(2011/05) May 2011

Auroa

Wow, you are really patient. Yes, he embarressed me so much leh. Sometimes he really drives up my nerves. Yap, upbringing is really very important. Now I understand much better liao. Auroa, thanks for sharing. At least now, I will start to learn to handle him more "appropriately". Otherwise, he thought he gets wat he wants easily.

auroa : your tolerance level is good... you can endure her nonsence while out in the public... my girl has now started her nonsense at home.. she will fake crying till her daddy give in...

bubble, is yr boy in cc? my girl previous cc got apple juices, barley, milk, etc served during their snacks... i suspect same as stools.. once they starts to eat solid food, it will hve "smell".. same goes w urine... maybe now more acidic liao...

Will we have anymore scan after the Oscar and the detailed scan? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Auroa

Wow, yr fren very poor thing leh. I told my hubby before, when am disciplining my boy, he cannot interfere. None can interfere. Hahaaa... Haz. Feel so sad sometimes to see how he behaves nowadays. He even talks back, like u said. So upset at times. My ILs not staying with me. But u know, during those festive season esp coming to year end, all the 'act to pamper' come liao.. Like when I scold my boy, my FIL will act say like, nvm la, etc. This time round, I wont give face. I intend to carry my boy to one corner and talk to him. Dun wan anybody to interfere especially these sickening people.

Maybe now am much more experienced liao.. Now am 'lao-chiao' liao. So already know how to handle my own boy. Last time, I felt myself like tortoise like that.

dolly, erh, i think depends on my mood... if i cannot take it, on the spot will smack liao but i'm trying to avoid lah as must give "face" to her and not hurt her feelings... i remember i smacked her infront of her cousins and she din even cry and even gave me the "side" eyes look.. quite hurt look lah, i would said... as she's more expressive now, got to watch out for her feelings loh..

vv, my inlaws will also interfere too... same comment as yr fil too... the more they interfere, the more scoldings/smackings my girl will get fr me... sometimes my inlaws will back off and dare not said anything... my bil is still the best... 1 eyesight and his kids will freeze (he normally will ask his kids to follow him to the room... when they come out got tears but will not cry infront of us... superb leh) and my inlaws dun even dare to move... think i must learn fr him on how to displine my kids more... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa : true lor... that's what i was being treated when i was young too... really don't wish to do the same thing to the lil ones otherwise they will be emotional hurt..

Auroa

Wow!! So li hai ah!! I must learn from your BIL too leh.. But how wor. Must know their weakness then use it against them?

Talk about ILs; I hate their interference. Even my mom interfere, I will also ask her to back off. Otherwise, I will scold her also.

dolly, ya lor... my girl will either give me the "hurt" look or "bite" her lips if she's not happy... dun want to "push" her too hard till she "bottle" herself up...

vv, my bil is a sec teacher teaching maths/PE and cum displine master... so i guess he got experience dealing w the naughty kids lor... i like his method thou my sil feels that he's too strict/harsh at times... personal feel is tat kids young age dun set them right, next time will be diffcult to teach liao... my girl's weakness is her love for TV (she's a TV addict) ... if she's naughty, no TV for 2day... once "punish" her for not watching tv for 3 days... wow, she really "itch" till she guai guai leh... nowadays she enjoys going out w my niece.. if she's naughty, i will cancel the outing and she's confined at home (of course, need to put up w her crying/screaming at home)... think she learnt that if she misbehaves, she will need to answer to her actions lor...

bubble, is yr parent very strict on his diet? another possibities is that his private part not clean properly.. my girl's previous cc bath her once a day... when she comes home in the evening, i can smell her "urine smelly" after she took off her panty.. i suspected that they only spray the water but din clean properly or she sweat till the private area smelly... my guess lah...

Auroa

Oh ok, so no wonder he is good at disciplining the kids. I agree with you. If now dun teach right, its very hard when they grow older. He loves to go to my Mom house. Haaa, I will use this to tell him to behave himself. Else will ground him at home.

Hey, my boy also leh. I suspect they didnt wash his butt and private part properly when bathing. Can smell urine de lo.. And I suspect he cried quite badly as times cos underwear got urine smell. Usually when he cries too hard, he will pee out. Haz... So much abt CC..

auroa : true.. don't wish to push them too hard nor too lax to them either... haiz... it's even more tough for us on how to upbring them without over-pamper them?

