(2011/05) May 2011

Hi everyone... finally back to bao dao!

hows the gathering last thursday? any pics to share? too bad cant join.. my flight was delayed a bit and reached home only ard 6pm+.

Wow, now everyone is talking abt the playmat... haven research much yet. seems like its a necessity wor. wonder will it take up a lot of spacE?

Bunnymum: so sad to hear abt your maid issue. But really i think its diff to get a good maid. so sometimes got to open one eye and close the other.

It seems like most of the mummies are not back to work yet huh? Thats why forum very quiet... Hope all of u had a great Xmas celebration w bb... And now that Xmas is over, its time to count down to New Year le, yeah~! Its another short week... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks WT. I didn't even bother to find out the measurements. That seem good but i think would prob still use the play yard since I'll most prob place the play yard in the living room. No more room for it in the other three rooms.

mickey: Yup, forum is really quiet. I think some mummies might be clearing leave till next yr?

WT: I"m thinking if I buy the gate, I can go for a 4 panel play yard and a smaller playmat and save more rite? Hmm, need to discuss with my husband later.

long time nv come in.been very busy over the long weekend.

#1 sick for a week.got housewarming on Xmas day.#2 turn to fall sick whn #1 haven recover!!it's seriously taking a toil on me.went to buy over the counter medicine for #2.cuz 1st 2 days she look only slightly ill.initially want to let her recover herself.but flu became full blown on Xmas eve.no doctors for 2 days. -.-

Really very busy..nw #1 is better but #2 still sick.what a way to spend my long weekend.

I see that u all r talking abt playmats n play yards..I think playmat is not a necessity la.but it's gd to have.n I agree on the resale value. I got a playmat for #2 but during #1 time I just use a mattress.mayb dat is the reason y #1 can't crawl.lol..but I did not get a play yard even though I would love to have it.cuz the living room is too cramp to even have a play yard. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jenny: Agree. There's also a possibility that the playyard doesn't serve it's purpose blocking the kitchen so well and you end up having to pay for a safety gate/kitchen door as well anyway.

MickeyBoy: actually din really buy a lot of things. coz its winter there and all the clothes seems too thick for my preference. But in the end, cant resist the temptation and bought a branded wallet for both me and my husband and it really cost a big hole in the pocket! luckily i use my hubby credit card to pay!!! hee hee, a nice xmas pressie!

Yah, although today is wednesday but the time just seems to be crawling leh... how i wish dun have to work for the rest of the week!

JMummy: Poor you... do take care of yourself too. its really tiring taking care of 2 sick kids.

WT: Thanks a lot. IF u didn't tell me I wun know got the gate. I ordered already, wait for them to contact me.

jmummy: Hope ur kids recover soon so that u can enjoy ur new year.

viman: I rem u were talking abt giving baby clothes rite? If can dun give to the giveaway section here. I gave baby stuff and no thank you at all still nvm, still give me attitute like I owe it to her. If I knew earlier I will throw in the dustbin, like my mum always says throw in the rubbish chute still got sound somemore.

jenny, the playyard cant really block the kitchen, will topple if u line up in a straight line, unless u form it into a square with the joints and block, but then if you do this it takes up space. if u want to block kitchen, just go with a safety gate. try the WTS for preloved playyard and mat if you do not want to spend so much.

My play yard is 8 panel (cos i bought 2). but i usually just use 6 panels cos it fits my play mat exactly. I love my playmat and play pen. and this 6 panels allow lots of room for bb to crawl and play inside.

starfruit: Yah, my initial intention was to make it into a normal play yard shape and place in front of the kitchen. I see some preloved play yard but all are like only $10 cheaper than from BP and have to self collect, might as well buy new one. As for playmat I prefer to use new one, now waiting for preorder =)

after reading so many comments on play yard and play mat, really tot of buying one too.. but i heard from my fren that normally bb wont want to stay in it unless we are in the play pen with them. is it truE?

2ww, my 6 panel play yard is huge, a very big play area. ... hahah. so baby can crawl all around. its almost equi to the size of a super single bed.

2ww: I think I read somewhere that u cannot go in the play yard with ur baby when u once bought it so that ur baby will not associate the play yard with u.

I sometimes join my son in his 'jail', but only after he's been there for some time and getting abit impatient. He's quite alright to play by himself in the playyard.

jenny: i like ur "throw in rubbish chute still got sound" kekeke!!!!

i'm thinking of giving away some un-used brand new bb stuff to salvation army instead of piling up in my storeroom. there's 1 outlet near my hse but not sure if they will take in

Jenny, i alwasy play with my no.1 in the playyard, so sad if i can't go in with them.

Ash, i tot its just a drop box for your to drop the stuff, no one will reject right?

