(2011/05) May 2011

Hi Val

It has been a long time since I last log in, Appreciate if you can update mine, will update my birth story later,thanks!

nick: xris

Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham

Actual DD: 7 May 11

Birth Weight/Height: 3.38kg/50cm

Hospital: TMC

Delivered by:Assisted delivery (suction) with epi

@kaykay: same here :p i missed one pumping session tho.. *overslept* my gal has been awake since 3+.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Feeding time...

Hang in there everyone who is expressing!

I forgot to wake up at 4 to pump lucky my girl woke up early to feed!

My LC suggest to me to pump both sides even after feeds to increase supply. Ie feed left side finished pump right side then pump left a bit too.

Starflower:- Same! I expressed 40ml!

Mostly from my right side cos its healing from the bleeding thingy so can't latch from there, v full need use express.. =x

Left side like nt much cos I have been one-side feeding since 7pm!

Hope my breast can adjust & balance so that wun look one side big & another small..haha!

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went to the KP sales yesterday and finally bought bb cot bed.. those tat are convertiable to toddler bed.. can sleep till 5yrs old. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Actually the cot beds are not on sale as it priced net price... personally find tat the sales nothing much.

I have contractions since friday ... on and off.. sometimes intense and timed 15 mins to 20 mins and suddenly i hve the urge to push when the contractions comes in but hor, after tat the contractions dragged and gone for a few hrs and comes back again.. leaving me w backaches only.

littlefly, my gynae prefer bb to stay inside till 38 weeks. Now I'm into 38 weeks+3 days. he will see me next wed to assess and by then he said tat need to get things "going".. think he refering to induce which i really dun want as it's a painful process. My no1 was delivered 38 weeks and 3 days.. seems like no2 will not come out tat early. Sian sian sian.

Got the longest slp so far since I deliver, think my girl took the ebm that I pump after drink tea so ytd afternoon and early evening eyes bigbig n very awake.. Den after 1030 slp for 4 hr den wake up for milk after milk fall aslp straight away nook another 4 hr to wake for next feed...

dolly, bought it for $349.00 w free 4" mattress (hole type) and delivery/assembly. Think measurement is abt 135cm by 75cm and 4 levels adjustable. Can be used as bb cot bed, toddler bed, sofa chair and etc. Price is going to increase to $369.00 for the model tat i bought.

Bbpooh, thanks for sharing on red date tea.

Precious moment, I experienced pain over a week plus and have to sit on inflated balloon. My tear was quite bad too. Don't worry, it will subside. Or u can call your gynae to check?

Aurora, my gynae asked me to go induce Mon. I am also about 38weeks and she thinks my baby would be >3kg so right size. What is the weight of your baby on last visit ?

Kay, just let him sleep..since he has been feeding every hr earlier on.

Auroa, good that finally u settle with cot bed. Maybe your gynae will deliver your bb after nxt review [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa which KP u went? Maybe i should go take a look.

Little fly i think the induce technique will depend on ur doc, if he/she experience in doing it can min pain for u. R u considering to induce?

morning,

yest nite i oso overslept, suppose to pump at 3am, 430am then pump. My right side seems a bit engorged again. Initially my right side seems to have more milk than left side, now the other way round.

Kay, sorry, typo error, it is TMC hotline no.

little fly, my last visit, bb is estimated 3.5kg liao and i further loses 300grams (i now weighted at 52.8kg)

sigh.. actually i abit sian liao.. no matter how i control/eat my diet, the weight seems to go to the bb and after calculating, i gained 5kg for this preg so far. For no1, i wanted to opt w/o epi but i gave in when waterbag bursted and diluated 3cm after 2 pills induced.. too painful to endure tat i gave in (tat's was abt 20hrs after contraction pains and 1 pill inserted)... nearly 12hrs after then i delivered natural w epi.. so this time round, very unwillingly to go thru induce again. Fr wat i know there r 2 methods of induce... one is put in pill into the V (the pill starts with a name "O" something) area and the other is put on drip. Main purpose is to soften/diulate the cervix and bring on the labours faster.. review is tat painful process if labour doesn't happens and will brings on emergency c-section.

apple, hopefully gynae able to deliver bb after next review.. it's really xin ku to endure the contractions esp w backackes.. it's been 6 weeks liao since contractions started but diulated 1cm and nothing progress liao... sian lor.

starfruit/dolly, i went to the Toa Payoh Branch as wanted to see the actual display. I went to the Tampines branch on this wed but only got pics to see.

little fly, i think induce by birth whether is it painful, will depends on individual bah. I have a friend who was induced and inserted the pills in the morning and delivered in the evening.. she can even go makan and shopping before checking in the delivery suite. I guess individual pain threshold plays a factor.. for me, i got very low levels of threshold lah.