I guess 1 key thing abt discipling children is about consistency. We need to be consistent about how we respond to their misbehaviours. My girl was quite obedient before I went to HK. Not much screaming and will follow bed-time routine quite well. After i came back, i realised that she was tantrumming more and will hit people. I observed a little more coz i was concerned that she might just be expressing her displeasure at my leaving her for 5 days. But i quickly discovered that my sister and mother would give in to her when she threw a tantrum. Since then, I've given them instructions that they just leave her alone when she throws a tantrum. At first she kept it up for a while. Later, she realised that nobody was going to respond to her and she guai guai just kept quiet and was ok liao. She's also following the bed-time routine well now. Had a little trouble when i came back coz my mother didn't know how to read to her...

Hannah/Dolly/Auroa

I have to say, our parents & ILs sometimes may be giving us more problems than helping us at times. At times, they are really great help when we need them. But I will see habits changed after a nite or 2 stay at my mom place.

dolly, ya lor.. i always tell my hubby that nowadays i need to outwit my girl.. she's smart but mummy got to be even more smarter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hannah, agree w u... when they throw tantrum, dun give in... i normally will sit/stand aside to observe (but dun let my girl know that i'm looking).. they know that they wun get their way and will eventually guai guai liao... of course, caregivers/hubby/inlaws/parents need to co-operate loh.. my girl knows my inlaws will side her so she will hid behind them but i already told her if she does that again, she will get a smacking fr me once home and grounded for not going out with her cousins/no TV/no fav food/etc...

vv, normally my parents wun interfere when i displine my girl but inlaws will.. even try to pull her away when i'm talking to her but i will pull my girl over to me... since talking to them wun work, i use actions to let them know that i'm displining my girl and dun get involved...my inlaws most of the time will get the message and will keep quiet and once it's over, sayang my girl as if she's so poor thing... cannot stand them... i normally will try to keep the visit short and sharp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if it's bil, they dun dare even move and stand outside the rm door waiting and tell my sil to quickly go in to stop my bil fr smacking his kids.. best part is tat when my bil came out of the rm, they dun even dare to speak up or pat the grandchildren..

I have the following preloved items for sale as I am relocating soon. Pls PM me for more details, thanks!

1. Baby Plus - Used for 6 mths, in very new condition, comes with unused carrying pouch.

Am throwing in 4 energizer rechargeable batteries and charger worth about $30.

Prenatal education system that uses 16 different sounds resembling mummy's heartbeat, baby starts differentiating sounds in womb.

http://www.babyplus.com/

2. Philips Avent DECT Baby Monitor - Used only for a few times (sound only, no image)

vv, no, it's not raining.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ash r,

hope u r alright!

Starfruit,

me oso keen in banking the cord blood this round cos 1st one didn't do it... Downloaded the info pack but hv not gt the time to read it....

Any diff between agencies n cordlife? If got promo inform me hor, Tks!

Ai yo , Nt agencies, I meant stemcord... Y iPhone auto chg for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morning,

Dolly, yes 2 days to end of 2010.. heheh looking forward to the new yr. new baby, lots of new changes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SH, i think both companies (Stemcord and stemlife) not much diff lah. but both reps will tell u why one is better than the other. Its just that they storage method is a bit different and one has come certification etc. I went with stemcord cos they had a fantastic promotion, they waived my enrollment fee, so it was very affordable. now that we can use CDA to pay, even better, no need to fork out any cash at all!.

Somehow this week passes very slowly for me leh

starfruit : yeah... farewell 2010 & welcome 2011...

any mummies here have start to feel that your legs are weak & tired after standing for 15 mins?

i'm starting to have slight water retention on my calves (that's what my massage lady told me) and vericose veins getting more obvious too...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4941041.gif]

So tiring day today, getting lazier each day.

Anyone has slight 'ligament pain' below abdoment there?

Yeah, 2 more days to a New Year.

vv,

yeah me too have the feeling of not going to work everyday.

Anyone knows if Medela mini electric plus (dual pump) is good? Saw in the papers that Robinsons have sale on this from tmr.

vv: my belly button was in pain yesterday, lucky today ok already. and bb has been movinga round so much, not too comfy when bb moves.. hehe

dolly, dun start so long, lift your head up and cut down on high salt content stuff if u r getting water retention. i think norm for our legs to start swelling right?

Am i the only one that cant confirm bb gender yet? i cant wait for my detailed scan ion 8 jan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit : it's quite unavoidable lei.. currently, taking both breakfast & lunch from outside except dinner... think my legs get tired easily then #1...

bbpooh

Yeah lo, so sian leh everyday.

