(2011/05) May 2011

Dolly,

My gal today start dunno y oso from 6pm wake up till 10pm

Then slp. Dunno Izz they r growing up each day so will b more alert.

Once put her down on bed, she will fuss for attention. Once carry her, she will b so tamest u carry here n there for so long n can fall aslp in our arms. But on e put back in bed, wake up n fuss again.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mummies ,

I oso sold my warmer away when I hv my no1. It's so easy heating up wif hot wtr n a glass cup. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sh they like to bao bao.. Feels secure with mummy mah... Hehe sweet right [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but tiring too i guess.

Hi Starfruit,

I also didn't know Dr Chua going away until I see her today.

Are you going to see her tomorrow? If yes, probably she will announce the news to you tomorrow.

She asked whether I want to be induced by next Fri or Sat.

I am still considering but very unlikely I will do it. And if ever I go into labour when she is not around, she suggested that I can either see Dr Paul Tseng or Dr Liauw.

V: I recommend the freestyle lah. since both also so exp. Freestyle more portable also. The medela saleslady told me both same suction just FS smaller and lighter.

I went for check up today and not dilate yet. Altho I wish bb will wanna come out these few days. :x

kay no need to put nipple shell all the time. can u air n not put anything? It will help nipple heal faster this way.

ArIsz yeah seeing her tomorrow see wat she say not sure if i wanna induce lor. But bb may come early. Urs engaged yet?

kaykay, can apply your own bm on your nipple then air dry. Like that will heal faster also.

Starfruit, you may want to consider seriously cause she will only be back on the 30th May which is over your edd already right?

My edd is 30th may which is the day she is back, I also wonder if bb can wait till then.

She never check for me if bb is engaged, only mentioned that bb head is down.

Wah! The thread is moving so fast I can't catch up! How's everyone?

Meimei and I were discharged yest Evening already. Great to be hm =)

supply has also started coming in n I try to pump if I still feel full aft latching her. Nw thinking if I sld give te ebm to my #1 instead as I dun intend to intro teats to her yet.

Little fly

Both of us false alarm try but my gynae asked me wait till mon before deciding induce cos cervix nt diluted. Best to go natural and wait for body go natural. She dun encourage c section n I hope I dun hv to go thru that n induce too.

But no sound no picture except for the mucuous plug which is still leaking now.. Like light menses like that..only cramp or contraction at 6pm try once..she said shld get closer like 7 mins or huge gush of water then can admit

I also scared of needles Poking n all..pain pain...fren told me eipdural v pain..omh..

By the way I read some of u went to remove stitches, is that for the episotomy? It's nt self dissolving stitches? Must b painful!

starfruit, i dont wann use fridge-togo coz its basically a bag with all 6 sides of ice blocks inside. Basically the 6 ice blocks are put in the fridge to become ice and already weighs a ton before i even put any bottles EBM in. i just cant imagine myself carrying 6 ice blocks around. I prefer to travel light. So i prefer to carry the avent insulated bag with the 1 groved ice block in the centre which has contact w my medela bottles.

As for warming up EBM from fridge, say its 6 degrees coming out from fridge. boiling water at 100deg when put in a cup will become say 98 degress. it will take time for 6 degrees to rise up to 37degrees before we can serve. So thats the few seconds we're catching. I understand when u mean it may kill antibodies, i've tried before and when just boiled water poured fresh from kettle and bottled EBM goes in straight from fridge, i can see bubbles coming up so something must have happened. So NOT from fresh, just out from kettle if thats what u mean.

i find that when the quantities become more, like when baby is drinking 150ml, this effect becomes less, coz too much coldness around to protect the milk and it only affects those EBM around the side of the bottle, centre EBM is still cold. At this time, some people say warmer is slower. coz warmer will now take longer time to warm up 15sec to the required heat for the 150ml. by that time, baby scream until sore throat liao, so i stuck to my hot water, pop in bottle method which is faster.

Sh, u can try to buy a rocker. i'm using fisher price rocker and she can sleep for 3-4 hours in the day becoz if the wrap around effect that's like somebody carrying her. may buy u some precious time to rest.

Janice, not to worry about induce. my no1 was induced w forceps. they will give u a pill inserted in V (not painful) to ripen the cervix. then u sleep and wait. Once u dilate to certain cm, u can ask for epidural (i call it Happidural) and dont feel anything except pins and needles from hips to toes. Doc say push u just push. epidural side effects may be shivering or vomitting. (i didnt vomit for #1 but #2 yes)

if anthestist put low like 1.5-2, thats the lowest dial for epidural , u can adjust your body left right to let the epi flow evenly throughout the body so u dont feel contraction pain. If u still feel pain, they can up the dial to even 10, of which u dont feel contracttion and just push based on gynaes cue (all u get is pins and needles).

