(2011/05) May 2011

Cloudpoem- I read that if try to burp baby for more than 10min but nothing means no wind. Btw, the burp technique is to cup out hands and gently hit or pat firmly on their backs, right?

My baby has phlegm... Not sure of that's also causing him discomfort.

Oh yes, for bbs with acne or rash on their skin, I read that it's best to just use cool boiled water to clean them 2-3 times a day. After a few weeks they will go away.

apple:- i forgot to ask when can do sit up. only remember gynae said cannot do now. my tummy is loose and bulging. i think the bulge is due to the intestines not held by the tum muscle lor.. my tummy was very big when i had #02. so many pple tot i have twins. i think the muscle elasticity gone then..

cloud:- my girl also has hiccups and farts alot. even when she was in the tummy, she hiccups a lot also. so burping will help?

cloud:- how do u clean your girl's nose with cotton bud? the bud head is so big.

goofie:- is your dark patch at your belly button? mine is there and is still there.

i still have 1 month supply of those pregnancy supplements (fish oil, calcum, obimin). gynae said it is ok to take them now till i finish them.

i stay in the west too but the tot of going out with the 2 little ones really puts me off. i rather stay at home. :p my #01 is Feb'07. i like the idea of having a private room to ourselves. at least i dont have to worry about strangers walking away with my kids.

goofie:- TMC LC tot me that method of burping also i.e. using cup hands but i am more used to patting with whole palm down the spin. alternatively, hold your baby upright towards you so that baby tummy is pressing against your body. this method will help to ease the wind also. you can pat the spine at the same time.

for mummies who do direct latching n did not pump out milk, will it cause a decrease in ss?

I have been pumping exclusively but nw bb week 7 n i tried latching her successfully. What i did was just latch n din pump out after latching. But yesterday was too tired n since there r some ebm in the fridge, my hb fed her. I slept throughout the nite n when i woke up, it was almost 12hrs since i last pump or latch! Breast like rock! Who knows pump out only get 180ml!?!

Im will try to latch her fully later today..

Xing- yup, same as how I was taught. Which lc u saw at Thomson? Wong bb or lilian? I like lilian. Very very nice lady. Did u also attend the antenatal class by tmc parentcraft?

My dark patch is around my belly button and around it. The linea nigra still there which I know will take some time to remove. Hopefully 6 mths later will be cleared. So that I can wear my bikini. M also determined to remove the tummy fats i have!!! Jia you

Goofie: my pd ask me to burp her whenever free leh.. They'll feel better after giving out the gas.. It's better to burp than hiccup and fart..

The burp technique is.. Hold ur bb over shoulder. Put hanky on shoulders first. Rub ur palm in circular unto bb back.. No need to be too gentle, too a firm motion may feel good for them.. I hope she'll grow out of colic fast

Cotton bud:

I buy tollyjoy brand. Infant use one.. Not go all the way in nostril. Jus the exterior.. Clean the wetness will do.

Had the first night w my girl.. Quite ok u guess...

Burping: my mil taught me a very fast n effective way for my girl.. Let her sit up straight.. No need pat or anything. She burp super fast! And I tried it when she had hiccups just now. Sat for abt a min n the hiccups were gone.. She told me it was taught to her by an old kk nurse. My girl takes super long to burp one but this method works for her.

Xing: there are small tip cotton buds avail at the BB dept.. Fits into the nostrils nicely. I use it to clean my girls nose daily. Doris was good but I'm still latching her wrongly.. Nipples sore so letting them rest. Will keep trying w the techniques she taught me. I did latch my girl when she was ard. After that can't le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val: thanks for ordering!!

Goofie: it could be cause my girl had bad phlegm until she made noises when drinking milk. Backflow from the nose to the throat. My girl even puke a few times..

Hey mummies I've got a bn avent digital warmer to let go. Selling at 90sgd retail at 120-130.. My inlaw doesn't want to use it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] let me know if u mummies interested??

2ww - exclusive latching means u will feed on demand round the clock, it will not decrease ss unless like ur case which 12hrs no feed at all.

