(2011/06) June 2011

ya lor christy, I was told Sister Kang at MT A is a good LC. I hope i got her name right.

Hb asked me the other day to go MT A or back to TMC for delivery, i'm still thinking, haha! cos it's will be my last delivery le... I dont want to waste my TMC SBI card leh hahaha, very worth to use cos will use 2nd time before expiring in july next yr, :p

done liao, christy! tmc more hua, hahaa! but anyway still early, got time to think abt it. Maybe jio hb to go MT A hospital tour, keke!

Christy,

Can try the breastfeeding workshop by mums fairy. I went for it when I had #1. Found it very good. Talk was given by Sister kang from Mt Alvernia. My colleague who went also said it was very informative

christy, the Mt A ladies card like not too good deal for me. Given the special rates of $68 now but since i m not attending pre-natal class so the dist not useful. As for the special stemcord banking rates I called stemcord to check the special rates given will be the same as wat I will be given base on my gynae relation wif them so again it does not help. the onli offer i will ve is the amt off the hospital bill. Will b going for 2 bedded which is onli $80 off so total saving is onli $12. I might give it a miss. thanks for the infor

mummies, there will b a talk by stemcord on 22 Jan. Those keen can go register. Should any of you decide to store with them & ve no fren as refferal can put me as refferal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JJ> Hahaha u very cute :p My gyne only deliver at Mt A or Mt E. Told my hub that Mt E too far plus ex le... cause if I happen to deliver at peak hour faint already... traffic jam fm Bt Pajang to Orchard... so Mt A better plus they renovated so quite nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Birdbrain> Oh by Sister Kang also?? Like that I think I have free session if I deliver Mt A.

Rat> I will just stick to MT A for class and hospital so I apply the card. Most likely I am taking 1 beded room so I think I more worth it.

As for Stemcord package ya its the same if u use or not use the Mt A Ladies card... I am still considering I want to go with CordLife...

ya lor, christy, i tell u, sometime my hb cant stand me hahaa! Agreed with you, MT A is bttr. Aiya very sian leh, cos my kids' PD set up his own practice in MT A (He was from SBCC at TMC previously). I cant imagine i have to run both TMC and MT A when i bring my bb for pd checkup and mine 3 days after i discharge from hosp after delivery.

Christy, if using TMC FBI or SBI card (of cos if you are delivering in TMC), there is a $450 sasvings on cordlife. Not too sure if how much MT A ladies card's savings on stemcord.

now that all of you mentioned about the OSCAR test and the results coming back, i kept wondering if I am the only one who didnt do the test at all....=( now kind of worrying if Dr Ang was right about it being ok if I dont want to do the test. I did some blood test but I am not sure what the blood test was for though during week 12. Anyone cares to enlighten me on what the blood test is usually for?

for the prenatal classes, i am thinking of going to one but not sure what are the prices like.... sigh it is true that babies and having kids are expensive!

My SIL kids are with Mt E and room are normal looking... I went to Mt A to visit a friend's NB wah the room very nice like at home.. those earth tone colour... brown laminate LOL.. plus cheaper la. So I eye on Mt A kekekeke.

I heard the PD in Mt A is very good but there is one nurse very bad attitude very famous in the SMH forum.. hahah mums complaint abt her lor.. So thats what I choose Mt A due to the PD reviews (my personal reason)

christine, you're not the only one nt doing, we have a few here not doing, i'm one of them.

Christy, u're referring to which PD? Dr Terence Tan? My kids' PD is Dr Ong Eng Keow, will be using him as my PD in this round again. He's very cute one la, always wear those POOH's ties, hehee! I don like the father and daughter one in TMC PD center, :p

JJ> Cannot remember the name of the PD... ya sound like Dr Terence Tan.

Oh Maybe I can get Dr Ong's contact fm u for next time use cause I also want to get a standby PD since first time I have no clue on all this.

Christy, sure, no problem! But Dr Ong's waiting time usually quite long, just to let you know. It's good to have standby ones.

Krex,

I didn't go for any tests too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can I know if we r not delivering in TMC can we still sign up for Ms Wong's class? Also what do we learn in the class?