Morning Mummies

juz got time to log in... busy wrk this few day...

Play Yard: I has a 6 panel really good they can play alone in there than will have some own time..

WT: The kitchen gate u showed me cannot be used in my kitchen coz need to mount on both sides and my entrance is 5cm wider than that. Their extra wide one is OOS so have to look at other sites, I saw one last nite and its very good and nice but shipping to sg costs $100+!!!

thanks Mummies for your advice! guess its time to burn a BIG hole in the pocket!

Sorry to interrupt. I'm a Sept 2011 mummy and brought in some Korean milk bag for my own use and am selling them now to pass on the savings!

Very good quality, zipper type.

For more details:

http://smh-thelittleonesinmylife.blogspot.com/p/smh-special.html

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thelittleonesinmylife/288198271213600

If you mummies are keen, you can gather orders amongst yourselves and I will give you a special rate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will also include mail/delivery to individual mummies so you don't have to worry about logistics.

I am going down to hdb to select my house for bto this April. Such a long way I think by than left abit of unit to choose only

I also tot of buying playmate but the price is ex can't afford. Hub say so ex waste money . Haix

Hi mummies.. TGIF!! Today is the last Friday & last work day of the yr, for those who r working today.., wishing all of u a great yr 2012 ahead!!

Happy Friday, another few hours more.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vicki: Maybe i should convince myself that my kids are cheecky too so dun need to buy.. hee hee..

CindyMama: Congrats in getting BTO. The last time i waited and waited also nvr get then in the end, buy second hand... of coz the benefit is that i get the house faster but then it also means more EXPENSIVE place to stay! never mind la, you save money on your flat, so can easte more money on your bb...

MickeyBOy: You are working today too? Never take half day to drink kopi at AMK Hub? me sian too.. got to work today! but saw your post, at least brighten up a bit coz another FEW hours more! Yeah!

Actually i quite worried coz my bb down with flu and fever. last night fever shot up to 39 degree. so scary. Brought her to see doc and doc prescribe some medicine already. how i wish i can stay at home with her..

She was so cranky last nite. Think maybe she has blocked nose! dunno what to do. i rem reading some mummies here suck out the mucus from bb's nose rite? But i dun dare leh.

i've eve and i've got a 7mth bb boy.

hope to get into a support group cos bb is my 1st... can i join this forum?

2ww, yeah i m working today. i oso abit sian writing here, bcoz it seems like many are on leave and forum is so quiet huh, until i see ur post!! haha... ^5

ytd was on leave to do my elder boy's childcare registration. so after that, i went to drink kopi, haha the same fren that u saw that day. she is also a mother of two, so we can only meet up when we take leave tog.. no more meet-ups after work le, haha...

when u bring her to see doc, din mention abt the blocked nose? if yes, doc shd hv prescribed med for her rite...

IQzero, welcome to the forum!! sure, you can join, no need permission one... lol so you are a working mother or stay at home mum?

btw, you mean your name is eve? its so weird calling u IQzero... lol

2ww, try Illiadin, u can get it off the shelf in any pharmacy, get the 0.01% for infant and drop 1-2 drops in each nostril up to 3xs a day. it really helps to clear blocked nose. It contains antihistamine and acts locally to clear the nose and unplugged the mucus. u must stop after 5 days of administration. if u want to use again, must wait at elast a week before u use again.

Hi IQzero/Eve, welcome. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww, ya, tat's wat i do w/ my bb.. the nose drop is quick to dry up the mucus.

i usually clear the mucus when bb cries cos it'll be very watery and press the side of the nose few times can do the job liao.

Hi eve. Welcome here! Do join in the chatting here. Good thing ur mum is taking care of ur baby. =)

vicki: U mean if baby cheeky they dun want to stay in the yard?

Playyard: Actually I'm thinking of this. Can I use a corner of my room and buy only 2 panels to enclose the area? Like that can save more. Haha.Or I might use my kitchen gate plus one side of the wall and use two pieces to enclose the area too.

hi jenny,

i recently got a 4 panels play yard for my boy... intended to cage him so that my mum can carry on with her chores.. my son is very sticky and very active... crawl just about everywhere and since he likes cruising, he might just fall on his back anywhere too.

but he doesn't like to be alone in it... and he starts to cry when we are just about to put him in.. end up, he would rather be strap in the stroller then stay in the play pen.

Jenny, i dun think they sell only 2 panels, u will have to buy min 4 panels.

not safe to use 2, cos u need to connect the 4 pcs together to make it stable. if u use only 2, will fall off when bb tries to hold up to pull himself up. actually my ger learned to walk in the play yard area, she will hold on to the play yard, pull herself up and cruise around it. If u have 2 panels, baby and the panel will fall together, very dangerous.

