't answer many questions he ask me .. :p

hehe nvrm i'll still prob b able to meet up in another 2 weeks time with u provided both of us dun pop my apptm mostly on Wed :p

agree with wat is said abt FB being happening i suddenly c a lot of updates min by min.. :p

rose>> the other thing you can try after delivery.. is to make quick boil soup with baby spinach (苋菜).. eat the veg and drink the soup.. it help me last time when i have my first..

and lots other friend also have effect on this.. easy to buy and easy to make.. and taste good

I was a bit scare yesterday when i had v. bad constipation at the office.. i even bleed quite badly.. at first i so scare i might hv try too hard till I force baby out cuz the bleeding.. then quickly check and found blood only from the back not the front.. feel more relief.. after that feel a bit dizzy.. think loose some blood.. ;P

tomorrow meeting gynae will tell her abt that.. scary experience

Rose> One thing I learned from my #1 and my experienced sister, always think you have milk. I didn't have much milk but I'll just latch whenever #1 wanted. Dont' listen to others, esp those aunties, who will tell you that you don't have enough milk, just supplement with formula. It's the theory of demand and supply, just latch and you'll have more milk! Even my own mother made me so upset. You'll need to communicate with your husband first cos he'll get very worried and frustrated when the newborn cries for milk. Great determination and support needed from husband!

Chujie> I have the same problem when pregnant cos I pushed too hard when poo poo and can see fresh blood. My gynae didn't really care as it's quite common. Try to be gentle and have more patience. I was rushing as #1 was screaming and I pushed too hard! hahaha

lucky3>> I agree with you.. don't listen to those aunties and even mom and mil when they insist you don't have enough milk.. they always said.. baby cry so freq.. your milk cannot make them full.. must supplement with formula..

But bm is known to be easy digest.. and it is common that they will demand more frequently.. and bm is also known to be best compare to any formula.. esp our antibodies will pass on to them even before we have the illness symptoms (e.g. flu or cough).. so the baby tends to be much stronger

I insist feeding my boy fully bm.. after I go back to work.. night time i insist direct latch to make sure I have enough stimulation too.. that can help sustain the milk supply.. some how express only not that helpful..

regardingly pile.. ya.. I push too hard.. hehe.. so scary when I saw the fresh blood.. lucky no more bleeding afterward.. God bless.. now.. just waiting for the popping sign soon.. but hope not this week as husband not around.. hehe

will be going for check up later this afternoon.. hope I still can go for natural with the scan result.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear Mummies

I'm from the April Mummy Thread.

I have a brand new unopen can of Dumex Mamex Gold (1.6kg) willing to let go at $60. Its normal price at NTUC is $72+.

Reason is I'm changing formula for my baby boy. Do note that the expiry date for this tin is 10 Nov 2012

Pls PM me if interested & we can arrange the pick-up details then. Preferable along NEL MRT stations.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5605346.jpg]

Hi! I am from Aug 2011 thread.

Any mommies interested in spreeing from Bargainballoons for balloons for your baby shower?

I am intending to order some balloons for mine.

Chujie & Lucky3>> Thanks for all ur tips and advices ;D Appreciate it very much!!! I'm really hoping to bm fully this time;) my #1 that time really gave up easily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] no support from family & hubby that time.. I really felt very bad.. Specially when engorged that time dunno wat to do.. Then went to my gynae & she told me to go parentcraft to help me first.. Wa really it was a nightmare that time the sister there massage my breast like nobody's business.. I cried a lot !!! Then in the end she told me to go back to my gynae with a letter. Then my gynae referred me to a breast specialist in Mt E.. That one more nightmare coz the doctor extracted my bm using syringe!!! Worst have to pay in total $ 500+ inclusive of scan. That made me decide to give up... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Now, i for full support from my hubby.. He bought me mxxxxa pump some more coz he read that it will help ;) I'm crossing my fingers :p

Chujie, quick boil means very quick only?? And do I need to add seasoning??? After delivery means right after delivery?? Or when reach home ??? Hehe

U try to eat lots of fibre.. Fruits and yoghurt helps for me ;) cannot push so hard also la.. Later ur baby come out.. Just like my mom when she gave birth to my brother... Luckily she felt it then mu dad quickly called the doctor and my mom gave birth at our house..Hehe

Btw, when is I'd EDD?

