(2011/05) May 2011

Kaykay dun be discourage by ur gm. Some old people prefer bb to drink fm one so they will use words to discourage u cuz during their time fm is very expensive and consider better den bm so they thing fm very gd..

Auroa & xuanmin:- thanks for the encouragement! I will gambatte! Pumping right now!!!

My grandma gt prepare fish soup for me + 3cups of red longan dates water + 3 cups of milo + 3 cup of cereal daily! Hope I can pump as much as u all did, 100ml & above!

Btw, I remb I read abt bfeeding has certain low & high supply timing. What is it ah??

&

If once our supply established, like let's say 100ml per pump/fed.. Den will it fall easily when we don't drink fish soups & etcs?? Like for e.g. 2nd-3mth later.

Good morning mummies, oh I'm so tired.. W woke up to drink milk & awake till 5.30am.. Unable to make him sleep, then realize that i have not change his diaper.. After changing, then he willing to go to bed..

Xuanmin, He's tbf..

Split:- yes I know old ppl prefer FM..

THE PROB IS - MY GRANDMA HERSELF GT 6 CHILDREN, ALL SHE BFEED tHEM!!!!!

So why can't she unds the logic behind ways of establish a supply & need time for that??

Can't she unds me more? I thot she would.. ~_~!

Morning mummies, i wonder if today is THE day for me. Woke up with lower backache and a bit spotting. Will take my time to see if backache gets worse later or any contraction setting in...

Auroa (auroa_sun) - wow, you really drank alot of fluids during your confinement month! and kudos to your perseverence in BF!

morning mummies...

Kay, i think your grandma forgetful liao.. hehehe old age. try not to be too borthered!

Re: Bf Pump

Actually mummies, this just m opinion, its is quite impt to get a good pump with a powerful motor that can extract the milk from your breast, if u start with a pump that has a weak motor, chances are it cant clear ur breast and cant get much milk out of our body, man give up after this. So if budget is not a constrain and u r determine to BF, pls conisder a better pump.

V: do u need to bring the pump around? if u need, consider the freestyle cos much more portable than the PISA, mamny swear by PISA's motor power, but i need a portable one, so went with freestyle. I bought the US set from BP here.

On my way hops le. Nt sure if gg into labour soon. Morning has some water dripping with tinge of red. Nt sure if water bag burst.

Emergency line ask me go down if emergency cos they call gynae but no one answered.

Starfruit:- yah, perhaps she forgetful cos she last bfeed was 40+ yrs ago!!

Littlefly:- it might be ur D day today!!

Bunnymum:- u same edd as me right?? Woot! May be ur baby is arriving today!! Do update us later!! =D

kaykay: Wa your grandma bf during her time? That is soo rare...ya I guess she jus kan chiong her great grandson...hang in there...u can do it!

Littlefly/bunnymum: keep us updated! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah: Haven heard from u for so long, congrats on the arrival of your bb! How are u coping?

Dolly: Wow 2kg in one month is a huge jump...bb is very well fed by mummy...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa: I also pei fu ni...intake so much liquid for bf'ing...ya I have to agree bf'ing is really v.tiring...esp in the middle of the night. Btw when u let yr bb drink the ebm? I find that in the middle of the night too rush to warm the milk...in the day I tot since I am more energetic can let him latch on...

Re: Powder

I didnt know also...am using abit of johnson baby powder while changing diapers...is that ok? Talking abt diapers...how many diapers all mummies have to change a day? My bb used abt 10!!! I think tt is alot...aiyo...I tot of using cloth diapers only at a later stage...now have to start using le...use soo fast! Change diapers till I 'shou ruan' and backache....

Bunny mum, smooth delivery !

