(2011/05) May 2011

Sigh,my #2 is down with flu n cough again & not yet 4mths yet.can I know if bubble tea will cause phlegm in our bm? Cos tat's d ONI sinful food I m takin. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I dun recall my #1 fallin sick so often except after jabs n he's on mix feedin.yet #2 on tbf but keep fallin sick.

Jenny: if colic baby will cry... Carry and try burping and lie down do cycling motion with the legs..massage will help also. I don't think baby shd be drinking so much water now.. 1-2 teaspoon a day is good enough. Guardian sells dentinox drops.

Vicki: different bb is different la.. Maybe u cut down on the bb tea.. I till now dun dare touch.. Only had chai tea latte w soy milk the day before afTer pumping..

Kristle: I read in a book that bb at 4 mths will change their sleep habit and some will start waking up in the middle of the night.. It suggests to limit the day naps...

Any mummies here bought young parents aug edition and don't want it anymore? Can sell or give me?.

kristle, my gal also like tat a few days back ... sleep on chest ... same timing as ur boy ... haha ...

V, got good lobang in the aug edition? hehe

jus KPO as i dont hv the magazine..

Anyone interested to get a preloved sleep wedge cum positioner?    

Bought it cos of my girl's reflux problem when she was around 2 mths old. Found it useful for her, esp after her feed i'd place her on the wedge for about 20min. Acts also as a portable bed, when i go to inlaws place, hehe. Selling it cos she can sit upright now.

http://www.learningcurve.com/product/detail/Y7323A?locale=en_GB

Retails at $49.90. Condition 8/10, with box intact. Pls PM me your best price if interested. Self-collect at kovan area.

Kristle: now i heard Myanmar maids seemed to be respectful and well-behaved. Maybe you can give it a try if you are currently having indo/phil maids?

Is there some custom of giving starting hongbao for babysitters ? my bbsitter gave an hongbao for my baby on 2nd day and she said its custom.

V: My no1 did that and we never got him to sleep through after that until he's about 4. Now worry my bb sleeping patterns will change too...

Vicki: Anyone in your house also down with flu/cough and passed to your no.2 ? Or avoid bringing bb to crowded places especially now school holidays started.

My boy likes to sleep on his side too. Even when he was less than a month old, the confinement lady liked to put him on his side because he seemed to sleep longer without "jumping" awake. Hence we will tuck a bolster under one side when we put him down to sleep.

He also doesn't have a fixed sleeping pattern. He can go to sleep as early as 8 pm which is quite rare or as late as 11pm. On the day of Presidential Election, he woke up at 1am and accompanied us listening to the PE reports till 3am! There are nights here and there still that he will wake up in the middle of the night. The lucky thing is my maid is very patient to play with him on these nights.

little fly, no leh, bbsitter never give hongbao to #2. but i tink some pple do give angpow when bb first visit their plc.

i guess cld be fr my #1 who is down wif flu but seldom contact cos he stick to ah ma & slp with them whereas #2 slp wif me.

just feel frustrated & worry cos every1 keep tellin me bb b4 4mths old shldnt fall sick esp on bm except after jab. then ask me izzit babysitter no gd, wat m i eatin etc...

Jenny - Dr Kumar is also at Paragon.. If you going back to Paragon, you may want to give it a try ?

I hope your bb gets better. If it is colic, rid wind drops and gripe water will help.

WT u should consider setting proper night time routine for ur bb so his bed time hrs are more regular. Dun play with him if he wakes at 11pm he needs to learn to go back to sleep if not on the long run bb may not get enuff sleep

Mummies, am gonna intro solids to bb after pd mention she's not growing much and taking a tad little milk for her age. WHat food shld i get for a start? Any particular type of rice cereals?

Little Fly: Next time I'll try to feed baby water after he finish singing too. Haha.

V: Doing cycling motion with baby's legs will help? I just bought the colic drops from Guardian. =)

Deon: I think if I go Paragon maybe I check out Dr Kumar, if too many pple then I go to iKids. But must make appt with iKids first.

Dolly: My husband refuse to let baby wear the thread. =(

Anyway today went to catch a movie with my husband while letting my mil babysit my baby for abt 3-4 hours. When we returned my mil cannot tahan anymore coz baby was crying nonstop. She insisted that baby recognise me and wanted me and dun believe when I told her baby also cry when I handle him. But on the funny note, she said my baby peed all over her from face to skirt when she changed his diapers. I still rem when I was cleaning my baby during confinement, I placed a wipe over his little bro coz scare he peed out then she kept removing the wipe and say as long as wipe fast baby wouldn't pee out.

