(2011/06) June 2011

hi mummies : ) My edd is 7 june, expecting a boy. Will be my #2. #1 is 14 months old now.

re: maternity/nursing bras. I got mine from Perfect Mum (got outlet at suntec) and i love them to bits. Very comfy, good for nursing, comes in strapless too.

re: stroller. I love my combi miracleturn very much too. Reversible handle, 360 deg wheels (v good for 3 pt turn :p), 5kg+, 1-hand fold. I can take bus with stroller and my 10kg toddler haha. The only thing is that now that my tot is bigger, his legs hang down when he sleeps cos the stroller is not long enuf.

re: bump support. I bought mine from Maternity Exchange (marina sq). CAn't remember the details but i think it's one size adjustable. I only have one and wore it once i got a bump for the prev preganancy. Ya i should dig it out from storage oredi :p

hoyce, I think it will be good to check out with your gynae to have a peace of mind.

hanis, i was also excited about prepping furninshing in my room that I bought a wardrobe from IKEA for my baby too. Too bad that i only have one room to house 101 things in my in laws place. Was almost tempted to paint a wall panel for my baby's corner but heard from some old wives tale that it will not be good for the baby. So shelfing this project aside for now. had a sweet surprise yesterday at work when i realise some of my subject students from last yr actually went to buy baby gift set and place it at my table. was really touched by much they actually dote on me though it is just too early to get a gift for the baby.

still pondering about what clare suggested about the trying out for the maternity belt before buying. i think i will just get one here then cos it does make sense to buy a product only i try it on personally. but do they actually let us try the belts locally here before we buy?

still kinda sleepy to wake up early in the morn to go to work but it is hard not to wake up when you have 2 person waking you up at the same time - my hubby externally and baby internally. seems like baby will wake up at early hours to help daddy wake me up by tapping inside me.

Ashley belle & Star Night,

Thanks for the well wishes!

MilkTea,

Shears cot... R they convertible into junior bed?

Clare,

If put in fridge or cooler box, EBM can keep for only 24hrs so do take note. Best to switch to freezer once back home if u r transporting it.

morning mummies. now is my turn for weird dream at nights, so many of them till i lost count! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

welcome notveryfatmummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wat a cute nick.

hey christine, i love ikea children stuff too! but their cot is in diff size compare to other brand. and i find them smaller than the rest of the cot. the bedsheet etc need to buy from them or u got to made yrself.. For deco, maybe you can consider those wall sticker? i bot a height chart frm one of the BP spree.. really nice! yr students are super nice, must becos u are always nice to them too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just had half of the banana walnut muffin from Chocolat N' Spice. yum yum..

Pai sei... went to check my notes again. Here's what it's stated.

Storage Guidelines

Room temp (25deg cel) - 4 hrs

Cooler bag/bag with ice pack - 24 hrs

Refrigerator (4 deg cel) - 48 hrs

Freezer separate door - 3 months

Deep freezer (-18 deg cel) - 6 months

Thawed milk in fridge - 24 hrs

chil > same like you, i kept having dreams, and it's weird ones too.

then few nights ago, i was telling my little one to let me sleep peacefully throughout the night and it worked, but for 2 consecutive nights only. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

For those 2 nights, no dreams & no toilet trips all the way till i wake in the morning.

But last night the little one decided to be naughty and made me vomited. probably because the little one also 'pantang' cos my colleagues have been asking how's my MS and I replied *touching wood* "my MS usually is in the noon & evening/night but now better liao". Who knows, immediately I merlion-ed like in my 1st trimester.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

After vomiting, I chided my little one for being naughty and denied him of my 'sayang' and went to bed... then I didn't sleep well throughout the night with dreams and toilet trip... :x

btw, just curious, is there a special machine available for us to thaw the milk or at least make warm..? or we have to manually warm it over heating. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

About chill n frozen bm just wanna highlight to 1st mummy bm taste changes after storage bcm sme wat fishy while fresh is sweet n nice esp aft frozen sm bb may reject it so only store if u hav excess dun think of give formula milk partial store breast milk so as to lengthen partial bf period wn u go bck wk

Life is beautiful there Is milk warmer machine or u can use warm water.nt hot water as high heat kill ur gd nutrient for bb

Thanks mummies for the info!!I will cont my bf after 4mths when I go back to work.It will be tough,but I will try my best.I think I will try to pump and throw when I m work till the very last week when I m going to see my bb during my working month,so to keep my supply going.I see my colleagues going to toilets in the plane to pump milk when we resting,so I guess I can also do that. ^-^

Syrah,thanks for the notes!

