(2011/05) May 2011

Little fly: I heard can eat durian during confinement coz its heaty food. But I'll prefer to stay away coz in case of sore throat cannot even drink herbal tea. So better wait after confinement then eat.

Jane, he will cry for milk between 1.5 hr to 3 hrly..

Apple, he has not go for for his review.. 2kg consider obsess? Omg! But how to stop from feeding him?

CloudPoem - u very xin fu [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] MIL cook a feast to feed u ler..haha..ok la, eat more so can have more ss. I guess once u tbf, u will slim down quite fast.

Dolly - not sure ler..coz that time my gal gain 1.5kg, PD said too much. Must watch the frequency of feeds wor. Anyway there will be 1 month review on Hep B jab rite? U check with PD see how lo..

Kay, usually NB we don't use powder..use lotion instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Oh yes, I don't wrap my bb in the afternoon unless aircon room. Once I bring him out from aircon, I'll unwrap the swaddle.

kaykay, not advisable to use powder for NBs, esp scented powder as some bbs sensitive (like inherit sinus) and not good to their nose. If really need to use, use starch powder (i use pureen brand) but only at 6mths old for my no1 tat time. Actually use a damp cloth to wipe often and dry it and keep bb cool will prevent heat rashes.

Kay avent has liquid talc or gerber has cornstarch powder use these instead. Dun use normal powder not good if they inhale it as the particles will be in the air.

Cloud good tat mil cook feast for u lah. Need to bu!

Kaykay: Breastfeeding

How are you unlatching him? You pullling him off directly? If so, you're causing much damage to your nipple. What you should do is to use your little finger to insert into the side of his mouth so that the suction is broken then you unlatch him.

If he keeps pulling your nipple while feeding, the milk flow could be too slow so he's trying to get more milk. You can compress your breast so that more milk flows out.

The website below has lots of information about breastfeeding and solutions to common problems. Might be worth a read. It also comes with diagrams and videos so you might find it helpful.

http://www.drjacknewman.com/breastfeeding-help.asp

Oh, and Kaykay, you can stimulate him to keep suckling by stroking the skin behind his ear or nudge the bottom part of his chin. Other alternatives can be to massage the bottom of his foot and his palms, if he's not swaddled.

Kay if u always get abrasion n pain high chance still not latching well. If latch correctly no pain at all. Initial breastfeeding may get milk when u let down its tingling sharp pain sensation. This is initial let down pain will improve after time. U need to unlatch bb everytime he dun latch correctly, this is to train him to latch prperly.

And forgot to add earlier.

HOLA LADIES! I've finished giving birth and survived 8 days with bb! Hee... Hope everyone's doing fine. =)

Thanks! So far so good. Good thing her dad is at home since i gave birth last week so at least she got some attention from him. Next week will be a challenge when he goes back to work...

How are you doing?

Any mommies experience late labour? My EDD is 11 May 2011 but till today, nothing leh.

Went to gynea today and he say bb look fine, suggest to induce on coming Sunday.

Hannah & starfruit:- nt I unlatch him the wrong way, is he suckle a few times & stop.. Den he wants me to pull out my nipple abit den he pull back suckle (a bad habit).. Now my nipples is longer cos of these.. He is quite awake thou & doing this thruout.. Tickle him not much use.. Perhaps is lyk what hannah said, my milk flow nt smooth yet.. But sometimes when my supply is high, I see he suckle till mouth outside gt leak abit..

& the bleeding part is the tip top of the nipple..

But now gt improvement in terms of my supply..

Today, I cried for the first time after giving birth to him.. I know I shldnt do that.. But my grandma keep mock & discourage me, keep saying ' u no milk la u no milk la! That's why he keep crying nonstop.'.

She keep say my milk nt enough to kip up with A demand, when I put A down after he 'slp' after I bfeed him for 1hr++. She say huh how come so long? U no milk isit? Keep let him suck & suck till no milk & he mouth v tired of sucking ley!! I keep encourage myself & pump 3-4hrly..

The prob is bfeed starting baby need learn what! Latch 1hr is common loh! Iniately I latch 2hrs! Now improve to 1hr alrd..

Hais! Really cry till I scold but can't! I sarcastically tell her I am engaging a lactation consultant tml!! So angry & cried over all her comments this 6days! Daily & every 3hrly, she keep say : u no milk la, go & make him FM!!

