(2011/05) May 2011

Cloud,my son is sleeping in sarong temporarily until I buy a cot. My parents say that baby sleep in sarong can sleep longer but then I find that my baby feel uncomfortable to sleep there cos after patting I put him in the sarong he seem gt difficulty to breathe n will shout then once carry up he will voimit don't know why but this is for my son case. My family culture all baby sleep in sarong.

Starfruit, I was chatting w my mum that I want to ask my 1st sil if she know anyone doing pt cleaning, as she is a housewife n stay ard kovan, then my mum ask me if I want her to clean for me since we stay near, if she dun want then I will ask my 2nd sil who is doing pt cleaning jobs but at eunos as she stay there..I was checking if u looking for, if u looking for, let me try them out before letting u know.

Evie: envy u Bb can start to sleep through til morning. That's v good!

Moomum: I have not tried pig trotters yet, maybe I ask my CL to cook to boost milk supply.

Xuanmin: how much are the polyclinic charges? I called 2 pds. One is $ 460 w consultation n another is $530 w no consultation for 6 in 1.

Cloud: my #1 sleeps on sarong coz he don't sleep well on Bb cot. When he older he will try to climb out of sarong himself so can be quite dangerous for an infant. My #2 I hope we just use the cot only.

Being a 1st time mummy and my child is around 5+weeks kind of lost as in whether to take my child to a PD for Immunisation or Polyclinic...

As for Polyclinic I realised that Hougang and Sengkang is under different group.. Any difference in pricing/service.

Kindly advise...Thanks

i also duno where i shld go for immunisation. for #1, we went back to hosp pd for the 6th wk jab. thereafter, for the rest of jabs, we went to gp. now, i duno wat i shld do

June no diff between the polys. One under singhealth grp one under another group which i have forgotten. Diff nos to call to fix appt. I am going to AMK poly called n fixed appt on a sat morning. Will do hep B 2nd dose as well as check if i can do rotavirus vaccine at this same visit.

Split, healthway deal is good. I will be bring my boi to hgg polyclinic for his hep b #2 jab, n I will only be taking the compulsory jab n at his 18th mth then get premocoual jab for him in preparation for Cc or playgroup

Apple/Cloud,

U r lucky... drill in morning... i am staying my mother house now... drill between 7-8pm... at night..from midnight till morning the dragging from chairs to furniture sounds is so irritating and eerie especially during bb 2.30am fed... sianz

starfruit - seems like the nursing top all look alike [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I wanna get some nice prints instead of all solids. Find excuse to go shopping this weekends :p

June - supposingly renovation must be done within office hrs eg 9am to 5pm, any drilling & knocking after that u can lodge a complain to town council.

I hv furniture dragging sounds..very irritating. My upstairs ppl sometimes drop coins late at nite or midnite..

hi mummies.. I got a brand new Pupsik sling XL (fairground colour) for sale at $36. PM me if u're interested. Just bought 2 weeks ago from mothercare only. Thanks!

bubblepearl: I also want the contact for pt cleaner if she is good...doing household chores and taking care of bb tog is really super challenging!

jerejoy/Val: I also wanna order tingkat...really no time to spare for cooking...but not all deliver to my area...headache...seems like only left with Neo Garden.

Apple: My gymboree loots just arrived today! You are right...v.good quality! Btw the gymbucks can really redeem one? Like tt their stuff seem cheaper than carter's with the gymbucks?

Ash: Hope yr bb gets better le...take care!

Re: immunisation

I also went to polyclinic for the jabs...wanted to stick to Terence Tan at Mt A...but heard of the long waiting hrs so dismiss the idea.

Apple ya lor all look the same!! Haha! Nvm i am desperate. Haha so just got the plain coloured ones. Let me know if u come across any nice ones. I saw the bp site ling posted but worry the sizes too small for me.

Ash how was ur massage? U like the tummy binding? I still have the tummy binder from today. Will remove tonight.

Angie - Yes, keep the invoice code for gymbucks redemption. Gymbo quality is better compared to Carters but limited design for boy. I usually spree for my girl..hehe

starfruit - u also seeing Terence Tan? I managed to get appt for Aug 5in1 jab & rotavirus. The waiting time is killing us but my hb likes his prof so still stick to him.

Nursing tops from bp, if those fr taiwan r quite big ler..I bought 1, don't like the material & too loose.

How is the waiting time at polyclinic jab?

Sarong: sigh.. The problem is my mil will be taking care for me when u return work, so even if I insist on no sarong, than when I return work, sure will end up in sarong.. And my #1 & #2, they're sleeping in sarong too... Sigh.

Angie: where to get gymboree?

starfruit: Ya...that is why I tot might as well go poly cos the waiting time is abt the same but the charges are so different.

apple: Totally agree...soo many lovely designs for girls...can only choose a few for my boy...I also prefer gymboree now! Haa...somemore shipping is the same price.

Cloud: I went for the hep b dose last week...everything took abt an hour...still not so bad...www.gymboree.com

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ello!

