(2011/05) May 2011

Swimming:

I bought the swimming diapers and neck float for my bb, but not taken her to the pool yet. Was waiting for rainy season to get over. Will probably go in the evening so it's not that hot... Hope she likes it!

Swimming: Can baby use neck float in public swimming pool? But usually 15-20 min my baby will be irritated and wants to get out in the baby swimming tub we bought him. Now I also tired and lazy to let him swim inside, coz preparation takes more than half an hour plus so much water needed etc just for the 15-20 min swim like bo hua. Think of selling it away but dunno how much pple want to buy. Its taking up a lot of space in my store.

Eve: My baby only naps max 1.5 hours in the whole day, only half of the recommended. Oh last time I went to one site which can input the ans to some qn and my baby's napping pattern is less than optimal, in fact is the worse according to the survey. But actually I find it good already. Although only 30 min but I can quickly do my stuff, shower or eat. Better than nothing. Haha.

Wow ur baby wakes up at 6am? I'm actually thankful my baby slps later at nite and wake up later so that I dun have to take care of him alone for such a long time.

Viman: U managed to order urs? Or going to preorder?

Mimosa: After trying some types of FM I think Friso is the best! It dissolves well in water, no lumps after finishing and contains pre and probiotics. Similac also contains both but dunno why the can they gave me for sample texture is very weird, like lumpy lumpy instead of smooth powdery form. And its also quite exp considering the price sold at luvbabies.

vicki: I saw ur msg on FB that ur son says he loves everyone except mei mei. So sad. I think he's very jealous of his sis. Try to let them play more. My sil's #1 also dun like #2 but I saw how they treat #1 and threaten to beat her if she touches her sis.

mimosa: i hv'nt got the neck float yet cos it keeps raining. i understand neck float hv 2 sizes so i wan to make sure the weather ok, can go liao den buy. turn out we go to the resort earlier so we carry bb down. heee...

there's a bulk spree here by Charlesnkian. she also hv the normal float at the waist one.

email: [email protected]

my bb initially dun wan the pool cos is cold. he's used to bathing in warm water liao. keep crying. den we got him the babywetsuit. keep his body dry. ok liao.

ya, i rushed to KP to get sunscreen, apply to face, neck, shoulder and arms. hubby say he's now waterproof cos u can c water droplets dripping down his face. hahahaha....

jenny: babies still young, cannot stay in pool for too long. 10-15 mins is enough liao for swimming pool. not sure abt spa tho

it was quite cold when i brot bb swimming tt day. even adults felt cold. lucky bb didnt complain. he even fell face down into water once when i let him sit without holding him. keke!!

Jenny,

I will preorder mat and yard together after measuring the area in my living room. Looks like prices are also going to go up soon? As if it's not expensive enough already!!

Eve,

They have baby wetsuit?? Where to buy?

Ash,

Baby was ok after falling face down in the water? That's the one thing I am scared of about taking her to the pool.

Ash: Yah, my another concern is the temp of the water. Somemore after that if wanna bath baby also only have cold water rite? Maybe wait for him to grow a little bigger then bring him to pool.

Viman: I agree! The prices is already so high and prices still keep increasing!

Playmats: I got my parklon mat today. I put my elbow on the mat then it was dented in! And hours later its still like that. Doesn't seem that good, and also mine is 12mm, quite thin, I tried knocking my head on the mat to test and a little bit pain. And the carrier bag writes made in china. I tot its supposed to be made in korea?

But my baby seems to like it on the mat more than bed/mattress. He flipped over and stayed very long on his tummy and didn't attempt to flip here and there. He also tried to crawl on the mat.

Jenny,

Oh dear! 12 mm still got dent? My baby likes to fall back when sitting sometimes, will she hurt her head if she falls back on the 12 mm one? Smallsmallworld also has the M mat at 12 mm at $169...