Bubble pearl, I have friends who used both and also successful in breeding for long time. I know 1 mummy used avert manual and lasted 2 years! Twice longer than my Pisa even. So I guess it's all a matter of discipline and of coz. Dependent on muscles in the breast. Dual pump is better than single pump coz it tells our body to produce a hormone prolactin which w encourage more milk production. U can read more on http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/maintainsupply-pump.html

Kay, medela purélan comes in 2 sizes 7g & 37g. I use 37g since can last long time - ard $36 I think. After 2-3 weeks ur nipple skin used to the stress n grow thicker, trust me I think I use clothes peg to click also no feeling Liao la! Wahaaaaaa

kaykay

i think you should drink more fluid. coz confinement period will sweat a lot so in order to hav good supply, drink more water/longan tea. probably 3 cups not enuf leh.. i drink lots n lots of plain water coz i couldnt take longan tea, it's too heaty for me.

ya.. guess ur grandma forgot how she bf her children liao.. nvm with all those negative comments.. ignore them.. think more will depress u, do keep yourself cheerful and remember that we are all here to keep you accompany.. anything just let us know.. ok?

re:supply without fish soup & etc

for me, i didnt really take much fish soup. but i drink a lot of water and milk + fresh milk. however, dont worry, demand = supply, i think the supply will maintain. that was happened to me with my #1, i managed to tbf her till 1 year old. purposely stopped coz it was too tiring for me, or else might be longer.

V & bubble

re: freestyle

i am using freestyle since i had my #1. it is really portable and can clear lumps. but its motor a bit noisy. and heard from other ppl that its motor power is not as strong as Pisa. however, i never use Pisa, so not sure whether it's true or not.

Dolly

envy that ur bb gain so much weight, mine still very small even though tbf. now her weight is like some nb weight le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sunflower

dont worry abt supply, drink more water and continue to latch and pump! jia you!!

Auroa

wah.. pei fu pei fu, u are really a good mum! can go infant care and bf ur bb! i remember for my #1, i only provide them my ebm for them to feed.

bunnymum

jia you lo! hope to hear from you soon.

Angie

yup new born use a lot of diapers. me too, want to use cloth diapers soon.. change diaper till i scare.. hahha

re:powder

not sure if can use during changing of diaper, tot the powder is not good for bb's bottom too?? anyway.. i think if u hav concern probably can ask PD or change to liquid powder

i m going to robinsons with my nb later. hahah. .duno can manage or not, coz i m going there alone with her.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

v: tks for dropping by n nice meeting u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gd tt u going home w bb today. tom will b my turn. so far bb no jaundice n hope he continues to b so

u brot ur own pump to hosp or borrow fr nursery?

I'm coping ok. Got a great confinement nanny who supports my efforts at breastfeeding.

Kaykay, you can also use your own breastmilk to heal the cracked nipple. After feeding/pumping, express some milk to your nipple and allow to airdry. The lactation consultant who saw me at Mt A told me to repeat this 5 times. It does help to soothe the sore nipple. So in case you don't manage to buy the nipple cream, you can use this method.

Breastpump: I have a medela freestyle and i swear it's the best pump ever! I used the PIS (Not the PISA) initially and i thought it was ok. But with the freestyle, i could use it anywhere and i don't have to worry about the wires or where i should put the bulky machine. I have the medela manual pump too and i almost died using it coz it used up so much of my arm muscles! hahahaha...

Anyway, I've been hand-expressing these few days coz my girl was clusterfeeding and then went without for 5-6 hours. So xing ku with the full breasts... And then if i used my pump, not sure if i'd empty everything... Aiya... breastfeeding although good also has its hassles...

Jane: totally agree! Change to cloth diapers can save much more...which one u got? I got the bum genius from USA...gg to take them out to wash n start using le...some more I using the mamypoko nb one now...jus realised it is one of the more costly ones..must be cos of the pooh bear...haa

Re: pump

I m using Pisa, find it a little noisy too..but works well. V, if u need to bring the pump around better get freestyle. If just for home use, Pisa is fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pump:I have avent manual pump but the shield always stick onto my breast n cannot pump properly..I am kinda of sick of the size n sound of Pisa.. Keke, my hb who stayover nite w me as I am doing confinement at my parent place.

Breast massage: I found another to hot compress for clogged milk ducts. Take a standard size milk bottle n 1/3 fill w hot water n add normal water n roll on ur breast. The heat can retain long n no wetness caused

Mine false alarm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

It's mucuos plug. Gynae said wait few more days n my cervix not opened yet. How to mk cervix open more?

Mine is tmc.

Angie: I am using ard 6-8 diapers a day..still have 1 pack nb unopen n hb friend passed him 3 big packs of s size diapers ... N I still have 8 packs of s size at my own place..think I can use diapers solely now.

Achievement: I have just pump 110 ml of milk within 3.5hr break

Kay/ Starfruit/ Angie - yes, i think its time. SO excited! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope contraction kicks in after lunch. Haha. My hb and I still dilly-dally here.