Just caught up on the earlier posts. =)

Sarong: I put #1 in sarong after 1 month coz she didn't sleep at night unless she was carried. I was super tired from not having enough sleep and so decided to "install" a sarong at home. I find that she does sleep more in it but the problem is when we go out. When she was smaller, i would sling her and rock her like in the sarong. But she's now 2 years old and built like a rock so cannot do that anymore. I have to make sure she's home or somewhere with sarong at naptime. I did manage to wean her off it at night so she's now on the mattress. I know that my sil's kid can sleep anywhere even though he also slept in sarong since young. So i guess the thing abt not being able to sleep anywhere else varies with baby ba...

Breastfeeding tops: I'm also on the lookout for plus size tops. I had a few pieces from maternalove that was from #1 but i cannot fit into them without looking gross. Haiz... Sianz...

Cluster feeding: For those mummies going slightly mad with baby feeding continuously for a few hours, i find these websites to be helpful as they explain why babies so.

http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/fussy-evening.html

http://www.babyzone.com/askanexpert/understanding-cluster-feeding

My confinement nanny also told me my milk not enough and kept asking me to give her from my milk store(pumped out when my bb was 1 week old since i had more than what she needed then) and there were times when i let her. She even suggested milk powder but i persisted and didn't supplement. When confinement nanny left, i kept feeding like what the websites suggested and i noted that she would settle down after the cluster feeding sessions and sleep for 4-5 hours straight. Her highest record is 7 hours of sleep. Haha... it's like bitter first then sweetness coz i needed the continuous sleep. =) hth!

Sarong: my #1 & 2 also slp sarong when young #1 can't slp anywhere when we are out need to be home during his slp time if not he will throw temper, #2 on the other hand can slp anywhere and fall asleep easy even without sarong so I agree with Hanna is really depend on individual kids.. Now my #3 on partial sarong and cot day time cot night time sarong my mum felt that sarong she slp better

Cloudpoem, polyclinic waiting is shorter than pd as they are jab by nurse but for assessment will done by doctor, thats my own opinion..

Starfruit, ok chk out n let u know

Angie, where u stay?

hi mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah, the website quite helpful.. recently my bb seems wants to be fed/latch on during the day till late afternoon.. doesn't seem to have enough to drink.. when late afternoon comes, will drink abit and sleep very long.. at nite now can sleep 4 to 5 hrs at a stretch. Thinking whether it's bcos daytime din get enough sleep or wat. Sigh..

Auroa: Must tell you something funny... I latched my bb for about 2+ hours just now and my nipple was a little sore, so i thought to express out some milk to soothe it. To my surprise, the milk actually shot out when i pressed on my breast. I was pretty amazed and this convinced me that the milk will never be completely drained even though she's been feeding on them almost continously. Treasure the rest at night! It's a lifesaver for me... =)

Little fly/Janice

I will only be doing the hep b 2nd dose this thurs. I called the polyclinic and they told me to go on thurs to book the package, so I still dunno te price yet, but according to the national healthcare website, 6-in-1 vaccine is $360 and 5-in-1 is $320. Should be the updated price. Pneumoccocal is $160 per does for 3 doses, can claim up to $300 from medisave for pnemoccocal vaccines up to one calendar year per parent. That is what the lady told me in the phone. Hope this helps.

Re: dr terence tan

My #1 was under him since born frm TMC but i only went ot his clinic once for review and it was such a long wait for only 5 mins and consultation fees is $80. So I dropped the idea and went to Dr Irene chan from ikids at paragon. She's really very good and detailed with babies. #2 is also with her, she's very reassuring.

Hannah

Yup, I had the same experience toonafter she has latched for a long time. When I press on the nipple area, even squirt my gal's face. That's a "milky shower" for her keke...

Angie,

Where r u staying? I had my first dinner trial on kim's kitchen. The dishes r pretty alright except for the soup. Taste bland. Will trial on others after I finish the 5 days trial. Think I will continue using tingkat till my gal is older else no time to cook. Find it v convenient actually.

Sh, dr Terence Tan @ Mt A Kinder Clinic. He is on leave this week..actually he is specialise in neonate respiratory. If he around, I'll ask u to bring bb S to see him.

Jerejoy, y not u opt out the soup & boil your own. Can do it over crock pot or thermal cooker..quite easy & more nutricient [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm doing that actually coz I prefer home cook soup.

So sianz.. My mum house upstairs neighbours is dragging the metal legs furniture, dropping things on floor n loud foot step sound again... So disturbing... Will have to lun till morning again... Dun know what to do... Have been bearing this for past 40days...

cloudpoem - my bb is 1 mth 1 day old today. sh started to have this routine last week.

littlefly - dun envy..it takes time to "train" the bb. i have my share of terrible nights too. but now, even if she wants sleep through the night, i will wake her up every 4 hrs for feeding and put her back to cot immediately.