Viman: Yah lor, I still waiting and keep checking back if the dent will bounce back itself. Update u tmr. I think if fall down hard her head will be pain. So if really finance permits u I think LG one would be better coz its firmer. But price also firmer lah. Haha.

Other mummies using parklon mats are urs good?

viman, it was $139 d other day but cos i was waiting to c bp price & now offer over hahaha

kiddy palace also sell some playmat made in korea, abt $159 for the 1900mm (m size). but not sure if the quality the same but also 2sided.

ash, gor gor is 3yrs old but dec bb

sometimes really angry at him tho i try not to lose temper cos to be frank, i m tryin to build my r/s wif him (even b4 my gal came along) + i know very bad, i really seem to prefer my gal more. sometimes d thinz he do, like sayang mei mei, then u feel very heart warming

Jenny: I am using Parklon mat, for mine the dent usually will bounce back, there was one time my hb put the whole Ikea chaning table on it, e dent was so deep! I was worried like u, but lucky it bounced bk as per normal =)

jen: i tink my play mat is LG but also will dent if i elbow or the ankle ball it. but will bounce bk much later (not immediately).

i tink no nid to over worry cos bb wt is much much lighter than us so long it provides cushion when they fall. their wt are distributed whereas when we try, is point pressure. so an xin bah...

vicki: MB try to tell urself, he still young that is why he still dun know how to control? as in 'xiao hai zi bu dong shi'... since he didnt do it intentionally, then try to forgive him? will it work if u tell him why u think he shld not do that? i dun think he wants his sister to be hurt ya? but usually kids' memory is short right, think soon he will forget again, haha...

Eve: my bb hates e neck float, can we let him use e underarm float? and my parents bought him a swimming suit already, but dun think can keep him warm like e bodywetsuit... still thinknig if i shld get e wetsuit for him... How much u paid for it huh?

vicki, i think gor or is trying to get your attention and the only way he knows how to do it is bully mei mei. I am sure he loves mei mei, perhaps too much attention is on mei mei and he feels a bit neglected?

try and spend more time with him

Viman, u can get thermal swimwear at kiddy palace. even mothercare sells. just need a smaller size for bb. IT looks like a wetsuit and its not cheap.

Jenny. the dent will bounce back after a while.

Deon, u can get sunblock for baby from kiddy palace, mothercare etc. I am currently using sunblock from california baby and avalion organics. This is the one i am using, price seems very high, so may be a pricing error.

http://www.agapebabies.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=48&products_id=791

Safety gates: I have measured my kitchen entrance, it is 125cm, quite wide, therefore i nid to get e wide kind, plus delivery ($20), it total cost $90.83.. does it worth it? shld I get it? I saw there is wire mesh type, which is cheaper, what is e diff? which one better? any mummy can advice pls?

Mimosa, actually i bought a safety gate during my no.1 time but ended up not using it at all cos bb dun really go to the kitchen, if your bb is not the sure active kind, actually no need to use it at all.

Starfruit: i just click into e link and check e Califonia baby sun block, there is comment saying it wont irritates bb's eyes, seems good! bcos i tried to use 1 sunblock (forgot e brand, it was passed to me by a nice fb mummy) on my bb when i was in Penang, my bb rub rub his face abit, then start to have tearing eyes tat whole afternoon! seems v uncomfortable =( so mummies, better get a good one for ur bb ya =)

Starfruit: ehh... dun know u still remember during the trial class in Nex? my bb is super active loh! hahaha... i am sure he will try to venture into e kitchen once he gets more mobile =P

Mickey: so good u boys can play tog. Mine doesn’t. My #1 doesn’t bond that well w his lil bro yet. We thought he was lonely so wanted to give him a sibling but seemed like he prefers to have all the adult attention on him only. Can see he is still struggling…

Mimosa: Still 2mths to Mar so maybe by then bb ok with FM. BKK - spa, massage, pedi, mani, Chautauchuck, tom yum soup… super nice!!!!

