(2011/05) May 2011

hi Jenny,

be strong my dear. if u put your boy into yaolan n Everytime when u put him in, he will start screaming. i think it could be due to being accidentially frightening when he is inside sleeping. (mayb by bad dreams or noise etc as sometime our area may have planes flying). try putting the tou ya pilow on his chest when he slp so that will not b startled so easily

my gal as also crying badly when she is 1mth to 3mths plus. recently juz settle down. that time like u i tried a lot of methods. i use the xia liu leave to bath her, put the leave under her pillow. n bring her go temple pray. as my parents place got pray 3 gods, i tell the gods and then even take a bit of the incense ash from the incense ash pot and apply on her forehead.

somthing u can try though it is very supersitious

Hi Melody, last time there's once he also scream when I put him in yao lan ,after that then I realised its coz we got the electric rocker n everytime just put him inside n walk away, so he's scare. So now we always tell him that we are going to place him in inform him n nv walk away but suddenly like that again. I scare its 7th mth thingy.

Also got bring him to ask god n go to temper for him already leh. Now must wait for my shi liu to grow new leaves then bath him coz the old ones all died liao.

oh maybe u can also try turn on some soothing music or radio (with DJ talking) n see if it helps u (though it doesnt help on my gal's case, but who knows it may help on u).

n u c if your neighours or where have the shi liu tree or not. if have, u pluck from there first. thats wat i do

i dont know if u have heard of this plant called Quay sai din (old ppl will know). i also use this to boil with some water n add this to her bathing water to bath my gal that time (bath her in this for about a month). my mum say it helps if bb is cranky n always crying.

Melody: My mum says this works for my bro n tell me to try. But then baby still cry. My neighbour got the plant but they are very evil. I think their plant will be evil too. LOL. My mil got but she dun wan to give us. She say baby too small cannot use. So in the end we bought our own plant.

Oh I heard of e quay sai din before frmo my mum. Can buy this plant? Or u know where to get? So after using this ur baby got better?

Hi Jenny,

my gal bath in the quay sai din when she is less than a month (and she bath for a month). so i think is ok. don't put too much lor. short segment say about 10 to 20cm each time can le .

i didn't buy as my mum got grow. later i going my mum place after work to pickup my gal, i can pluck some for u. u wana drop by my place to pick it up tonight (JW ST 61) ?.

jenny, here's the address:

yu guo chinese physician acupuncture & physiotherapy pte ltd

8-B jalan masjid #01-04 kingston terrace

singapore 418929 (nearest mrt : kembangan)

tel : 6447 4761

operating hrs :

mon, tue, thur, fri

9am to 12:30pm

2pm to 5pm (try to go in the afternoon, less crowded)

6.30pm - 8.30pm

saturday

9am - 12:30pm

2pm - 5pm (try to go in the afternoon, less crowded)

sunday

9am - 12:30pm (never go on sat & sun morning, it's very crowded)

I really feel that all the May mummies here are so kind n helpful! Go go mummies! Here is really the place to get help n support!

Same sentiments here, 2ww!

Jenny: I understand how u feel abt ur crying bb cuz I nv dared to bring my firstborn out on my own in case she's too fussy and I can't handle her alone. But when ur bb is better u shld take a leap of faith and cry going out with ur bb alone. Sometimes e bb cries despite all soothing cuz he can feel tht mummy is unhappy. Bringing e bb out can also help u to have a lil breather and unwind. Once I brought my #1 out on my own when she was 2 mo cuz she was crying non-stop until I wanted to die. I went to take a bus, hoping e white noise would soothe her. But no, she cont crying in e bus and random strangers even tried to teach me wad to do (which I totally dislike). Felt v pek chek so I alighted. Surprisingly, she stopped crying and started sleeping. I could even go to e library and read books for 2h. I din even bring a diaper bag out, but she was so well-behaved tht I din even change/feed her.

Babies r v unpredictable, so never say never. My #1 screamed murder when we placed her in e sling initially. But at 3mo she totally loves it and still loves it today. My #2 refused to take bottles n pacy for months but finally accepted them at 3 to 4 mo too.

Jenny, we r all v concerned and worried abt u. Pls bear in mind tht we will always b here for u and although it may not be easy, try to cast unhappy thoughts aside k?

Oh and Jenny, I really strongly urge u to go visit a gd PD. I read tht if e bb cont crying after 3-4 mths, there might be an underlying medical cause. My #1 was diagnosed to be a colic but on hindsight I suspect she cries so much due to a tummy prob cuz she always have a full diaper of watery poo. If a gd PD cld give us proper advice, prob #1 would b spared frm all e discomfort, and us, frm all e crying.