Starfruit: Yes I was thinking along the same lines too. Just that whenever I think I want to implement the schedule, that evening he would be very kuai and sleep early. Think he reads his mother's mind. Hahahaha...

WT bb thrives on routine. Once u start just stick to it and its not difficult to start one. U should start soon too, younger they are easier to get on a routine.. If u set 8pm as his bedtime just stick to this time regardless if he tired or not. My bb sleeps at sunset (abt 7.30pm to 8pm) wat i do is at 7pm we start bedtime routine already. She gets a bath or gets wipe down if weather is too cold and changed into PJ & night diapers. After tat say good night to everyone ( she can still be very awake at this point) . Next i will bring her into the darken room, switch on her night lullaby/light, breast feed her n she lies on the bed next. No talking to her or major movement. She usually falls asleep within 15-20mins after lying down.

Jenny: not really what bb is lacking..Just see if anyone element is affecting bb or vice versa. Cuz elements gotbsort of help each other too.. Let me ask my hubby to explain to me in detail.. He told me Liao, just that I can't remember cuz too many things..chim la..

I give gripe water as well.. 5ml to 30ml water. But Gave it to her only when she hiccups because she don't want drink plain water..

Looks like a lot babies starting to teeth Liao. Can't wait for her to have her little tooh!

But teething does not mean we need to give solid food right? My gal is on total ebm, and she's very overweight.. Only 4 mths and she is already 8 kg++ =X

So if I were to start her on solids only after 6 mths is still ok even if she is teething right?

Thanks Bella. I also dun quite understand. Tried to find 5 elements calculator online, only one site got explaination but cannot select yr 2011. The rest only write out the elements but nv explain.

Wow u got so much bm? My baby 6.6kg I already find him very heavy, carry until almost drop on the floor.

My baby has been waking up at 10am these two days. But today my husband working AGAIN. So I ignored him, turned on the music and he continued crying. Then I tell him he can either slp or cry for one hour and totally ignore him. He continued crying for abt 40 min then finally go to slp. I dun wan him to wake up early coz he will get more and more ridiculous. Last time wake up at 1pm, then 11am, now 10am. I believe if I let him wake up at 10am everyday, one day he will end up waking up at 5am and refuse to slp!

Jenny: I am laffing over your post on bb peeing on MIL. She got a taste of her own stubborness! LOL. My bb 6.7kg i also find carry him until hands ache. Good that you managed to get some time off.

Starfruit: your bb sleeps very early! does she wakes up early too ?

Vicki: don't blame yourself or let others comment get to you. I know others tend to put the blame on the mummy/caregiver when bb is unwell. It could be bb has low immunity and the virus passed to him from no.1. Can only monitor bb closely and hope he and your no.1 gets well soon!

Bella: Wow! considering girls usually have lighter bone.

Little Fly: I find it very funny too. The funniest thing to me is she insist baby will not pee out as long as I clean baby quickly. But coz now she take care of her daughter's kids, both are gals. So she nv really worry abt peeing all over her.

There's once I was changing baby's diapers on the playpen then I suddenly felt my legs are wet then I see him peeing and I quickly shout and run away, leaving him on the changing mat. My husband say if it was him he will cover with his hands. Haha. Different pple diff reaction.

Haha my boy has peed over practically everyone in the house. He's even poo-ed on me whilst bathing!

My boy's 7.2kg 2 weeks ago and I tot he's overweight. Seems he's not the heaviest around!!"

WT: I dare not bath baby for too long coz scare he poo. He likes to play in the tub and once he stop moving, I'll faster bring him out. On Fri when he woke up and I'm changing his diapers, I already removed his diapers and I hear him hmmm and faster take a diaper and put under his butt to collect the poo. Can't imagine if he anyhow poo. Haha.

Jenny: LOL. so far only me and my maid kanna the water jet from bb. Hb always siam.

Is fisherprice walkers good? I need another one at my bbsitter's place. can buy from NTUC? I am very auntie-ish one.

Mym maid: sone update on my new maid. Been here for 1 mth plus le.. So far still ok very hardworking buy alway do extra, abit forgetful and unorganize but temper quite gd and still respectful.. At least she know her mistake and try not to repeat buy still must ve superb patient with her cuz she very forgetful and things alway anyhow put.. One thing I like abt her is her hardworkingness

Haha my boy poo-ed before I put him in the water! There was poo all over the towel and my feet... Accompanied by water jet too! Luckily most were caught by the towel.

