(2011/05) May 2011

Sorry to interrupt, I have some extra original Sophie the Giraffe teether toys to let go, those interested please email me:

It's S$28 each and normal local postage is included. TQ!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5564102.jpg]

jerejoy - ok, if that's the case no choice gotta bare with it for short term. Hope the routine gets better and you can start cooking again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val - Mom's cooking has no MSG and the soup is tasty coz they brew for hours. Price very steep..my few frens tried Chu Yi Kitchen, they said the food quite nice but they never take soup. I tried Select before, not bad.

As for tai mao pi - yes they shave the outer layer and the side and the tail of the hair during my #1. For #2, I have not done anything to his hair yet, dunno shd do it or not sigh..so lil hair.

starfruit - my girl is taking NAN HA, the taste is slightly bitter. I tried all brands of milk when I wanna wean her off bf. Only NAN HA she accepted and guess what! she still on NAN HA 3 till now refused to let me change..sigh

precious: my boy is drinking ebm n similac. no problems.

june: u shld complain to town council or mp or can call neighbourhood police too. not suppose to make so much noise after 10/11pm rite?

June, maybe u can knock at ur neigbhour door n tell them it's v noisy n u have nb at home, normally they will zhidong.. Else call town council n complain as last resort. Last time my neighbor son on DVD till so loud, till my hb go down n tell them n now no noise liao

HI Mummies,

I'm from MAr'11 thread, I'm letting go Mamy Poko diapers Size S, 48 pcs at $13.50, self collect at Bishan area.

INterested parties, pls PM me, thanks!

June: my hubby ever went up to my neighbor and knock on their door.. First try they din want to open their doors.. The next day, my hubby knock a few tries, they dint open still.. Than my hubby bang the door super hard, afterwhich, the father opened up and very impolite say 'WHAT' sigh. These pple jus don't know hoe to Zi dong..

Preciousmum: when ur cl feed ur bb fm, did he fuss? Cux if my hubby or mil feed fm, my bb will drink, but when I'm the one feeding, she'll keep finding place to root.

Cloud: hmm.. CL did comment tat baby drinks faster when given bm.. Fm will b slower n may not finish it.. N last time fed him ar, will not wet e hanky at e end but nw I feed him these 2 days ar.. Always wet at e end of e feed (struggle at times) n hv to change n wash... Hmmmm

dolly: wa.. I aso tinking of bringing my kids to watch barney tis sat.. Last day.. Haha... Hope weather will b fine to travel cos hv to take mrt..

Dolly: no choice leh.. Hv to b sat cos my hubby sure dun1 to take leave bring kids go watch n furthermore, my kids hv sch to attend.. Thou childcare only.. Hehe

Poohlyn: I tink we wont b queueing up to b e 1st 50 audience.. We may go up to 2nd level n find a gd place if still hv n yes, will try 2 b earlier if possible.. But bringing a baby along may delay cos sure to stop on n off to feed n to change diapers haha

Precious: 2nd floor will have a better view. But the best spot will be taken up very fast. Hehe.....i nve bring nb go. Leave with my mum.

The show's less than 15mins... Then the photography session only 15mins.. Chope chope everything ends in half an hour times! Then my girl so timid, cling on me so tight...

Just woke up from a good sleep...Thank you mummies for your suggestion... My hubby stay at home n come only on weekend so can't help me to tell off the neighbour.. I wanted to but can't leave bb unattended... Ask town council for help but does not help... My parent tell me to try bear with it... Now I can but I am going back to work soon... So sianz

Me too! Woke up from a 2.5 hr nap without upstairs drilling and knocking! Even bb slumber with me.. Lol.

June: I would jus go up and talk nicely first.. If still go on, than go up again and turn nasty! Haaaaha!

Dolly: at marina square and wad are the show times? My girls having enrichment.. When will these shoes end? Missed their fav Elmo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cloud, here's the details:

Sing and Dance with Barney & Friends

Barney, BJ and Baby Bop will take centrestage and audience can sing along with their favorite characters. The first 50 families in the queue can get to meet them up close and take a picture with them on stage. Passes will be distributed at the entrance 20 minutes prior to each show.

3 – 11 June

Tue–Thu: 2pm & 7pm

Fri–Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm

(No show on Mon, 6 June)

Sorry to disturb your thread.

I have some items to let go.

1. Desitin Creamy 4oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $8.50

2. Desitin Creamy 2oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $5.50

3. California Baby Calendula Cream 4 oz (Expiry 2013) - $25

4. California Baby Calendula Cream 2 oz (Expiry 2013) - $15.50

Please PM me if you are interested.

finally some time to log in...

this week started my massage and taking over the bathing, cleaning, changing of my girl's diapers since aunty is leaving soon~ i've yet to add in feeding and waking up for night feeds~ i need to do that soon...getting the hang of my girl's 'pattern' so hopefully that shd be good~

had my massage lady clear some of my lumps today..the milk was squirting out! super painful..now ok liaoz..just to check with mummies..always will have blocked ducts on and off throughout bf 'career' ma or only 1st 4-6 weeks??

ladies..i've also emailed all on carter's..ordered 2 batches..some oos hor..pls check~

Sorry to interrupt.