Wahhh, you all go already? Not too early ya? According to Mt A web, should go when 24 weeks onwards (http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/Childbirth.asp)

Most likely I'm taking Mt A card cuz I'm joining the course and hubby said can take suite :D

My MS oso not getting better (almost 13 weeks now) today vomit again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Liddat how to put weight *sigh* I'm still more or less the same size, most people still clueless I'm 3 months pregnant lol

matahari > please DONT quit if you think the company is treating you unfairly. 4 months is a lot of money to help the cost of delivery and raising your baby. It's unfair to ask you to resign no matter what size the company is. As long as it's singapore based company, they need to abide the law. Even if the company is letting you go - you should be able to claim your maternity benefit on the top of your retrenchment benefit. Always INSISTS on your right!

Link : http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/employment-rights-conditions/leave-and-holiday/Pages/maternity-leave.aspx

Employers are prohibited from dismissing an employee who is on maternity leave. An employer who does so is liable to a fine and/or imprisonment.

If a notice of dismissal is given without sufficient cause within six months before an employee's confinement, the employer must pay her the maternity benefits she is otherwise eligible for.

If the employee is retrenched within three months before her confinement, the employer must pay her the maternity benefits she is otherwise be eligible for. This payment is in addition to any retrenchment benefit which the employee is entitled to.

An employer cannot employ an employee at any time during the four weeks immediately following her confinement. An employer also cannot contract out the maternity benefits.

Yeah dr Terence tan is a good pd. My #1 I choose him so same for this one. But coz mt a is not near to my place so after discharge I will go to another pd. This pd sun go to hospital de so I ve to choose Terence tan when in hospital

i went for pre-N classes for #1 but clean forgot everything when bb was born. learnt most of the stuff from confinement lady. on-the-job training is best!

Christine, I didn't do any tests too...so dun worry...Gynae booked an appt for me to do OSCAR test just in case I changed my mind, but I cancelled it in the end..

I know she said got some other tests, but I am very blur so will just ask her again when I see her next Monday...

My friend booked the class at Raffles, and she said was very good! My hubby said last time our grandmothers had 10 babies, no need to go for any classes..haha!! But I still think I want to go cos I want to find out more about breastfeeding, I really want to breastfeed my baby...

Birdbrain, can tell me more about the breastfeeding workshop that you mentioned? How much is it and how do I sign up? Thanks in advance!

Hi Hanis,

It's an evening workshop. I went when I was about 9 months preggers with #1. Sister kang gives a talk on breastfeeding, such as how body triggers off signal to produce milk, how to store, storage guidelines, food to produce more milk, how long after consuming alcohl then safe to breastfeed... general Q &A. Then the organizer gave a demo on pumping. How to set up, what to take note of, etc (of course husbands are asked to leave the room before the demo).

You can go to their website for more details.

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=29&Itemid=41

By the way, I thought Sister Kang was a lot more friendlier and apprachable than TMC Mrs Wong. And the breastfeeing workshop covered a lot more on breastfeeding compared to the TMC ParentCraft lessons.

I'm in process of weaning of #1. Hopefully can total stop breastfeeding by the time enter 2nd trimester

Hi Birdbrain,

Many, many thanks for the link!!!! It is very useful..Just asking for your opinion, you said you went while you were 9 months preggie...There is an event in Jan 2011, by that time, I will be about 5 months only..will that be too early for me to go?

Hanis,

May be a bit early wor. hahaha later forget everything liao. My colleague went for the previous workshop in mid Nov, a few weeks ago. SO they prob hold the workshop every 2-3 months. I think can check with the Mums Fairy people when is the next workshop.

I have to say the workshop gave me a lot more confidence about breastfeeding, what to expect. And seeing the lady(Juliet) demo and her own story of how she's very successfully breastfeeding. And very luckily I had enough supply to total breastfeed till recently.

By the way, I'm not related or getting comission. Just thought the workshop was one of the most useful baby/pregnancy class I attended

Hi Birdbrain,

Ya la, i also think so...I think they should hold the workshop on a regular basis right? Hehe..hope so..i am really very interested..read all the reviews on the website also, sounds very promising..

