(2011/05) May 2011

starfruit, hope bb will get well soon ...

now my turn to worry, my nephew 1yr old cfm wz hand, foot, and mouth disease... he was playing wz my gal last nite .... tis morning i saw bb hand got one red blister on her fingers ... now another appear near her thumb ...

as bb stil hv many heat rashes dots on her faces ... not sure any of them r blisters or not ...

crossing my fingers now ...

angie, stil observing bb now... now she had not start to fuss ... stil sleeping ...

also checking on her temperature ... so far so good ...

hope she will not kanna ...

Ling: don't take chance.. If u are unsure if it's blisters or rash, bring to pd. When fever hits, it'll be very xin ku for them liao.. I had HFMD when I was 20 yrs old. The feeling wasn't good, ulcers on throats and mouth, I can't even swollow papaya!!

By the way, west gathering still on? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit: oh dear!! How do bb get the acid? Sounds quite scary. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hopefully she'll outgrow soon.

Cloud seems like its caused by their imature gut. I was told its common in bb but just tat sometimes it affects some more than others. Now i need to keep her elavated when i feed her.

Starfruit: poor little bb, hope the acid clears up soon n she gets better. How did u give the gripe water? Mix in the milk?

Ling: monitor Bb carefully as it would take up to a few days for symptoms to show up. Hope Bb is clear of that. I had HFMD 2 years back n it was really v terrible with the fever n ulcers.

Year,deon

I not sure too. I try to burp more but he doesn't seem to burp at times. This morning one, before that my bb burp during previous feed Liao

So worried it's reflux or stomach nt well cos I already split his feeding into half to let him rest n burp before continuing but he likes to zz halfway so end up he keeps drinking hAlf bottle only.

20ml breast milk how to let him drink separately. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Plus I tk care of him only now n no time pump, scare wake him up n went down further. Sian! Feel like giving up that tiny bit as well

Bunnymum,normally my ratio for fm 1:2 (eg:90ml water - 30ml hot,60ml rm temp)

Angie, u can buy the woodward's gripe water fr any supermarket like ntuc,shengsiong etc.

For my #1, I used to give him everyday after full mth.just a little bit mix with water.help to rid 'wind' n aid his pooing but d disadvantage is he didn't like plain water thereafter.

Starfruit, now that u mention acid reflux,my gal also seem to have same symtom, will start givin her gripe water too. Hope our bbs get well soon

Bunnymum, perhaps give him d 20ml ebm first b4 u give him d bal fm.at least he still get d benefit fr ur bm no matter how little it is. That's what I did for #1 tho it seem demoralizing.

In d meantime, drink more water & try to latch/pump whenever u can.jiayou

bunnymum:- i also have low supply. usually i will give bb the ebm first, then top up with FM. alternatively, u can collect your ebm over a few pump sessions to get half or 3/4 bottle before you give it to your bb. it is quite a morale booster to see bb drinking your ebm. every drop is so precious, especially if bb know we have tried so hard to give bb the best food. *hugz*

Today is a bz day for me! Got overseas visitors + inlaw @ my place..tired!!

Starfruit, 3hrs wait on Mon is consider good..usually Mon quite bad. Hope bb T recover soon

Cloudpoem: I m still fine wif west gathering but look like is not very popular.. Is it still on? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vicki if ur bb dun get well better bring to doc to get med to dissolve the phlegm.

My ger is so much better now after the med n she sleeps better too. Remember elevate them when they sleep so acid dun backflow. I am using a more pong pillow now. Hope our bb gets better too.

Another sign of acid reflux is tat it sounded like she has so much phlegm but as she was not coughing or sneezing so it def could not be phlegm but the acid.

Re gripe water

My pd just say to give as it is. 5ml /teaspoon can give after feed or when they are feeling the uncomfy from the acid. Give direct via syringe n no need to mix in milk.

Apple didnt know need to wait so long on mon. Hb lor been pestering him to bring me down but he kept delaying until today. My poor ger has been suffering for 1 week liao. Need to bring back next wed for follow up. Cant get an appt so have to walk in. Which day is usually the least bust? Mid week? I like Dr tan so wants to go back to him. He is so gentle n great with the bb. My ger didnt make any noise at all when he was examining her throughout the session.