I und and of cos more worried abt my baby feds, I know when I suppose to top up when he really cries nonstop after I latch him for 1hr++. But her words.. Haiss..

Only can keep telling myself, hang on! I will prove her wrong!!

Re: bleed nipple & nipple cream..

Other den kiddy palace, what other brand/places have it?? I don't wanna go so far inconvient & gt aircon..

Wastons got sell any? I went guardian but they don't sell..

Gosh day 12 already Kenna blocked ducts, fever 2 nights 38-39 degrees, everybody's feeling hot like crazy and I'm shivering in my blanket. Some stuff I should have done:

1) change to looser bra - bra too tight

2) at night sleep must change position often so won't get stuck on 1 side

3) before latching or pumping, massage breasts to loosen up all the ducts for easier flow.

Amazing, it's only 2years since I stopped breastfeeding and already I've forgotten all these hehee major panic when I pumped like crazy today (level4 on PISA) and only came out 30ml when 4 hourly I w get 140ml. Then I know major jam at the back coz I fell into deep sleeping lying flat and didn't move at all after 4am pump. Lucky baby to the rescue.

Just to share also, baby's lower jaw is the strong suction part. My blocked duct is left boob on top where bra strap is. So to unblock, I lie her on bed and I climbed on top of her in the opposite way such that her lower jaw is in line w my bra strap. After 2 rounds, blocked duct cleared. Altho I love lying down side by side w bb, had to save myself today. CL see me shivering she say she w tell her daughter don't breastfeed, but I told her it's good for immunity, so 4 months maternity leave still can try lah.

Kaykay,

stay strong! that's why the older ppl always say when baby cry (whether they are tired or hungry), that baby wants to drink milk and our milk not enough.

It could be that baby is latching on for too long that's why nipples are very sore & bleeding. I only latch bb twice a day and my nipples are so sore too. breastfeeding is painful :S I use a nipple protector though...cos baby can't seem to catch the latch..so i can struggle with her for as long as 1/2hr till i want to break down.

If u're going to the lactation consultant at the hosp tmr, can buy from there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hang on!

And I pump out lyk a few drops iniately she mocked at me sarcastically!! Now gt improvement I pump 15mins ea side gt 10-20ml.. I walk to the kitchen with that 20ml, she mocked at me again & say 'wah, so less! Baby A eat what??'

Super mad! But luckily imma that kind of person that will get more motivated cos of sarcasms..

Kay: be strong.. U have to be strong for little A.. I know how u feel when u keep getting negative comments from ur own family... U know u're doing the right thing than honor and press on..

Breastfeeding is so beneficial for infants, why should we stop? It's not that u do not have milk, it's just that little A and urself has alot more to learn... He's learning to suckle and u're learning to latch him. Don't cry, after birth cam be very emo, dun get urself too depressed than milk supply drop. Turn a deaf ear if nothing helps.

Jis you, Kay. We're with u. It's a blessing that u have milk to give A. Continue. When u work, does ur company allows u to pump?

Hi Kay, jiayou don't give up. Breast ed babies don't fall sick so often so keep going, older generation won't understand. U need medela purelan it's the thickest I know that works wonders. Total no feel and heels fast. Guardian watsons don't have. Try spring maternity, takashimaya, KP, isetan, hospitals could have also.

Starflower: Aiyo, ur case sound like breast infection leh.. I got this block duct fever with my #1, gotto rush to 24hr clinic.. My breasts were red, hard and hot!! Doc gave me antibiotics and ask me stop bf. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But u very smart, know the way of solving block du TS.. I was a goondo than~

Ya btw, my milk didn't kick in until 5-6 day, so during that time j gave formula and gave it away once milk came in. Remember to breastpad, I find pigeon breastpad is the best, soft and no abrasion with ur bra to hurt u more ( avent & medela are so scratchy like plastic!)

Bb learning to latch, it took me 1 month to latch my #1. during that time I pump every 3 hour and cup feed. So much work but persisted. Reason being left nip is flat but right nip is longish. Longish is easier for baby to latch on, so my LC tell me to massage the breast and pull out the nipple, make pointed pointed so easier for bb, of course w lanolin first. Don't keep washing ur nips, it makes it dry and when baby latch w tear and bleed. Lanolin keeps the moisture in the nip so it w never tear.