I have done exclusive latching without pump for awhile unless really engorged then I pump. Am gonna start pumping soon coz I'm returning to work on and off starting July.

Today seems to be a quiet day at our forum.. The weather is so cooling!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, I am from June 2011. Headache...don't know which cartering to look for? Hv tried Neo Garden many times, so wanted a change. Select chilli padi and eatz catering on their Baby Full Month Package. Anyone come across tt I mention. Pls advice! Thank you.

Apple, i really want to try to give bb exclusively latching but on one hand i dunno whether i can d

o it or nt. The feeling that bb is latching is so good.

Im giving her 150ml per 4 hrs previously n im nt sure whether she will have enough to drink if i just latch her directly (coz all along when i pump out, my ss v low)

2ww: how much milk can u pump per day? And u pump 2-3hrly or 3-4hrly. I'm latching and pumping. But not hardworking in pumping.. I jus latch and latch, and if not enough, than I top up fm.

Cloudpoem: lot 1 shld b fine wif me thou I still prefer jp.. Hehe.. So any timing we shld meet?

Feeling so fed up with my babysitter.. She has been my babysitter since my #1 came along, then #2 n nw my baby I aso told her I will let her look after aso n last time she had already quoted her price.. But she is so $$ minded tat she dun look into acct tat we hv known for so long n even charged us for looking after e 1st 2 kids when I went delivered #3.. my hubby super not happy but I closed 1 eye but yest.. She told me e market rate had actually increased since feb n she gona charged me $50 more per mth.. N set up e timing for us to fetch baby back.. Sigh.. Nw my hubby wanted to mayb look for infant care n dun 1 to let her earn our $$.. She herself aso won't b looking after mine 1 to 1 either hor.. Is already like little infant care with 2 kids (at tis moment) there already thou only mine will b infant.. Wat shld I do??

Precious: I will be pissed off too if I m u...somemore not one to one still increase price? I too won't let her look after le...but headache to get other help too. Your parents or in laws can helpout?

Cloud/precious: let's meet at off peak hour say 10/11am? If not 2/3pm...?

Angie: nope, my inlaws r rather old n i hv a weird mil aso.. Even my hubby dun trust his mum, so they r out.. As for my side, my mum had passed away when I was in poly time.. Cancer.. So I can't b asking my dad to look after either.. Furthermore he lives in e north while I in e west..

Nw e thing is I not sure if I can trust new babysitter even if we can find n mayb is cheaper abit than current 1.. N I aso worrie abt e hygience in infant care.. As I tink home based shld b still cleaner n neatier than infant care bah.. Headache

west gathering:

hmm.. Wld prefer 10/11am than 2/3pm as my elder kids wld like me to fetch them frm sch at ard 5+... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Precious: true n I think infant care is more exp? Or can talk to the babysitter see if she can give way? Or can consider being sahm? See if forum got recommend any babysitter?

Precious: my mum very good fren is a baby sitter but she stay in Bt panjang...the kids she take care before are all for long term cos she is really quite good but far for u..,

Precious: my #1 went to infant care n he fall sick v easily then like twice a month. School rejects if child has fever, running nose. End up it was v stressful n we took turns to take leave. I would prefer to send my #2 to a nanny to avoid hassles of infant care unless I really really can't find a nanny.

Angie,

wats the mkt rate she quote....i think now is $600-$700 for infant care n $50 more when the bb starts taking solids....

thanks bubble, got your contact details [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i've added few mummies on FB, if u see Loxxxxxx Lxx that's me ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so 11am at Nexx this thursday

1) starflower

2) bubble pearl (1adult n 1 bb)

3) goofie

4) starfruit

5) Split

6) Faith

7) June

8) starfruit

9) val

10) yaer

11) sh...

Next time maybe we meet someone central location like Orchard or City Hall :p

Sh: abt there I think...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starflower: Hee confirmed yr fren request le...