To let go (to increase Milk supply):

Nature's Way, Fenugreek, Seed, 610 mg, 180 Capsules

--> $10.50

Traditional Medicinals, Organic Mother's Milk, Caffeine Free Herbal Tea, 16 Wrapped Tea Bags

--> $7 for 1, $13 for 2.

Self collection at Choa Chua KangSt 62.

PM me if keen.

juz mge to settle down aft bringing bb to mil hse to training....so tat she can accept her once i start working....

its tough cos she already start to recognise n look for me only....cry till like i don wan her anymore n "bian zui"....so heartache esp she is consider an easy bb.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

RE: insurance.

i buy under ntuc de + the rider.

starflower,

#1 don like the taste? u can try mixing wif formula milk?

i gave my #1 ebm starting last weekend since there are so many in the freezer....

he is ok wif it....at 1st i try by giving half ebm n half fm mixing together....yest i start giving ebm only n he finish it off....

starfruit,

tks for sharing on the acid reflux....my girl seems to hv it too....everytime she seems to hv difficulty in finishing her milk n it really seems tat its phelgm.....now if everytime she seems to take in lotsa air n can swallow like tat.....then later might vomit out some clear water + a little of beancurd-like milk.....

RE: gripe wtr.

wat i do is i will use guaze to clean my girls mouth every day x2. then i wet the guaze wif plain wtr, after which wrap it around my finger n dip wif gripe water...then put in her muouth for her to suck be4 i clean her tongue.

ling,

u juz reminded us nt to let bb go close to strangers / other kids.....

but having an elder one at hm who goes to cc is dangerous enuff liao.....

Starfruit, usually Mon & Sat the wait can be 4-5hrs! No joke..I always get my hb go register first then inform the nurse to call me 20min before our turn. I try not to bring bb or even my #1 to wait at PD clinic..ks me scare they catch another germs!

Dr Tan is super gd with bb & young children that's y he is so popular. He is like magic Dr to me, sometimes I don't want to wait so I go to another PD or GP when my gal sick, but somehow she will not recover until I bring her to TT.

Hmm..am just thinking to give bb D gripe water nxt week.

I remember we gave a bit to my gal via gauze when wanna bath her when she was 2 or 3 months old.

Starfruit: oh.... Thanks for sharing. My bb seems to have phlegm. And everytime during his feeds, he will start grunting and make lotsa noise and cry during the last part of his feed. This is something that I cannot understand. But he does not puke lotsa milk out. Everytime he pikes is slimey milk stuff which I suspect is mixed with his phelgm.

Also when he sleeps, he "snores" which is not common in bbs. Not sure if it's his phelgm. I have been delaying bringing him to pd as I wanted to observe. Also I m still in confinement. My hb is not keen in me going out with bb less than 1month.

Btw, this dr tan that u see is from which clinic and location?

Bunnymummy: my ss is also low. What I do is I normally heat up the bm (whatever I have) by putting the bottle in hot water and then test a few drops to ensure temperature. Then I feed bb with ebm. And top up with fm.

Dub gv up. Whatever drop of bm we have, we must still give. It's beneficial for them and helps them better with digestion. It's better than NOT having a single drop.

Deon- my bb is also on enfalac. Very expensive leh. I gv him similac initially but he cannot accept it. So i switch to enfalac.

Now, I m feeding him 90ml and I think he's going thru a growth spurt.

Hi Vicki, ding, goofie

Thks I will do that. If say after I pump out now and want to give bb that 20ml after pumping out, do I need to warm it up still or cAn jus drink like that?

Last bf W @ 9pm... He'll usually wake up 3~5 hrs & I didn't set alarm... Just now feel my b very hard, then wake up & found out W had not wake up for feed... Quickly pump it out.. Less than 5mins, two bottles filled up to the brim... Still feel lumpy on both b... Today's the first time more than 6 hrs...

Sh, yes I mixed w formula last few days quite successful then twice without fm also successful he finished it, only today fail *shrug* guess I w play safe n mix w fm again. Maybe ge likes the vanilla taste of similac3.

Up for latch, since threw away 60, I decided to pump... Sigh...hope I have enough for her to latch later....

Year, hehe.. U make ur decision?

