(2011/06) June 2011

Morning mummies..=)

Had another backache attack last night. I did everything the same, slept the same way, had pillows on the same areas for support, but still woke up at 1 am with pain.

I also observe that when my bladder is full at night, the aches also come. Anyone experiencing the same thing?

Clare68, I read that it's better to use plastic bottles because the lukeyocytes (some good enzymes) in breastmilk adhere to the sides of the glass. If freezing bm, I am for freezing in those bags specially designed for breastmilk storage, or they have those special freezing trays made of special plastic. You pour the bm inside, freeze, then when want to use, just put in bottle, put that in bottle warmer and ready.

Qiuen, same here. Hubby was playing scrabble online when I said I signed us up for BF workshop. He was like, where? When he heard Kembangan, he was ok. I must go? Sigh.. *shakes head* Nvm, he sure free that night. I will drag him. hahahaha...

Oh ya, I purchased my cot yesterday. Bought from BaBy hypermart I think...DIdn't get the graco cot, cos my MIL paying for this cot so i was thinking not that nice if ask for expensive one..haha..but I like this one, hubby chose pink.. (not surprising there, he everything also pink and flowers cos he say girl...*shakes head again*)

morning mummies.. it's still raining.. dun feel like getting out of bed today at all.. hope all mummies walk carefully these few days and have a good week! short work week! woot!

Good Morning Mummies!!afew more days till holiday!!*Add Oil**

Hanis,yeapz.I was looking up,I think its playtex for the bm containers.but was just curious about the reaction of bm with glass bottles.dont think its true yah?lol

Qiuen and Hanis,my hubby dont even want to go for classes!haha.He says I will just stay in the confinement centre for 3weeks after giving birth then the nurses come and teach us.haiz..Men!

I think ur daughter will be daddy's FAV girl next time,Hanis.lol..I think all girls are.especially 1st kid.My hubby was so excited,when I was preg,he said he will get another toy bb gun,and shoot anyone who bullies his daughter(if bb was a girl),now he knows it is a boy,he gave away his current shot gun to his friend,now not even interested in going for classes lor..haha..

Just a recent case over here,I dont think it happens in Singapore though,the nurses in one of the hospital made a mix-up in the babies!2 babies had dropped their identification ringlets,nurses anyhow slip it back w/o comfirming the identity until it was feeding time.One of the mummies was shocked to find her son become daughter!wah...scary..imagine if babies of the same sex(because babies look alike in the begining lor)..It seems to common here,my mil room mate(staying in the same room when she gave birth to my hubby years ago) met with the same situation,somemore the other baby was already brought home,till my mil told her neighbour your baby dont look like your baby leh.

Hanis > I went to Baby's Hypermart recently too. Bought a play yard and a mattress from them at an offer price. Which mattress did u get?

Saw some at The First Few Years when I went to buy the Snoogle pillow yesterday, but the prices are crazy. Have not bought a cot as not sure if these are the features I should look out for.

1) One-hand drop side

2) 3 different adjustable heights

3) Teething rails

4) Castor wheels

qiuen, for the TMC course at amk hub, I have been receiving sms from them with regards to changes and updates on the course dates. So far I receive the smses on the course dates twice. But I feel that it is so confusing and frustrating looking at one whole chunk of dates. I wish they will just sms us perhaps once during beginning of March for 1 and only finalise update instead. I think Mrs Wong is busy and have to go give some talk to the conference and hence changes in dates. Will go home and check out the dates and update you when i get home. Are you going for Mrs Wong's class too on Sat 2pm slot?

Hanis, I also suffer from backaches everynight. Cant seem to lie in a fixed position for long hours as it strains the part o the body that supports it. I often wake by hubby up in the middle of the night to ask for help to turn me to another side as I do have problem doing it on my own due to the pain.

Hmm, I was still thinking of using glass bottles for storing milk thinking that is is the best storage. Now have to think twice le.

