(2011/05) May 2011

Wah Kay Kay peifu!! I can't stand my body sticky and smelly I will be super bad tempered n keep scolding people if I too sticky one ytd n today I bath twice morning wake up once night b4 slp once cuz morning wake up even air con on also so sweaty. My first confinement in dec manage to hold the first week no bath and after that every alt day 2nd one in June also need to bath daily this time is the worst if not doing confinement mayb 3times a day le

Apple:- haha, before conceive I alrd quite dirty & lazy girl alrd, 1day bathe 1 time.. My confinement is hard but I no worries at all.. Abide all rules!! I don't want ache later..

My foot swollen the 3rd day home due to walking ard house too much tc bb till gonna crazy but I tried to hang on.. Swollen till I go buy new shoe.. Whole foot lyk pig foot.. Now I had more bed rest & struggling wif bfeeding.. Still body must tc..

I wipe body with hot water perhaps once every 2day..

21days to go!!

Alicia, thanks for the infor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

split, think it's better to warm up.. i dun believe tat hospital feed bbs tat way.. i guess yr CL lazy to do it .. bb drink cold milk, wat if the stomach can't do it, LS how? their digestive system not well-developed yet and shd not take cold stuff bah. Even our BM (directly latch on) is rm temp leh (not cold milk)... wonder where yr CL gets tat infor.

sunflower, persist on and sure u can make it. Set a target.. tell yrself tat u going to bf for this mth and pass this mth, set yrself another target like BF for another 3 mths and till u cut. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nepia diapers: Actually i bought 2 pkts of huggies S size last mth. Now thinking better wait for bb to come out and judge which size to buy. Now est bb 3.5kg (gynae said -/+ 300g of the weight). Btw, i found tat huggies material quite rough.. last time used pampers and this time round choose huggies (to save cost). Will try it out and swop to Nepia if huggies not able to meet bb's needs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloud maybe is still lochia mine also stop for 2days and come back bloody color one ytd went to my gynae to remove the stitches he said still got some unclear inside but this time consider very fast only almost 1week feel quite clean le last time took almost 2weeks

hehee, same as apple, i can't stand myself "drenched" in sweat and BF my bb. Last time confinement i also bath (at least once a day) and used cloth to wipe myself if sweat again. This time round, i bought adult wipes for standby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kay, y foot swollen? water retention? haha..maybe ur body used to 1 day bath 1 time. So u adjusting n surviving well during confinement. For me I can't, be it preg or not..I bath many times a day!

split, my #1 in March, already very hot, who knows May worst!! 20 more days to go..cham

cloudpoem, did u take dang gui? My CL cooked soup with it and it resulted me hving heavy menses.. the lochia supposed to stop shortly after delivery... after taking it, i had heavy menses and i was told by my mum not to take it as it will results heavy menses.. i guess my CL dun like me and gave it to me too early.. dang gui shd be taken ard week 3 after delivery.

Split:- hahas.. Aircon? My grandma off fan I slp in everyday with or without fan, cos cannot cold/blow wind at all.. Wipes hands quickly after touch water.. Foot also.. Now I just went ICA, she ask me take jacket.. I 3pm go out wearing jackets!! Sweat also hack care.. Ppl must be thinking that imma crazy!!

Oh paisan Split &Angie, I don't mean use scoth tape to tape the liner, just fold twice and put inside the diaper can already. With baby's weight , it won't move and is secure. Folding twice makes it like 4 layers of liner between baby's bum &diaper.

Split, must warm ebm from fridge, ideal at 37 which is our body temperature for bb. Cold milk w cause air/wind for bb.

Kay, after applying purélan, it's still good to wear breast pads. I've never used breast shields before so dunno how they work.

Cloud, how can mense come so fast? Lochia also includes fresh red stuffs right.

Apple:- yup I got water retention.. Cos all water store during preg go down to my foot cos I keep walking & standing the first few days after discharge.. E.g bring bb go polyC 3days ina row..

Now improving cos I lift my foot up during slp & more bed rest..

kaykay

wow.. u really li hai lo.. the way ur grandma prepared for ur confinement, can see that she cares abt u even though she is nagging. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh yes, so would you continue to stay with ur grandma?