Ling, oh dear, monitor closely. Hope yr gal is fine, my nephew also caught hdmf when he was 3 month frm his sister n he was hospitalise for more than 2 weeks..

Starfruit, hope ur gal is better now? Thks for sharing the info.

Pumping, I wake up this morning w my Tshirt soaking in bm.. But when I pump I can only yield 200ml after 10hr of interval.. I still dun feel empty.. I am using Pisa, can anyone advise when shld I change the membrance n valves?

sh: reading ur post reminds me abt using guaze to clean bb mouth! i was juz wondering when to start cleaning but forgot abt using gauze [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

goofie: i've been eating soft boiled eggs thru out confinement. its nutritious. as for seafood n duck n beef, will eat after 40 days

Goofie it msy not be phlemg cos i tot my ger hsd phlegm too but turned out its acid. My ger was snorning too which was also one reason which prompted me to bring her to see doc. Lucky i brought cos all these were caused by the acid.

Apple n I are seeing Dr Terence Tan @ kinder clinic level 6 Mt A. Dr T was my appointed PD at the hospital.

sunflower,

me today oso bringing bb to jab oso wanna ask if there will b fever ma....

but i guess its better to stay indoors.

bubblepearl,

tat day i oso tot my pump spoil cos cant clear and my b are still hard...

but when bring to the svc ctr, they check n show me the motor is still veri strong.....but once the membrane is put on, the suction is veri weak, i didnt knew a little membrane will affect the pump so much....

my membrane is loose when fixed on....so the staff say much change liao. so i chg the membranes only.

bubblepearl: me still stick to the decision tat i told u... my freezer going to be full oredi... if continue sure no space liao... but i see alot of mini freezer like quite big n expensive leh... u wanna try massage while u pump or up the suction power? can yield more... i haven change any of my pump parts since i bought on 2009...

Ling: hope ur gal is fine... better go see pd to confirm...

starfruit: glad ur bb is better now... my bb oso snore when he is starting to sleep or when drinking milk... but after he is in deep sleep, the snoring no more oredi... is this oso due to acid? my boy dun really vomit alot... onli when i change him after drinking milk den he vomit a little bit...

sh: wat is gauze? me abit shua gu...

@ Bunnymum - is your bb feeling better ?

@ Goofie - ya enfalac is quite expensive. U r giving your bb 90ml now, how many scoop of powder you giving ? 3 scoops ? So you find the milk formula a bit thin ? Sometimes my girl dun feel full and will ask for more

Wah the medication are great! I am glad i brought her to see PD. She is so much better today, dun cry as much and when cry also not the piercing sharp cry type. Can really tell she is much better.

hi yaer,

its those sterilised "cloth" that u can buy from pharmacy.....not really cloth la....it has square square design so that when clean bb mouth it can clear the white stains on the tongue...

Nurses / clinics oso use it to clean wounds....

starfruit,

glad tat ur bb is better now...

starfruit, is always good to pay a visit to PD when we dunno what went wrong..at least they r pro, they can tell instead of us trying this and that to soothe the bb.

i have ordered extra for the below tea bags. email to [email protected] if you are interested.

Organic Mother's Milk® promotes healthy lactation* and is traditionally used to increase breast milk production.* This traditional combination of anise, fennel and coriander has been used for centuries by European women, often recommended by lactation counselors and medical herbalists. Organic Mother's Milk® is a pleasantly aromatic balance of sweet, spicy and slightly bitter tastes.

Brew Well to be Well®

For maximum benefit, herbal tea must be properly prepared. Pour 8 oz. freshly boiled water over a tea bag in a cup. Cover cup and steep 10 minutes.. These steps directly influence the amount of beneficial components that will end up in your teacup! Gently squeeze the tea bag to release any remaining extract.

Drink three to five cups daily. Sweeten with honey if desired.

Anyone interested in the above? Per box is at $7.50 and postage will be as follows:

1 box - $1.30

2-3 boxes - $1.50

4-7 boxes - $2

8 boxes - $3

Please add $2.24 for registered post.