My milk ss drop today … think mood affect the supply very fast …. Was angry wz hubby last nite, n today bb look like not enough milk to drink… keep looking for milk every less than hour later … lucki bb took 3hr nap tis afternoon, n I can rest also … if not supply sure stil low…

Hope the ss will come back soon … today drink soup n lots of water to increase the supply …

Cloudpoem, Me plus size, Last time I limited my intake only half bowl of rice each meal, but now is almost 3 bowls each meal. Super hungry and thirsty after feed bb

Re: west side gathering

me n bb shd b ok... can i bring my MIL along? dont wan to leave her alone at home ...

Angie: I'm ok with the 10am meeting too.. That's the time I can tag my maid along.. Heee..

So we have

1) Xuanmin + bb

2) cloudpoem + bb + maid

3) Angie + bb

4) preciousmum + bb

5) ling + bb + mil

How bout split & apple? U guys in north, right?

Cloud, u also latch n pump? Last time before i start latching, i pump exclusively every 4-5 hours. Coz if i pump every 3 hrs the milk ss is damn low, like 60ml! I pump till demoralise. So i decided to pump 4-5hrs n can yield 100ml. Anyway my bb drink every 4hrs.

U say if its nt enough, u will supp with fm. But hw do u knw its nt enough when u latch yr bb? We wont know how many ml bb is taking rite? Nw i tried to latch her whenever she cries but i really scare she is nt having enogh milk. One thing for sure is that she would have 150ml coz whenever i pump, i dun get that amt. Anyway, may i know hw long do u latch yr bb? I try to latch for 30mins. N if she really ask for more, then i switch breast n latch for another 30mins. If she doesnt want, i will try my best to shove my breast into her mouth.. Haha

breastfeeding is So confusing...

2ww: I latch my bb more than I pump.. I'll only pump when I feel engorge or I'm going out for a few hrs.. I can only pump highest 100ml if there's a 3-4hr lapse..

Usually, she'll drink directly from my breast.. I know my supply is lowest during evening time.. If she drink from both sides and still don't satisfy her, than I'll top up maybe 30-50ml fm. If she cant finish than nvm, jus throw.

Wah, ur bb 1 shot can drink 150ml? How many weeks is she? I realized that my bb prefers bm to fm. She drinks bf faster and don't fuss at the bottle. If it's fm, she takes longer time to finish..

And yes!! Today my bb didn't fuss again! And this make the 2nd night of easy rolling!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope my pd steps work!! :D

Preciousmum: sigh.. If want pple to take care of our children, we would want someone we can trust.. If the nanny can give-and-take than good.. If u intend to put IFC, than expenses would be double? Cux the fees not cheap and will fall sick easily, spend money on doc and exhaust ur leaves. Alot of factors to consider..

Cloudpoem- that's good for you!! Hope it's easy rolling for more days to come. For the burp technique, better to put them on shoulder, as compared to sitting on the lap and holding their head?

V- how to make bb sit up straight for hiccup and burp? ESP during feeds, sometimes they fall asleep?

My boy is now 3 weeks plus and I gv him 75ml. Sometimes cannot finish. M wondering how's his weight gain which I can only know when he sees pd for his next jab.

How much milk consumption is appropriate at 3weeks plus?

Babysitter: thanks all advice on this topic.. True tat baby may fall sick more easily n may resulted we spend more than current.. Actually my babysitter is asking for $600 n add $100 more when come to solid food.. Which earlier on she said $550 n then $650 which I ok to give even thou there is n increase frm my #2 time.. N she nw even states tat she will look after my baby until 7:30pm which I said my hubby will try so as he has to fetch e elder kids n shower n let them finish dinner b4 he can fetch baby Hm.. Just not happy she so $ minded n no 'feeling' after letting her look after e kids for so long.. Sigh.. Even if cont wif her aso unwillingly lor

Anyone up for night feeds?

My baby kept waking up every 1-2 hours after latching on. And my cl told me that "no milk is it" and made me so pissed with her.

Very irritatin!!

Goodie: I'm up for feeding n pumping n feeding 145am til now.