Oh yah want to ask if anyone research or recommendation on the diaper bags? I want to plan early to get a nice diaper bag to carry all the barang barang when the baby arrives.

wat a rainy dayz!

regards clothing n bb stuff, ya. try to be thick skin to get frm frenz. mostly they are relative new and good quality.. and i bet yr frenz will love to pass it on as the stuff took too much storage space!

hmm. the glass bottle vs plastic bag discussion raised my curious. this site explain some details http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/t026900.asp seem like have good and bad points for both. I was using glass bottle to store bm for my #1 for almost 2 yrs. maybe i will use a mixture of storage option for #2 tis time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oops. i havent register the mumsnfairy, i better do it now!

christine, diaper bag. i suggest Kate spade! nice color, lasting and hv changing pad. i use them as working bag even as it can fit my nursing bag perfectly. so maybe #2 i will get a new one.. keke

tmr will be travel back to msia.. gong xi fa cai mummies!! may our bunnies will grown up healthy and lovely~

Hi Mummies.. hope everyone had a great weekend and getting ready for CNY!

Hi Altariel, thank you very much for the information on the car seat..

Hi Delfine, I am sooooo tempted to buy the Quinny Buzz but the high price really taunts me.. I wonder where can I get a good price at a 2nd hand...

Hi Hanis & Christine, I just met a friend who gave birth in Oct and she was sharing with me her experiences.. Why don't you try her ways of managing pain (But she was unable to sleep on her side as the pull was too painful for her. She could only sleep on her back). She placed a pillow on her back (higher part) and another pillow on top of the top 1/3 of the other pillow for her head so it formed a gradual slope and it eased the pain for her...

Hope no one is affected by the neverending rain! It took me 1hour and 30 mins from Bukit Panjang to Bugis this morning!!

Moon,yeah..its scary..Things like that do really happen in real life.I tell my hubby to take a good look at our bb when he comes and try to remember special features..take lotsa of photos..and maybe get a someone to follow my bb around..haha*getting parnoid after the news*

maybe can wait for sales to come by,then get a cot?

Christine n Hanis,I did mention to syrah.can maybe try a hot water bag?I leave it on my back(not tummy of course),can get from guardian pharmacy.It works for me.so far so good for me*cross fingers*

Ann01jan,congrates to knowing your bb's gender.as long as bb healthy can lah.We also thought having girl.lol

Chil,Thanks for the link.I guess I will also buy a mixture of glass and plastic bottles.

Clare68. sg don't have confinement centers le. Heard pple mention on Taiwan variety shows. Some even look like 5 star hotels. Hee

No BB mix up but big news last yr is the ivf mix up. That is scary too!

Christine. I attending the Sunday 1230 class. First item in my BB collection is my Kate spade bag. Friend was in us so asked her to buy for me. Just that n my breast pumps. I have yet to buy other items. Haha

For those who're suffering from back pain, and want to have some support during sleep, a pregnancy pillow may help.

Was looking high and low for a certain pregnancy pillow, and finally found it at The First Few Years. Used it last night and it was a godsend. My back was supported, and I could sleep on my side. Am a back sleeper, so this pillow really helped. Hb complained that he didn't have enough space on the bed though, haha.

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BTF%2D13

There's another similar pillow sold there, but without the head support (can use your own pillow instead). Initally I bought that, then went back to change to the full body pillow.

Qiuen > Did u get a diaper bag organiser to fit into your bag? I bought a Longchamp bag, but it's not specifically for baby. Looking around for a suitable organiser.

np clare! for mummies wanna use glass bottle, u can collect some from the hospital while u delivering. they use it to store ready formula milk. the cap is in metal, pls throw the metal cap. and buy the plastic cap and seal from hospital (mt A , kk.. ) farmacy. as a start, get about 16 bottles. each bottle can store about 100ml bm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Qiuen,yeapz..saw the mix up about the IVF.terrible lor..haiz..human error..

Yeapz..got 5star hotel like confinement centre,mine is this one(still not 5star but not cheap at all,soo we are still considering hard) : -

http://www.musoonclinic.com.tw/care.html

Chil,I did see this one in sg.but I see the name Beijing etc etc..haha..I lose confidence liao.and it is not cheap I realise,adding all the misc stuff up.If I was in sg,I will also do confinement at home.

Oh yes..diaper bag,I haven't add that in my list yet,coz' I thought not impt..lol..better look for something now.. "p

chil, quien> which kate spade bag u guys talking abt huh.. wats the model? how much did u manage to get it for? i want to see see.. thanks!

clare, it do attract me initially where they said they will cook those herby stuff based on yr body char (heaty .. colding) pkus the massage for both bb & mummy.. n the photo album etc.. sound intesting enuf [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies to be, congrats with ur coming new bundle of joy! I'm from dec'10 mtb thread.

