(2011/05) May 2011

Hi Novi, Eve new member here. ;-)

Jen: I read fr an article tdy tat parents shld not worry if bb is late in their milestone. Rather is the lack of improvement tats more of concern. Will fwd u the link tmr when bk in office. No worries, ya.

Little Fly,

How many days in Perth would you recommend? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Hi mummies!

Been sometime since I logged on. It's more convenient to go on FB because I can post from my iPhone.

CNY is coming, but I still don't have the push to shop for anything! Prefer to shop for Christmas rather than CNY.

Working is piling and I'm getting less and less enthusiastic about work everyday.

My boi is able to sit by himself, and he's beginning to pull himself into standing position and cruise a little. He's lazy to crawl and he only did his first crawl when we put an iPAD infront on him! I think he will go straight to walking...

Eve: Yes pls, would like to read up on it. U wanna add me on FB?

WT: Wow ur boy is very fast. And skip crawling is a good thing, at least u dun have to chase him.

Good morning mummies... 1 more day to go le... (eve, i m a ftwm too, or else i wont be counting down everyday, haha :p)

oh novi, u r back to sg, welcome back! not going back to SH anymore? so u r not gg back to work either, will cont to look after ur kids urself huh? btw, thanks for adding me on FB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

WT, my boy oso lazy to crawl, though sometimes i can see that he's lifting up his butt as if he wanna start the engine to crawl le, but failed. in the end, he'd just try to hold our hands to pull him into standing position... maybe he will go sraight into walking too... dunno gd or bad ar, nvm one rite?

Re: Toilet Training

hayashi, if bb can only pee in teh toilet, pls bring her regularly, cos if she ends up holding her pee, she can get urinary tract infection very very easily.

This is also the reason why i do not want to toilet train bb so early. So not good for bb to hold urine or poo. I want to wait till she is 2-3 before i start training. Its very stressful for both baby and mummy if bb starts holding urine and poo and can only do it in the toilet.

My no.1 was toilet trained at 2 yrs old and it was closer to 3 then she went fully w/o diapers at night.

Its very fast to train them at 2, it takes only a week. so no need to stress yourself and bb to train now.

Viman, perth is nice, easy relax for you and bb. weather should be very nice now too.

Jenny, its common for mummies to have seperate anxiety cos i had it too when i went back to work during my no.1's time. I am very possesive about my kids.. hahaha

I am also using the toilet trainer over the toilet bowl too. yes easier and most importantly no need to wash potty!

WT, encourage G to crawl cos i was reading that through crawling, they develop a lot of motor skills, so if can, dun skip the crawling stage. BUt then i have frens with bb who skipped crawling totally and went straight to walking.

STARFRUIT... I fully agreed with u... i have no choice.. cause i let my mil look aft my gal.. so has to go her way.. ya... if hold too much.. not good for her.. but the thing is i dun even know when she wanna pee.. and if bring her out beri mafan.. have to go toilet find her toilet bowl and pee... imagine u in the plane.. everyone waiting to pee.. so is your gal... sigh..and the toilet in the plane is so small!

viman.. perth is a nice place to go.. spend at least 10 days.. u can see more there...

jenny.. noooooooo i not preggy... so scary at the tots of it... my menses jus over lei.. 6/1 is my last day... is only aft 4 days of the 6.. i got this discharge with streak of blood!

eve... yes i am so piss... and u know wat.. she offset my leave that i suppose to took the next fri.. by saying.. since i am takin off today.. next fri make if half day oso! wat the heck!

viman.. pls dun take pneummocal jab too close to when u flying date... cause there will sure be fever... must be at least 2 weeks before u fly..

Mickeyboy,

all the while i am SAHM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. I am going to Shanghai because my husband is working there, and actually i am thinking to follow my husband to stay there..but after 2 months there i am so bored hahaha...So decided not to join him stay there.

Beside my boy now also start his full day playgroup here...

Btw, who's here have kids around 3 yo and go to preschool? Haiz just only 2 days schooling, i've got complined from his teacher already that he's notty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hayashi, no choice for you now, since bb already train, just bring bb more regularly. How about if u open her diaper and put her on a sitting position and make the shh shh sound, can she pee onto the diaper? at least now u know if she is cranky, it may be because she wants to pee.

Novi, my no.1 is 4 going 5 this yr. it takes a while for them to settle into the routine in school, give him a bit more time and continue to communicate regulary with the teacher. it may be the new environment that excits him

hayashi: how can yr boss do tat? she's not you.. how can she jus anyhow offset your leave when she doesn't know your needs and schedule? super inconsiderate leh...

