(2011/05) May 2011

Wow Kaykay u power the weather these days r a killer n u can tahan really peifu u I'm trying very hard to bath only once daily n in the afternoon only but already can't take ite so sweaty leh the breast pad also wet wet n is not milk is sweat

little fly, my no1 confinement mth was March/April tat time and superb hot.. even on aircon also can sweat, eat/drink also sweats alot.. so need to replace lots of fluids and i really love soups.. the red dates drinks ok lah.

little fly, u in hospital now? Take care and keep us updated. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angie, if i din remember wrongly, EBM was given in the evening when the supply seems to be very low during the 1st 3mths. EBM was also set aside for my hubby to nite fed her (incase i can't get up.. which i sometimes really can't..too tired but hor, my husband said tat need to wait EBM to warm up and my girl already crying tat he choose FM.. actually he also wants to feed fast and go back to sleep lah). I pumped last time of the day ard 11pm++ and went to sleep and got up ard 5am to express.. i find tat pumping in the morning really gives alot of supply (maybe bcos i sleep longer time and stretch the pumping time.. sometimes pain/leaking tat wakes me up to pump). Another tip is tat while pumping also drinks water.. in and out bah.

After tat my supply can meet her (she drank abt 100ml to 120ml after tat).. i mixed the EBM to her solids when she was almost 6mths old and discarded those tat i pumped (majority throwed as when she's in IFC, she drank abt 200ml plus i go over to BF her during lunch time).

Jane, the IFC is abt 10mins walk fr office, so still okie lah. And also wu bu fan xin to put her there and often go there to monitor and BF her at the same time. I glad tat i did bcos i found tat some of the staff not really attentive to bbs loh.. althou ratio said tat 1:3 but later i found out fr the staff there got increase in enrollment and bb's ratio is 1:5.. i always found my girl teary teary eyes when i visited her.. the staff can't handle so many bbs loh tat i took her out after 5mths there and i applied 6mths NPL to care for her and at 14th mths, i found another IFC (ratio is 1:2) near my home and put her there which she is more happier.. by that time, i slowly off BF and she's on FM.. so easier transactions for me and her when i went back to work after tat.

Bunnymum, ic.. if u know the method on how to further open the cervix, share w me leh. I diluated 1cm abt 2 weeks ago but things doesn't seem to get moving for me. Sian liao.

Diaper cloths: I used diaper cloths during my no1 times. Really saved alot of diapers $$$. Made my CL use it and she complaints alot. Initally i have 36pcs but lately i took out to wash and discovered i only hve 13pcs liao. I suspected she throwed away my diaper cloth bcos she really hated washing the diaper cloths and always scolded my girl for pooing/peeing after she changed her and even commented tat she's drinking BM tat results lots of poos/pees. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubble: I also have some small size diapers but thought more economical to buy nb ones or start using cloth ones...

Starflower: ohh diaper liners must tape? Nv use before...wondering how to use...

btw, i went for CTG this morning.. got very mild contractions and after tat i can go back liao. Dun know whether today is friday, 13th.. i forgot my wallet and i told the nurse tat i will make the payment next time and they okie with it. Forgot to check whether got wallet as my husband drove me there this morning... luckily i got my MRT card with me.. as i walked towards the Orchard MRT, experienced contractions tat gave me backache.. haiz.. just my luck.. think abt half an hr, the contractions seems to "die" off liao.

Now back at home and dun know whether go out and buy/eat lunch. Haiz.

Starfruit, Apple

How many pieces does nepia nb hav? How much per pack?

Re:diaper

I think I m the most stingy mum here.I bought the cheapest one, so far I c petpet nb is cheapest.quality ok,can hold 4hrs or more sometime.but not as soft as mp.

Auroa,

U sleep thru and only pump in the morning, ok? I missed my 3 hr pump yest nite, suppose to pump at 2.30am but couldn't wake up, only pump at 4am, aly feel a bit engorged and pain, milk like cannot flow out. How to tahan till so long?

