(2011/05) May 2011

My bb grunts and strains all night long. She doesn't seem to be in pain though, just seems like she's trying to fart/poop. She's not constipated as her poop is still soft. Anyone else experience this?

Morning mummies..

My CL is aso gg off today.. Thou she will prepare my food for me b4 she leaves.. I aso abit worried abt handling baby on my own even thou this is my 3rd child.. Hope can cope n able to cook dinner for my family in e evening as my #1 has phonics class after tat..

Little fly: hmm.. I aso will get worried if e hair won't grow back thicker n faster but I guess for baby, it still look cute wif botak head leh... Hehe... But of couse, decision is urs

Morning ladies.. So tire over the weekend with my 2noys around hope my girl wunt be like ger korkor 5min nv watch them they start to fight

re lochia, mine last till week 5 on n off spotting too n mine is natural birth

apple,

so u did tai mao pi for ur gal previously? i am so unwilling to shave my gal botak la...but did for #1 the tao mao pi and umbilical cord stamp v unfair nt to do for meimei...

i am going to ask the person can cut sufficient to do the tai mao pi and still leave some hair or nt...daddy more "heartless" as he says shave can always grow back but gal botak nt so nice la!

Nic,

got to take more calcium to strength the nails. i also need more calcium esp bfeeding....but i dun drink milk so i take cheese cakes occassionally =)

Sh,

hows ur lit gal today? any better?

newtoitall,

i think u meant u delivered on 11 May and not 11 June ba. hehe. i delivered on the same day as u and till date i am having spotting too. for my #1, it only stop aft 1 mth.

same here. sometimes i carry my gal n latch n changed her n she still cry i will ask my hb to carry and i will step away. aft sometimes she will be ok but once i step into the room or she hear my voice she starts crying again...

Re: coping aft CL leave

power of the mind over body, power of mummy. ladies, u can all do it =)

preciousMom,

mayb can consider ordering tingkat so u will nt be so bz as u nd to cook, look aft the kids and then do the washing??

apple,

u mentioned u catered tingkat for ur maid n hb during confinement?? may i know which caterer u ordered frm?

Hello mummies..

I am from the Jul'11 thread. Would like to ask regarding Massage Lady. Any recommendations and what should I look out for when engaging one?

Val,

Me too. Shave botak for my elder boy fot the tai mao pi. For my gal now, nt willing to shave.

preciousmum,

U can consider val's suggestion. I'm ordering tingkat for lunch and dinner too. Starting tday. Hopefully the food is gd. No time to cook cos need to take care of two kids with no helper. But we chose it cos we want close bonding with our kids.

Jerejoy,

same here-i am considering to order tingkat for lunch n dinner too. Save time. Btw, which caterer u ordered frm?

The nights jus got tougher and tougher! Yest night, bb fuss from 10-2am and again from 4-6am.. Poor hubby is a walking zombie! She usually fuss and will be very very v v cranky about 10pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Newtoitall: hellos! Long time no C u in forum!! I'm doing ur method by carrying her inviting room with lights and tv on, cux don't want her to disturbs her jiejie.. But I can't breastfeed in living room.. BIL is staying with us, so can't possibly bare my boobs ard the house..

Since I might be reporting work earlier, I hope I can adjust her body clock.. Any suggestions?

I am a May's mummy as well and have been a slient reader all this whie.

Noticed a few mummies asking about increasing BM supply. This is my method and I hope it works for you.

I am using Ameda pump. I will pump for 15 mins 1st. Then I will use my hand to massage and express. I find using hand more effective in clearing my breast but my hands will ache. After this, I will pump again for another 10 mins. I have just drag my pumping session to once every 4 hrs and this method will yied about 200ml per session. My boy is currently 3 weeks old.

viman - mine also will grunt and become pek chek before she poos or farts. but it's not whole night..do u want to check with your PD?

cloudpoem - for me, i put her on the old school bouncer during daytime. then after showering and feeding during evening time, i put her on the cot to sleep. main purpose is to let her know that once we put her on the cot, it is sleeping and night time. it works for us. initially my bb's clock is like new york time zone. but now, she sleeps at abt 10 or 11pm and can sleep all the way to 7am. though i still wake up her in the middle of the night for feeding. hope this helps.