Thanks a lot dear...my cousin had trouble breastfeeding her baby and it was really a traumatic experience for her..so i a bit kancheong..really hoping that i can do so for my baby...

Claire,

I will try my very best to bear with it. I don´t how long I can tahan but I try to tell myself that 4 months salary is a lot of $$$$$. Guess this is my only motivation.

Hanis,

Main thing is need husband and other family members to be supportive too.

It's very demoralizing if family members keep making comments like "You sure you got enough milk? Baby cry/mouth keep moving/looks hungry. Feed formula better"

Hi Mums...

Wah today my tummy no good wor... a bit tummy ache dun know ate what that my tummy dun like or baby dun like :'(

I found that I ate Chocolate & Bah Kut Teh sure later will got tummy ache one... think the bb dun like or what...

Hey birdbrain, i went that mumsfairy class too. i bought my pump & handfree & shield from them.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my 1st bb Bf also not successful maybe i too anxious, i 100% pump out to feed didnt latch after 2 weeks. hope this one will be successful..

wow lao dun talk about induce more pain. alamak! i induce 28hr then c sect my bb. but i tk epi after 16hrs hoping it will mk me relax cos my cervix refuse to open.. end up still open 2cm only after 28hr so c sect.

christy then u know what to eat wn constipated haha...

qiuen,

can you help to add me too. i don't know how to paste the table.thk u!

createjoy

Rosalind

12 Jun

Dr Suresh Nair

Mt E

Wish for a healthy girl

qiuen,

i think u forgot me.

nick: krex78

name: karen

EDD: 7 june 2011

gynae: dr phua soo mear

hosp: mt a

bb#: 2

boy/ girl: girl

birdbrain,

the BF talk looks interesting. can go anytime when preggy is it? i'm keen to know how i can increase ss. last time with #1, always struggling to keep up with ss and my boy didn't want to latch until 1-2 mths old. then later at 8 mths started to bite so i have to pump again. managed to last 1 yr before i became totally dry.

krex,

Yah, can go anytime. Mine started to bite when started solids. A few whacks on the butt from me and she remembers forever not to bite =p

Don't worry, can always go back mt a parent craft for help. Sister kang is so friendly. I'm with TMC though...

hi mummies can check after giving birth we need those confinment food..then those food mostly contains tonics and alcohol..

i just saw in KKH book, they said nt advisable to eat them during 1st wk as we need to breastfeed the babies..

hi birdbrain, this look like a really gd workshop. wonder should i go too if i been bf my #1. always hv milk flow prob and etc.. so wonder this course does it really help to answer my doubts. maybe i should give them a call.. this Sis Kang was she frm Glen E before, her name look familar to me.

Qiuen,hope u get well soon.thanks for all the updates.

Christy,I know I can't take bak ku the,coz my bb don't like pork..tried it,n my ms came back.whatever has pork in it,I can't take..u might wan to try avoid both of foods till maybe later on.

hey clare sometime bak ku teh got put those chinese herb that is not safe to take during preg.. do check b4 u take it next time yo.

chil,

wah, i alr at bak ku teh the other day. my colleague who is also preggy was craving for it.

clare,

i dun even know what my bb dun like. today ate mee rebus which i thought i cld stomach and everything came up 1 hour later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i tot my MS ended on mon alr coz' i haven't been vomitting since then.

ting,

can take if it's cooked coz' the alcohol would have evaporated. not advisable to drink wholesale but if u need to, can drink a bit after BF baby, best not before.

thanks krex78..

wah i also been craving for bah ku teh eh..been eating outside until mum cooked it for me..

think their herbs still very mild ba..

unless is those ginseng chicken soup..

Thanks chil,mine is the teochew one,with pepper only..^_^

Krex,I think it's a trial n error thing with food lor..but at least we are all right most of the time.

Ting,I think still gotta be careful.my mum lost her bb at 7 mths. coz she had some cough med with some herb in it..so gotta see what we eat.