Angie

Re:cloth diaper

I m using bumwear for my #1.but got min weight of 5kg for its one size diaper.so I got to buy another brand which min weight is 3kg,cheaper somemore but dunno good or not.

How much is its?

Kaykay

Re:sore nipple

Just now I saw a nipple protector used for breastfeeding n itz only 9.90!not sure if the function same as the one u hav.may b u can try out.frm the box seems like it is put on nipplen at the same time got teat attached to it for bb to suck

bbpoohfamily, erh, i dun recommend to tahan tat long as sometimes can get very painful/leaking BM. Sometimes the pain really wokes me up despite i really wants to go back to sleep.

u can imagine sometimes got "hard rock breast" and need to use warm towel to cover it (the BM can "shot out" leh and then slowly hand massage it out into a bottle (tat's the worst part) and once it's not so hard, i use my ameda dual pump to pump it out... tahan too long also reduces supply leh... so got to work hard.. for me, i endured the pain till i can't tahan (which is bad bcos it might leads to fever (can't remember the name of it), red, hot breast and burning sensation of not clearing the milk ducts.. luckily i din get it but a friend of mine got it and needs to be treated and told me tat it's even worse than engorgement/hard rock breast feeling).

Alicia, any idea the S size is for which range of weight? my bb estimated 3.5kg now.. dun know whether NB size can fit or better to select S size better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starflower

Re:use of liner

I try this method n it saves a lot of diapers but juz to check,wat if the diaper got poo on it?can wipe n topped it with new liner?

Split

Re:pump

For me,I use medela manual, then find it too tiring.change to mini electric,then find when pumping the other side leaks,so invest in freestyle.

Jane u must fold the Linder bigger usually if the side got poo den I'll throw if can cover up usingvanother piece of Linder den I will not throw

Hi Auroa,

I ordered S size, it's for 4-8Kg. My Bb weight is nw 3.7Kg, i kiasu order bigger ones.. haha

NB is <5Kg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to check mummy that feeding ebm do u all warm the milk after taking out from fridge? Just now the confinement aunty that cook for me tell me ebm dun have to warm one in hospital nurse also ub warm just give from fridge.. And she said Ang mo also feed direct aft taking from fridge.. Is it true can dun warm?

Sh, LC told me after 1-2weeks, the breast will produce to meet our bb's need..so that might explain y ur ss dip a lil. I would expect my ss dip I try not to pump too regular unless engorge. Otherwise, my freezer will be overloded with EBM..haha

Jane, Nepia NB has 60pcs. Per pack $15

@auroa: thanks for de info =) am trying to inc my fluid intake now. so far nvr drink water as advised by mum. 2 more wks till end of confinement.. worried i will giv up BF even before my confinement ends.. =(

Kay, if crack nipples, u need to air to dry, moisture will not help in healing. after u dap with BM, air to dry, its like a wound, dry wound heals faster than moist.

split - I was not not to warm with lukewarm water, just soak in room temp water till the milk become room temp then give bb. This was told when I bf my gal 4yrs back. I use Avent warmer, once the water start to get warm, I switch off.

sunflower - U can still take water, but warm water instead of room temp or cold. Hang on..u will see brighter days once the routine established. Keep latching..

just bought momy poko. think will swich to Nepia too after I finished the pack. Btw, when i check online, they only have NB and S... any idea why is that so?

Jane: I thk bum genius is about $20 for one including shipping...ok quite worth it considered the heavy usage...haa...

Split: Which brand of liner u used? Just fold can already or need to tape?

elbarc, M size onwards u can get from NTUC, when promo, it is cheaper. I think 2 packs for $27.90 only.

Angie, u can buy Pigeon nappy liner..the material quite good and soft. I start using it now to lay on the diaper..let me try out today see how..hehe

Split: Haa I saw that starflower say she got tape le..so I tot must tape...

Apple: I got one box too...haven opened up to see how it looks like...but baby keep moving around it wont go out of place?