I am from Feb 2011 thread & have the followings to let go:

1) *Brand New* Sleepy Wrap -- $70

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389275&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

2) *Brand New* Avent Feeding Bottle 0 month+ 2 x 4oz/125ml & 6 x Sealing Discs -- $20

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795523478&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

3) *Brand New* NUK Class Anti-Colic Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids) -- 3 for $5

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389277&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

4) *Brand New* NUK Premium Choice Anti-Colic Wide Neck Teat, size 1, S -- $6/pair, $10/2 pairs

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389279&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

5) *Brand New* NUK Teat cleaning sponge -- 1 for $4, 2 for $7.

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389278&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

* Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

* Keen or any enquiry, please PM me.

Val - read ur post on poo then realised i havent change diaper for bb. I usually wake up once or twice to change for him at nights. Hehee..

Goofy: re breastmilk ss

since urs is only day 11; i would suggest not to pump yet.. Just keep nursing direct. Ur brreastmilk shd get more soon.. Dont think too much! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cloudpoem: yes been busy so didnt get chance to come in often these days. Say, u mention adjusting bb body clock - for tt just have to start abt 2-3 weeks before ur intended start of work. Tts what i do. I find there's sufficient time then. In fact, m not even pumping n storing yet.

Newtoitall- really thanks for your encouragement!! Needed that... Btw, why shldnt I pump? I currently get the bb to latch on, followed by my ebm (which Is the little 20ml) and if he cries, I gv more fm. Though he can latch on well, but I suspect that he's not getting much from it.

Moreover, even tho I have a cl, I somehow cannot trust leaving my bb in her hands. Like yesterday, I actually caught her trying to feed my bb bm with him lying on his cot sleeping. Cos my bb does not finish the bm and will fall asleep. I was so shocked. But she says just trying this way and finds this amusing.

Long time nv cm in, lots to catch up. My confinement ending soon but I really wonder if I benefit fr it cos I'm still bathing n blow fan. Can't stand the heat these days. Somemore I sweat alot, even while sleeping at night.

I find myself having problems squatting down, legs cannot stand n shaky. Is it cos I haven't been squatting since pregnant? Then the wound at the V area n backside feels uncomfy n sometimes like wan to split open like that. 4 weeks already le, any mummies experience that?

Hi bunnymummy,

Did u try to soak your below area in salt water? It can help disinfect and improve healing faster.

I m halfway into my confinement. I too sweat alot. Cannot stand not bathing. My ass area is still healing at day 12. But not painful now.

Hi all mummies, had been longed since I last login & update on the posts..can't read thru all thou.

Imma now on my way to work! First day! Wish me good luk..

Last week was busy with A's full mth celebration, busy busy.

Re: baby poo

I envy thou mummies with babies poo so much per day. My boy poo once every 1 or 2 days.. He somehow 'scare' of pooing after the constipation & pain when squeezing out his super duper big & hard poo. Now, everyday I got to 'hmm hmm' him to poo at night.. If not his stomach is lyk bloated! Refuse to poo sometimes.. Haiss..

Re:- FM

I now in the process of changing FM, mixing 2 FM slowly until he fully change from enfalac to Nan. Enfalac is really thick, tasteless and heaty, the main cause to my boy's constipation.. Heard Nan is good to digesting and wun cos rashes in babies, so tried it out. Luckily my boy didn't reject and slowly getting use to it..

Trying to stop bfeeding him/ giving him emb and let him get use to EBM.. =D

Goffie

I believe in nursing on demand. If bb needs more, he/she will nurse more thus encouraging more production of bm. Isn't it the same then with you pumping? Besides, hind milk comes after foremilk - hind milk is the milk fats which will help bb put on weight. If bb only nurses a while, he/she will only take in the foremilk - the watery milk and will not be full. Pumping does help in the production of more milk, but why go thru the trouble and stressing yourself seeing only 20ml when you can just nurse direct and bond with bb? This is just what I believe - depends on you and your schedule - like will u be able to express when you are in office after your maternity, how long is your leave and how long do you intend to breastfeed . If you are like me (who is able to express in the office and wants to nurse as long as bb wants), then would suggest that you do not supplement formula too. You have to believe in your ability to breastfeed and you will have enough to feed your kid - just have to give your body some time now to get used to the demand from the bb (which is the sucking motion even when the breasts are empty). By nursing say an additional 5 mins after the emptying of the breasts, it sends the signal to the brain/body to increase the ss of bm. By giving formula, your body does not get the signal that your bb needs more (unless you are consistent in pumping to try to up the ss). If your bb is gaining weight and growing well, then there is no concern. I believe if you do the above, your ss should be increased within a week or so. Of course, it also means u have to eat healthy food and drink plenty of soups, juices etc. Hope this helps. Don't stress and just think happy thoughts while nursing so as to achieve letdown during nursing too.