If blood is in your pumped milk, don't throw bb can take a little bit. Normally it w sink to the bottom of the bottle, u can also filter to another bottle before feeding.

Wat starflower say is correct. If u have block duct, u can poition bb so the block duct is resting at bb's chin position. massage hard while bb suck and it will clear the ducts. Once clear wont have any pain. And YES pls massage breast well before n after each feed so milk ducts will open n milk flow easier out n wont be block. n dun wear bra with underwire cos will cause block ducs too. all the best n hang in there. It will get better.

Kay tell ur grandma tat doc ask u to bf. I learn tat this 'doc say' works very well with older folks. As long as A is peeing/ pooing n gaining weight, ur bm should be enuff for him. Wat u see from ur pump session is not accurate cos bb can extract much more milk from ur breast as compared to your pump. U r feeling very emtional now with maybe a bit of post natal blues try n cheer up n hang in there. I was also crying the entire mth of confinement for my #1 cos was also struggling with bfing initially but i succeeded in the end n i think u can too.

Maybe i was lucky my MIL understand abt bfing n was very encouraging and it was my mum who was sceptical then haha but my mil convinced my mum tat its good to bf!

Thanks cloudpoem/starfuit/starflower for the encouragement! Imma using breast shield ftm now..nt wearing bra at all.. Could it be my shirt rubbing against my nipple??

Cloudpoem:- imma a sahm but gg back work right after my confinement.. Find jobs at my friend side at rws..

Starflower:- ok I will get ur recommended nipple cream, btw hw much isit??

Starfruit:- no use, I keep say 'doc say its norm for xx/my friend & a lot mummies say xx', they keep demoralize me by saying 'aiya, everything doc say doc say, ur friend say ur friend say'.. Mad die me!!

Btw I did use warm cloth to massage my breast before pump/latch to simu. flow..It helps a lot really..

I guess I really have to turn a deaf ear to her.. If one day I explode will be the day I shout at her.. =P

Hannah: looks like u are bz w ur mei mei. U register bc liao? I still haven't settle name yet

Kaykay: ur place near polyclinic? Their pharmacy got sell

Kay, hang on there ok. With my first one, i also got a lot of comments from mum n mil lor. They say my milk not enuf la, must give FM la. in the end, i stupidly gave in and my boy was never 100% BF. That time, i cry often too plus having prob with mil also made things worse.

This time round, i dunno whether i will BF successfully. But after the first one, think i have grown stronger emotionally. Hopefully i can BF 100% and not succumb to any sacarstic remarks and cry all the time.

Hi Janice

We are in the same shoes! Edd 11 may n overdue. Tmr then c gynae n see what she says. Sigh! Think tmr will hv to do VE again. Pain pain..

Congrats to all mummies who had popped!

Wow, really good information on BF. Must KIV all this info.

Yeah, don't bother about what other ppl say re no milk/bb cry cos hungry. Really hate it. Must also relax so the milk will come in. Last time when BF my #1 I also keep getting negative comments, then put cold cabbage cos blocked ducts, then give up BF. So mummies must jia you wor!

I am still waiting for my turn - EDD 17. But today feeling a bit hyper. Maybe like the last burst of energy before going to pop.

My girl curl her tongue upwards when trying to latch so every single time she gets frustrated and refuses to latch. I'm pumping every 2 hrly to stimulate my boobs and told the nurses to bring her to me to latch whenever she needs feeding. My mil saw the difficulty n my perseverance so she never say anything abt giving up coz everytime I pump she saw more milk. Hang in there ladies!! Don't give up.

The one wrong thing I did was prob to use formula to supplement her on the 2nd day. She got use to the nipple on the bottle. I'm having the same prob that both my nipple too short.

Qn.. Pisa or freestyle? I need to get a pump... Thanks!!!

Jo:- thanks for the encouragement! Imma gonna show them I got milk!! And I gonna throw away that tim of FM sooner or later!! I want TBF him once I can show them my boy is contented wif my supply in 40mins!!

V:- yah! I also hanging in there, I just pump when she feed A fm, my ah ma was lyk 'huh? No milk pump what shyt??'. I told her off by saying 'THIS is to build up MY SUPPLY! Must pump on time, even if it mean that I bfeed 1hr++ + 40ml of FM(they insist bb nt full).. I still keep on pumping..