Starfruit,

Normally how many week, the kids can be settle down? His teacher also said to give him more time, and she said hopefully by the time, he will be more calm. But boys will be boys, he still play rough with his friend even after the teacher told him not to...*haiz*

Deon: Wah… wish my bb will hint when he poo poos too. He has a bad habit – likes to poo SILENTLY while drinking milk!

Jen: I saw Bb J’s pic. LOLOLOL. I am sure other mummies also feel the same but never say… Heehee

Viman: No, I went w my gf N years ago before I got married. Perth is a v. relaxing place. Take a stroll in their park, visit the fremantle market (I hope its still as good as before), fruits orchard, cruise their river (or lake?)..One place I would not suggest with baby is the Pinnacles! The 4-wheel ride is so bumpy is like riding a roller-coaster on the sand. At first we still laff at the safely belt which cross-strap our chests, then we know why….after 45mins, everyone was begging for the driver to stop …

Maybe go for 4-5 days to make the trip worthwhile? Too long parents may be too tired….

Novi: welcome back! u recreated your account? coz saw your post is ‘1’? wah, I think u veteran in bringing kids on holiday!

WT: I echoed ur sentiments “I'm getting less and less enthusiastic about work everyday”. LOL. Mine is too ‘gu-niang’ to crawl on concrete floor. He crawls super fast on the mattress! Coz he pulls himself up v fast and can cruise a little, I got complacent which saw he fell and bump his head during a photo-shoot! Now, I will be super watchful at all times!

Mickey: Haha, I think ur boy will go straight to walking lah…

Starfruit: ^5 on the separation anxiety! Your no.1 is also 2007? Same as mine.

ee...my post vanish.. re-posting again...

Deon: Wah… wish my bb will hint when he poo poos too. He has a bad habit – likes to poo SILENTLY while drinking milk!

Jen: I saw Bb J’s pic. LOLOLOL. I am sure other mummies also feel the same but never say… Heehee

Viman: No, I went w my gf N years ago before I got married. Perth is a v. relaxing place. Take a stroll in their park, visit the fremantle market (I hope its still as good as before), fruits orchard, cruise their river (or lake?)..One place I would not suggest with baby is the Pinnacles! The 4-wheel ride is so bumpy is like riding a roller-coaster on the sand. At first we still laff at the safely belt which cross-strap our chests, then we know why….after 45mins, everyone was begging for the driver to stop …

Maybe go for 4-5 days to make the trip worthwhile? Too long parents may be too tired….

Novi: welcome back! u recreated your account? coz saw your post is ‘1’? wah, I think u veteran in bringing kids on holiday!

WT: I echoed ur sentiments “I'm getting less and less enthusiastic about work everyday”. LOL. Mine is too ‘gu-niang’ to crawl on concrete floor. He crawls super fast on the mattress! Coz he pulls himself up v fast and can cruise a little, I got complacent which saw he fell and bump his head during a photo-shoot! Now, I will be super watchful at all times!

Mickey: Haha, I think ur boy will go straight to walking lah…

Starfruit: ^5 on the separation anxiety! Your no.1 is also 2007? Same as mine.

Gd mooring mummies.it's Thursday.hang on there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickeyboy: my son's school has the book too. I brought him home for his nap yesterday and he was less grouchy and cranky by night time but took longer to settle down and fall asleep.I guess sleeping in school has it's pros too.lesser sleep in afternoon = more sleep at night.lol..

Novi: welcome back!my son is 3 this ur.in childcare now.teachers are also saying that he likes to disrupt the class n is not focused in enough.but being boys n being young,teachers say it's understandable n to give him time. Imagine the teacher having class and my son was sitting down tickling his friends and whispering to them. -.-

Crawling: I read that crawling stimulates baby's brain.its always better to crawl.but my #1 totally skipped that part.and is starting to crawl now when #2 is learning. Lol...

novi, oh so ur hb is still there, just tt u & kids come back first... i see i see. well my boy is 3yo too, we just switched him to a new cc. i m not worried that he's notty at sch, the thing is he refused to go to sch, cry in the morning. so maybe urs not too bad? its just tt its too exciting for him, suddenly got many frens to play w? ya, just give him some time to settle down.. so u acc him to sch everyday now?

ya, y ur post starts from '1'?

haha lil fly/WT, yes that sentence “I'm getting less and less enthusiastic about work everyday” is very true for my case too, every morning counting down to wkend... lol

eVE.. YA...tats.. her.. tat time during preggy more worst... luckily i got a good hr... sigh..

she thk she is god.. knows everything... if so good.. go be a doctor...

somemore she has two girls.. but she is not understanding at all!