Joyce,take care yah,if u not feel comfy,go see ur gyne..

life is beautiful,yeapz..there is a milk warmer.

My auntie who is nurse,let her kids drink cold milk since young.She don't have the prob of warming milk,just take out from the fridge and pop into bb's mouth.sooo convenient..

syrah, np. coz i bf the other time i clearly remember is 48hrs in fridge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*Pre-Order* Effective Post Natal slimming Cream & Body Line Corset!!!

I am using it myself and I find it very effective.

anyone wan to order do pm me or e-mail me at

♥♥♥Thank You♥♥♥

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5068559.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5068560.jpg]

agreed w createjoy, some bb will reject bm after it been thaw iso freshly pump. most cases bm are fine to put in the normal fridge for 2-3 days. normal freezer for 2-3 mths, and deep freezer for more.

lifeisbeautiful, yup bottle warmer. they hv quite a no. of brand available, and some they sell it as bundle w their pump / sterliiser. avent hv a warmer model that is for both bottle and food. make it more worthwhile to get it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

clare, ganbatte. my frenz able to just pump iso direct latch for 1.5 yrs for her tiwns. u can do it too!!

hey mummies. anyone wanna join me?

Mumnfairy's Antenatal Workshop on Successful Breastfeeding (16th Run)

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=29&Itemid=41

Date : 15 April 2011, Friday

Time : 7.30pm to 10pm (Registration starts at 7pm)

Venue : Kembangan Plaza #B1-08 (Next to Kembangan MRT)

Fee : $28 per pax/ $50 for husband & wife (inclusive of snack and drinks) *

createjoy & clare > thanks for the info. cos i was thinking if need to manual pump, think will be very troublesome and hard to gauge the temperature. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, i read somewhere that the BM turn sour is because store too long under incorrect temp.... otherwise it should taste fine.

chil > thanks for the info on the avent warmer. will look out for that when i go baby shopping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

too bad kembangan is too far, otherwise i will join too. :x

^5 Suzie!

life is beautiful, also read the speed to turn sour / smelly sometime depend on the fats contents in the bm too.. cos my prev bm on off hv tis prob so did some reading on this. wat i did eventually i freeze them up right after pump.

Hi Mummies to be,

Organic Red Raspberry leaf, also known to herbalist as Hindberry, wild red raspberry, reapberry is often taken as a warm tea beverage. It is one of the more commonly used natural food for pregnant ladies to prepare their bodies in their very late stage of pregnancy to prepare for childbirth as it tones the uterine muscle preparing it for the intense contraction during childbirth.

Baby Dust Shop is strictly selling loose pack from Starwest Botanical Organic Red Raspberry Leaf that is grown in Croatia and is repacked in foodgrade sealed bags.

It is strictly advisable to check with your doctor before any consumption during pregnancy.

PRICES:

100 grams pack: SGD$6.00 (inclusive of normal mail postage within Singapore)

454 grams pack: SGD$27.00 (inclusive of normal mail postage within Singapore)

Pre-Order may be required depending on availability of stock.

Contact us at [email protected] for any queries or orders.

Visit http://babydustshop.blogspot.com/2010/11/organic-red-raspberry-leaf.html

Dear mummies.. while planning for the stroller.. I would like to check if you are aware of the regulation of child car seat.. How old should the child be on the car seat until? I am still wondering if I should get the quinny buzz with the car seat.. very high priced.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Eileen,

don't know exactly about sg, but probably when the child reaches a height of 1.2m. Would get the maxi cosi car seat for the quinny buzz. Although those maxi cosi car seats are only till 13kgs, the best part is that you can just carry the baby out without waking it up and clip it to the buzz frame and go! Would recommend! The buzz is super stylish! Love it but it's on the small side. So big babies find it tight in there when they get older. Hope it helps!

