(2011/06) June 2011

Dear all, reporting from KKH. Baby scan n blood test shows low risk DS 1:7402. Hubby firsttime see bb. We r assured of results.

Createjoy> Thanks I will remind myself not not carry heavy stuff again.

DS Test> What test did u all do? NT Scan & Blood test, both?

ann01jan, AshleyBelle & Createjoy,

Thanks for all the support. Very sianz to go to work these days. Dread to see all their hypocrite faces.

I have another 6 more month to go and a lot of thing can happen in 6 month. Maybe now they are having a meeting on how to get rid of me without paying the maternity leave.

Matahari> Dun think that way la.... cause it will affect bb one. If you do your work as usual its going to be fine... cause they cannot say you did not do your work.

Christy, I can´t help it but feeling very demoralized. I just hope that I will be healthy and not taking anymore mc till I deliver. In this case, they will have nothing to say. Even going for monthly checkup, I also choose saturday.

hihi, JJ here, my other nick kana locked out cos i was changing my email and din log in the activation key, now waiting for moderator to restore back my nick, blur me!!

Ashley, ya, i don like plain water either, so i usually subsitute with milo, tea. I realised i can't take cold drinks, if not i will puke.

matahari, i can fully understand what you been thru, my previous coy was horrible, the moment my boss knew i was preg, his face changed, trying to make me a scapegoat by putting other pple's fault into mine when there is black and white envidence to show the fault is not from me (hello, i was on leave the day things happened)!! Forcing me to quit blah blah, all sort of things he can come out with! Imagine i was working in an European MNC!

Hi JJ,

We are in the same boat. I am also working with European MNC. I thought they will be more understanding, but guess what, they are more heartless. So did u resign when u still pregnant or you are now working for other company.

wow so many mummies seen their bb & did the test liao. Looking forward to my turn this sat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

matahari, i was forced to resign but i managed to fight back my ML benefits w/o resorting to MOM cos one of HR staff actually spoke up for me and thanks to her. And after the next few months, i was lucky to find a coy (US MNC) to work parttime as the person was on ML. After i delivered, i found a job and work till now.

btw, this happened when i was preg last yr.

JJ, I guess I can´t do much now and wait till they really ask me to go. The problem is, mine is a small company and no HR. Most of the staff is their own nationalities and I guess nobody will fight for me.

If that happens, the only way for me is go through MOM. I also hope that I am as lucky as u to be able to find a part time job in case the worst case scenario happens. Cannot afford to be jobless as I have another older son and a maid to support.

ya matahari, small coy or not, they still have to abide mom's law, so u need to protect urself by getting everything in black and white. How long have you been working for them? They need to pay u for the 16weeks's ML if you have worked for them for more than 90days. They cant say cos ur performance is poor or always mc, so you wont get ur ML benefits blah blah. As long u work for more than 90days for them, they have to compensate the 16 wks of ML to you.

matahari, i maybe lucky the last time, but luck is not always on our side esp when we are preg, so now i just have to be conscious even though the coy is fine, but once bitten twice shy, so i still have that kind of phobia in me.

Ann,happy to hear ur results come out fine..

Matahari,for the sake of ur bb,must try try hard to be happy..try to ignore those negative thoughts.but at the same time must protect ur own rights.how is ur ms?getting better I hope.

JJ,yah..I thought European companies are quite good in welfare? my company is a British company,I have been taking unpaid leave since Jan this yr,can take unpaid leave up to 3 years.although my boss is a single lady,but she is very nice n understanding lor.*whew*

Christy,I just did it 2 days ago.

Christine,haven't prepared for bb stuff,was hoping for lots of hand me downs 1 st then I see what is needed..gotta save every cent since I m going back to work next yr nov only..

clare, ya european coy are quite good in welfare, but that depend la, the french coy i joined tat time wasnt doing well during that time, so u see lor, boss chu pattern hahaha! my current coy is also european coy, a finland one keke.

yahoooo, moderator emailed liao, yipee, my other nick is restored, kekeke!!

matahari> you have to put away your -ve thoughts... just be happy that yesterday have pass and today is just another day (see half a day) pass already.... if you are feeling down just tell us here. Dun worry and think too much... think of your bb and be happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

clare> what test you did? NT Scan & Blood Test?

We decided to go for both NT Scan & Blood Test.

The gyne say my risk is low cause only 32yr old but still up to us if we want to go for test.

I talk to hub already and also to my mom better to go some $$ cannot just save la.

i did NT & blood test. dun have a choice my gynae insist must do. in fact he very ks one.. last preg i did 3 time 12wk 14th 25wk test for different thing but i think too ks.. this one also cant run away. i said i want change doc. my hb say in order to save 3k? aft medisave 1k+? in the end if new gynae u dun suit etc end up waste of time & $. might as well stay with this gynae since the nurse, doc & hosp all so familar already.. sigh i no choice but to agree w his view..

hw much u gals paid for NT & blood test? mine $321... so ex.. 14th wk still got the genetic scan.. another bomb..

Creatjoy> Oh our gyne gave me a few choice to do which test and not a must. We can choose to do the stand-alone test (eg) Only NT Scan or Only Blood Test or Only Triple Test. If not we can choose to do a combo just simply add 2 of the stand-alone test.