Hi newtoitall,

It's a huge encouragement!! Thanks!! How many months ml u taking? Seems like u going back to office pretty fast.

I intend to take all 4 mths. And of cos if I can, to nurse him till at least 6 mths. I have been getting him to direct latch on me. However, even though he can suckle for 20-30min, and when I put him to sleep, he will make noise and asking for more milk. That shows that my bm is not sufficient and hence I need to gv him fm. M feeding him with enfalac now.

Like kaykay, I m also facing the bb pooing every other day. But recently, he seems better and poo once a day. Not sure if becos I also pump out to supplement his feeds.

I know that rest is impt. But I simply cannot trust my cl. Yesterday I caught her trying to feed the last bit of fm to my baby when he was lying in sleep position in his cot!!!

And she says that he's so sleepy and she tries to see if he can finish his fm like that!! I was so shocked and scolded her. Cos imagine we lie down on our back and drink, we may get choked!! Let alone babies. But she chuckle off amusingly!! Cos of that and few other incidents, I m wondering if I shld just ask her to leave. And remaining 2weeks, I will try to cope with my mum and mil's help.

Anyone face such situations and can cope without cl? I know a few of u are not first time mum.... Gladly appreciate ur advice. And I m feeling so tired now as everyday I think I have less than 6 hours of interrupted rest. Cos I need to check on her and cannot rest in peace.

Sigh

brought W out last two days, some ah ma or mummy thought W is 4 to 8 mths bb. comment that he looks huge... hahahah... even now he can only wears 9 mth clothes...

Goofie, try exclusive latching & do away with fm if u want to increase your ss. Do it for 1-2wks then u start to pump. Bb cries after nurse is not the sign of hungry most of the time. They just want to be cuddled or carried coz of our body temp & sense of security.

I did my confinement without CL coz I tbf even at nite I also latch..but I cater confinement meals. If your mum or mil can help, u can ease their load by having confinement meal cater for either lunch or dinner so they don't hv to cook 2 meals for u. Well, having 6hrs uninterrupted sleep already very awarding..if u read thru the threads some mums go thru sleepless nites during growth spurt but still conserved & pull thru together. Brighter days will come when bb is more settle with their routine. Jia you..

Dolly, my boy also sumo :p he outgrown 3-6m rompers!

Now putting on 6-9m clothes. PD told me not to worry his weight will gradually slow down by following the 1kg a month scale [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone intro pacifier to bb le? my gal has been crying excessively the past 3 days, always in the aftnoon to evening time. seems like whatever i do doesnt stop her cries. now tinking of gvng her pacifier.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi Goffie, totally agree with apple - bbs want lots of cuddling and nursing is just a means of comfort to them too and not an indictaion that they are hungry. I tbf my bb too even at nights. I intend to take ML 2 months then work mon, wed and fri for next couple of months until I am done with my ML - which will be somewhere in Nov. That way, I will still be able to spend more time with bb.

If you are not comfortable with you CL, better to do away with if. I did my confinement with my mom. She does the marketing and cooking for my lunch, then she goes off to work. My maid will just follow her instructions to cook my dinner. I look after bb myself and also sleep with bb.

apple, bought lotsa clothes @ espirit for him just in case he can't fit into current clothing...

btw, any photographer or studio to recommend for family portrait?

thought of doing it before going back to work..

Hi goffie agree with apple, the crying may not be cos insufficient milk. A lactating breast will always have milk if he drinks abt 20 mins means he is getting the hind milk which makes him full. My ger also cry after feed cos she needs cuddling to sleep n she has bad habit of crying before she sleep so after feed she must cry a bit before sleeping. N babies like the cuddling esp when latching so they protest if u put them down immediately. Cuddle him a bit more before u plc on the cot. Also bf babies will stop when they are full n no need to supp cos u dun want to overfeed.

Apple ur bm power i am still waiting for my ger to fatten up!

Sunflower: I intro pacifier today. haha. lz mummy, cos dun wanna keep carrying bb and just now tried pacificer, she fell aslp after suckling.

goofie: if you feed and then pump after that getting 20ml should be normal. i only pump when bb miss her feed or early morning feel very full and breasts hard. my bb also cry after feeding at some times of the day. she wanna suckle to sleep. just latch bb.