Besides that, i dont remmeber any needles leh.

Dolly, growth spurt occurs on 7th-10th day, 2nd-3rdweek, 4th-6th week. They will drink fast and fussy. Just bear through the period. more info on http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/baby/fussy-while-nursing.html

Sh, exactly... Its so tiring to carry him & don't want to lie on bed...

Starflower, thanks for the info... Google that just now once he fell asleep...

Up for my pumping session again...

Starfruit/ Sh

I had wanted to buy a warmer but I think the heating time is quite long rite? Although it's more evenly heated..

Little fly

Do u know how much is the discount? 20% for members? I lost my member card last yr when I dropped my wallet.. Sian. Was thinking shod I apply it again,,now with NB, I think must Liao...more things to buy again..

Just to check wif mummies who have dd can I ask if u all got beanie hat for newborn? Gonna shave mg dd botak on her full mth to make tai Mao bi so wanna buy a nicer hat for her

Chk with the mummies here.. Any of u hv menses like discharge before giving birth? Yest I have this slight water n pink discharge dripping n gynae said mucous plug so normal to hv brownish stain after that. If water bag burst or contractions every 7 mins, go labour ward during non office hrs. If nt go c her. But how abt having menses like that?

Normal? V worried.

Good morning Mummies!

Yes, sunflower you are correct. 20% for members. I even got a free GoWell mag. 15% for public.

Bunnymummy, agree with with Apple. Epi is the best invention I think when I was in the midst of intense pain. Instant relief ! But I hate the shivers and vomitting. I still don't have contraction yet. Gynae said my cervix already open 2-3cm last check. Still pondering to admit or not.

Little fly

That's good! Mine is not open yet but haven't red menses discharge now. Abit cramp, trying to time the contractions. It was abt 12 mins apart like that jus nw

Yes. First labor was quite fast. Still no contraction yet but I find it painful to walk or move about. Going to call gynae and ask her again.

Bunnymummy, a bit anti-climax right?

I think I must be quite a pest to my gynae. Kept calling her to ask should admit or not? Even she was expecting a fast delivery for me this round but things seemed to come to a stall. :0

How are other mummies doing? Today a quiet day so far...

Yeah! Both bb n me discharging today. His jaundice is 11.1 exceeded the safe level of 10 but pd says it's ok n can go home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will b back on Monday for review tho.

Starflower, which anaesthetic Dr gave u epi? If u r using Dr Dicky Tay or Dr Boey, u shd not hv side effect. These 2 r expect & Dr Chan use them for his epi c-sec.

Littlefly & bunnymum, I guess your lil bud wanna enjoy a day or 2 more inside your tum tum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] stay tune d-day coming soon.

I just back fr Mt A, brought my bud for final jaundice test to make sure lvl downtrend.

Ash, rest well & enjoy your moo moo career.

Its was a tough night ytd.. My A keep crying for milk despite that I fed him a lot alrd.. Scare will overfeed..

Any mummies gt babies eat v often/alot??

My boy tis morning 8am bfeed him 45mins+ 20ml ebm, den he fall into slp.. Don't want milk alrd.. Den v soon 9am++ he cry for milk again & I bfeed him for 20mins he slp again.. Now 10.30am.. I bfeed him 15mins he seems slpy alrd.. But mouth keep move lyk wanna eat lyk tis.. But he no cry & in slpy mood..

Its fine that baby want milk hrly??

I struggle my night sweating & bfeeding !!

Bfeed till nearly dozed off.. After bf so tired still need pump for 20-30mins.. V tired... He keep crying in the middle of the night..

How to adjust to it!!! Arghhhh..

My milk supply increasing &

WOW the nipple cream u all recommend IS GOOD!! Now no more cracks alrd, healing well..

So slpy now..

My ah ma add 1 more thingy into my daily meal again! Papaya soup with fish bone boiled tgt.. Thanks to my friend came visit me ytd told my ah ma that it can increase milk supply!

Tis morning she str8 away buy & cook.. =D

Kykay congrats on ur increase of supply. My no1 and no2 also like thT every 1.5 to 2 hr want me and keep crying at night pd ask to gif them colicky medicine. Lucky so far my girl still oki old people tell ne girlgirl easier to take care compared to boyboy I Sunni how true my my boys really give me sleepless night last time and so far my girl still oki

I m pumping milk rite nw.. Hehe

little fly, bunnymum: I can understand is torturing to wait for tat contraction to happen as I was e same for me then.. I guess my gynae didn't break e waterbag big enuf for all e water to flow out, hence my contraction was so slow n at times seems to subside aso.. Lucky my midwife helped me 2 break further until shows came then everything was faster.. Tis #3 delivery took me abt 4hrs while my 2nd 1 only 2hrs.. But I can say waiting is all worth it when u see ur little bundle.. All e best!!