Hey Jenny,

I am bringing my girl for review this Friday to Dr Kumar. I will talk to him about yr bb case and ask him to try and give you an appointment for saturday. I update you on Friday ok..

Do not give up, you are doing your best..

Melody: I've replied to ur pm. =)

dolly: Thanks a lot. I've jotted down the add and will go over if baby still not well.

Janice: It does work but must be louder than him. Like if he cries n screams I need to shout even louder then he will stop for a few sec before continuing to cry and scream.

2ww: Yes, the mummies here are so nice and giving me good advices and really very caring too.

Sylvia: My baby behaves better when I bring him on bus but then I cun always bring him out coz the diaper bag + him is really heavy. Last Fri when I boarded the bus I almost fell down coz I didn't hold the railings n baby is 6.6kg already (I slinged him but still heavy). Actually I'm very weak, even 1kg of stuff I also think its very heavy.

Today my baby in better mood, he nv cry for abt one hour then after I latched him, he continued playing on his own for abt 1 hour then start to fuss again. Now he is taking his nap. Regarding the PD, I told the PDs abt him crying n all of them only say its due to the flu n after the flu heals, he will be ok but its not the case...

Deon: If can can u help me to ask for next Sat? Coz this Sat I'm going to finally have a break to watch movie. Don't want to spoil the plans that I've been waiting for very long. And thanks a lot!

Any mummies can give me advice on wearing diapers? I'm using dryers in the day and dunno why I already pull the diapers properly but baby's urine still leaked from the top side, the side where the tapes are. Not sure isit coz Dryers is a little lousy at the side or something that I didn't do properly?

2ww,

I second that. The mommies here are really v helpful and supportive. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bbpooh: thanks. PD said my Bb cries very fiercely. Haha. He screamed til until whole face red. Back home, he refused rocker so i end up carry him to sleep in my arms.

Jenny: I find drypers not very good. Leak can be sides not secured tight enough?

Jenny, you can try other brand. Personally don't like drypers too.. We have treid out lots of brands & stop @ MP... Think MP has numbers on the two sides indicating the flap where to stick, you can get one & try..

Hmmm... Drypers works great for my baby girl. No leakage at all. Maybe it's not good for boys! Hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon: Thanks a lot. =)

Dryers: Can't change now coz I kaisu went to buy alot to qualify for free shipping at luvbabies two mths ago. Really regret doing that. Felt stupid n silly.

Viman: I like the absorbance of dryers but dunno why sometimes will leak from the side. Dunno isit coz there's no cotton there.

Hey Jenny don't give up k? I agree better bring ur kid to PD due to the crying... Expert views always is the best rather than guessing ya?

Mummies: can I check what's the avg total intake of ur bb milk? Also when can we start intro brown rice watery cereal? After 5 mo ma?

FYI just saw the motherhood mag that the next expo will be in nov. I'm heading to robinsons after expressing..anyone wants me to check anything?

V: can trouble u to check if got discount for lamaze toys n avent teats? Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My Bb 3.5 mths drinks every 3hrs around 90-110ml, max 120ml. PD said he don't drink much. I intend to intro Bb cereal around 6 mths only.

Jenny: maybe u can let Bb wear drypers day time n other more lasting brands at night...huggies dry comfort works for my Bb.

V: Thanks. My baby cry alot lesser these two days after we dun let him sleep with aircond. But will monitor n see how. =)

Little Fly/dolly: My baby is using pampers active at nite now. Works very well dun have to change during feeds. My baby got nappy rash after using dry comfort, I got the sample from the site.

My baby also drinking 120ml only. Sometimes I increase to 135ml for his last feed, depends on his mood, sometimes can sometimes cannot.

Mummies, I also need ur advice on walkers. Coz I dun have any pass-down things for my baby, I have to buy all. So I searched online on baby walkers n all is for 7 mths onwards. Do we really have to wait for baby to be 7 mths before he can use the walker? Coz I wanted to fully utilize the walker, like give it to him once he can use if not bo hua. LOL.

And also when baby is 4 mths, isit good to start him on baby cereal or better to start with Heinz food? I saw Heinz baby food for 4-6mths but my husband only found fruits one. I dun wan to start him on very sweet stuff coz scare he reject other food in future, like how he rejects plain water now. Wanted to find those veg type instead.

Thanks mummies!

Jenny how ure feeling better now..