If i din remember wrongly, Val opted w/o epi althou she said tat her threshold of pain very low. For me, i can't tahan the pain and gave in to epi which i glad tat i did bcos my BP was raising very high tat time tat my gynae immediately came in to talk to me and persuaded me to take epi and after tat cervix diluated faster and i'm more relaxed... so depends on individual bah.

Hi bf mommies, u gals so cute even know what time is ur feeds. M like in a daze, at night just feed n sleep. I dun even know what time i m up. Only know by morn i m so tired n need to sleep in. Thinking if i shd start pumping too coz bb always takd one side only per feed now. So leaking like crazy.

Morning ladies. Finally a morning I can rest in bed n nt move abt =p

Nw waiting for the laundry to be done then I can hang it up =)

Auroa,

Yup, I am the one. Low pain threhold but I can tahan labour pain, think I am 1 weirdo =p

My hb commented I seems to look even fatter than nw when I am preg =( as if I suddenly ballooned. Nt sure if it's coz of water retention. Yest had my 1st massage session n I was complaining pain when the lady massage me. She says I have alot of water n wind thus pain. Hope to slim dwn since hb wanna close factory but I wan another one! Keke.

Re: kp sales

Is it the 20% storewide? I am waiting for GSS to start! Hehe.

Sunflower,

I will be using pouch-hb prefers. The front carrier is gd coz u can go hands free but hb dun like. I will be ordering a new one frm pupsik pouch.

Cloudpoem,

This time rd I less hardwking. Previously will pump aft every latch but this time rd I didn't unless I m v full or engorged which is no gd la. If wan to incr ss gd to pump aft every latch. Nw I have 2 sessions of milk expressed and still thinking to give my #1 or freeze....

Newtoitall,

me same as u le. Hehe. I latch my gal lying dwn so sometimes I fell aslp latching her.

hi mummies, i wondering if my bb is taking enfu milk from latching. this morning, bb latched on right side for almost an hour but still feel the breast bit full. then switch to left side, where she only latch 20mins. Then i go pump, got almost 120ml, which is the same as what i can get if i solely pump (without latching bb prior to pump). But i know that bb is getting milk when she latch as there is milk leaking from her mouth. Anybody have same experience?

Then i kinda pissed off with my CL as when i'm washing up the pump, she come and ask if bb is fed full as she is not veri settled, everytime breastfeed already she like tat. Then i retorted back to say i know she got drink but i dun know how full and also everytime i breastfeed after that immediately bottle feed her again, so she used to that then will always make noise.

Bbpooh,

Aft latching I can express out 120ml. I have nv tried giving her ebm so I really duno hw much she drinks la. I did ask the pd but she assured me tt my gal is drinking based on her own needs. So long as baby gains weight, pees n poos u know there is intake.

Cloudpoem,

nt she drinks 120ml ah. It's for both sideS 120ml la. If 1 side I super happy lo. Hahah. She is 4days old today. =)

I ate confinement as per normal and drink lots of fluid.

Val: give ur ebm to ur #1 ba, since u're able to meet ur girl's demand.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: wow after latching still got 120ml! super Xian mu...I always abt 40-50ml only le...btw how long u pump? I pump abt 10mins for both sides...read tt some mummies pump for 30mins n above but after 10mins like nothing much le...but I didn't pump on schedule...just whenever I m free..

Re: gynae

Just went for my 1st post natal visit ytd after 2 weeks, my gynae asked me when is my last period...after I answered him feeling very lost at the same time...he then asked if I m pregnant...I wanna faint....he forgotten abt me just after 2weeks!

Cloudpoem,

ya. Likely to give my #1. Yest also tried latching him aft meimei. Keke.

Done with hanging up the laundry nw going to take my lunch , express then n wait for the massage lady Liao.

So far half day just gone by like tat.

Auroa: u are quite petite ar...but yr bb is of very good weight! Jiayou...bb will be here soon...ask yr hb massage u to relieve the aches...

Newtoitall: I also lazy track the feeding times le cos it can be quite irregular...and bb always fall asleep after a while of latching on...so he gets hungry agn after a short while...dunno how to solve this problem...was telling my hb the no of times I 'undress' is like for a whole year or more....

Val: haa ya mine too...time flies looking after an infant...u doing laundry yourself? No cl or helper to give u a hand? Enjoy your massage session...I m missing mine...aching all over due to bf'ing n changing diapers...btw how many session u took? I wanna take a week...but the masseur said I alrdy got the optimum result so 5days enough...but I started mine at 7am le...so can remove during dinner time...afternoon then remove b4 sleeping?

Afternoon mummies.

Arghhh login the whine...lolx

Sick & tired of my grandma repeating 'u not enuff bmilk'.. They keep say I feed v long!

Is 1hr long? I don't think so loh..

Told them off by saying bb app big also bo bian.. I willing to nurse him till full even it might takr 3hrs!

Angry die me!! I go and take my bra show them its soak with bmilk (the side which I rest & didn't latch, only pump).. And carry my boy away from them..