Morning mummies . Should I get a carrier for new year as bb always suddenly climb up in pram. Ended up I must one hand carry bb another push stroller . Super tired.

hayashi: some mummies are like tat.. i hv a colleague.. she also refuse to sacrifice her time or energy or money or figure for the sake of her 2 kids.. in fact, she say she dun like her kids cos they r troublesome etc. so i guess yr boss may be one of those group.. mayb she has gd bbsitter tat she nvr really knows abt the needs, ups and downs? take heart... c if yr hubby can take turn to take leave?

hayashi, i think some female bosses are like that... i used to hv a female boss, she said we shd not take MC on the day we go for monthly check-ups, instead we shd use our annual leave. she said this is not fair that we use our MC this way, we are not sick but just go for regular check-ups... she herself has 2 kids too, but all grown up, maybe she forgot what she did when she was preggie le... sigh

Starfruit, Hayashi,

Thanks. Hope we, especially baby, enjoy the trip. Nervous but excited. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hayashi,

Thanks for the tip! Hadn't thought of that. Luckily, jab was today and we are flying 2 weeks later.

Jenny,

Am back from poly clinic. Took about one hour plus. The nurse said it would be faster with appt. Not sure why the person on the phone said no need appt.

Developmental milestone for mommy:

Today I brought baby home back all by myself in the bus!! Hb was getting late for work after the jab so I told him no need to drop us home. He grabbed a cab to work and I grabbed a bus home! I think my baby likes bus rides. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mickey.. i am superb piss lor.. not one time she thk she is docter lei...

eve.. my hubby will not take leaves the he a good worker hahaha.. if come to take care of bb.. thk he will run off

Little Fly,

Missed your post earlier. Thanks for the tips! Yeah we plan to make it as relaxed a holiday as possible so baby can enjoy it.

I remember some mommies were saying that we should latch baby when flight is taking off to reduce discomfort in their ears? Hope I can do that. I have never latched outside before, I don't even have a nursing cover lol! Hope there is no creepy guy sitting next to me!

viman, wah u r fast, u mean u guys have already booked the air ticket, hotel etc? so will be flying to perth 2 wks later? hope u enjoy the trip ya. hmmm.. i guess it wld be gd to get a nursing cover then? or just a normal shawl will do too, some mummies do that. or else, it will be quite embarrassing, not just for u, oso for the one sitting next to u...

ohya i think bb-s like bus rides, coz it's moving... mine can fall asleep easily on the bus... hehe

hayashi, i think its really bo bian, can only say we are unfortunate to hv such an inconsiderate boss. will need to bear w it, just take leave again on next fri ba, see what she says. so hv u seen doctor? what did the doc say abt the discharge? hope it is nothing too serious...

ya usually i m the one who takes leave when it comes to matters related to kids, he will say he has no enough leaves to take.. when his mum is here, he will then take leave to "fu shi" the mother... so i think, his leaves are reserved for the mother but not me/kids... so nvm le, we 靠自己, jia you jia you tog! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickeyboy,

Booked the flight last night cos we were scared bassinet won't be available. Will book hotel today. Will use a shawl or a nursing cover, I won't be nursing in the open lol! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya my bb also likes to sleep in the bus! Guess they like the rocking motion. Buses are my preferred mode of transport too cos I can never get a cab and trains are too crowded. But my hb very scared to let me take bb on bus, especially after the news of the lady who fell in the bus and went into a coma. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Viman: I think i have a brand-new nursing cover tuck somewhere to give away if you don't mind. Its a simple all black cover. I bought but never use.

Mickey: you are very considerate wife to your hb! Your hb also Msian? My hb has so much leave that he's still using last year's leave while i always don't have enough!

starfruit: I think I wun stress on baby even if I toilet train him. So must let him wear pull up pants in case of accidents.

Hayashi: LOL. I know some mummies already thinking of having another baby. If I had an easy pregnancy, birth and baby, I might want another one too. But too bad I had a difficult pregnancy, difficult birth and difficult baby.

Eve: Thanks for the link. My baby did have other developments. Really hope everything is ok.

Little Fly: Haha. I think I nv upload the photo last time coz his face very black and buay song in the photo. Didn't know I'll have so many likes and feedbacks after I upload the photo. Maybe its my caption that makes it funny. LOL.