Jenny: LOL. That’s a good idea! I will try on him. I got my LG prime playmat, no dents but if u fold it, there will be lines. Anyway, so long bb J likes the playmat, it will be worth the $$$

BB sleep patterns: Total nap during day < 2hrs. Play until exhaust himself at 9pm then woke up 6am. Total <12hrs sleep…

yup, has been tryin to improve my r/s with him. tat's y d other day i feel so heartwarmin when he ask me "mommy do u love me", but it ended with "i dont like mei mei"... =.=

but yet when i tell him, "u dont like mei mei i give mei mei away ok" he will reply "cannot"

oh sayin abt slp pattern, i duno izzit my gal gng cold turkey cos i weanin her to full fm. she has been wakin up alot at nite. used to slp almost throughout d night 9+pm - 4/5am

Mimosa: I tried armpit float before on #1. He hates it.

Yes, bb A seems v active. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vicki: when didi cries, my #1 will still play or laugh v loudly and refuses to let me go check on my crying bb. Then i will tell him, 'mummy is sad when bb cries coz it is just like you are crying'. 'mummy is happy when bb is happy, just like you are happy'. Then, i will tell him, 'let go and check on bb'. he will learn from me and say 'bb, don't be scared, korkor is here...'.

mimosa: i tink i paid $30+ for the wetsuit. the blue and red are on sales at abt 20% lesser but my hub got the yellow (without sales) unknowingly. =(

i'm not sure abt the underarm float leh.. but if u can make it to queenstown, the mummy can let yr baby try out the floats to c which is suitable for yr bb. else, u can go to the baby spa and try out the products den say u wan to consider 1st. hee....

i'm torn betw the neck float and the underarm float. underarm float - 1/2 body is out of water, only the legs are submerged but at least the bb is "swimming correctly". neck float - whole body in the water, can exercise arms and legs together but majiam threading water.

any advise, anyone??

wow the forum just sprang back to life after about 2 weeks of inactivities...

Forget to wish all mummies here: Happy 2012 and may all mummies stay young and pretty with Curvy figures! May all babies blessed with good health!

Just came back to work today. BB has not recovered from her fever and flu. Her temp hovers ard 37.7-38.3. Went KKh to do blood and urine test and both tests are ok.

2ww: this type of weather may lead to fever sometime.my bb once heat 38.6 eat normal fever medicine also no use. Sponge also no use. What he eat or drink all spilt out. Bring him to nearest hospital at yishun. Hub request for fever medicine that is orange color. Luckily bb alright after eating if not must go kkh. He is one poor thing. Before went hospital one midnight he hand and feet went off color and cold. I take his blanket make of wool keep rubbing his hand and leg to keep him warm. Luckily after that his colour back abit and temperature up abit . I tot I going to lose my bb . I cry . If anything happen how I am going to explain to my inlaws, hub and my parents.

I tell my elder mummy need to take care if bb very carefully maybe sometime can't focus on you like last time. Sometime elder okay with it while sometime he keep bullying bb

cindymama, the orange colour one is call nuerofen(i think) but then not to be given to bb under 1 years old. i know it only when i was told at KKH. Doc at KKH ask me to stop tat medicine and just ask me to give normal paracetamol and sponge her.

Can i check if there is any smell from bb's mouth? My bb's mouth got smell. doc just say her throat a bit red but my MIL insist that my bb got throat infection. any advice?

viman: ya he was ok after falling face down. abit like wanna cry but quickly distract him. actually bb still v young. by rite, we can make them dive under the water and up quickly. if u dare to try la

i use luckybaby safety gate for kitchen. need 1 extension. mommies who need to buy, measure your kitchen door area properly b4 going down to buy.

other than window grills, any other temporarily device to make windows safe?

my #1 is ok without grills. but somehow, i feel tt #2 will not be like #1

Playmat: My playmat is still dented today. But I've told my husband not to elbow down on the mat, but yest nite when I was checking the dent I press my hand down and got another dent. =( I also email smallsmallworld to ask abt manufacture country and they reply saying the mat is fr korea and bag is from china. Not sure how true.