Need to check with u ladies if ur bb got suddenly drink very little? My girl suddenly this few days don't wanna drink milk from 100 every 3 hr now become only drink 50 every 3 hr and worst at night ytd she drink at 630pm den I try to feed her at 930 she only drink 20ml and cry and scream cuz wanna slp.. Usually she will wake up at 4plus for milk but she nv I prepared milk for her @ 430am she also dun wanna drink keep wanting to play.. Den after that she wake up at 730am drink only 50ml and whole day the most drink 70ml

Hi Spilt, my son 3 weeks ago also like that he normally drink 120ml but suddenly he refuse milk. He only drink ard 60 ml like 4 hourly. And sometimes can drag the feed to more than 6hrs then he drink. But nw he is bk to normal btw he is going 4 mth next week.

split: Much better, esp my husband is ard on sat, sun n today. Can help me out a little. Thanks for ur concern!

Oh my baby also drinking very little and tummy big big even though its already 3 hours n he last drank 120ml. Dunno isit indigestion but he's drinking really little nowadays.

Jenny - Glad your bb is better.

Today I tried to bring my girl out, she was in good mood when we left the house. Half way to Northpoint, she started crying and want to sleep. We put her in the pram and she settled down for awhile but after an hour later, she started to cry again.

Wanted to get dinner outside but becasue she is crying we have to u-turn back..

Mummies, any advise ?

P/S My hubby was with me and he kept saying that it is too early to bring her out, she needs more time.. blah.. blah... My girl is already 14 weeks, I feel that I should bring her out and let her adjust to the surrounding..

Hihi mummies, kinda new here.. My bb gal is born on 3rd may..I don't usually visit forums but I felt so touched when all mummies here are so supportive! Really sweet.. =)

Jenny: jia you ok? My gal just recovered from flu as well.. Think it's the weather these days that causes all these flu bugs to be spreading.. The PD told me to let her sleep on higher pillow so that she can breathe better.. And I din noe that I wasn't suppose to use vicks vaporub till my fren told me about it...so I stopped though it wrk well on her..

My mum takes care of her for me so I usually bring her home on weekends.. Last week was horrible because she wakes up every hour due to her nose.. Sehz

Deon: I bring my baby out almost every weekends. Actually it's a little ma fan la cuz got so many things to bring but I really like it because she dun fuss a lot. Whenever I bring out the sarong sling, she will keep quiet, like as if she noes she's going out.. She will look around and really keep quiet. Onlyfuss when she is about to sleep. If at home, she will make a lot of noise. House too small, also can't really walk around.. She see also bored.. Hehe..

Cloud, Jenny: my Bb can't finish beyond 120ml. Sometimes stop at 90ml then I have to coax him to take more.

Split: thanks !

Deon: my Bb don't really like strollers. If he's awake he cries to be carried. Now also don't like to be on sling. Duno if I put him in awkward position or what.

Jenny: glad your Bb is feeling better. I put my no 1 into walker at 4 mths but that's coz many elders told me his can support his neck n his legs got strength. For my no 2 I plan to start him at 5-6 mths only.

Jenny: It's good to hear that you are feeling better! =)

I personally would not recommend walkers coz they are quite dangerous for little kids who have no idea how to control the speed and maneuvre around places with steps and all. Also, studies show that walkers might delay certain developmental milestones. http://consults.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/02/22/the-dangers-of-baby-walkers/

I compare the development of my #1 with my cousin's bb who is 1 month older and also my brother's kid who is probably 14-15 month old now. My girl could walk at about 1 years old without being put in a walker or jumpersoo and was given lots of room to crawl. My cousin's bb used a walker and I remembered my cousin being worried when she saw my girl walking and her son not. My brother's son did not use a walker but was placed in an exersaucer rather often and was not allowed to crawl very much. He still has to walk with support although he is quite stable standing already. Just for your consideration. =)

Split: My bb also had a nursing strike 2-3 weeks back and would only drink while i nursed her in side-lying position. And even then, I had to let her suck on pacifier first before she would start nursing. I went to research and found some information that might help. I dunno if it applies to bottle feeding breastmilk tho...

http://www.llli.org/faq/strike.html

Deon: I've brought my girl out ever since confinement ended. i very "flower leg" one... What i did was that i put her in the carrier instead of stroller because I know the outside world might be too stimulating for her and by having her close, she may not mind it too much. I only brought her out in stroller when she was almost 2 months old and even then, i had my sling on standby and once she fussed, I would carry her in the sling. HTH...

Hi Jenny,

my gal bath in the quay sai din when she is less than a month (and she bath for a month). so i think is ok. don't put too much lor. short segment say about 10 to 20cm each time can le .

i didn't buy as my mum got grow. i will bgoing my mum place after work to pickup my gal, i can pluck some for u. u wana drop by my place to pick it up tonight (JW ST 61) ?.