Yeah I still got warm the milk using warmer but think only slightly warm.

Just wonder if too hot the antibodies in the milk will die or not? Since antibiotic need to be kept in fridge too

Angie, haiz... He's a milk monster (new nick given by me)...

Jane, well.. No idea if boy's appetite is greater than girl.. He drinks more than my girl.. My girl drinks 4hrly when she's from 3 weeks onward, whereas my boy still drinking milk from 1.5 - 3 hrly...

Oh JaneH, yes, do clean the diaper of any poo first if any, just wipe wipe the stains a bit but I wouldn't worry too much coz the Poo is on the nappy liner which u r gg to throw away anyway. Besides when u put in the new liner which is folded twice, it's like 4layers of liner between baby's bottom & the diaper so I think that's still ok.

Bbpoohfamily, I also use cup & thermos of hot water to warm ebm ;) just pour hot water, pop in the bottle & serve. Now the amount of cold milk is little, the challenge comes when ebm gets more, i'd be curios to know which is faster to warm up.btw, I use those cup w metal insulated lining.

Cloud, did u take black fungus? It also expels lochia & may be fresh blood.

Dolly

now my girl is taking around 50-100ml depending on her appetite. these few days dunno why took 40-50ml then stopped. after 1 hrs, cried for milk again.. sometimes really tiring esp at night.

so we gave her gripe water.. hopefully the condition will improve.

arisz, dr chua going on leave? no leh, she never tell me. what was her advise to you? induce?

Kay, yeah need to air, if not cannot heal.

Starflower: hee ook will learn from u...double fold...

Dolly: haa milk monster...but great that he can consume more...but how much he drink per feed?

Jane: ya! Mine too...feed quite often esp at night...think cos he fell asleep halfway...then put him down to sleep he awake agn...u experienced this? I have to do this repeatedly for quite a few times...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kay, now that u have the purélan, when baby latch on ( tho u shouldn't & should pump so it has time to heal), when baby wanna suck, u wait for the moment his mout open wide then push in, don't let him just grab the nipple. When he sucks, since the purélan is oily, u follow the momentum & slide more of your nipple in. Go closer to baby, his stomach touching your stomach if u do the normal cross hold position. Sometimes I squeeze her face into my breast until almost 1line between mouth & breast, don't worry they can breathe wont choke her coz there w b a triangle formed at the base of the nostrils to let air in.

Speaking of choke, I nearly gagged her today when my letdown came. So I quickly slide my butt & sit lower, resting more on my upper butt so she is naturally tipped higher than my nipple. Milk flowing against gravity will slow down.

Starfruit/starflower:- so nw I hv the cream, wad shld I do wif the breast shells? Hmms..

Can use it den wait for it to dry on my skin den put on the breast shell? Will do?

Jane:- lolx.... Tis kind of things wher gt li hai anot.. Is up to personal if waana abide the rules only.

My grandma cooks red longan dates 1pot for me + fish soup + pork meat + soup.. Strictly no chicken.. & vinger trot she also prepare.. Hmms good for my confinement!!

@angie: my gal oso has this problem..drink a bit le den end up zzz. put her to bed, 1hr wake up crying n gotta feed her again. and de cycle repeats.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] everytime she drinks like very breathless gonna vomit type of face.. hb says mayb she cant digest fast enough.

arhhg so angry with my mil... she keep saying i cant bath my girl so she said she will bath her..starting she came my house bath..den now everyday wanna carry her thru and from my place to her place just to bath her..today raining i told her dun have to bring over my hubby already learn how to bath her le she still came over..told her rainning she keep saying nvm...even though is only next block but i still dont wan my girl to go out cuz is raining and she's been sneezing mah..i should have just bath her myself......

Why confinement cannot eat chicken? Hmm. I drink black chicken soup and wine chicken with sesame oil..

Split: I hope mine is lochia too.. It's bright red, look like menses..

Auroa: no idea if mil put dang gui. But doubt so, I can't stand herbal smell, so far my meals are non herbs.