ML: i m taking 4 mths at one go. dreading the day ML ends.

apple/dolly: Haa 9 months clothes le??? that is really fast!

kaykay: Can try goat milk? I bought one can to standby too.

bunny: mine too! This week suddenly v.pain...already 6 weeks alrdy...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Wondering is it cos I went to exercise...

goofie: Me too...taking care of bb myself so v.lack of rest too. Perhaps your hb can help after work so u can get some rest?

kiko/sunflower: my boy reject the pacifier everytime we put into his mouth...push in for him he will push it out. I find my fisherprice rocker super useful...got music and vibration...he will put himself to sleep after a while...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Relieves mummy of carrying...can give rocker a try!

dolly - I also keep buying clothes for #1 & #2..cham seems like #2 is growing pretty fast and outgrown his bn clothes b4 got chance to let him wear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my hb wanna nag at me again! This happened when I had my #1, I still kept PRL bn set 3-6m & 6-9m which she outgrown before I can put on for her!

starfruit - I actually nurse only 10-15min max..he hardly suckle for 20min. I don't want bb to develop the habit of sleeping while latching. So when I see him gone into lala land, I'll unlatch him and put him back to bed.

Now I stop pumping, I don't want to overstock ebm coz he still refuse to take fr btl. I tried again on Sun and failed..sigh

Also, if I really need to send him to IFC, I'll let him take fm when @ IFC. I don't want to transport EBM there. I'll just latch him when we are at home, let's see how. The plan seems not settle.

Angie - Fishprice rocker & the swing is my arm reliever too! Now my living room is so messy, I have rocker, swing & the netted bouncer! Gosh

Mummies - when can bb off mittens? I find the mittens are too tight to my boy's wrist. It has marking, I scare no good for blood circulation.

starfruit - I'm ordering nursing tops & bra from this webbie. Let me know if u wanna tag along.

http://www.fabulousmom.com/catalog/

Argh..my upstairs doing reno..drilling non-stop!! Sickening, I wanna nap coz my 2 kiddos are napping..sob sob

Hi goodie,

Actually last time for my no. 1, we feed her lying down too, sometimes w pillow sometimes without. When we latch on baby, it's also almost lying flat across our body, and we can even latch baby lying down on the bedd, so dun think it's too much of a concern what ur cl is doing, so dun worry too much. However, take note to always a carry baby up and burp him after the bottle feeding (which tend to take in more wind) before putting him back to the cot.

My 2nd one is so fussy when feeding, I have stopped latching him and just pump out for him to drink. Sometimes let down milk flow too fast he also fuss, milk flow too slow he also fuss, position not happy he also fuss, make me so pek chek on bad days can fed for almost 2 hrs and he's still crying, so I just pump out and feed him. On bottle he also fuss, but at least can settle him much faster. Any mums experience that?

My boy turning full mth on Thursday, currently drinking 120 ml every 2-3 hr.

will try pacifier tonite..feelg desperate le, else wun intro pacifier so fast. smehow wonder if she's crying cos she knows its mummy n wanna bully me? wen my mum n hb carry/ feed her at nite, she seems ok. only in the aftrnoon she chut pattern.. sighh

Apple when u submittibg? Let me go check out the site. Actually after 1 mth can remove mittens already n let them develop grasp reflex. Its really up to u.

I have a swing too but broke down n hb threw it away. Just took oit my FP vibrating rocker will wash the cover. I also havd the netted bouncer n house like war zone cos have no.1's toys!

Apple u need to get someone else to give the bottle. Cannot be u. COs sure will reject. Get ur hb to give n be persistent give once a day. It takes a few days for them to accept.

Thanks mummies newtoitall, apple, starfruit, kiko, Angie, enchine!!

I somehow feel better now. I will try direct latch and not pump now. And lessen my fm supplement gradually.

Think the pumping and seeing that it's only 20 ml makes me so demoralized. But after hearing all your experiences and sharing, I feel better now. This morning, I nearly lost my temper on my cl cos my fridge is so messed up and she does not seem to know what she's doing.

But after lunch, and logging in to read your posts, I feel better now. I will monitor her for next few days.

Starfruit, apple- I will cuddle my baby after latching. But I noticed that even after bf, and he cries, he will put his hands his mouth, which is a sign of hunger still. If so, I shld supplement with fm, right?

Apple- I mean I had only 5-6 hours of interrupted sleep, broken up into 1 or 2 hours every night. Sometimes, whole afternoon no sleep. M very fatigued and hence that's why I feel mang Chang. But I guess what u all say is right, rest is very impt to get milk.

Sunflower- my baby was also crying excessively in afternoon past few days. But now ok. Could be due to wind or poo not complete. Last few days, I have this very good massage lady, she did it on me and noticed my bb's crying and say that massage can help him. So she gently massage him and helped remove wind. Also, my cl been applying ru yi you to help. Now he's much happier. I dun think it's good to intro pacifier to newborn at this stage.