Split:- yah, tis weather keep sweating & whole shirt soak wif sweat & smelly I can tahan.. Cos last time I can 1 day bathe once only & 2days wash 1time hair.. =P so whole shirt smelly I ok.. Just make sure clean areas r clean can alrd.. E.g breast areas, V area, wound area, hands & foot..

My ah ma let me wipe body using cloth & HOT water, at hot afternoon.. I tell her - aiya no need la lolx..

Thanks Alicia forth link.. I only getting M and L siezes.. Cux I stock up my diapers during Bb fair. Bought 1 carton S and 1 carton M.. :x

Oh ya mummies,

I think I'm having menses liao. Y sooo fast ar? I'm tbf yet menses so fast here? My #2 came only after 9 months of BF.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] initially thoughts It's lochia? But it's fresh red blood. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] damn sian. Any mummies experience that soon?

Mummies, my gynae said I can wait to admit tomorrow morning morning instead coz so far still no contraction yet. A bit of anti-climax coz I told my colleagues, bosses, friends and prep my parents etc.

Now just waiting... Waiting...

Cloud: soo fast??? My discharge hasn't finish le...gg for your gynae checkup soon? Mine is tml...I m using pigeon one...quite good!

Apple: thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little fly: it is ok...most imptly u have a smooth delivery n bb is healthy...can feast for today! Give yourself a good treat!

Hi ladies, this thread is always moving fast. If I missed 1 day, I have a lot to catch up!

Kay, jia you on your bf! Really not easy on you, but you sure can do it with your determination!

I agreed with Starfruit, investing in a good pump is impt if you are going to bf and go for double pump. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I invested in my freestyle only during my 2nd pregnancy and managed to bf successfully. Good investment!

I also bought the US set which is so much cheaper than local ones![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cloudpoem, wow..so fast? could it be uncleared lochia? i also wanna enjoy menses free during bf days.

I find Avent warmer quite good..I been using since my #1. I heat up ebm, frozen puree & bottle food.

Jane:- ya, I using the kind of teat nipple protector now (avent) de.. It helps a bit but hard to bfeed ba, so I still skin to mouth feed A. shielding it at all times using the protector loh, rubber kind..

Auroa:- btw to top up regarding nepia delivery, they do 1 pack (unopen) to one pack size exchange if the size don't fit..

Those who are using nepia, is it good for night use?

I always use Pampers for night so wondering if it is more cost effective to use nepia instead...

Little fly, go enjoy yourself today..go for a feast during dinner [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u will see your bundle of joy tmr! jia you

woohoo Kay, u really solid! must salute u..I cannot bf when I smell myself with sweat :p I standby boiled ginger water in thermal flask in my toilet, whenever I wanna bf, I must wipe a bit of my body first! I cannot survive with no bath. My sweat like rain drops especially when I change my boy..haha I told my hb am look like hard labour to take care of this boy! faintz

little fly.. will u be going mount A rite? I will be admitting tom too.

Gynae asked me to go his clinic 1st. Not too sure if I need to admit immediately or still can shop around 1st..hehe

For those that induce, do u all do hosp immediately after visiting the clinic?

Little fly, elbarc, both of you going to induce tmr?

If yes, enjoy tonight and have a great feast and rest tonight!

All the best tmr! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angie and apple: my lochia stops awhile than came this menses.. Lochia should be brownish colour by this time but mine feels like menses..

My gynae visit is on 21/5. Cux I went to visit him twice for my piles, hence no need review that fast.

Is it normal ar? So fast menses here, when I'm tbf!!

Starfruit:- bought the nipple cream from medela.. Need to dry my nipple also after applying?? I really need the breast shield on despite using the cream too..

Arisz:- thanks !!

Cloudpoem:- imma using avent ster & milk warm.. Wah the power of the warmer!! Awesome! I put less den 10sec the milk hot le!! Cool!

I use hot water, put bottle in to soak & it will warm e milk, quite fast too, dun really need an electric warmer. E cup u use to put hot water, I rec using those termos type which can retain heat