Warmer: so, I should get one as well? I think I'm getting the warmer.. Any mummies know how much? Dunno go motherhood fair got any freebies not. I'm concern with wad split says too.. Will it kill the antibodies?

Bbpooh: I'm contemplating too. Dunno if should get thermos and heat or get avent.. Need to save $ sia.

cloud warmer not very ex..erm im not sure abt avent one how much im using a no brand one bot from kiddypalace during my no 2 till now still using it quite lasting..but it took abt 5min den can warm up the milk in the bottle from fridge..kaykay was saying that avent took only a few second if u wan one fast one maybe u might wanna consider avent..

Thank you split!! Will decied later when going back to work..

Mummies, when do u start pumping for stock up? To prepare when we're back to work?

Angie, sunflower, Jane: yes!! My Bb also keep waking up during night.. Very tiring. Mine seem more settle during noon time, active at night and can't settle at wee hours!

Sunflower: very tiring ar...sth I get so frustrated...feed till I fall asleep myself...erm u may wish to bring her to check with the pd?

Cloud: I dunno abt avent but the pigeon one won't kill the antibodies if u put at 40 deg...got diff temp.

Re: warming of ebm

Speaking of that...won't using boiling water while we are outside kill the antibodies in the bm?

Split: your mil is very stubborn ar...can unstd how u feel...mine also have alot of suggestions for bb...though I know her intentions are kind but I just feel very irritated during this period to heed any advices.

Thanks mummies for your well wishes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elbarc, you inducing tomorrow ? I am still thinking if should admit tomorrow or wait until contraction set in. My gynae said I don't have to go to her just admit directly.

bbpoohfamily, my mum and the medical halls staff said tat dang gui bu blood, so not advisable to take too early after delivery. Maybe CL put alot tat i bu till heavy menses.. after i stopped taking dang gui then the heavy menses starts to go off ... i had heavy menses tat time for nearly a mth leh.

I'm been having constant contractions since noon.. causing headaches/backaches and lower abdominal pain.. really xian and not sure whether it's labour soon or just another false alarm.

I've gotten a small tyre for seating purpose, actually it's given to me by my HB cousin. Not sure if it have help in opening my cervix as i start using it this week and my gynea did mentioned that my cervix is slightly open.

My gynea ask me to admit into Mt A directly on this coming Sun for induce.

Sunflower:- My boy A also starts to have tis trend, from 3hrs feed to 2.5hr..bfeed awhile contented & slp.. Den burp him he give a "xin ku' face.. Drinking also breathless.. As if take in a lot of air..choke tio milk lyk tis.. Den wake up v soon den wanna be fed again.. Hard to catch long nap like tis.. -_-!

Cloudpoem:- Confinement can't take chicken cos its considered 'tu' (poisonous) .. As in the content.. I just abide.. Only pork & fish daily..

I bought my avent warmer + ster in a bundle kind

@ 188.. If warmeer only I guess during fair shld be less den 60$ ba..

Heat up really fast & got lvl 1, 2 & 3 to adjust..

I put 3 immediate warmed!!

Auroa,

Hmm, ok, i see if mine like that or not as CL prepare the dang gui soup again today.

Cloud,

if you wan save $, can consider my method, it is quite easy and save cost, if you wan to speed up the warming, just change the hot water again after a short while, otherwise just let it sit for a while. Also save electricity...

@angie: ya lor, will ask de pd tmr since going for her jaundice review.. the prev checkup, pd alr mention feed too little.. she was like.. "you dun wan yr gal to grow ah?" sian 1/2..

@kaykay: ya man.. every nite hb will be like "wad do u wan bb? dun wan milk already?" i was like.. duh.. as if she can reply you in full sentence, lol. My gal cry is like screamg her lungs out lor. She vomited once too.. so a bit scared to overfeed her.. yet at de same time dunno she under nourished a not.. Haiz.

Sunflower: your pd so low EQ...dun care abt him...persist on...ss will increase eventually.

Cloud: super tiring ar? I also got terrible neck ache as I keep looking down due to bf'ing.....