My baby is getting better now except he refuse to drink milk. He slept through the nite and woke up at 11.15am so I latched him on and he drank for a while and dun wan to drink anymore. Tummy is still very flat. Now screaming and playing away.

Walkers: I read online and knew that walkers are not good but I dun want to stop my baby from having fun. I think with supervision, playing in a walker is great. Like playing games are also not good for us but due to fun, we still play it. Somemore baby will get bored coz they cun really do anything. So I think having a walker for him will be nice for him.

Little Fly: I saw a few sets lucky baby bouncer cum walker. Can use from 6 mths. But can I use from 4 mths after his neck is stable?

Melody: Oh my husband today got meeting dunno come home wat time liao. This fri nite will u be at home? But now my baby is getting better. Not sure if I shld still use this to bath him?

Hi Everyone

A silent reader of this forum here with a baby boy born in May'11 too. I felt I was too busy to keep up with any contributions. However I'm touched and surprised by the support of all these fellow mummies . Feel I need to contribute too, because I have gained so much just by reading the experiences and emotions you all shared.

Jenny,

Will like to tell you to jia you too. You're a great mummy regardless, because you have turned your life upside down for him. There's no greater sacrifice than this.

I remember that I was told by my mum I was a difficult baby too. I had asthmatic symptoms even though there was no aircon in those days and I puked nearly every bottle of milk they gave me. Someone advised my mum to 'qi' me (I.e. Get me a Godparent). In the end my mum 'qi' me to Kuan Yin, and I guess things turned for the better. For my son, my mum also went to the Kuan Yin temple @ middle road to pray for an amulet for my son to be 'good'. I put the amulet in the pillow my son sleeps on.

On the topic of walkers, I feel that the process of flipping, crawling, walking is a gradual process. Have also read somewhere that kids do not need a lot of toys. They have fun with their imagination, even if they have nothing but their fingers and toes. Hence I don't feel it's necessary to have my son in a walker.

Jenny: safer to wait out til 6 mths I think as recommended by manufacturer. I was SAHM during no 1 time n walker is a great relief coz i can go handsfree. He loves to race from one corner to another. Need to take close watch coz Bb may grab things off low table or shelving.

Hi WT. Thanks for the encouragement. I also heard about being Guan Yin's godson and my mother and aunt all told me to do that but the prob lies with my MIL and husband. My mil insisted that we can't do that unless adviced after askign god. And my husband listens to his mum wholeheartedly even though sometimes she is wrong, he also follow. The funny thing is, my husband is also a godson of Guan Yin coz he was a difficult baby. His mum bought him to alot of places to ask god n also being Guan Yin's godson but when it comes to my baby, she say all cannot. I think its coz she doesn't need to take care so she can say things like he will be better when he grows up. If like that then why she still bring my husband to do those things?

About the walker, I think walkers are fun. LOL. So just try it out. But I want to get those bouncer type so is safer.

Little Fly: Oh thanks. I tot can buy earlier coz dunno why must wait so long. LOL.

WT: Forgot to mention my baby does not know how to self entertain himself. He only knows how to cry to catch attention.

Jenny: Hehe actually my son is not so guai to self entertain too. We alternate him between the playmat where he is trying to flip himself and the carseat in front of the TV. I personally don't advocate too much TV for kids, but since I'm not the caregiver when I'm away at work I don't strictly enforce cuz my maid has to tend to other household chores as well. I guess I am also guilty of not being the perfect mummy... ;-)

As for the Godson part...

I myself is also only a half believer about it. I however do believe in faith in Kuan Yin, and I would constantly pray silently to her during my pregnancy and during the times when my son cries very hard. It doesn't have to be in the temple. So perhaps you can just do your praying whenever you feel in need, or you can softly whisper a prayer to your son.

I am like hannah i dun advocate walkers i prefer to put her on the playmat n let her flip or learn to crawl instead. But then jenny u are the mummy of ur baby if u like the walker u can get it for bb. Also i prefer to buy toys for my bb instead of the walker cos toys can stimulate her development better.

Bella go buy snuggles its kinda like vicks but for babies. Yeah vicks is no no for babies.

Deon my ger has been going out since full mth. Same as hannah i bring stroller n carrier/pouch out. She can max sit in stroller for 15-20 mins each time only then will cry liao. After tat i will transfer her to my carrier/sling n she will be ok & sleep. Its frightening for bb n sometimes when they get over stimulated by the crowd n noise outside they wi cry n become unsettled thats when u need to carry her.! But one thing is tat i will be back hm by 8pm latest cos 8pm is her bed time n if i go beyond tat usually she gets damn cranky. Do bring ur ger out more u just need to find the best way to carry her outside.

