(2011/05) May 2011

Novi,

Sorry I dun quite like the idea of transfer maids. Like mine got problem that's y transfer to others. So not very comfortable, but thanks for helping me think of alternative.

I wan to start looking for other agents n maids nxt wkend. So tat new one can come 6-8 wks. Do u think it's possible? Sigh!

Bunnymum: I learnt the tips from a colleague who's had experience with maids. I'll verify about the details in their biodata, e.g. how many children. I'll also ask about why they want to work here, their experience, who they have in the family, who they support, what they intend to achieve by coming to work here, etc. I'll also talk in summary about what responsibilities I expect them to take up here, so I hear from themselves what they think about these chores. Cannot trust biodata too much cuz many are filled up by agents. Through these interviews, you will hear about their preferences, e.g. some like working with kids better, some like elderly better. I'll also ask them direct if they are willing to give up on off day.

When my maid arrived, I gave her prep talk on my expectations. Asked her to treat us like her family cuz we will start off treating her as family. Whenever there's an opening chance (E.g. article in papers on murdered maid), we'll take the chance to warn her about things like mixing with Bangla boyfriends.

The old one, just ask the agent to pick her up on the day they deliver the new one. Don't let her know too early you're sending her off incase she play sabotage in your household or attempt to run away. Just tell the agent to inform you when they will arrive... just before agent arrives, tell her to pack and monitor her when she does, and keep her in sight until agent arrives.

Actually Novi is right. Not all transfer maids are bad. Some get transferred because the employer no longer need their service or have other requirements. I had a friend who took over a transfer Indo maid because the previous employer wanted a Filipina who could speak English to her child. Other than the language, the maid was competent in all aspects.

yes WT is right, not all transfer maids are bad. My SIL's maid who is also a transfer maid seems to be quite good, the reason that she is being transferred is bcoz she cant speak English well... but fr what i can see, she can pick up English quite well. I even see her writing down her English-indo notes on a book and read at night. So sometimes it's the employer's expectations, they may not be bad, just that they may need more time to pick up certain skills. and if the timing is right, u will get the right one! wishing u luck on getting a new one, bunnymum.... relax ya, dun be too stressed over this though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower,

I'll organize one in Jan? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Play yard and play mat:

Was just looking these up on BP. Wah the mat is more expensive than the yard! Like twice as much!

wow, finally today is friday... yeah!

mummies, any photos to share for the amk gathering? so in the end, who went and did u all shop for fox stuff?

viman, yes, the playmat is really exp.... i guess its bcoz of the quality? in fact, can get fr minitoons as well, but i find the quality is really not as gd as the korean type... so r u getting the mat & play yard for ur bb gal?

Mickeyboy,

Dun think so. $300+ is really ridiculous for a mat I think. Purpose is just for baby to be on a clean soft surface rather than the floor right? Wondering if a thin machine-washable quilt can serve the purpose... Will get the play yard but definitely not the mat.

Mickey.. ya.. i know got bb sunblock.. i went ard to guardian to watson to unity.. end up unity has wat i want.. erm.. but i intend to get sunblock under pigeon.. so i have to go rush and get it in kiddy palace.. hope they have it.. if not have to get the one in unity..

vicki.. ya.. if she hate sucking the pacifier... i let her suck my finger... but not the nails part..

jenny.. u jus need to carry him.. face the toliet bowl and sit with him then make the ng ng ng sound.. today she shit again.. phew..

head lifted up look at me.. and pushintill face red red... thk abit hard.. but still manage to shit.. btw.. u rest well... thk u lack of zzz till now body cannot take it.. last wed me oso like tat... drink more water

viman.. my sil brought a 200 dollar play mat for my gal.. @-@ i was so shocked.. how can a play mat tat ex... at first tot of getting one for her put in my new place.. then the existing one put in my mil place.. now unable liao.. is too ex...

bunny mum... bring her see PD get cough medication it helps to reduce phlegm.. if u bf.. u oso have to take care wat u eat.. dun eat orange.. or banana

eh that exp? i tot its just 100+ ?? oh dear, i didnt know it is so exp now... last time i bought mine at 100+, i guess it cld be a smaller version ba... so the mat is soooo much exp now...

viman: I also think the playmat is very exp. U no there's a ABC mat? Dunno if it works the same.

Hayashi: Oh so is still poo in her own diaper except u sit with her on the toilet bowl and let her know that can poo in tiolet bowl? My boy also used to push till face red red but after eating the prune cereal he no longer does that. He pooed a lot and no noise and no crying and we dun even no he pooed until I smell it.

Thanks, today managed to slp a little more coz baby only woke up at 10am for his milk. He didn't go back to slp but at least I get a long stretch of slp.

bunnymum: I got a syrup from doc for cough and phlegm for my boy, doesn't seem to help even after drinking for one whole week. After that I gave bao ying dan and it cleared away.