Michelle >> i searched it using the search box.. requested to join group but till now not approved.. dunno who approved le...

rose>> quick boil means not the few hours boil.. you can cook the soup base with meat first.. then when you want have you dinner, just boil the veg till it soften lor.. but still green colour la.. if not lose vit C.

On the other hand, you can put the veg into your noodle soup to cook together..

Don't drink too early.. actually quite cooling.. after confinement also ok..

Regarding FB, they are currently too busy.. cuz many mom just given birth on the same day yesterday..

What are both of you's FB name.. I might drop them a line

ya..... 1 by 1 popping out. so excited. think they will approve once they log in FB ;) happening there ;) do join July mummies ;)

Rose> Jiayou! If you have any problems with breastfeeding, PM me, provided I'm not in hospital. I'll be doing c-section on 8 July.

Regarding the engorgement, all thanks to my sister who told me way beforehand (she fully breastfeed four kids, last two twins!).

1) First 3 days or so no milk

2) Then milk slowly comes in

3) Starts to get engorgement. Last time my LC taught me to massage and squeeze out some milk by hand so that it's not so painful and easier for baby to suckle or pump. She even got my husband to massage for me becos he has more strength. (You can imagine the scene and my mum was standing next to us!)

You can also put cold cabbage leaves (unwashed) to ease the engorgement but only twice a day or else end up no milk. Or, use the pump every 3 hours to relieve the engorement.

4) After engorgement, the milk supply will start to go down as the body thought you don't need that much milk. THIS IS THE CRUCIAL STAGE! As your supply goes down, baby start crying for milk frequently. Many people thought you don't have enough milk and ask you to give up. If you just persist and continue latching, the supply will come back after days, or even weeks. It took me almost three months to get good supply and I didn't use formula milk at all.

Remember demand and supply!

lucky3>> myself don't recommend cold cabbage leaves.. like you said.. that ease the engorgement but reduce milk ..

I use warm (actually pretty hot) towel.. repeatingly put on breast and massage.. it helps to losen the engorgement too..

and sometimes.. i can see that there are white spot on the nipple.. then i will squeeze it out like pimple.. as those are the milk fat that cuz the blockage.. then the milk will just leak out and release the engorgement

Nobody experienced pelvic pain? =(

I'm still having the ache there.

Re: cabbage leaves

Use it sparingly. I used it during #1 time and milk drops drastically (maybe I used it too frequently).

Like what Chu Jie said, hot towel and massage help to relieved the engorgement. This method is better.

Sharing my experience and Hope it helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i exp. pelvic pain b4. my gyne advise mi to rest & dun walk too much. the pains will goes off. N it reallys wrks ;)

Darbebe>> you have pelvic pain.. will it be pre-labour sign? better check with your gynae..

I have some sharp pain when I stand up and walk as the baby pressing on my bladder

Suying, I was guessing if I had walked too much. I was also wondering if it's because baby had engaged thus the pressure there. Hmm...

Chu Jie, I don't know if it's pre labour sign. My last check up, gynae was saying there is slight dilation and possible to give birth at week 37/38. Make me so Kan cheong when I still have things left undone.

Pelvic pain

Happens to me for all pregnancies. Get worse from 28 weeks onwards even if I dun walk that much. I'll just walk like a penguin to get my way around. My frens didn't have such symptoms but my sister has too, so maybe it's in the genes that's helping us to expand the pelvic. I can even feel the bones in the centre rubbing against each other. The pain is gone once I delivered.

darbebe... my gyne say dis pain could happens to some mummies. mine bb head was dwn since 20+weeks til nw bb head nt engange yet. so it couls be bb pressing on our veins so which cause us having urge for urine often & pain. hopefully by next week bb head is dwn le lo.... my tummy is so tight til i buay tahan... lollzz

My baby turned head down only recently and since then I started to feel the pelvic pain. Tummy seems to be getting heavier and heavier.

Woo.. So many mummies popped. Very soon it will be our turn. Heehee.. So looking forward.

I have been a silent reader since last year as well and my edd is 7 July. Hv sent a fb request to join the July mtb 2011 group. Can add me in pls? Thanks!

dear all, i ve more or less been a silent reader. posted a few times only. may i know the fb page to join? would like to share and learn more with all the mummies-to-be/mummies here!

my edd is 15 Jul =)

Lucky3, ChuJie and Darbebe >>> Thank you for all your advise... Will jiayou!!! will keep you guys posted hehehe..