Just pump finished, gt improvement!! Now get 20ml in 30mins from both breast..! Hope tml night will be 40ml!!

Starfruit – many people tell me #2 can come earlier so I just prepare everything earlier just in case. Did you gynae suggest to induce? 3.1 kg is a good weight already...

Bubble_pearl /Jenny – most probably the durian craving would go away as sleep craving would set in by then… [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kay – wow, you can tahan this hot weather. I already told my hubby to smuggle cold water/drink for me to me if the weather is unbearable. I found this pigeon compact powder (white) selling in KP. KP staff recommended this as it would not create the fluff like the convention type of baby powder. Maybe can give it a try? As for BF, maybe your grandma prefer you to rest more

Oh yes, I also swear by medela purelan previously. Think my #1 last time also latch incorrectly, so painful to BF each time, cracked nipples, bleeding and all that crap so give up after a while. Hope this time I can do better but I will take it easy.

Kaykay

Hang on.u r doing great now,juz bear in mind dat watever we do is for the benefit of our kid.don't bother abt wat ur grandma said,treat it as she is singing (not a good song, I know).first month of bf is hard,but once u pass it,the milk ss will b stable.

The other way to avoid listening to all the grumbles,may b don't let ur grandma see when u bf?sometimes elderly like to see how much milk is pumped or how we bf bb.may b by not seeing she won't hav so much complains.

@kaykay: jiayou..at least yr milk supply is coming in. mine alr day 12, still at 10-20ml. super demoralize. now trying to make myself pump 2-hourly. jus finished pumping and again, 20 ml [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] worse, while cleaning up, i accidentally push the bottle and milk all flow out.. haiz super heart pain.

Just finished my pumping... Next session at 6am..yawns...

Kaykay, pls do not stress Yourself. Bb an feel the stress when u are stressed up urself and this can affect ur milk ss really badly. Just turn and go if anyone discourages u, these are just noises and never constructive advices.

Xuanmin:- thanks for ur encouragement! Imma now more relax as my milk increasing..

Sunflower:- yah! When I pumped out initately I see 10ml so pathetic, den I accidentally didn't saw & push my pump fall den milk fall out! It was lyk so precious to me! My hardwork!! I can und ur feeling!! Heartpain..

Littlefly:- yah, hope I can tahan till end of confinement! Left 3weeks!! I will go get the cream tml!!

Jane:- Can't loh, she almost 24hrs 'MONITORING' my actions & supply. I pump in toilet she also wanna kpo. I nv talk to her & bring my 20ml expressed bm to kitchen put warm she also see le say: lolx so like ?! Hw to feed baby fully??

Kaykay, can understand how u feel.. i also went thru it during my no1 times. Lucikily for me, i din break down in front of my inlaws/CL when they made those remarks like "little/diulated BM/EBM... bb poor thing can't drink enough and losing weight" , etc. My no1 weighted 2.5kg at birth and gained 300g at full mth. Those old folks must be thinking this mummy so heartless not to supplement w FM and poor child not gaining weight. I only cried in the rm when inlaws are gone or CL went to sleep.. it's really emotional ride during tat time (we can't control it as after delivery, we tends to be more emotional).

Persist on.. can see tat u have determination and yr supply is slowly increasing. My supply increases after 1mth and it's very satisfying to see from my inital pump of miserable 5ml to 180ml per pump and on TBF from 2nd mth onwards (even my hubby said tat it's ok to supplment with FM and even prepared FM while i warm up my EBM to feed my bb.. fighting w me to feed my girl leh.. so angry w him tat time). Tahan for awhile and u will see yr results soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah, congrats!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower, 1st my gynae prescribed me meds at day 6 after delivery to increase my supply (stopped meds after confinement). 2nd, i drank one big bowl of soup, plus vegs, meats and rice(it's the soup bowl type per meal (lunch and dinner). 3rd, i drank lots of red/longan dates for my drinks (a big pot made by my hubby during my hospital stay and after tat made by CL). 4th, a bottle of bird essence warmed up for breakfast and a bowl of mian sian w soup for breakfast. 5th, lots of plain water (think i almost drown myself w water bah). 6th, latching every 2 hrs and after tat, pump every 1hr after latching. Supply = demand (very tiring till i BF till i fall asleep w bb in my lap).