Jenny i think u really should not let ur bb cry so much.40 mins of crying? Tats a lot no wonder he has so much gas in his tummy. Poor thing cos i think he is not feeling well. For him to fall asleep after 40 mins is due to exhaustion from the crying not cos he learn he need to go back to sleep. Anyway why u dun allow him to wake at 10am? 10am is very reasonable. As they grow older their sleeping time will shorten as well. Pls try not to let him cry so much if not u will realise tat he is forever colic and gassy n will not stop crying. U need to help him more so that jhe can reduce his crying. I think its physical uncomfort not so much clashes of the 5 elements. Hope he gets better soon. Heartpain to hear bb in discomfort n pain lah.

Little Fly yeah she sleeps early n wakes by 7.30am or 8.00am. Prefer her to sleep early so frees me time to do housework n my own stuff at night.

Little Fly, i am not sure if FP has walker they only have scooters, jumperoo type i think. NTUC dun carry a lot of FP stuff. If u want FP, neex to go Toys R Us, Robinsons, Taka etc.

WT: If I were u I'll throw away the towel instead of washing.

starfruit: Coz baby sleeps after midnight and he seldom naps throughout the day, so if he dun have enough sleep, he will wake up crying even more. But the 40 min is on and off, he'll stop for one or two min before continuing. In the end he woke up at 12.30pm after going back to slp.

Jenny after midnight is very late. Its. Its very tiring for u. Do u want to train so he sleeps earlier? Then can free up time for u to do your own things?

Yes starfruit, its extremely late. Sometimes he cries at 9 or 10pm and we tried putting him on bed but he will automatically wake up 15 min later and dun wan to slp. Must wait until midnight then he will slp. Not so easy to train him. If can train the first thing I'll train him to is not to cry so much.

Jenny - Don't be so fustrated, think bb is crying cause he is unwell.

Try and train slowly. It is not easy but we just have to keep trying.

Just brought my girl back for reviews and PD said we have to continue the medicine for acid reflux for another 2 months.

But I noticed she is getting better and crying lesser. For day time we still have to feed her every 2 hours as she cannot drink too much at each feed. But during night she can stretch to 3 hours or sometimes even longer. Although we still have to wake up to give her night feed but am glad to see her doing better.

By the way, PD recommended to add "Thick and Easy"in her milk. It is suppossed to thicken her milk and will help in reducing her acid reflux. For mummies with similar situation as me, you can try too.

Jenny: yea I read Somewhere on the cycling motion helping w colic...anyway I do it for her every am when she wakes up la..

LIng: not really la some articles I wanna keep for reference otly ;)

Lilfly: yea really? Haha I a lil scared lor so everyday putting her on the same routine and shes also napping less in the day. Every am after 6am feed she will go zzz until 9-10 so after that her nap I limit to an hour or an hr and half max... Night time she will zzz ard 730-8. Hopefully will continue through...

Jenny: That was one expensive towel, some organic cotton disney towel from a friend. Luckily I had a maid to help clean. ;-)

My boy's been going to bed before 9pm these 2 days. Yeah... Hope he will keep this schedule!

Jenny: I asked my hubby le, he say his niece is water.. And his SIL is wood, his brother is fire.. So his niece needs to "support" her mum and "fights" against the fire.. So her element is quite weak.. Therefore, my mil got my hubby, who is a "metal", to be her Godpa to support her element. After that, SIL pregnancy became stabilized. It's chim hor? I also dun really understand how the elements work..

Not Enough ebm! She is literally squeezing me dry.. She drinks more then I can pump in a day just that I happen to stock up a lot during her 1st month as I was initially giving fm cause not enough milk and she doesn't want to latch so had to pump..

U should carry him when ur babiy when he cries because he needs the security.. Agree with V, the cycling motion do help in colic, theres another massage call "I love you", that was taught by Mdm Wong from TMC. That helps a lot too! U r suppose to do everyday but i dont la.. Especially when you see you bb "gek sai"-ing, like very uncomfy, you can do the massage.. It always help for my gal if I see her so uncomfy.. Maybe u can try?

Mdm Wong said that full body massage can help bonding and also help baby to sleep well at night.. Just like us when we go for massage, we will feel very relaxed.

Little fly, WT: haha..ya... My baby's legs are fleshy Liao.. My friends c her always want to "bite" her thighs because it looks yummy. Haha.. But hopefully she grows up to be slimmer. I dun wan her to follow her daddy who is quite bone heavy..

How u all manage to make ur baby sleep so early? Mine sleeps at 10+ or sometimes 12-1..

sorry, silent reader here. but was just wondering

Jenny, if your baby sleeps at midnight, he usually wakes up at 10am without ever waking up again? about 10hrs of uninterrupted sleep? does he feed when he wakes up?

my gal (3mth old now) will sleep around 10 - 11pm and will wake up around 5plusam for milk and usually go back to sleep latest by 7am but usually will wake up again by 9am. Considered good enough for me.

so i supposed since he already slept for 10 hrs, he wouldn't want to sleep any longer and want you to hold / feed him instead?