Hannah i am as flower leg as u.

Oh ya! As WT was mentioning about the Godson thingy, I remembered something.. My hubby told me that the reason he became the Godpa of his niece was because her eight character was bad to both her mum and dad.. And therefore needs someone to " neutralize" the " fire". My sis in law had gone through a really bad pregnancy.. Her baby has really weak heart beat throughout till my hubby became her Godpa..now she is a healthy n lively 8 yr old kid..

I'm not sure if it coincidental or that it really works.. I'm a Christian but sometimes when nothing else works, we as mothers will just do anything to make our child better.. My SIL is a German and they don't really believe in such things as well.. But somehow it worked for their family...

Starfruit: where can I get snuggles? What about Vick baby rub? Is it useful?

deon: i think it is already very gd tt ur ger can sleep 1 hr in stroller outside. dun b discourage by this. some kids can sleep while stroller is moving n some need it to be stationery. also, they will def be disturbed by outside noises

jenny: gd to know tt ur bb getting beta. jiayou! dun give up!

Bella,

My son had very stuffy nose and lots of phlegm as well. I bought this "Cold Rub" for babies from an Essential Oils shop @ 1st Flr Orchard Central and have been applying to his chest & back after bath and before bed. It's from Philipines and my domestic helper recognises it as a popular brand back home. With advise from a friend, I also diffuse a blend Eucalyptus, Lavender and Tea Tree oils in the room during bedtime. So far his nose has improved a lot and there's only occasional stuffiness and some sneezes here and there. It's a big difference from 2 months ago when he would wake up in the middle of the night struggling from a stuffy nose.

Jenny,

Its sounds like your baby might have food allergies. Cos the flu never goes away and baby cant sleep well, these are some of common symptoms of food allergies. Or baby could be super sensitive to dustmite? The faster solution would be to change bedding, mop floors and clean the aircon daily for the dustmite possibility. For the food allergies possibility, you can try change to FM for babies with food allergies such as Nan Ha etc...you have to check with other mummies which ones they are as i'm not sure. Then you have to try eliminating cow's milk from your diet first as you are breastfeeding as well and cow's milk allergies are the most common type of food allergy.

Another thing is...have u tried to put baby on a schedule yet? My baby feeds every 3-4hrly. After every feed, I will try to get bb to sleep (abt 1-1.5 hrs after each feed). I tried all kinds of methods to make my bb sleep (carrying and rocking, rocking in bouncy chair, carrying her in the bouncy chair) The methods all work at first but then after some time don't seem to work well.

This final method is working well for me so far: I have sleep time routine...

After each feed, bb's mood is the best so i can leave bb alone on her own, or i will play and talk to her.

After 1hr or 1.5 hr, bb will start to get cranky and rub eyes or eat hands etc...then i will start bed time routine.

1. Wipe face and hands. Change diapers.

2. Put bb on the bed and sing to bb lullaby and pat her.

3. Then i leave the room and let bb settle to sleep on her own.

U have to start the bedtime routine before bb gets cranky and start to cry or bb will become upset for this method to work.

Also when i first started this method, bb will cry its lungs out. Don't pick up bb. After 5-10 mins, if baby is still screaming, you can pat and sayang bb and then leave bb to try to go to sleep again. Its supposed to work after a few days, bb will cry only for a while and then will still drift off to sleep by itself liao. But this method is only for hard-hearted mummies who can stand bb's screaming. BB can cry up to an hr if you're trying this method for the first time.

Also, I will make sure to feed bb every 3-4hrly. Even if she is sleeping, i will gently wake her to feed her. I found out that if i let her sleep too long, she tend to be more difficult to go to sleep after the next feed.

I have a really fussy and cranky bb too. I feel that after i started her on this schedule, she has improved by crying less often.

There's once I even told my husband maybe baby's eight characters clash with me and cannot call me mummy, must call me auntie then will be ok. Haha.

Bella: I also had a very bad pregnancy, keep bleeding but dunno where got pple can be his godparent that is good to him. My friend is his godmother but nv seem to help with anythng.

starfruit: My baby got 3 fen zhong rui du. If got new stuff he will be very guai n like it immediately. But after using a few times no use liao. Applies to the bouncers, mobile, and playgym.

Hi mummies, sorry to disturb, I'm from Jan 2011 thread, I'm weaning off breastfeeding, so am selling my extra bottle of GNC fenugreek (60 capsules, 610mg).

Original price at GNC: $29.50

Sale Price: $20

Expiry date: 2014

Preferably self-collection at Sengkang/Punggol, but negotiable if other areas.

Please email me at [email protected]. Pls don't pm me as I seldom check the forum nowadays.