Shave hair: hmm, I did that for my #2, as compare to my #1, my #1 has fuller hair.. Im not shaving it as well, the botak look, many people will ask if I'm caring a boy or girl.. Haaaha.

Mummies trying to boost bm supply, just to share my personal experience: pig trotters really work for me. Yesterday my CL cooked pig trotter vinegar and it was very yummy so I ate FOUR pieces, this morning my boobs were quite engorged and leaking milk, and my baby dunwan to suck anymore means supply > demand. It is not coincidence coz I rem during my #1 time my mum cooked pig trotter peanut soup and I also had lots then next morning also a lot of milk came in. The trick is to really eat LOTs of pig trotter, if you are not sick of the fat and grease!

Newtoitall, I delivered on the same day as you and I am still spotting on and off too, and mine is not brown but bright red sometimes! Should I be worried?

Mummies, where will u be bringing ur babies for immunisations? I used to bring #1 to PD for her jabs, but all the consultation fees and more ex jabs are a killer to my pocket...I heard frm colleagues tt polyclinics can do a better job and are much cheaper...got package price some more..,I just brought my gal for jaundice lab tests two weeks ago...infants quite fast, no need to queue for long. So I book an appt for hep b 2nd dose this thurs.

Should I sign the package with the polyclinic? Only tt I got to travel on my own to bring bb...

Evie: how old is ur bb? Whao! Till 7pm? That's good!

Moomoo: really? I love to eat that but din know got hidden msg!! Will eat tomoro!! Love this dish!

Shave hair: My bb ger consider with lotsa hair. As during at the hospital nursery, she is the one with most hair. But going to shave it off on coming next mon after her bb bash. As mil say even if i dun shave now, later it will drop off by itself which will be more ugly as in patches.

Xuanmin: Care to share the package in polyclinic? As i am comparing the price with my PD to see which is more affordable.

Re: EBM with Friso Comfort

I called up my PD to ask if it's ok to mix Friso comfort with EBM. Answer is Yes. It's perfectly fine.

Evie: Try talking to your bb telling him/her what time it is and what should she do. As my bb ger initially also dun want to sleep. She stay awake till 12+ and woke up at 3pm for milk, which she will sleep after the feed. Then she will wake up at 5am and refuse to sleep till 8+am. You can also put so ruyi yu on your bb to help in the farting. I been applying on my bb ger.

Xuanmin you can check with heathway if u prefer private doc can't really rem the price I think is $ 270 for 6 in1 jabs but don't include baby assessment and the price is only for 3 jabs. I compared with national health polyclinic it is cheaper. Which polyclinic u going is it singhealth or national health care?

Janice, hougang polyclinic quote me $360 for 6 in 1 jab. As for sengkang under singhealth group they able to quote me but the nurse said they dont have 6 in1 jabs at sengkang. You intend to take 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 ?

Faith: My PD @ Toa Payoh charges are as below:

6 in 1: $138/dose, total 2 dose

Rotavirus: $95/dose, total 2 dose

Pneumococcal: $167/dose, total 4 dose

Am intending to wait till Dr Saw is open and call to ask about the injection prices. Since Dr Saw is so near my house.

Little fly/Val/Jerejoy: my 2 elder kids go to full day childcare during e weekdays so is still alrite as I only hv to look after my baby..but once they Hm in e evening.. It will b noisy n hv to keep an eye on them esp #2 as he is still young n may accidentally disturb/hurt e baby.. N today my cl had pre-cooked my lunch n dinner b4 she left, hence, I only hv to heat them up n cook e rice only.. N as my aunt bot alot of fish n meat for me thru out e whole month, so I hv to cook them for my lunch n mayb dinner if my hubby 1 to eat them bah.. Lucky nw my baby is sleeping soundly in e rm wif me, so tat I can pump my milk nw.. Hopefully he can cooperate wif me all w while.. Wish me luck

Val, I did tai mao pi for my gal without shaving botak coz she got lots of hair. Now I dare not do for my boy coz he has so lil hair..

I ord mom's cooking for dinner - it is same boss fr natal essentials, but very pricey! I will switch to lunch after my confinement meals end nxt wk then I ord Chu Yi Kitchen for dinner.