Btw, hows ur #1 coping in sch?

Viman: Actually quite good already. Sometimes with appt I also have to wait for more than 30 min. Ur baby likes to look around in bus? My baby loves to look around at different faces. Sometimes if he's lucky, he will have pple playing with him but if he's unlucky, everyone will ignore him. If u take a plane u can try select ur seats in advance and choose two seaters, if not a window seat and ur husband right beside u.

Little fly/Mickeyboy,

Ya i am create new account, coz the old one i used it to open BP now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Mickeyboy,

My boy yesterday pushed his friend til his friend felt down inside the container leh *haiz*. This is the 3 day, he's in school without me acc him and every time pick him up from school always heard that kind of report from his teacher [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Hope today he's behave in school *finger cross*

mickey: Hi 5. Before I had my baby, my husband will nv take leaves for me, be it my bday or wat. But he always take leaves for his mum. Anyway he nv celebrates my bday. He's forever working OT on my bday and say its mth end. And he also nv bother to celebrate v day even though its the middle of the mth. We only celebrated it once before our rom and after rom, v day is nothing to him, nv even buy a sweet for me or bother to say happy v day. So I took revenge and dun bother abt his bday, no presents, no happy bdays to him too. LOL.

Viman,

Normally if you bring infant, they'll give you priority to take the bassinet seat, as long as not many babies flight together on that day.

Btw, what airlines you'll flight to Aussie?

I encounter bad experience with SQ about seat arrangement..until i am really angry with their CS and make official complain to them. But luckily otw back to SG from shanghai, they finally give me better service

Lil fly, thks for the compliment, but fyi its not my choice for being so "considerate", its just tt i've no choice.. Haha! If i force him to take, end up we quarrel, then whats the pt? So now i wont wanna quarrel over such issues le. I'll just take, n he can just happily reserve his leaves for his mum or long hols like CNY or etc. Orh.. both of us are msians actually [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Novi, i think boys are really boys. Maybe u will really need to explain to him or scold him abit? Tell him he shd not do that, or else he wont hv frens to play w him anymore.. Let him know the consequences n that u dun like him doing this, u feel upset blah blah blah... They do understand de actually, but takes time... Try? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickeyboy,

If scold him, he's immune already. So last night i told him that i am really sad and upset because he pushed his friend at school. So hope he will settle down soon and change his roughly behavior.

Littlefly,

My husband also malaysian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. SO this CNY, we will back to malaysia..after 2 years not celebrate CNY there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. So excited [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello mummies!! fianlly got time to bao dao!! boss is drowning me with so much work!! T_T ^5 WT! me too, getting less and less enthusiastic about work everyday =( just hope weekend will be here faster!!! and ^5 Mickyboy, counting down everyday!! LOL....

Jenny: LOL... after seeing BB J photo! he is super cute and chubby loh!! my bb slim down alot, see liao i super heart pain T_T can check with u how much milk and solid (cereal and puree?)u giving ur bb? i wanna help him to put on some weight =(

Hayashi: wah.. ur boss really sound v un-reasonable =.= she change ur leave to half day? why not u tell her ur doc appt is near lunch time, might not be able to come bk in time?

lil fly: ya, my boy also only like to face out, then can consider Gemini, hehe....

poo training: seems like toilet trainer is better than potty? maybe i shld get one and ask my mil to train my bb, not sure if she wanna do it... guess she just wanna a easier way out...

Mummyzen: i also laugh out on ur post! ask ur dad to give the BIG red packet to ur bb instead lah! haha...

Deon: wah, ur gal v smart leh, how u train her to give hint?

Viman: dun worry if ur gal dun wanna latch, encourage her to suck on paci also ok, becos during my last trip, my bb super curious and keep grabbing the nursing cover, v difficult to latch him, we gave him paci during take off, and he fell asleep during landing, he was sucking e paci, he seems ok, not feeling uncomfortable due to pressure change...

Novi: Welcome back to Singapore! hehe... so now u alone with ur kids in spore now? wont miss ur hb and kids wont miss their daddy? hehe...

Btw, u addeed me? what is ur fb name huh?

standing: mummies, is it ok to let our bb stand? bcos last time my mum said better dun let him stand when he has not enough strength, his legs will not be straight next time... but how we know when he got enough strength? when can we let them practise standing? we nid to let them practise right?

Mimosa,

Yes alone with kids and my maid here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Only my boy miss his daddy, sometimes he ask me to on MSN so can video call with his daddy. My girl is too small to understand but she'll cry if my husband carry her, maybe she's very seldom see her daddy. No choice leh..miss him but he's not in singapore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].