Bubble: I stay in e west le...v.hard to find pt helper...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

June: can complain le...so late le...they are so inconsiderate...

Jerejoy: I called kim's too...they dun do delivery to my area...so sad...heard their food not bad!

Apple, hubby wants to ease my load. He doesn't want me to cook now so that I can fully concentrate on taking care n coaching them. At least can save time in grocery shopping too. Quite hard to shop with two kids ard. So just close one eye first for now

Angie, in that case, maybe hv to try neo garden. How abt select? Heard nt bad reviews too.

Angie,

Complain b4 but no use... Still dragging the chairs wiith music now till bb very grouchy n I find irriated... Sianz

Morning mummies!!

June: wa.. Ur mum upstairs neighbours so inconsiderate.. Complain to town council b4?

Last nite was my 1st nite wif baby in our room.. Both my elder kids were so excited tat they didn't 1 to sleep immediately n kept on looking at baby.. Which resulted in sleepy mode this morning when woke up... My baby doesn't like fm leh cos I fed her tat during e nite n she will make noise n struggle but eventually still drank until almost finish... But e hanky sure get wet wif milk.. Sigh..

Preciousmom, was told to intro some FM when bb is 4-6 weeks so they wo t reject taste of FM. Iwill do tat after i intro her the bottle end of this week. At least they ate drinking. It may take a few tries before they get accustom to the taste.

Anyone using tommee tippee bottles?

Starfruit: actually frm e beginning my baby is on mixed fm n bm.. So I dun understand y he still dislike it..

Any mum gives similac fm to baby?? Does it come wif a smell (not fragrant) tat even my #1 smelt liao feel like vomitting.. Haha.. Isit meant to b like tis smell? Wonder hw e taste like

Preciousmom, similac is ok the one tat really stinks is NAN!! Cos i went thru a few diff FM when i was introducing to my ger. Maybe FM more diff to drink? Actually i think freshly ebm is very sweet maybe FM not as tasty compared ebm.

Apple,

Hw did the person shave ur gal hair without going botak?? Just the outer layer?

Actually little hair all the more sld shave. My boy had v little hair and for his 1st yr practically he is botak but aft tat his hair started growing. Hehe.

I guess if I really shave her botak, she will be on headband till her hair grows. Hahaa.

Apple, jerejoy,

Oh yes, I did chk out mom's cooking ad indeed their price quite steep lo but it's stated premium menu le...

My friend was on kim's kitchen previously n she has praises for it. Will call them later n chk if they deliver to my area then cater frm them for lunch. As for dinner got to cont sourcing for caterer.

Starfruit,

Ya, I will chk with the person if they can just shave or trim enuff for the brush. 

Daytime I am hm alone with my gal n my boy...sometimes both wan to be carried at the same time somemore...faint!!

So fast intro fm to ur gal? I will wait till she is 1yo, provided my ss can last till then. Hahah.

Re: poo

My gal has been pooing on n off...5th diaper change le!! And she can actually fart n poo when she dozes off...

Re: baby shower

I am happily planning for my gal's baby shower! Really enjoy doing such things. Haha.

Bubble: np..thanks!

June: that time my neighbor did similar stuff too and I called the hdb guy to check on them...after tt ok le...

Val: haa mine jus passed...super busy...but plan this kind of thing always gt argument w hubby...cos there is always stuff left out last min n I will get v.frustrated. But I m glad all went well! U got a caterer le? My boy too...that time cleaning his phen till he fell asleep. Then sudd got air on my hands...Scare me initially...Tot wat is that liang liang thing...But u taking care of yr 2 kids yourself now too?

Thanks Hannah, for the article on cluster feeding.

I find mine like to do that esp btw 8 to 12 md. Then drink until she regugitate milk. zzz. feel like intro pacifier...

Val sorry for the delay. Finally email u on my RL let me know if courier is ok. Will top the fees.

Need to intro FM cos i am going back to work scared not enuff to pump out for her lor so better start FM in case she rejects taste of FM.

Val, Actually not easy to take care of a tod n NB i really dalute u all. a few of u are taking care of 2kiddos on your own, cuppie(felicia), joyce too! My elder is 4 and MIL is helping me now but sometimes i still gomad cos both at hm now school holidays.

Hi hi I'm new here. May i seek advice from thr mummies here, I'm due in Nov n my fren told me i need to start looking for confinement lady. Is there any good confinement lady to recommend? I'm 1st time mum so everything blur blur n dunno wat's the scope of a confinement lady too :")

I am still having difficulties establishing my milk flow. It's already day 11 for me. When I pump, I still get only abt 20-25 ml combined each time. I have tried all solutions- papaya soup, domperidone, fenugreek, red date& longan. Even drank Dom to help in circulation.

Any good advice on how else I can improve?

I was reading the archived threads and really envious of some of u who have no such problems.

Auroa- I read in the previous thread that u used to have such problems. What u posted was a real encouragement for me when I read that u persevere despite ur cl and inlaws remarks. Care to share with me how u do that?