Viman,

what playmat you are thinking to get? Mine is LG Prime asobang, large and thick one. I bought 2.5 yo ago for my #1 was about $250. But till now is still in good condition.

maybe you can consider parklon or dwinguler brand..next year Februari will have another baby fair at expo, normally will have bargain for playmat.

Play mat:

It's the LG mat of size 2100*1400.... It's $300+... Cannot make it lah... They are out of stock for Parklon but I think that will be exp also. Maybe I will wait for baby fair. Thanks, Novi! Jenny, what is ABC mat?

*drumroll*

Mommies, guess what? My baby flipped on to her tummy by herself!! Finally!!! Phew!!! I had been waiting and waiting and waiting! So happy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: I think the ABC mat is u have to fix urself and its quite thick. If I'm not wrong baby can crawl inside too. My sil say she wan to give us hers, but haven't got it yet. It shld be much cheaper than LG mat. I saw it at Kiddy Palace and NTUC.

viman, i think the main difference is the material (its non-toxic) and also the thickness. coz bb will like to leak the playmat, so the material does matter. and when bb learns flipping, crawling... they tend to bump their head on the playmat, so its the safety issue. well, when i bought mine, i tell myself i can always sell at the WTS section, so just "rugi" for maybe less than $50 then i can get to use the mat le. somemore u can use for the next bb too, so this is how i persuade myself & hb that i shd get one! or if u dun mind, u can look for a second hand one? ;)

Jenny, Daphne,

Thanks! The ABC mat is safe for babies to lick?

Mickeyboy,

I was looking in the WTS for a second-hand one but didn't find one that's big enough for the play yard I plan to buy. If it was 100+ I don't mind, but 300+ is a bit too much. Now SAHM, so trying to be more prudent with $$. Maybe I'll get the Parklon instead once stocks come in.

yaya fyi, mine is parklon one. i guess the quality for LG n parklon shd be similar. bb really likes to lick the playmat a lot... esp when they start teething, sometimes he will wanna bite the mat somemore! lol

hayashi, yes there is sun block for babies. Banana boat has one or u can try california baby, i love their product range for babies. better put sunblock cos bb skin very delicate, if burnt will be very painful for them.

Re: bassinet on plane,

u need to remove bb from bassinet on take off and landing and during times of turbulence.

Best way to over come the pressure is to let them drink milk/water when taking off or best latch bb. make sure u only give during take off and not when plane is taxing out, if not, u will find that milk all gone but plane still taxi-ing on the runway.

Re : play mat

Viman, highly recommend to get a playmat and trust me, u will not regret after buying. u can asl a few other mummies here like Val, Apple etc, we all swear by the playmat! It is in fact its one of my best buy amongst all the baby product. the play mat has a longer shelve life as compared to the play yard. MY mat is 4 years old and no obvious signs of wear and tear and till now my no.1 is still using the play mat. There was one pt i used the mat to train here to sleep on the bed by placing it at the floor area so it cushions her when she falls off the bed. Mine is a LG PRime and it uses nano silver technology is which antibacteria and non toxic for bb. cleaning the mat is a breeze too.

Jenny, if u can dun buy the ABC mat cos there was a report a few yrs back on toxic paint being used on the ABC mat (most of these mats are made in China) and caused bb/toddlers to get poisoned when they lick the mat. Do consider the play mat by PG and Parklon if u can.

The minitoon mats are not your parklon or LG, they are a much lower grade which is why is cheaper. go to baby fair and get the autenthic ones.

If u all dun mind, get find a pre-loved ones at WTS, these mat has high resale value.

Hayashi, so fast u wanna toilet train ur bb? actually my view on this is not to train too early as you may face problem of a baby holding his pee or poo cos needs to be placed toilet. Let them be and u can start training them around 3, really no urgency to toilet train them now.

Hayashi: But u say baby sit on ur lap rite? Like that she will poo on u rite?

starfruit: Thanks for shaing. I didn't know abt the toxic paint. Dun think I will buy the exp play mat, nor will I buy the ABC mat. I think playmat is not a neccessity right?

Jenny/Viman: I also felt that a parklon/LG playmat is very pricey but I have never regretted getting one. You won't feel the necessity now cuz the baby haven't really learnt how to crawl/walk, but once they do, u will be very thankful for the mat cuz if they fall onto it, they won't get any hard knocks on their heads. My #2 sits on the mat to play with her sister and I just let her play on her own there cuz I noe she wun hurt herself. That being said we all grew up without such mats; maybe u can try babyproofing ur house better.

Come to think of it, maybe the cheap abc mat will work, but maybe can spread a blanket over it so the baby won't lick the mat? And the blanket can be washed too, so it shld b safe ba.