Use of diAPers: I experimented this yesterday. I take 1 piece of Huggies nb, folded nappy liner twice, line in & let her wear. When she poo, I use cotton balls clean as per normal, wrap in the soiled nappy liner & throw. Then w the same Huggies, I put a new nappy liner again folded in so her bum is in contact only w liner, and tape it up. Of course using avent bottom bum first so her bum doesn't lose too much moisture. The next time she poos again, the diaper is already rather heavy w pee so I throw diaper & all away.

I don't use powder coz it gets stuck between thighs & cause rashes n some flies into her nose.

As for deodorant, I switched to Simple unperformed deodorant.

Bubble pearl, great idea to use milk bottle for compress! So smart! I tried hot towel N find it gets cold too fast! Smart mummy, now hope can prevent blocked ducts fm coming back urgh

i think i cannot handle cloth diapers leh. disposable diaper easier for me.. cos just change and throw for cloth diaper still need to soak and wash.. maybe i lazy!

Angie and Jane, change to lower cost diapers.. no need to stick to MP cos its one of the most expensive for NB, i will be using Nepia and sealer cos must much cheaper. but i did buy huggies and pampers to stand by as well.. hehe

starflower, just remember to massage your breast well before each feed so milk flow better and also after the feed.. so milk dun clog up.

bubblepearl, keep it up, your supply will increase [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually i think really need to drink water for more supply, i drank so much water even during my confinement.. cos i was so thirsty from the Bfing and longan tea dun work. so mummies, if u r not particular abt confinement rules, pls drink water to help increase your supply.

little fly, all the best and have a smooth delivery.

bunnymum, dun be disappointed, this means u will have some more free time before bb come.. rest well and enjoy this time.

Ash, so fun that u can meet with V, i wonder who i will see during my delivery, maybe mudppie, novie.. heheh elbrac delivering early, so wont be able to meet.. hehehe

yeah, i oso ask my CL start using cloth diaper today. She conveniently use disposable diapers for close to 2 weeks already so time to get her to work more. Though this is the second time she do confinement for me, think she have changed to be lazier and do things at her own convenience.

For the disposable diaper, I'm using dypers, feel that it is ok and not too ex. For their NB, the front there is a lower cutting for the umbilical cord which i find is better than huggies. TMC provided huggies at discharge, after using i still prefer dypers. My #1 oso using drypers.

Good morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]TGIF!!

This morning my boy vomitted milk on me after choking himself! he suckle and went to lala land as usual, then never swallow..sigh

kay, keep your cool..ignore your granny's comment! some ppl just like to comment especially seeing us bf. My FIL used to comment while hearing I tbf my gal 5yrs back. He keeps telling my hb fm better nutrient & vit, bb will look chubby..bf bb very small and skinny..all rubbish la!! Until he sees my gal so chubby at 3 months old, he shuts up :p

I think your latching method is incorrect, resulted u having sore & bleeding nip. Since u engage LC, check with them..they will teach u how to snuggle your bb in correct position while bf.

Wow starflower, u expert ler! Know how to clear block ducts by positioning yourself opposite direction while feeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Well done mummy..hope your fever gone.

Kay,

Jia you on your bfing. I feel that so long as mummy have the determination, things will work out. Other ppl's comments, sometimes just ignore. I oso do that. Now, as i have CL, usually she will feed bb with EBM so now i focus more on the 3hrly pump and i try to latch bb when the timing coincide with her feeding. i rem for my #1, i only managed to latch properly during the 2nd month when i am fully in charge with bb.

bunnymummy-same case as me.. i had a false alarm yesterday. now waiting at home..

Little fly-on the way to hosp now? keep us posted...

have a smooth delivery ~~

I'm going to try using nappy liner on diaper today! I have finished up 1 pack of pampers NB, now 2nd pack also using like 5-6pcs already..faint!!

starfruit - I ordered Nepia too, open up the NB pack, found the diaper cutting quite big for NB..so I seal back. Once I finished pampers NB, I'll switch to Nepia. More economical [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Oh ya, Nepia has urine indicator..I like it

Glad we have such a strong support group here on bfing. I think its impt to have this support group to keep all of us going... This will greatly help many of us suceed in our bfing journey.