Supply goes up very steadily.. Just by pumping, 1st mth from 5ml to 50ml, then 2nd mth, average got 60ml to 100ml and it went up accordingly. On average, TBF have to pump at least 3 times a day (after going back to work.. 1 time before leaving the house to work, 2 times in the office (during lunch time and late afternoon (sometimes too busy at work and hve to forgo it). In additonal, i put my girl near my workplace so tat i can BF her during lunch hr (but hor, the staff din like it as i visiting almost everyday thou they said tat it's ok to BF her during lunch when i enrolled her). My EBM is for the infant care centre to feed my girl when i'm unable to pop by or her daily needs.

I cut her off FM when she was 2nd mth onwards... my hubby grumble when he see the FM tin half open going to waste and hve to throw but i dun care. He nagged at me alot bcos at one go, he went to purchased abt 3 tins of infant FM and hve to throw away... i know tat he sometimes gave my girl FM when my girl cried in the nite and he din want to wake me up and made FM for her... althou out of goodwill but i still mad at him for doing tat. I consolded him telling tat i save him lots of $$$ by BF leh.

BF really tiring but rewarding as bb falls sick less frequent except infection fr infant care lor. I also feel tat BF bbs got better skin too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower, just read up tat u pump at 20ml on average. U also have direct latch on, right? If so, u might hve more BM than u think leh. I heard fr my nursing colleagues tat water and carbo is the main elements for increasing supply (we din take supplements like the freekgek (think spell something like tat) to increase our supply)... trying drinking lots of soup (fish w papaya is the best)/water/red dates drinks) as much as u can.

I also experience knocking the milk bottles w EBM when rushing/sleepy and knocking it almost all off... really feel like crying lor. Dun stress yrself... stress also a factor tat will decrease yr supply.

Auroa

I agree with u that supply=demand and also must drink loads of fluid to replenish the lost fluids from bf. Luckily, I m a great fan of soups and water, so I literally drown myself with drinking keke...I also agree tt TBF babies hv better skin! My #1 has eczema and I did not mnage to TBF her for more than 3 mths, her eczema acted up quite badly over the year until only recently at 30mths then sort of clear off...

Wah, u even go to the infant care centre to bf baby?? That's really hard work! Too bad my workplace is not v near to my bb's future IFC..

Sunflower

I think u shod not worry bat how much u can pump out. Like wat auroa says, just latch bb on as often as u can, pump out any excess to empty the breasts even if it is 20ml. This will signal brain to make more milk for bb. As long as ur bb puts on weight, u shld not worry too much..jiayou!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kaykay

I used to hv the same experience as u.. My previous CL wlll make such comments like "wah, so little??" so upset esp I need to walk to the kitchen every time to wash the pump parts and store the milk...and she kept forcing me to supplement with fm cos bb kept crying,,,I gave in to stress and pressure, so did not succeed. This time got anew CL, she's so pro-bf and encouraging, makes papaya fish soups for me everyday...it makes such a difference...no worries bat supply, u only into week 1. Gd to see u are so determined, this time me too, so got so much more milk..I m in week 3 le, still establishing milk ss..slowly increasing everyday..yday managed 650ml added up whole day...every pump still ard 100-120ml.. So u can also do it, gambetti!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly

Wow, so little W is now abt 5kg? That's quite a feat! Do u supplement with FM or on TBF ? I was wondering how much my gal can put on since she on TBF..

Morning all mummies.. Been bs with my exam past few days last paper on Monday hope those thing I study wunt flow out of my brain.. Felt that aft gif birth totally mo memory sigh..

Anyway talking abt milk supply, anyone using medela mini plus?? Notice it cant really clear my breast sometime after pumping still feel some lump can't really soften the breast..

Increase bm: mummis might wanna note thT drinking alotbot water, soup and eating fish help alot in increasing of bm supply. Try to pump like 30-45min after each meal usually supply will be the most during that period I notice. Manage to pump abt 80ml from each side now and after food can pump abt 100 a side. But I don't latch on during the day cuz dun wan my girl to slp too much during day time she suck like 10min from nipple she will go into her wonderland le so I only latch at might.. Night time in only pump once at 12mn and once in the morning at 6 so is like 6hr part and the supply will drop instead of 100 can only pump like 60 each side..