Remb mummy mentioned durian craving. I saw it at bt timah road. After 6th avenue. The ritz apple strudel there. Think it's called durian lingers.

Hi everyone..just back from furniture shopping for nursery..

Christine...I went to this furniture wholesale place called Silver River Furniture Pvt Ltd. It is at 5, Little Road (off Upp Payar Lebar Road).

It has 7 floors of furniture, from bedrooms, to dining and lots of wardrobes/chests/shoe racks/study tables/work tables!

We were looking for a wood wardrobe piece and a wood chest of drawers for baby room, cos my house concept is a mixture of wood furniture. We found what we wanted and bought them! And prices are cheaper than IKEA or outside..Can try out see see..

But no baby cots though. And the children furniture section not too fantastic, but it is a really good place to buy furniture for whole house.

Chil, I am definitely interested. Will go for it.

I will go with hubby...Will drag him so he can support me also..hehe.. Thanks for the link!

Bless > I only felt it at the beginning of week 20 also. Maybe first time mum, so don't realized what it supposed to feel lol but for me it feels like a jolt.

life is beautiful > cuz my mum wanna bring the baby out every morning on the stroller lol she said morning sun (not too much of course) good for baby

moon > what's the price look like? Cuz i'm also shopping for stroller, but one of my no.1 criteria is can use from newborn. So far I only shortlist maclaren XT but my hubby said too expensive lol (around 800 range)

notveryfatmum > can that stroller be use from newborn?

BTW I dont drive, I'm not sure if I should get a car seat. If take cab also must use car seat? Then we lug the car seat around while shopping? lol

Clare > Retail price of the following:

Capella S707 $4XX (tried it at OG, forgot the actual price)

Combi Miracle Turn $629 (Baby Kingdom)

Peg Perego Uno $890 (Baby's Hypermart)

Peg Perego Switch about $1000 (Baby's Hypermart)

So long the seat position can be flat, can be used for NBs I think.

alteriel > wah, I under impression that it's required

moon > I heard some good review on Combi Miracle Turn and Peg Perego. One of my colleague said hers very good but it's 2k, I don't even bother to ask what's the name as it's wayyy above my budget lol

child seats are compulsory for children below 8 yrs old in private cars.. as for cabs, this is from the Singapore Police Force website:

What if taxi do not have child seats?

Taxi are exempted from the child seat requirement, as it would not be reasonable or practical for them to carry the variety of different-size child seats suitable for children of different ages. Parents should take precaution and ensure that the child sits still and not jump about in the taxi.

Sorry to interrupt this thread.

I'm selling my nursing pillow @ $35, bought in Dec 2010, use only 3 times, condition of e pillow is stl new.

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Pasir Ris/Tampines MRT.

Kindly PM me if u r interested.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Shu Hui

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5070824.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5070825.jpg]

Hanis,I remembered Silver River.When I was moving my hm 2 years ago,did went to take a look at the furniture there..big place.. ^-^

Moon,you really do ur homework leh!*salute*..I too lazy..lol..just waiting for more 2nd hand stuff to come in then start buying in march..lol

clare u very heng leh.. got so many pple donate 2nd hand items to u.. haha would it be very thick-skinned if i asked on fb whether anyone want to donate to me? :p

hehe..I write on my Msn..lol..ai yah..I helping them to clear their stuff out of the house mah..

Write on ur fb lah..I think if frens dont really need,they will give lor,its a good way to make space for their new stuff for their kids.hehe..

Altariel,

wow, didn't know that the child is exempted from using the car seat in taxis. But then, this rule doesn't make much sense cos the child won't be protected if anything happens. Some taxi drivers are especially hiong some more!

Claire,

get those maxi cosi bucket seats for infants. It's cumbersome but still lug-gable. I got into a car accident when I was pregnant with no 1. So accidents are as they are.. unpredictable. Would stay on the safe side!

Clare,

lucky you!! We had to buy everything from scratch!

Claire yes combi miracleturn can be used for newborns. I think it's $400+. The $600+ one has a different padding for the headrest and that's the only difference.. I think not worth the extra $$ lor.. I took out the headrest for my #1 when he was about 12 months old cos he was too long (if head rests on the padding, his legs will stick out even more

Delfine,I totally agree...some taxi drivers' driving erhm~~~ I think sometimes I feel if I drive,it will be alot safer.lol

yah,I m the lucky one,got 2nd hand pram,cot,car seat,bath tubs,bb chair,clothes...and tons of books which I dont read.haha..Coz' my godson is 1 year old+,so there are alot of stuff he doesn't use anymore,my gf passed everything to me.