Apple nepia very cute hor! The price still the same? How ling did it take for them to deliver? Min 5 packs for delivery?

starfruit - now they are selling $15/pack - 4 packs they will deliver to your doorstep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cool rite! no need to lug diapers fr NTUC..haha

They deliver the next day after I placed order, and COD. The lady also informed me for example if we still hv brand new pack and bb outgrown the size, can tell them to exchange bigger size on next order, they will bring for 1-1 exchange.

Re: diapers

Starfruit, hi5, I using nepia nb for my A too! Its gd & easier to handle compare to cloth diapers cos nb poo tend to be more wet.. Nepia delivery is thumbs up!

Re: pumping

Pumping now.. I think nt my supply can't keep up wif A loh! I monitor his feed at 10am = 20ml ebm (7am expressed) + I bfeed him 45 mins + top up 60ml FM, he finished ALL!!!!! Isit a lot for a wk baby?

Bubblepearl:- Wah 3.5 hrs? U mean u pump for so long duration???? Zai ley! Gratez on 100ml achievement!

Hannah:- I have been using bmilk to moisture my nipple + nipple shells to protect. Too sore & painful without it when it rub against my top. Imma getting the medela cream later... Cos one side bleed heal another side bleed again.. Keep repeating. So I guess I better get it moisture at all times.. =/

Apple ya i also like their hm delivery service. Will call them for delivery after my bb comes. I like their nb diapers the print very cute n pack very big too.

Kay air ur nipple as often as u can to encourage it to heal faster. Actually for my #1 last time every time she latch also 1-1.5 hrs but it gets better n once she gets the hang of it she only needs 10-15 mins for each feed.

Kay, no lah! I mean 3.5 hr later after last session cos I need to bring bb out to polyclinic for jaunidice checkup, sian ah..next mon still have to bring him go again

Re: diapers

Starfruit, hi5, I using nepia nb for my A too! Its gd & easier to handle compare to cloth diapers cos nb poo tend to be more wet.. Nepia delivery is thumbs up!

Re: pumping

Pumping now.. I think nt my supply can't keep up wif A loh! I monitor his feed at 10am = 20ml ebm (7am expressed) + I bfeed him 45 mins + top up 60ml FM, he finished ALL!!!!! Isit a lot for a wk baby?

Bubblepearl:- Wah 3.5 hrs? U mean u pump for so long duration???? Zai ley! Gratez on 100ml achievement!

Hannah:- I have been using bmilk to moisture my nipple + nipple shells to protect. Too sore & painful without it when it rub against my top. Imma getting the medela cream later... Cos one side bleed heal another side bleed again.. Keep repeating. So I guess I better get it moisture at all times.. =/

Re:- fluid in take during bf

I didn't take water at all cos I trying to abide all rules including no taking water, only milo cereal red longan dates tea etcs

Othert rules lyk sitting dwn while takiung fluids, no hair shampoo & bath I all obey.. Survived 7days... Hope to endure!!

All mummies jy do confinements & be healthy in order nt to fall sick & tc of our precious loves!

For mummies who have nt pop, jy ! U r reaching the finishing line soon! =D

my BM supply aso v low.. Today is my 2nd day of BM and only managed to pump out 30ml after 1 hr thou is better than yest where I had to combine 3 pumps to make it 30ml.. I will cont to pump it n hope it will increase more n more.. Gd luck to all mummies who r breastfeeding..

Jane:- so if after confinement I stop my fish soup the supply wun drop????

Jane/bbpooh:- will ignore her comments de! I will kip it up! Thanks ladies!!

Starfruit:- why must air?? I thot need keep it moisture best?

Bubblepearl:- ur bb same birthday as mine right? Having jaundice too?? My A having jaundice but nt too high.. 4th day check up 222, 5th day check 265, 6th day check 245 went down abit.

Same as urs, monday need go check up again..

To cfm jaundice lvl down..

this thread moves so fast....esp wif so many mummies popping...

congrats to Val / V / moomum and all who have pop! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunny mum,

hope to hear your gd news from u today later....

RE:BM supply

my supply oso don know why these 2 days drop a little.....hope it maintains.....

kay,

7 days liao arh! fast leh! jy!

for nepia diaper, can tahan how many pee roughly? izz each pee muz chg or at least can tahan 2 big pees?