My #2 is also teething now.can c her 2 lower teeth in d gums le. I rem #1 take abt 1 mth + for d teeth to sprout out once we c d whites in d gum.

Tho I haven face d issue yet,wat r d thins u all do if they bite while latching?

morning ladies =)

been quite some times since i last posted and i see some new nicks =) hope everyone is doing great =)

Bella: I duno lei but when I was pregnant I go to bed daily at 10-1030 as a routine so now I trying to get her into routine also ie drinking time and bathing time. I think it really helps. My cl did a fantastic job of setting up the routine in the first mth just had to adjust slightly lor...

Vicki: pm u soon!, thanks!!

Deon: Thanks. Oh my father uses Thick n Easy coz he's on milk feed. Can't eat. It thickens the milk so that he wun choke. But there's other brands like Thixer which is cheaper than Thick n Easy. But the doc recommended me to use Enfalac AR which is also a thickener in baby's milk. How much is your baby drinking per feed? And ur maid managing well?

V: I've done it once on baby yest. Maybe can try again later. But not much help. Haha.

I go to bed after midnight when I was pregnant and baby is always extremely active even after I go to slp. Tried to feed baby 15 min earlier but he continued crying after that until its his right bedtime.

WT: Heng u got maid, if not how to wash that towel. My baby uses cheap cheap towel, one for $1 that kind. Easy to wash and easy to dry.

Bella: Too chim leh. I dun understand. Haha. And till now still haven't managed to count baby's 5 elements. I have a baby massage class at NUH. Didn't attend last mth due to election. Then they just called and I say baby keep crying hard to bring him out. Then she say can go without baby. So I'm going to ask my husband to go alone and learn.

rosnyus: Oh my baby still wakes up for milk. And this I definitely will feed him. But he wakes up at 10am, which is less than 3 hours from his last feed. So I know he's not waking up to eat so I ignore him. There's only once he slept from midnight till 11.15am for his feed. And these few days he has been waking up very early like 5 or 6am for milk. Today still ok, at 9am. But it really depends on his mood.

My baby doesn't really nap in the day so he needs more than 10 hours of sleep. Its quite hard for him to fall asleep and he will scream when he's tired in the day. So the only way is to let him sleep longer without picking him up. Today he also started crying at 10.30am and I play him some music then after 5-10 min he started crying more and I ignored him and he went back to sleep 5 min later. Right now 11.42 he's still slping.

Val: Yes, alot of prob. Yest my husband come back from work he's still crying. My husband say he can hear his crying from outside. Going to bring baby to PD this Sat.

And guess what? Baby got blocked nose again!!! Dare not let him slp in aircond room and even suffered the heat with him but he's still having stuffy nose. But this time can see its not so serious. Going to ask PD and see what she can recommend since he always have stuffy nose again after 2-3 days of healing.

Jenny,

hahaha. can hear ur boy from outside is still ok. anyway, nw baby is older, so nt all the time they wanna slp...even when awake, they will wan to look ard and nt confine to just starring at the ceiling.

WT: Just went to the site. They got so many methods of calculating lucky elemets. In the end my baby got 4 lucky elements. Dun understand.

Val: My baby like always not enough slp. Dunno why. He just cry and cry and we think he wan to slp.

Jenny,

y do u say baby like always nt enuff slp??

nt all the time they cry = they wanna slp. u got to trial n error and see wat baby wans.

for example, sometimes i think my gal wanna slp as she rub her eyes and cry but aft trying to make her slp and she refuse to slp n cont to cry, i will carry her n walk ard or play toys with her and she will stop crying. if they are tired and wan to slp, they will fall aslp pretty fast.

Val: My baby something like urs. But after I carry him and play with him, he will keep quiet for about 2 min then start crying again. Must try many many times then can get him to nap for 15-30 min. But I'm not really sure what is wrong, not sure if he wans to slp or just wan to cry. But if cun pacify him through anyway, I'll just say he's sleepy.

Jenny,

mayb he is just nt tt tired to take long naps or short naps are gd enuff for him. u just need to keep him entertained. for example, walk ard, show him things, go to the windows and let him look out. my gal doesnt like to lie dwn much or even sit but she loves it when we support her by her arms and let her stand up.

I always believe in this: baby dun cry for nthing...

Hihi mummies,

Anyone using medela swing? Bought & tried but the milk yielded was much lower than me using manual pump.. Anyone mummies encounter before?