My hubby also thick skin abit,announce to his frens/colleagues on fb for bb stuff that they really dont want,they can give to us in any condition(but so far so good,they look super new)we are the garang guni..lol

Clare, my hubby also the same! Aiyah, it's ok lar, 2nd hand stuff are good! hehehe...

Yup, love the furniture place..

Now baby girl is having a little party in my tummy...I went out whole day, now I'm resting in bed, she start to move...I can even see wave-like motions on my tummy! Hehe...

Something I cant understand about the maxi cosi car seats n the quinny stroller system. Is it we can fix the maxi on to the stroller frame n when BB gets bigger. We will then buy a bigger seat? Hmm.

Clare,

I must post on my FB & msn asking for hand-me-downs too! Too many things to prepare for 2 babies. Any help would definitely be appreciated.

RE: the mumsfairy workshop

It's really good. I'd encourage those interested in BF to attend. The notes that I posted earlier on how long to keep the BM is from their notes. Can learn a lot in a mere 2.5hrs especially for first time mummies.

Syrah, I signed up already for the workshop. =)

Qiuen, this is what I think. Maxi cosi car seats can be fixed on to the stroller frame. When you buy the quinny stroller, it already comes with a seat for you to use when you dun wan to fix the maxi cosi to it.I think all Maxi cosi seats are for NB to 12 months only. When baby gets bigger, you just use the quinny stroller...

Maxi cosi can also be used as car seats.

However, if you wan a car seat that can be used up to 4 years of age, get a separate car seat on its own, cos maxi cosi can only fit till 1 year.

Some brands for car seats that are good are Britex and Inglesina.

Syrah n Hanis,yah..asking for 2 nd stuff on fb really helps a lot on the pocket..ka~ching..hehe.. Kids really grow up really fast and Some of the things we are getting now can only use a few months only.

Some of our friends are really nice,they ask us what we need and we'll tell them to get for us so they wouldn't get stuff that we already have lor ^_^

Hanis. Thanks for the info. Must get my facts right before I bring hub to baby stores. N let him decide the costs. Hee. Think ultimately. Its still finding a stroller thatcan fit into his hatchback

I'm a bit divided whether or not should buy infant seat cuz most likely only use once - when go back from hospital. Next time I'm going to take public transport cuz I find MRT more 'safe' in a way la (yes, those taxi uncle sometimes drive machiam join F1), but during non-peak hours of course. MRT on peak hour = transportation hazard lol Got one occasion I was standing very near to the door and the MRT was very crowded, this guy pushed me to make some space for himself and I almost fell down to the ledge =.=" Some people really inconsiderate, I'm sooooooooo tempted to snapped his photo and stomped it but I think nvm la he will earn his karma for pushing 5 months pregnant mum lol

I get some stuffs from my colleague but things like stroller etc still need to buy cuz her baby only 6 months different from mine - so she will still need hers. Another thing is hers a boy, mine most likely a girl but it's okay la most stuffs look unisex :p

Mumsfairy workshop, if we go for prenatal course, do we still need to attend this one?

chil: i have just signed up for the mumsfairy course. Not sure if hub can make it. But just signed up first. hee

Claire: i am abit kiasu, going for both prenatal course (TMC) and the breast feeding course (mumsfairy). No harm learning more, heee. From what i heard, later is more detailed so will be good if you need more information.

Btw, for mums who have signed up for TMC's, That time i called, the nurse mentioned they will send me a package with the info that i will need (like the class schedule etc), but i have yet to recieve it. Have you rec yours? Or they only send nearer to course dates? Thanks

Mummies,Is it true that we shouldn't put our bm in glass feeding bottles?Just heard that the nutrients will be lost if use glass ones,but I dont really believe it leh..erhm..

Any idea this is just a myth?Thanks

Yah this Veron is posting in EVERY MONTH'S thread. I really dun think anyone's interested to buy pills at like afew dollars cheaper. :X