Bbpooh & cloudpoem:

I also use a cup to warm the milk. Sometimes i take the milk out earlier so that it isn't too cold or that we'll take too long to warm the milk. Esp when i can anticipate around what time baby will drink. When i'm out, i'll also use the cup and hot water to warm the milk..dun need to bring warmer around.

do any of you experience your baby sounding snorty or sound like they have mucus when they're drinking milk? she's ok when she's sleeping, but when drinking milk or sometimes crying, she sounds like there's mucus inside but i can't see it in her nostrils.

Cloud, it's the same for my bb, sleepy during day, active at night. Babies w take a while to switch over to our day & night.

Aura, lilFly, Elbarc, hang in there, can see baby soon lo!

Angie, if soak in boiling water from outside, after maybe say 10-15 seconds should b able to serve (depends how cold ur ebm was when u put it in). Boiling water at 100deg won't be able to bring ur milk to boil obviously coz there is no heat source, it starts losing heat once contained in a cup for you. So all u need to do is after a few seconds, drip on inner wrist, if ebm still cold, put it back in the water. If too hot, take it out immediately, leave on table to cool before serving. U don't Wana scald baby's tongue.

If u only ask for warm water, it may take ages to warm up ur cold ebm, by that time I think bb scream until sore throat already heheee

So anyway, if u do bring out ebm, pls ensure it's in a cold insulated bag. I use avents w ice block inside. done properly the antibodies will still be alive.

Ebm in fridge can only last 48 hours, some books say even 3-5 days but doesn't state what temperature. My normal fridge at 4degrees I only keep 3 days (76 hours) exactly from time I pumped. If it smells sour, definitely throw! Weather so hot, on our open table can't survive more than 2-3 hours.

Skye Skye, happened to my #1, it's actually coz his throat is still small, will cause the sound. There is actually no mucus. PD say when he grows up a bit more, when he drinks then it flows thru properly the sound w disappear. But of course that is from my experience, if u r worried, can check w PD.

Ebm warming- ya use a good thermos, I put boiling water in it. At nite CL take out fm fridge, dip in, change her diaper, take bottle out, test temp ok and serve, bb finish faster on bottle, after 1 min, she burp & lights off! Can sleep another 2-2.5hrs. Then I'll just sleep 4 hourly get up pump once 5-7 mins done go sleep. After CL leaves think I w lie side by side to just latch, no need to get up to pump.

Skye, I hv e same Q, but I hv clarify with PD. Actually they r still young, they hv to direct the air traffic to air passage & milk to the throat & stomach so u'll hear the wheezing sound when they gulping the milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I hear wheezing I worried sia..PD hear the lungs told me my boy is alright this is just a signal, nothing to worry. Partly also my ss is flowing fast, he sometimes gotta gulp fast to catch up the flow..poor boy. So now if b4 feeding I feel engorge i'll pump 60ml out first then latch.

Mummies, KP sale starts today! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kay, I bought my medela purelan from there today.

Janice, are you due already so ur gynae asked u to induce?

Elbarc, sounds like your contraction started? I don't feel anything yet. Just headache and some giddyness.

Talking to my bb to let me sleep thru the nite as korlor was born around midnight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my bb has tired everyone @ home, refuse to nap/sleep after milk from 4pm till now... how long does growth spurt going to take? he seems to be having growth spurt since week 2 till now...

Little Fly: I am overdue so gynea ask me to go induce this Sun. Should have went today but hb dun like Friday 13th. So next available date is this coming sun.

Hopefully can natural birth by tomorrow. Dun need to induce. Heard that induce need to poke needles, am most afraid of it.

Mind telling me what is KP sales?

I thought we cannot put in boiling water to heat ebm? Will kill all the nutrients? Warm water should be fine.

Starflower u should consider getting a FTG to transport ur ebm. FTG can keep cold very well.

o... Thanks for the information on KP sale. What's FTG and EBM? Am 1st time mum to be, so clueless seeing all these short term. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a warmer never use it at all!! Cos i always use warm water to warm faster lah n save electricity too. Maybe should dig out my warmer n try.