Dolly

I think my WHOLE BODY easily tired for this time round leh..

Starfruit

My V part also got a bit pressure and I always feel like wanting to pee....

vv : my legs are getting more tired lei... i don't think i can take train home le.. have been taking cab these few days... my legs don't seem to be able to take the weight le...

me too... always wants to pee every half an hour...

Hello mummies, morning!

Me too..having some pain and pressure at the lower abdominal area n back. Head cannot bend down if not some nerves at the back will start to be painful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I still have so many bb things nt bought yet. When do we stock up their pampers, shampoo n bath gel, all taht huh?

oh really ah.. i thought those baby bath and baby detergent, wipes, if buy too early might spoil later on or dry up..hehe... not true?

bunny : u mean baby bath / detergent will spoil? even for my girl still using the wet tissue, i will usually but few packets and stock up... as long as it's seal up.. don't think it'll dry up... you don't have to buy everything now.. just as & when...

Morning everyone!!!

Having lower back pain today...must be yty went to Isetan private sale too long..now after effect..did not buy much..only teats, toys, and some items for hubby and #1.

bbpooh..heard mini electric plus not that good, suction power not too strong..for Medela, can go for PIS or freestyle..heard is much better.

Starfruit..we shall see each other on 8 Jan[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnymum, so long you dun open, should be ok, won't dry or spoil so easily...can buy during March taka baby fair..I intend to buy the necessities like wipes, detergent then..and also take my old bottles to trade in for pigeon 50% bottles.

heard that now all is BPA bottle liao and the cap like not very tight..no more the usual pigeon wide neck bottle.

Dolly

Me too leh! I also tot only me cannot tahan and keep taking cab. If I walk abit more, I feel very chuan lo... I feel very tired easily especially come after lunch ah, siao liao!

I think I will start to stock up by Jan 2011 once confirm 99% gender next Wed @ detailed scan.

Thanks everyone for the advice - first time mum abit blur. Hee! Me having a boy. Me taking cab daily too!! Total lack of exercise except shopping for bb stuff. keke!

I hope I can still walk during March for the taka fair. Do you know when is it roughly, as in the week?

I heard the better breast pumps are Medele freestyle or Phillips Avent Duo. I bought the avents n free one newborn starter bottle set. I bought extra 2 teats for 3 mths++. Is it enough ah? Lost man.. Oh yes, I saw this breast shield from Avent which my hubby kept asking me to buy cos it says it can collect the milk while we are breastfeeding. i suppose if it leaks one side when the other side is being fed on? Is it necessary?

vv : even standing at the copier machine awhile nia also can't take it le... luckily my HB's very supportive & encourage me to take cab if i really can't stand long...

i've been stocking up those daily necessities coz my girl still using.. except for the clothes will start selecting from jiejie ones after CNY..

Bunny

Oh u also our Cabby-Mommy Team. Heeheee... so sian hor, dunno why leh. JUst feel very sian, tired and heavy. Then if take MRT or bus, like so tiring right?

I think should be in MID March for Taka Baby Fair. I also intend to buy some stuffs there.

bunnymum, the avent breast shields are good product to purchase, cos when u r feeling one side, milk will leak on the other and u can use the breats sheild to collect. There is also another use of the breast shield, if ur nipples are sore and bleeding, u can use the sheilds to create some barrier between ur clothes/bra and nipple and paple air to circulate to heal. Get it before u deliver so u can bring to the hospital and use immediately.

wayne: heheh yup see u on the 9th, what time is your appt? i never met u before, dunno if i will be able to recognise u. if u can recognise me, pls come up to me and say hi okie. hehehe

bunnymmum: Most of these products have quite a long expiry date of abt 1-2 years so they shouldn't spoil so easy. For baby wipes, most of them are sealed quite tightly so as long as you don't open it yet, it can still tahan. Anyway, if you really are concerned, keep a look-out for the expiry dates and make sure you get the ones which have the furthest dates. =)

Good morning mummies..

I'm lazing around and packing at home after my trip.

dolly - I think I screen thru somewhere u r paging for me to get some pasta recipe issit? I'm not at work, so not so prompt sitting infront of laptop :p hehe..

Tmr I'll go back office for 1/2 day coz boss is buying us lunch aka farewell to 2010 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went NTUC, they are having promo on Kodomo detergent & softener. I stocked up 3 each coz wanna wash bb clothes soon. Also, I'm using a lot of softener to rinse my girl's CNY clothings..those new buy..hehe