Now they don't dare feed him FM without my permission.. They say I cruel, want my bb hungry die.. Why will I?? -_-!

kaykay, don't think too much. They just want the best for ur baby, but not in terms of breast milk. They just want ur baby to be full and fat and cute. If they are not concerned about u and baby they wun bother to even look at u.

My husband also say that I wun have enuff milk for my baby in future and want to buy FM just in case and I told him not to curse me.

I think most people don't understand about breastfeeding. They cannot see how much bb drink and is natural to worry esp when they see bb wun settle down and slp for long like when they drink FM. I guess for some people, can explain a few times and they will get it. For other people, you say until you got no saliva they will still believe what they want to believe. In such a case, you need to think how you want to explain to them... or is there even a need to? Bb is ours, if anything happens to him/her, the impact is worse on us. We cannot stop their mouth, we can only control how we take in what they say and how we want to answer them.

To all the breastfeeding mummies, jiayou! The result is worth it. =)

kay: no..i also latch 1 hr..son't worry.

ladies..pls be careful of ur nipples rubbing agst your bra/top. will create abrasion..i came home and my nipple was a lil red so went to ask hubby to get nipple shield. no need use cream after expressing/latching just squeeze a lil BM out to coat the surface and let it air dry~

120ml for 4 days~ you very good!!i'm only doing about 60-70ml for both breast after 10 mins of pumping! I half latch half feed EBM coz trying to regulate my BM. How I wish I can hit 120ml!!!hahah....

kudos to those who do their own confinement~ I got a CL to cook, clean, wash etc. BF I do myself.hahaha~gg to nap ciaoz..

Starfruit, my bb weigh 2.9kg last Wed so maybe now 3+. Gynae just say admit Mon to induce. Last check cervix opened 2-3 cm and she thinks it will be a fast labor. Maybe coz my no 1 my labor was around 5 hrs but I had intense n frequent contraction then. This time I don't walk alot and worry it will be not be so fast.

Aurora, would u ask for epi this time or see how first? I have super low threshold of pain. My gf used the drip type and she had epi so she said not painful. But she has high pain threshold too. I dont know if I could do without epi this round.... Maybe not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had my hair washed at salon..feel so lite & happy..no more stinko hair :p really can't stand the hot weather.

While I enjoying my hair wash, my boy fussing while hb entertain him..sigh don't tell me so young he already recognize ppl who attend to him..cham

The moment I stepped to the hse & talk to him, he closed his eyes & gone to lala land

Oh no I had a bout of hormonal wave~ felt horrible and wanted to give up latching my girl.. Thinking of just pumping and letting her be bottle fed! Cried a lil uncontrollably.. Told hubby too over whelming for me... Arrggghhhh.... Stupid hormones!

split

thanks for adding this info, ya gripe water is for one mth and above's bb.

kaykay

dont b so depressed over the comments, just think abt the good things they do and ignore all those comments. jia you with breastfeeding!

sunflower

i am using sling for bb now. and thinking of switching to front carrier once her neck is firm. hubby doesnt allow me to use other carrier than sling since her neck is still not firm yet.

V hope u r feeling ok. Post natal blues are terrible. Try n remember tat u r doing well thus far. It really not easy for new mom to cope. Hang in there it will get better.

Apple wah ur salon hair wash sounds heavenly!! I so dread the start of my confinement!!

Apple all bbs very smart n esp if u r latching him can recog mummues 'smell'. hehe

Jane i like to use my bjorn carrier when bb neck is firm esp when they reach 4-6mths cos they can face front n look outside.

Hi all confinement mommies,

confinement period is stressful for us as we rely a lot on others plus all comments we hear etc. that we may not like plus doesnt help with raging hormones. Jiayou... Will b over soon. I just quarrelled w my mom too coz of the way she disciplines my sons. Sigh... Must ren ren ren...

Little fly actually u r already dilating leh u mean still need to induce? I tot since u dilated2-3cm labour already kick starting? Btw wanna ask how does it feel when u r dilating? Pain down the cervics?

Hannah i like wat u posted on bf n fully agree with u. Lots of time its the criticism from others tat makes new mom give up bfing. I think everyone around is concern abt the new bb n think they are offering u the best advice. this adds on to the whole stress of being a new mom, first time bfing n trying to cope with new bb n confinement! Really really not easy. Thus very impt for hb to be supportive, i was glad my mil n hb was so supportive of my bfing journey during #1's time tat help me to succeed. I remember crying tons too n arguing with my own mum when they doubted tat bb has enuff from solely my bm! So hang in there. There is a wonderful support group here with lots of 2nd time mummies who were successful. It will all get better!!

soon its will be my turn to deal with the freq feeding/ pumping.. I feel so tired just thinking abt it! Hope i can cope man[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Newtoitall, hope both u n ur mom are ok now. At least its ur own mom. If its MIL i dun think i dare to quarel with her..will prob just ren!! Hehehe own mom diff can even scold haha so terrible hor!