Wah you did so many test??? As I mention we going for the NT Scan and Blood Test all to be done in my next gyne appt which I will be 12 weeks.

Hahaha I think I will also listen to my hub if I am in your shoes... I dun know why is it preggey sometimes hub talk like bigger liao not us..LOL.

Createjoy> Your one cheap lor.... my NT Scan + Blood test cost S$460 the gyne already written the price for us in a paper....

did all of u go for NT scan? i decided to skip mine since it only tests for down syndrome and hb & i have decided we'll still keep the bb even if it has DS. thus i have to wait a month for my next appt. can't wait to see doc again next wed!

Christy,I did a NT scan,blood test,SMA test for s$250. urs is sooo ex!scary!must tell my husband to be contented Liao,coz I m taiwan,the medical here is considered cheap Liao compared to Singapore.

I m 31 this year,but we still decide to do coz it's better to know that ur bb is a healthy one.this kind of $ cannot save one lor.

JJ,I think to have a good boss is all luck lor...haiz..

Clare> Oh yours is cheap... my gyne is well known for his price ex de... hahah but he very friendly which we like. When he is serious his face will turn serious mode.. hahahha

i did both NT scan + blood test for my 1st preg too though i was in my 20s still. I remember the blood test itself was $180 i cant remember the price. dats the price 3yrs back now mayb more ex liao. I shall update the price on my side after Sat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks JJ, Clare & Christy for the support and encouragement.

If not for the income, I would have quit and no need to see their face anymore. Sometimes I feel its really not good for my bb because I am always so not happy in the office and its affecting me emotionally.

Maybe if one day I strike lottery and I will quit within 24 hour.

clare, true! my bosses still quite ok esp my md who is a finnish, his wife just give birth in Aug, he kinda of understanding, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

krex78, i din do the NT scan too, we decided to keep the bb no matter what.

Christy, ur gynae is Dr D. Ong right? My frd went to him, he looks fatherly leh, ehehe!

JJ> Not fatherly to me le cause not that old looking la... you can google for his name on yahoo.. and some website got his photo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi victoria, NT scan and blood test is part OSCAR. NT scan is the part where they measure the thickness of the skin at the bb's neck area

Christy, hahaa, my frd say he look fatherly, i found him ok la! ur gynae and my gynae same leh - they don do abortions! they are the type of gynae I like most!

Christy, ya, my gynae love bbs and she pro natural and BF. She always encourage her patients to have more kids, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i was juz watching a show on tv where this preggy mum originally wanted to deliver naturally without use of any drugs like epidural etc.. but after a freaking painful 17 hours labour and still no bb, she couldnt take the pain anymore and went for the epidural..

i originally also didnt really want to use epidural cos of all the side effects and all that, but now after seeing the kind of pain that woman was in... o_O

altariel, it's depend on your pain threshold. When I delivered #1, mine was induced, the pain was so much that I asked for epi, later then i know induced pain is more more painful than natural pain, :p. For my 2nd delivery, i din ask for epi as i still can tahan the pain. I only rely on laffing gas when I do pushing. Even hb who had a bet with my gynae that i will use epi for my 2nd delivery, drop his jaws with surprise, hehee!

jj, didnt know induce will cause more pain, my #1 was induced, the pain was terrible but after i gave in to epi then realize i was 9cm ready to push & 30mins later bb is out... wasted. almost there.

JJ, hahaha my gyne I ever heard his scolding a couple very loud I think they want a #2 and was given clomid over the counter.... I guess maybe they over dose too much cycle and the gyne scold them.

The next min I go in my gyne change to another person... looks fine hahaha funnie.

Talking about epi I also wondering if I need it or not... cause some time its too late to use it cause no effect liao and you going to deliver out...

Really a tough choice.

aiyo, Ratatouille, wasted sia! nvm la, next round no epi, hehee! I mean, maybe it's just me la, cos i really feel the difference between induced pain and natural pain wor. Hopefully if no complications, i will still try w/o epi!

JJ, ya lor so wasted. I tong for 1+ hr for intensive pain after water bag burst then i gave up as initially i was advice not so soon as i was onli on the 1st part of induce which is the insert of pill not yet reach the drip portion. But I am glad dat I took la at least i was so relaxed while pushing bb out still can joke wif my gynae. who knows if no epi I will not ve enough strength to push then end up need to assit. keekee consoling myself.

Christy, really har! As far as I know, my gynae hardly scold her patients but she did chided one patient's hb (this patient happen to be in smh and she relate this incident in another thread) cos the hb is very one kind of stubborn, think something he insisted on natural delivery instead of csect, but the wife have some sort of complications, i cant recall the exact details. My gynae wont encourage for csect unless there is complication like bb is breech or other things, otherwise she will advise to go natural if can.

Ratatouille, true la, ehehe!

JJ ya man I overheard my gyne saying to the couple "you know its unfair to you" so loud the nurse was in the next door taking blood pressure stop her work to keypoh listen to gyne -.-"

So anyone of you all intend to book your prenatal class w your hospital?

christy, nope not intending to go for class as not 1st bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But for 1st time parents is good to go.

Christy, mi like ratatouille, not going for the class since not 1st bb, keke! but I'm encourage to go for the class by Ms Wong Boi Boi at TMC, must chop chop book her class fast cos hers usually very fast full. I attended her class when preg with #1.