2ww/Jenny,of cos with thins like play yard, we hope can relieve ourselves if they r willin to stay inside n play a while. My no 1 refuse to b left alone n when we did leave him alone in d cot at lowest level,he actually play "timber!!!" & bang his head a few times. Else he'll try to b a monkey n climb up d side of cots.so wif d play yard,I tink he will b bz pushin d yard ard d hse or even try to climb ove n defeat my purpose. With my no 2 starting her stunts like gor gor,I tink also will become white mouse a Hm.

But I do think d playmat is quite worthwhile.I bought abc mat for no 1. 1st super hard to sweep cos hair n dust catch in between d gaps n when u try sweep underneath it break open so got to rearrange again. Another thin is, no 1 loves to purposely take out d pcs n pass to my dog n dog chew d corners =.=

So I m thinking to invest too but worry cos no space

Starfruit/Jenny: They do sell 2 panels. The BP seller explained that they sell 2 panels for those who already have the 4 panel and want to expand to 6 panels. What Starfruit says is true... The panels are quite light and not safe to stand on only 2 panel cuz BB can easily pull it over.

I'm here to bao dao! Been having lots of houseguests so not much time to yak on forum hehe! Wish all of you a very happy new year! And I just wanna say that it has been so great to get to know all of you -- some in the real and some only in the virtual world. Hope to meet you all in the coming year! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny, LOL-ing at 'throw in rubbish chute still got sound'! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eve, welcome! I will call you Eve too ok? So funny to called you IQZero hahaha!

starfruit/WT: Thanks so much. Luckily I asked if not it would be dangerous. I think I'll skip the kitchen gate and buy a 6 panel one to block off the kitchen area when needed and shift aside when not in use coz the cheapest gate I can find is like $150.

Helloooo mummies! long time never bao dao here... so busy w Xmas parties, etc... ate so much junk food until the aches start breaking out.. LOL.

Wishing all mummies a happy and smooth 2012! Hope to meet up with more of you in coming year [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happy to see our regulars back (2ww, Mickey, Vicki, Viman....)

Eve: welcome!

Jenny: Gate is very useful for blocking out active tods from Kitchen... i bought kitchen gate from KP around $70....

Playards: I doubt my bb take well to it. Now he vehemently rejects the walker already!

Playmat: Good investment. I bought LG Prime from BP (smallsmallworld) 4years ago. Still good as new and both #1 and bb plays on it. The prices went up quite a bit, was $100++ when i bought it i think...

Mickey: I didn't get to shop around alot with my extra 'baggage' (my #1). Boys dont enjoy shopping. When out, they zero in their toys, then tune off and wants to go back (home/hotel)....argh.

Val: Coz rem you, you are one of the ‘Zhang Lao’ here mah.. heehee.. where do you plan to go next year w ur bb? For me, its my #1’s jealous outbursts causing stress. BB is quite a bundle of joy though he’s getting very active and sleeping less…

Little Fly: I know what to do if u want ur baby to be in the play yard, just place the xmas tree inside. Haha. Oh the rubbish chute is my mum say one. Haha. Not I say one. But is very true!

Jenny,gd 1. But poor lil fly's boy. Lol

Cindymama, med is a must for any emergency,diapers,towels (1 to put on bed,1 for bathing / swimming), pillows,bb wash, some toys, cereal,fm ,if nt bf, bb's bath stuffs like diaper cream,lotion,ruyi oil etc.if u brin bb for swimming do brin sun block too.milk btls

Hihi ladies!! Sry not able to post more cos still in Penang now.. Will try to reply more when i bk ok? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Today is e last day of 2011!! Like to wish everyone a happy year 2012 ahead!!

Eve: welcome!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Safety gates: I also planning to get one for my kitchen, mummies, can share where is e best place to get cheap n good one? E website tat posted earlier? And anything I shld take note?

Vicki: u gals going steph house? I was thinking to let my boy try e playyard b4 buying it.. Dun Noe steph mind I tag along to have a play date at her place or not, haha... I so thick skin :p

Mimosa,so how r u in Penang?did u finally try all d gd food there?d other day I was eating Assam laksa n I miss penang's. N chendol...we will nvr get d same Chendol here...

We r gng tml cos I shld b gettin d mat soon but d yard I m still thinking thus she offer us to test. Heeheehee, think we were discussing to organize a yishun gatherin again in feb,will u b back by then?

Jenny, Vicki: hahaha...u gals v creative. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: welcome back! When are u fly off again?

Just now Hb was watching #1 n me wayang then forgot to hold on to bb who was standing near a cabinet n bang!!! Bb got a small baruku. Arghh....