Play yard: Yeah my play yard is here! Very easy to install. The suction plates doesn't really work, dunno can suck wat, I bought 2 panels extra to block my kitchen but cannot stand like wat the mummies here say so I use my exersaucer to block on one of the panel to make it stable. My baby is very interested in the activity panel, thank god mine is the melody one so he wun get sick so easily. He cried after a while in it coz he was tired and want to slp. Will try again later and see if he can stay in there for a longer time. I'm glad I bought a smaller mat though coz it fits the 4 panels much better and can fit nicely just beside my coffee table.

mimosa: I think ur kitchen is not that wide, u can try lucky baby. I dun suggest a wooden one coz I'm thinking if baby learn to walk and pull on it wat if the wood gets into the hand or something. A bit paranoid. Haha. To me I think a plastic or metal one would be better. Or if u want, can get a kitchen door so that can continue to use it in future when u cook.

Little Fly: I have two friends who loves their baby siblings a lot. But like I say my sil's #1 hates her sis. I think it depends on how u educate them during pregnancy and also their age gap. But I only know how to say, if I got another one maybe worse. Haha. Actually I'm thankful my baby dun have any siblings coz he cry like crazy when we take away the thing he is playing with. Sometimes he play with the changing mat belt then we take away to change his clothes then he will scream and his tears will start dripping like running tap. If he has any siblings to snatch his toys away would be worse!

Oh yah, I forgot to mention I put my baby on sitting position in front of the melody panel and he actually sat for quite long, using one hand to support himself and the other one playing on the panel. =D Hope he can learn to sit on his own very soon with this.

Jenny: wow, that is good! =) but too bad i got to wait until mid Feb =( will let my bb try first at a fren's house first, hope he likes it..

Starfruit, managed to get the sunblock from KP just now..

Thank you so much !

Thank you Eve too, got it.. Finally.. LOL

Happy :0

Hello mummies! Long time no see. How's everyone? A warm welcome to new members too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seems like the hot topic now is on playmat, play yard n safety gate?

For playmat, I think either Parklon or LG is good. Both will dent but after awhile will bounce back alr. I'm currently using Parklon Pooh Flower Hill design and I feel that it's good enough for me. BB enjoys it too.

For play yard, I got a 6 panel melody+normal activity combi and usually I leave BB to play on his own while I do morning chores. It's like a play zone for him and now he's pulling himself to stand [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For safety gate, I don't think I'll get any cos won't let BB go into kitchen so thought maybe no need. Too many things at home alr. Like bumbo and walker, my BB doesn't really like nw -.-

A call for support from my BB ^.^ The movie that he's acting in, Dance Dance Dragon is showing soon! 19 Jan in cinemas! Do give him ur support! Thanks lots mummies!

Ash: okok, i will try to go KP to take a look [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Steph: hey steph! Long time no see! busy with your star baby's movie promo schedule ah?? hehe... u got the play yard from the SMH BP here too? now no more stock ler, sad... =(

Yishun gathering: sure sure! Will try to come =) u will invite us in FB?

mimosa: haha busy with giving tuition and freelance work. baby's promo schedule tight too. there'll be a roadshow for publicity, stay tuned to the news :D yes once details finalised will create FB event [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cindymama: no problem, all babies ma, doesn't matter the age hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit: Thanks!

2ww: mouth got smell? Did u just give bb solids? If u give her more water, still got smell?

Ash: better take no chances with windows now that you got 2 kids. Temporary measure? Lock the windows ? forbade #1 to even go near it?

Jenny: LOL. I think my #1 is v close to me so he gets v possessive. He will ask others to carry/play with bb and leave mummy for him. My #1 is very sweet. He will even want to hold my hand when he sleeps…

Mummies, it is too late to get a bb carrier now that our bbies are almost 8mths? will bb sweat inside if go non-air conditioning places?