Hmmm... The mommies here have convinced me about getting a play mat. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sylvia: Good idea to spread a blanket over the mat. I'm thinking I dun want to spend a lot on the playmat coz I only wanted one baby, so after that I wun get to use it anymore.

Even now when my baby cun crawl, he has already knocked his head several times. I have a mattress on the floor for him and he keeps flipping and flipping and knock his head on the floor several times. Yest he knocked very hard on the floor and frown and was ready to cry. I quickly play and threw him a little in the air and he forgot abt the pain.

Merry Christmas to all mummies!!!

I also din buy the play mat for my #1. The size too big for my living room and some more so expensive. I use the thin mattress. So I'll still use mattress for my #2 too. #1 likes to sleep on the mattress during the day.

Merry xmas to all.

Bunnymum: Oh dear. I dun think there's any pd who is opened during public holiday. Maybe u can try GPs instead?

I brought him to Thomson medical eventually cos he seem so uncomfortable. Doc said he's wheezing. He's put on neuberlizer. I'm so afraid that he might get bronchitis or other sickness.

Greetings from Penang!!! Merry Xmas to all mummies n ur family!!!

Playmat: i got my M size parklon mat from SMH BP @$138 if I dun remem wrongly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny: maybe u can consider getting a play yard for bb J? So can restrict him only flip within e mattress so he won't knock on e floor?

bunnymum: Oh dear, I dunno wat bronchitis is but hope ur boy recovers soon!

mimosa: Got think of it but the play yard is very exp. If I buy the two panel one he will still roll out. Hows Penang? Fun?

Merry Christmas.. In melb now..

Starfruit not I train her early is my mil.. Eversince shr reach 1st mth... I have to continue

Jenny.. I remove her pamper.. Sit with her at the toilet bowl open her legs and aim the bowl

Bunnymum - What a time for this to happen! Wish your BB gets well very soon and your MIL + maid 'behave' themselves so that you will have a good rest!

Jenny - We've got a Parklon mat too. We used to use the mattress until a friend pointed out that BB could risk suffocation with a mattress. Also, a mattress collects dust and breeds dustmites... So far we're very satisfied with the mat, it gives good cushion and its very easy to clean.. Very useful at this stage when BB is drooling all the time and puts everything including the mat into his mouth. No panics when he regurgitates his meals when burping as well.

I also got him a playyard, when he started to flip himself out of the mat. So he goes in there when everyone is busy with something...

WT: Actually I only use mattress for him in my mum's house coz I'm worried he might fall from the bed. Intended to let him slp on it since I didn't want a yao lan intially. In my house I just switch him from place to place, till he cries and I will switch him again. He doesn't have a long attention span so I dun think will be buying an exp mat. Furthermore I'm only going to have one baby so no point spending a lot on this. But might be looking at play yard, I'm thinking whether it can work as a gate too to block my kitchen entrance.

I've been to two renovation contractors but they both didn't call me back regarding the kitchen door installation. The kitchen is the most dangerous place in my house now.

WT: My kitchen entrance is abt 165cm. I counted if buy the gate + extension will cost abt $200, which is too exp. Btw, the play yard is hard type rite? If my baby use walker and knock against it will it be spoil?

Mummies, I was convinced to buy a good playmat coz one of my friend was telling me the mat can also be used for adults. And she also told me ABC mat has a toxic smell. So I'm going to look for a parklon one coz LG is too exp.

Jenny: Yes, the playyard is hard type, but light plastic. If walker knock against it, it should move. Also, it's made up of a few pieces put together (Panel + hinge), so it's flexible at the joints. I have a 4-panel and my maid usually 'fold' it into a double 2 panel to put it aside at the end of the day. I will say good for you in your decision to get a playmat. I usually lie on it to accompany BB when he's playing or read to him. There's so many activities you can do on it, BB won't get bored so fast. Sometimes I even fall asleep on it! (Keke!)

WT: I hope baby wun move it until he gets in the kitchen. haha. The play yard can serve as a gate to the kitchen and the play mat can serve as my husband's mattress when he snores when baby grows up and gets his own room. I'm going to get a 6 panel one coz the 4 panels wun be long enough to block the kitchen entrance.

Jenny: If you intend to use the playyard as a block, how are you going to move in and out of the kitchen freely? Why don't you try searching in the WTS section to see if anyone is selling a 2nd hand gate?

Jenny,

You're also buying from the seller called KoreaCraze? Me too waiting for Parklon mat stock to come in so I can get he mat yard combo.i will keep checking, but let me know also in case you find out that stocks are in?

Viman: Yup same seller. I doubt got any other selling cheaper hor? I trying to search online now. Sure I'll inform u once preorder starts.

twinkle: Thanks for the link. I've checked and none has the wide width that fits my kitchen. My kitchen is too wide and long!