kaykay, cannot eat chicken during confinement? Confinement got chicken dishes leh. It's believed tat dishes esp chicken wine helps to nourish the mummy and circulate the blood within the body leh... my cousins all asked me to take more and it's believed to be very "bu" for our family side.

little fly, diluated 2-3cm? envy leh. Mine diluated 1cm 2weeks and seem "stop". Yesterday contractions was getting intense tat walking also painful but ard 10pm, it went away.. arrugh. I give up liao... not going to think abt it and really sian going to the clinic every 2 or 3 days for CTG and being told tat readings doesn't show contractions or mild. I have an appt on 18 May for CTG and VE (my 4th checks liao) and nothing progress by then, i will not be going for CTG till labours kicks in. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I am having contraction since this morning. The timing keep changing. It's so painful till my lower back is pain too.

Mummies: Should i admit to hospital as my water bag have not break yet. Call my gynea and he ask me to admit.

Help! Am feeling clueless and pain.. Now the contraction is like every 5 mins.

Janice, if contractions 5 mins, it's better to go to hospital now esp if u opting for epi later. Not necessary waterbags will burst leh. Better be on the safe side.. btw, it's raining heavily now.. call the ambulances if need to.

@kaykay: my gal was cranky last nite too. Fed her at 2am..she took like 2hrs to finish 80ml. Put her to bed le den wen to pump.. who knows 5am she cry again.. she took another 30ml n finally zzz ard 630am. Hb and i only slept at 7am n ended up late for pd appt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] both of us overslept n i missed one pump session. So tired!

Janice: yes, u shld admit to hospital already,like auroa said, it is not necessary tat e waterbag will break on it's own.. So better dun wait anymore.. All e best to u!!

Janice, now shd be quite peak hrs on the road... do drive safety esp w the heavy rain now. Smooth delivery to you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kay, yes, must take papaya fish bone soup..all along we have been talking about this in the thread. I guess u never notice bah! It is really good to build up milk supply..I added fish maw aka "hua jiao" into the soup too.

Janice, take care..ask your hb drive safely..u'll be seeing your bb soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple, same I also add hua jiao in my late night meal= chicken or pork double boil w xo or brandy.. My mum insist to drink that everynite.. Now day 8 n I am so sick of it. I realized hua jiao not easy to cook as after hrs how stewing, it still remain abit hard..how u cook ah..

Mummies: am I weird? As I dun really wish to increase my supply now..I just want maintain n wait till my confinement then increase as I am feeding my boi fm cos his jaundice level still on high side n I am storing my ebm now in freezer, only when dr give clearance then I will bf him..at the same time, now I am feeling v tired to keep pumping 2hrly during daytime n 3-4hrly during nite. I just get fever from engorgement ...

Btw how to know if the breast is empty from pump

I'm admitted in hosp cos contractions n bleeding this morning but cervix not dilated at all so gynae wants speed up the dilation n cramp so put some med underneath my cervix.

If by tmr morning not delivered, she will induce me on drip tmr. So scared. My body like not ready for delivery like that leh. Cervix so long nt open n the ctg showed contractions at clinic, I didn't feel it. Like that no intense pain, I really duno how to ask for epidural. Gynae said dun last min v pain then ask. I hope I dun get induced n cervix n contractions happen fast enuff tdy. So scared of all the pain I'm gg to face

Bunny: gd luck n hope u dilate soon for quick n smooth delivery!

I'm finally home w bb! I'm going to do 4 hrly feed/pump. Is it ok or must b 3 hrly?

Feel my emotions running again. Juz feel like crying for no reasons

Bubble, which day of confinement now? I was told xo chic or pork tonic can only take after day 12 onwards..

Oh I got same prob on how to deal w hua jiao, medical hall guy teach me take a small bowl, fill up water u rinse the Hua jiao then soak overnite in the fridge then take out 2hrs before boiling..use the water together to boil the soup for another 4-5hrs. It works this way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the hua jiao will melt in e soup.

Split – what is beanie hat?

Apple, I also think so. Inside quite comfy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Janice, Bunnymum, this should be it already. Wish you both a good delivery. Keep us posted.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa, did you gynae asked you to induce? My gynae asked me to admit directly on Monday at Mt A to induce. 2nd time she told me so I better guai guai follow her instructions. I worry when my active baby is quiet in the tummy and once he start moving again then I am ok. Getting painful to walk/move lower body but still no contraction leh. Did you have shows? I only did one CTG so far. I worry a slow but long labor then very sianz.

Split, u can but hat fr Mothercare. Otherwise shop online..ON & Gymboree [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Talking about tai mao pi, my hb just ask me my boy got not much hair how to make..wahaha I told him don make la..botak boy need a trim instead of shave!