I've the following to sell:

MY BREST FRIEND NURSING PILLOW (BN) $65

MUNCHKIN VOICE ACTIVATED CRIB LIGHT $28

http://sgmarketplace.blogspot.com/p/baby-items.html

PM me if u r interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Happy CNY!

If anyone wants to sign with stemcord, we can both get discount for the annual fee too. PM for exchange of details ya. Cheers!

altarial, mine is like tat, Dot noel medium baby diaper bag. bot 2 yrs back ard 250 sgd that time, wan a simpler design as i used for work mostly. do checkout their official site, they hv nicer design nowadays [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone looking for a playpen, got it as a gift but i bought mine already.

Brand new, still in original wrapping, unopened.

Far east flora selling at $139, letting it go at $120

interested? please PM me

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5075289.jpg]

Did a DS last thurs and it's another boy! Well, most impt is a healthy baby.. Also no need to spend so much.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ladies, for those who want to do a 3D or 4D ultrasound scan of your baby, you can try Radlink which is located at Paragon. I just called up to enquire as my gynae does not perform such scan. Price is very reasonable compared to TMC fetal assessment unit: 3D is $120 and 4D $150. Was told to go for the scan between 26 to 28 weeks of pregnancy.

By the way, I have gone for my detailed scan and is expecting my 3rd princess. ;)

moon, yes, i recommended the mummies here to buy pregnancy pillow some time ago, prevention is better than cure. buy a good one to last pregnancy and newborn days... no regrets !

not at work today cos i 'bin tua' as my DH would call it. haiz but tomoz i got a presentation so still must crack brain to come up with an interesting topic.

Hanis, i think i have a permanent backache now. i also cannot lie in bed for too long. sometimes cannot fall asleep due to the pain. my back quite arch so i need loads of pillows everywhere. i even use the DH as a leg support. sleeping on the side is also a problem since my hips got quite big and my spine will sag in the middle.

btw i signed up for the mumsfairy on the 15/04 too. my DH very supportive, everything he also say ok. so sweet. cos i guess it's a long awaited child for him.

actually i haven't had a good night's sleep since p. will have very active brain and sometimes insomnia.

not at work today cos i 'bin tua' as my DH would call it. haiz but tomoz i got a presentation so still must crack brain to come up with an interesting topic.

Hanis, i think i have a permanent backache now. i also cannot lie in bed for too long. sometimes cannot fall asleep due to the pain. my back quite arch so i need loads of pillows everywhere. i even use the DH as a leg support. sleeping on the side is also a problem since my hips got quite big and my spine will sag in the middle.

btw i signed up for the mumsfairy on the 15/04 too. my DH very supportive, everything he also say ok. so sweet. cos i guess it's a long awaited child for him.

actually i haven't had a good night's sleep since p. will have very active brain and sometimes insomnia.

Hi joyce,

Unless ur gynae wants to check for glucose level, u actually do not need to fast. It helps if u have a 3/4 full bladder so its easier to scan.

Don't be anxious bt the ds lah. It's really cool cos u get to see all the details like the blood flow and heart and the cute lil fingers! Have fun!

Have a good holiday ppl!

moon: my katespade already has compartments. But maybe still will buy a diaper bag organizer to fit my other bags.

Found 1 in gmarket.http://goods.gmarket.com.sg/gmkt.inc/Goods/Goods.aspx?goodscode=400967654&search_keyword=DIAPER+BAG+ORGANISER

chil: oh i didnt know that sg has confinement centres. I didnt do research on it since i was intending to do mine at hm.

clare68. wah the centre looks nice and serene.

altariel: mine was bought sometime ago so its not in the website. My instruction to friend is simply buy me a nice Stevie Baby Bag. Hehee. It comes with a changing mat.

wah. lots of update to be done on BB's gender. Shall update it when i on my comp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

qiuen > i bought a similar diaper bag organiser for a friend from the bulk purchase forum. can't remember the exact price, shld be 16.50~18.50. this one seems a little more expensive unless u got coupons to offset. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Moon - I bought a cot/playpen that comes with a bassinet (removable), changing table and organisers at the side. I had to buy a separate mattress but I can't remember what type! hehe..will check and let you know..