Alternatively, you may collect the tea bags from Tampines Central.

morning ladies =)

been a tiring weekend coz went out on long stretch on both days =P

yaer,

try the WTS section in the SMH forum.

i have also been thinking whether to get a chest freezer...but hb objs le...he says kitchen no space liao...n abit bo liao to buy 1 just for my bm -_-'''

sh,

hmm..i havent started letting my mum look aft both my kids...will have to start soon coz i eventually will have to go back then tender...so for 1mth my mum have to look aft my kids...

re: H&S

my #1 we got it frm prudential. #2 my hb is looking to get frm GE.

for aviva, if nt wrong, if both parents are covered under aviva, kids are covered for free for the basic then can top up for the rider.

v impt to get as when my #1 was hospitalized earlier this yr, the bill was 100% covered.

ling,

how is ur gal nw?

i dun like ppl touching my gal's face, fingers etc...hair ok la...and when ppl wanna touch her face i will straight away ask them if they have washed their hands and i explain coz i dun wan pimples on her face as gal mah, will nt look nice. kekek.

although mayb some ppl may be offended but i rather they get offended then my gal suffer.

re: diet

i have been eating eggs, chicken and even duck meat(during wedding dinner). i used to be ok to seafood but last sat had fried rice with seafood during wedding dinner (but i filter out the prawns n scallops) and in the end i kena allergy...

re: RL

batch 4 shipped out of RL. told my hb i ordered 4 batches with my friends and he just shake his head...i havent told him 1 batch is mine own...think if he knows he will probably give me tat "do the kids really need so much new clothes again?" look =P

Ling, u brought your girl to PD? How is she doing? Don't hesitate to see Dr if u r not sure..

Val, I also don't like ppl touching my bb especially when he is outside. This time my inlaw super "auto", dare not touch if they never take a bath after back fr outside..wahaha

I "taught" them good lesson during #1, I guess they remembered how particular am I :p

Goofie: I also switch from similac to enfalac HA. I find enfalac more 'yellow' & heaty.. I'm feeding her 2-3 feeds of fm. I wonder if I need to let her drink few sips of water..

Preciousmum: ya loh! West gathering not as popular. Haaaha. Why not we jus meet? We have 5-6 mummies?

1) Xuanmin + bb

2) cloudpoem + bb + maid

3) Angie + bb

4) ling + bb + mil

5) preciousmum + bb

6) cloudpoem friend + bb (tbA)

Where do u guys to prefer to meet at lot 1?

Cloud: I m coming alone...leaving baby with my mum...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] erm...We can meet in Mac?

Val: I can't wait to get my Loots too...haa my hb too...he said daddy nv even wear rl lo...

Vickie: thanks! Will check it out.

Re: enfalac

Is it good ? Got karihome to stand by. Am very confused with the ha, pro etc...

Sh, thks! I think I will change my membranes..

Yaer, I think u can try getting 2nd hand?

Apple, wah..like ur pil! so auto, mine haiz...my fil is a smoker n after he smoke he will carry bb G. Heng, he dun see him often.

Goofie, I started to clean bb mouth after 1 mth, every 2 days using those smooth hanky

Cloud: I m fine to meet if is still on..as I m not familiar wif lot 1, so do we proceed as mac as wat Angie suggested? Btw, wld u all bring pram along? Wonder will hv space to 'park' there or not... Hehe

Angie: I also dunno all the codes.. Mine HA cuz she eczema than pd wants me change.. Karihome is expensive too, goat's milk, right? So good, ur ss manage to satisfy bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mac? Space abit constrain, right? We need more bigger space, if we're tugging bb along. Hurhurr

Here's the updated list

1) Xuanmin + bb

2) cloudpoem + bb + maid

3) Angie

4) ling + bb + mil

5) preciousmum + bb

6) cloudpoem friend + bb (tbA)

gd aternoon all mummies..been reading the postbut i thik im getting lazy..lazy to type..and lazy to do many things..dont feel like moving just sit at the sofa..

btw mummies are u all feeling very protective toward the babies? im happy that hb help me with bathing and feeding bb milk but i alway make alot of comments till hb bth..like milk leak, is the water too hot, got wash baby face this and that..n i also dont really like hb carry baby..when he carry i also keep watching so scare he blurblur..worst is i dont like my mil come close to bb..and hb not vry happy on that..but cant control my emotion over that..especially over my mil..my mil once make a remark to hb that i dont allow her to come close to my no2..now is no2 n 3..