My fb name: noviana tan-chia.

Little Fly,

So nice of you! It will be better than using a shawl? I dun mind paying you, of course. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny,

Hehe yeah everyone likes to play with her, even in poly clinic, a toddler was playing with her. Hb immediately asked me to wipe baby's hands after the toddler left, hehe!

Novi,

I'm flying SQ. wasn't comfy taking budget airlines for baby's first flight. The other bassinet was already taken, lucky we got one! Hope all goes well.

Mimosa,

My bb doesn't take pacifier at all! I weaned her off it when she was out of the ICU because there the nurses gave it to her all the time and I was scared she'd get dependent on it. We chose a late night flight so hopefully she'd already be zzz-ing.

Mimosa: I feed my baby 150ml every 4 hours, he gets 4 bottles a day and abt 3-4 tablespoons cereal in the noon and 5-6 tablespoons at nite and this replaces a milk feed. He hasn't been crying for milk for mths and we have to watch our own time and feed him and he will drink very slowly. So I always end up scolding while feeding before he is willing to suck, but recently he takes abt 30-60 min to finish his milk. -_-

My baby hates puree, the only puree food he is willing to eat is potato+carrot+milk. But sometimes I will feed him fruits out of my hand, these two days fed him a tiny bit of mandarin orange.

Viman: Haha. I agree other pple's hands are very dirty. And a lot of pple like to hold or play with my baby's hand. Good thing is he dun eat his hand outside but we always forget to clean his hands when he comes home. Must try to rem!

hayashi, ur boss' kids all grown up? i find that bosses with older kids tends to forget how h very difficult it is for new moms or moms with very young children.

Viman, mine enjoys taking the bus too, she kpo, like to look around.

Back frm gynae... Infection! Sigh... Doc give mc dunno tat witch allow me to covert to mc and retain my leave!

Novi.. I fully agree w u.. Sq sucks.. Their seats arrangement sucks! Which oso means y I have to carry my gal for 7 - 8 hrs should taken emirates!

Mimosa yes I told her same thing as Wat u say Tats y she insist i take half day frm my original leave!

Starfruit.. Yup.. So now she Thk she is a good advisor of being preggy! I Mus say I am proud tat I am More stronger then Her cause mine is natural Wo epi haha while she goes for c section cause she scared of pain and she still got the cheek to advice me during time i was preggy! Well she's rich but I am not.. So have to endure all the pain!

Hayashi: Oh the shit part id funny and same for me! I didn't even want to sit down and kept bleeding for almost 2 weeks. Brrrr...I'm also natural birth with no drugs

Immediately after baby Hayato pops out, my younger cousin who was in the labour room with me asked: "So, still want #2 anot?"

Not a good day for me. Yest my baby was so guai till I tot I'm dreaming. He slept till 12.30pm and keep smiling and laughing the whole day. Today, he slept only 9 hours and refused to go back to slp and he was crying and crying. =(

Hayashi: I think the urine part is worse than pooing leh. When I took antenatal class the lecturer say if strain during pooing will be pain but to me no pain but urine is so painful! Even pregnancy also made me very scare. I cun imagine if I feel so sleepy and want to slp whole day when I have another baby to take care of!

Jen: My #1 is drama boy lor. I think he has a “love-hate” relationship with all his teachers. LOL…

Mickey: Envy.. if only my bb can do that too.. instead, he’s super excited w rides. Won’t stop moving. Sometimes, he can wails throughout.

Novi: same here. SQ even put me and my boy in different seats when I took him to HK! Luckily the flight stewardess got someone to exchange the seats for me.

I am not that excited about returning. Its a long ride back with a non-stop moving baby! There’s no yaolan so sleep will be a challenge too. My niece and my #1 bicker a lot and there will be no peace. At my mum’s place, help will be plenty but not at my in-laws…

My #1 got a lot of complaints from his teachers too esp towards year end. Sometimes they are just playing and do not know the limits. Maybe active boys are like that?

Mimosa: heard the same on standing… I didn’t let him practice. He tried to stand up all the time. These days when I carry him, he will swing around alot, one minute front facing, another minute try to step on my stomach... That's why I thought to 'confine' him in a bb carrier when we go out.

Viman: No worries, I hope I haven’t that give away yet coz I have been packing my bb stuff for giveaways to my friends as factory shutting down. Tonight will go check and confirm.

Hayashi: She should not covert your MC to leave. Leave is an employee’s entitlement not privilege.