Christine, Eileen, Clare68 and Suzieduck, wow, thanks for the tip and empathy. I found that if I start the night with a back ache, the whole day I will be aching, even in abdominal area. Some more today I had to be observed in class..I was quite uncomfortable, in a bit of pain, but had to suck it up for the lesson..=(

About diaper bags, I bought real early..hehe..I think I posted here the link and picture when I was like 6 weeks preggie only! Hahaha..I love Kate Spade diaper bags, but I didn't buy the stevie collection, too bulky and heavy. Mine is simple bronzish colour that came with a polka dotted changing mat. It's like canvass material kind, so pretty light and durable. Medium size. It's this one: http://www.fashfire.com/products/medium-baby-kate-coal-gold-baby-bag/diaper-bag-p590.html but I didn't buy from here..

I bought mine for $199 i think from www.moms-favourite.blogspot.com.

I think about the breastmilk storage thing, we can always clear our doubts during the Mumsfairy workshop...=)

Hi Hanis, I just went for my ds.. Doctor shared with me in order to prevent backache, do not sit / stand for 45 mins.. have to change position.. and when you sleep, use a pillow to support your back so you are 10 degree to your side, left or right [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Try it

I managed to find a second hand car seat as well as the maxi cosy seat.. Now I need to look for a quinny buzz.. if there is any "lobang", please let me know.. Thank you!

Altariel, I think if practically, you have a nice medium to large tote bag or even a messenger bag already, can just get the organiser.

But I am addicted to bags, so this baby gave me an excuse to buy a diaper bag! hehe...some more sooo many choices and soo lovely...

I agree, I don't really like people advertise on non-advertisement thread but especially when the message being repeated over and over and over again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Veron, can you please stop? Doubt she read this though...

I'm affected by the rain btw. Was late 20 minutes for work... already take cab but jam everywhere and very difficult to book cab too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] luckily boss was away :p but got one girl record late for more than an hour cuz her car stuck at e jam.

And I wanted kate spade bag too!!! But my hubby was like, "Is that necessary?" with this face --> (=.=) so I decided not to go for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Clare > wah confinement centre sounds awesome!

Tomolo I'm going to gynae and hopefully this time can 99% confirm baby gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so excited lol

hanis> ooh that is pretty.. but out of my budget la.. i see the kate spade ones i also totally give up.. *broke*

im was thinking if i dun get a diaper bag organiser then i might get this diaper bag instead:

http://picasaweb.google.com/ginzac09/LargeToteDiaperBagK0952#5540051911027427426

cheap cheap!

claire> haha if we can afford to massage once or twice a week is good enuf already.. can forget about everyday! good luck for ur scan tomorrow! hope baby finally cooperates [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clare,

being thick-skinned can sometimes have their benefits hor! Eh.. then you already save quite a lot since you get a lot of 'big' stuff!

Qiuen,

basically the maxi cosi seat is a car seat for infants till 13kgs. You are able to click the seat onto the quinny frame. So if the baby falls asleep in the car, which most do, you don't have to transfer the baby from the car seat to the stroller. The 0-3 year car seats are a good value for money but the paeds here do not really recommend them because they force the baby to sit upright before the spine is strong enough. I think most of them aren't rear-facing too. These seats are then good when the baby can sit independently.. around 9 months.

The quinny stroller comes with the seat, which can be removed to fit the car seat. Actually there is a bassinet system to it. The bassinet is from 0 to 1 year. It can also be fitted on the frame. After the baby can sit, then the seat will be used. Hope it's not too confusing!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5076045.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5076046.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5076047.jpg]

wa liao can this VERON stop spaming? Mayb we should report her....

Qiuen > Haha, also saw the same diaper bag organiser from Gmarket.

Hanis > I'm mad about bags too! Thanks for your links on the diaper bags.

haha rata our posts obviously fail.. u juz wish she'll stop spamming then immediately next post she spam again lol

delfine> oh the cosi seat looks so pretty!

Morning everyone...

CLare68, my hubby already calling the baby by HER name! So funny, he talking to my tummy and calling it by her name..hahaha....

WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS VERON? Noone is remotely interested in her pills, and everyone is irritated. *puts a black cloud over my day*

Eileen, tried out your method last night..No back ache today! *happy* Hope my body doesn't get 'immune' to this sleeping position and start with the aches! *TOuch wood*