Mummies should I worry if Bb not drinking as much as he normally would for night feeds? 4.5 interval drank 80ml then 2.5 hrs later drank only 60ml! My CL claimed he drank 100-120ml but since she left Bb drank less n less as he always doze off halfway n refuses to continue no matter what i do. Feeding is often slow n drags up to 1hrs or so...

Goofie: my mum said the same thing too during my confinement with her...but in the end caused me more stressed n ss dropped more. But during tt time as much as i hate to admit...it is really cos my ss not enough for bb. Try not to get affected by her...take it tt she is jus concerned abt the bb. Jiayou!

Precious: hai...I noe wat u mean..maybe she needs the money to provide for her family? If possible talk to her abt this...can clear your doubts too...maybe she really got some reasons for demanding for higher pay? Hope u can get this resolved soon!

Little fly: wa so long...must be a zombie now...totally get wat u mean..my boy too...sth feed every 2 hours and drink lesser but more frequently cos he always fell aslp halfway. Try ebm? They tend to fall aslp easier latching on...but as long as bb is gaining wt n peeing n pooing daily it shld be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little fly- wah... U pump and feed for so long hours without sleeping? Las night was very very interrupted sleep. Think only have like 3 hours accumulated from all the rest I can get.

M so tired.......

Angie: yah... Understand what u mean... I thought I was building up my supply the night before.... It went well. Duno why last night suddenly like drop and bb cannot get enough.

Do growth spurts happen on week 3, meaning day 21 onwards?

Cloudpeom, my bb already week 7. On top of that she drinks at an interval of 4hrs hence can drink 150ml.

Im so sad now. Coz normally i will changer her diaper everytime she finish her milk which is every 4 hrs. N the diaper will be full n heavy. Last night she woke up at 4am n ask for milk n i forget to change her diaper. This morning, when i check her diaper, it wasnt full at all after 7hrs of nt changing! Haiz, in this case i think she is just drinking too little from direct latching.

In the end, i gave up. I warmed up the 100ml of ebm n make 40ml n gave it to her. Finally she is sleeping now. I gguess this is best for her. Anyway just to console myself, at least she is drinking bm.

Sh: still meet at swenson

Goofie: my rashes stay abt more than a day n itch v long till I put feng yu to ease the itchiness.

Ytd, my family went to celebrate father's day at a restaurant w ktv n bb Gerald actually slept thru the whole 4hrs noisy session n wake up for 1 feeding during the session...I really salute to him that he could actually slept in soooo noisy environment. He seems to sleep better than at home..haha!

My #1 is dec 2008 , family gathering seems fun! Yup, probably someone who stays in condo can help to book a function n we can cater pizza or buffet

So sian hb working today but he want me to go over his mum house early so that his mum can see my girl den I told him after lunch den go he star to raise his voice said his mum one week only see once.. Ytd already go out with her le mah I was so tire ytd still entertain them till 10pm I just ask to go out later so I can catch done slp at home den he said can slp at his mun house this n that like I finding excuse. I prefer to slp at my own bed cannot meh.. Sigh if I working I doubt he will even go my mun house loh. Plus my mum almost 1mth nv see my no1 cuz his mun don't like is so unfair loh

Angie, goodie: yar, today v sleepy like zombie. DH not much betta coz dd1 woke up for night feed too when Bb cry for milk. Then dd1 kept fussing again at 5am plus like mozzie bite, pain, etc. This morning saw me patting Bb sleeping on my tummy then throw tantrums again. Arrgh!!!

Bubble: ur Bb v gd, can sleep despite noisy place!

Split: can ask ur hb to put himself in your shoes? It's unfair 外婆 didn't get to see your #1 for 1 mth while he expects 奶奶 gets to see Bb every week.

Split: it's on 1/7 at 10am, tentatively. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww: my bb is week 7 too.. U pump every 4-5hourly and get how much? U made me wanna pump too. I'm also worried shes not getting enough.. But she went for her injection last fri and was told her weight is ok.. So.. Should I continue latch or expressed it out?