Val, for lunch i ordered from chu Wei San tong. For dinner, kim's kitchen. Just had my lunch. The food r a bit cold already when the deliveryman brought them here abt 11.30am. The dishes r a bit salty. Soup still quite acceptable. The only gd thing is I dun feel v thirsty. Think they put nt much msg. I think I will just close my eyes and endure for one or two months before I cook again. Will update on the dinner later.

Oh mummies,

Any of ur bb sleep in sarong? I don't wish too, but mil kept physco-in me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my cot was given away cux never thought will pop #3. Thought of getting a playpen. But playpen, the most can sleep till 9mpnths? When they start to crawl, quite dangerous, right?

CloudPoem: My mil also trying to physco-in us to have bb sleep in sarong. I told hb no as dun see a need when we already have a cot. Plus on top of sarong, she also ask me to go buy a playpen so that i can use it to put bb inside when she is older. Really is like, huh? So early buy for what.

Cloudpoem/janice: my gal slp in sarong when she 1wk old. I find she slp longer n she feel more secure. My#1 also slp in sarong when young.

Mummies who used CL for confinment, is there anyone you highly recommended? Kindly PM me the contact and rate of your CL. My edd late aug - early sept.

immunisation: I gng to polyclinics for those one time jab, cos v much cheaper/free. and will be taking 5-in-1 and Pnemoccocal at PD. hahaa.

my #1 also in CCC. I totally like no time for #1. just a little hug and kiss before bedtime. #1 acting v funny. trying to test her boundries with #2 around. eg extending TV time, play those things that prev warned her not to play with and scream more... then tell her off she BS. haiyo.

sarong: i am not using sarong as i dunno what happens if we are out and no sarong how is bb gng to sleep. and dun feel like trying.

Bubble pearl, u have contact for PT cleaner?

Ling thks for the link will check it out cos i need nursing tops lah.

Val ya sayang to shave a ger botak which is why i did not do it for my #1 and will not be doinv for no. 2. So far no.1 hair very thick n nice and not patchy at all. Do they need a lot for the tai mai bi? If not just cut sufficient can already lor.

I am doing my bb jabs at polyclinic too .. Forgot the price cos i did for #1 there and it includes all necessay assessment milestones as well. Infact my no. 1 also still going for her 4 yr old assessment this mth. All the assessment are free under polyclinic and yes infant has priority queue.

CloudPoem, I'm one of the mummy who against sarong. I travel with my kids..so I would prefer they can adapt to any bed. Kids sleeping in sarong will be very difficult to travel.

PD charges for 5in1 jab - $100/dose, rota $90/dose, on top of that gotta pay consultation.

starfruit - I need nursing top too! If u find any nice tops let me know ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Newtoitall/Val my ger also same patternwhen i bao bao her keep rooting to latch!! So sometime i buey tahan and throw to MIL. Aftr tat she will whimper and guai guai sleep. I think they can 'smell' our presence! Hehe

starfruit, I searched online for part time housekeeper and realized it'd be quite costly to engage one on daily basis (i think above 1k?) so I dropped the idea. Maybe get one to come once a week to do major cleaning.

If you need one on daily basis, can try your neighbourhood see if got those very free aunties or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple i bought a Nursing top n dress from Pupsikstudio.com the dress a bit pricy but the top ok at $39. Now waiting for it to arrive n see if its good cos wanna wear at 1st mth party. U can go see maternalmom too but not cheap. I also wanna go spring n check out their range.

I may go to the GP near my house for immunisation, this GP is actually like a PD, his clinic got a lot of toys and kid patient and immunisation posters.

Last time my #1 I always go to PD for immunisation, until the 18 month jab I lazy just go to nearby GP, and he is actually more thorough than the PD in the assessment and jab wise it's the same.

Cloud and also diff to wean off the sarong too cos they cant sleep elsewhere. Unless u train them so afternoon nap sarong n night is on bed.

Finally got time to log on. Today went o open bb bank acct and check on 6in1 vaccine price at healthway at hougang mall.. Wow the price is so gd $270 for 3 dose n can use CDs acct.. Really save alot for us