Lucky3>> so u sched ur C-sect liao?? how come u dont opt for natural ?

Darbebe>> our pelvic will be in pain as its expanding liao so it will get ready for childbirth ma. Dont worry...

gd morning mummies!

Decided to come in here to see who's been requesting to add in FB...hehe. I'm the moderator for the grp & have PM those who have send a request coz this is a closed grp. Cannot anyhow add people. Got 1 guy tried to request to join but I reject too coz we do post our pictures inside so need to play safe....this is solely for July mummies to share our experiences....

Those who wana join, you may PM me or search 'MTB July 2011' and reply my PM.

thanks all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rose> Cos #1 was breech, so definitely had to go through c-section, and this time since the gap for #2 is quite close, safer to do c-section again.

Anyway, I've been through natural for #0 at 34 weeks three years back. So if anyone complains about natural, just think how hard it was for me to deliver #0 without heartbeat....Or if anyone has anything to complain about pregnancy symtoms and not able to sleep becos the little one is kicking inside, just think of me leaving the hospital without #0. It's all going to be worth it! All the best to us to these final weeks, and wish me luck!

lucky3>> you sure will have the blessing this time with your #2.

I just realise how blur I was that I order the wrong size medela storage bottlle through the spree.. the worse is.. I only realise when the stock already arrived.. haha.. preggie really have worse thinking compare to b4 preg.. haha..

I ordered the bigger bottle than those I used to have.. now possibly got problem keeping them in my travelling pack.. hope not too bad la.. sigh..

Lucky3>> sorry was a little bit confused..#0 is before your #1? wa.. it must be hard on you and ur hubby... especially u ma.. u carry for 34 weeks liao.. what happened if you dont mind me asking...

All the best to you on July 8!!! which hospital?

Chujie>> I agree with you... i also have the worse memory also... hahha.. i think tat's why women are entitled to that... hahhaa...

rose>> ya lor.. somemore I tried to think so many time before I order to make sure I didn't order the wrong one.. yet.. I still order the wrong one.. better don't let my husband know if not he will laugh till the sky drop

I joined FB.. but office network blocked it.. and I didn't join data plan for my phone as I seldom use outside.. so I only check FB at home.. hehe..

Anymore gd news in FB? so many moms given birth these few days.. envy.. haha..

Hi all, can i join the MTB july fb? My EDD date is on 17 July. I would like to learn and know more with all the July MTB and mummies out there. Thanks ya.

Hmm, the message I posted yest is not reflected here.

I was just saying that yes, it was a very difficult time for us, the darkest period of my life for #0. I'm glad that my husband has been very supportive and we depended on each other for strength. It's still hurt a lot when I talk about it but I have somehow learn to manage the pain as time passes. You learn to get stronger.

We don't know the reason and we will never know. All my blood tests turned out fine. Ours is classfied as "unknown" case and we didn't want him to go through autopsy. Can't imagine that small body of his getting cut up.

Anyway, we should talk about happy things here and learn to move on in life! I've learned to appreciate every little things in life now, even when #1 gets cranky, or with all terrible symptoms for #2. Wish me luck luck luck!

Chujie, lucky3 >>> missed u guys!!! Tot u guys given birth liao coz suddenly both of u were gone hehe

Lucky3>> yeah must let go of the pass... We must treasure wat we have now and look into the future;D

Y u doing c-sect so early?? 3weeks earlier le... All the best to u!! Our best wishes!!!!

Chujie>>> allthe best to u too!!

Thank Rose.. actually I am on FB too..

3 wks is not early for c-sect.. cannot do on actual EDD cuz if contraction come then have to go emer-csect..

lucky> sorry to hear this from u. like wat e mummies said, its alriz in e past. let go and look forward to ur happy future! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for me, i m experiencing the darkest moment in my life now coz i m jobless and all depend on my hubby. plus i m gg thru most of my 9 mths of pregnancy alone in sg as my hubby working overseas. i see my gynae alone most of the time. although i really wish my hubby can be by my side, but our situation dun permit :'(

i dun hv a very supportive parents, still ask me for mthly allowance. i basically on my own in sg. cries several times n told myself no point, just be strong and relied on myself. i just cant wait to get over this fast n find a job.