Preciousmum: I feel for u. But when it comes to money, most of the time, the ties would be forgotten. So, choose the one u feel safe.. How many months do u intend to let the nanny take care?

Split, ur hb sound like mine! Mine I tell him, u want u bring both urself, I cannot take it, I need my sleep n I need to pump milk..I already discuss w my hb that once I go back to work, I will not go my pil place every week cos I still need to do housework

Cloudpoem: I will let hEr look after until my baby is 18 mth n can go childcarE by then.. My hubby surely won't 1 to let her earn more... My #2 we aso left at 18 mth n u Noe wat, therE was a few days adhoc prior to e monthly pay b4 we can start cc (which mean cc starts 1st of e mth, but my babysitter last pay was 23rd of last mth), hence, I asked hw much she will charged us per day for e rest of e days, she said $40+ if not wrong, so we checked wif e cc n they only charged $25 per day for emergency day care.. U c u c.. Sigh..

Split: wa.. Ur hubby not v fair leh.. Guess u shld find a time to talk wif him to let him noe hw u feel...

afternoon mummies!!

just a little updates, went for my boy 6 in 1 vaccination last fri. bb weight @ 5.15kg and height @ 58.5cm... doc comment his head quite big @ 39.5cm which is 97 percentile for his height. he still got abit jaundice which can see from his eyes... if still the same by 8weeks den need to go back n take blood test liao... sianz... scare his lungs got problem...

deon: i massage exactly 1mth after my c section... the ML will check ur wound if u can massage anot...

v: i tried ur burping way... quite effective... my boy just burp himself...

split: i thought ur hubby is more to ur side? lucky im staying with my FIL... but my hubby dun like to go to my mum place... oredi go once a month but sometimes he dun wan to go n ask me to go myself with the bb...

Cloud: if ur pd said the weight gain ok den should be no concern ba... best is to latch if u can wor... bb is the best pump mah...

hello mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

went out this morning today w bb.. so frustrated as put him in the sarong sling and shortly he fuss and wants to comes out.. latch him shortly and he went to sleep.. went out for 3 hrs and latched him 3 times but he drank for a short while and doze off.

Found tat lately he's been drinking little and his poo is greenish. BM supply also dropped and now pump when full will gets abt 130ml liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yaer, is yr bb at 1 mth old? got jaundice too? my bb tested this fri for jaundice and level at 104 now. Last week was 144 and this week is better.

Yaer, urs is just 2 day after mine? 7 may? Still have jaudiuce? Can ask pd to the detail blood test? Gerald did his n it's breast milk jaudiuce so not so bad.

Pigeon wet wipes, I saw at watsons sell 3packets at 10.20 w 20% off.

goofie: i sit her on my thighs and support her neck in front with one hand..the other i put palm supporting her entire back and neck..i have to sit up straight too..burps relatively easier and faster =) what i do is this..if say i'm feeding 100ml..i'll feed 40-50 and burp her once/twice than feed another 30-40 and burp again than the last 10-15 she'll be zzing but sit straight for shorter period..feel the air come out from the tummy than lay her down..this way reduces air in the tummy =)

yaer: rem to burp more than once sometimes 1 burp is not enough de =)

my girl was so scary yest...from 1.30pm fuss all the way till 12 midnight..refuses to sleep or be laid on the bed..i suspect colic but my mil don't believe say oh the experts online say again isit? i was like -_-" than at night keep insisting we put in sarong coz it's like being carried..problem is we carry she also cry..eventually my hb put her to sleep at 1250am! he woke me up at 4am to pump..that's after 5hrs since i last pumped!!!

anyway, i've decided not to latch my girl anymore and not be stressed over my supply etc..if there's milk i'll feed that's all..if drop than i shall turn to my reserves in the freezer which shdlast 3-4 weeks on it's own..haha..i'm pumping every 4 hrly now..

i finally finished my 40 days confinement!! but i still can't take seafood and duck for another 3 mths coz c-sect...c-sect mummies..what food are u all avoiding??