(2011/05) May 2011

Thanks thanks. I should have bought the wipes n detergent and the shield at the last Robinson sale. sigh..

Yes yoyo! It's super tiring to tk public transport now esp if stand all the way till ur hse n the bus/train jerk.. v dangerous..

I was having threatened miscarriage during my 1st trimester so I am quite careful on travelling heehee!

Have you gals bought your carseats or any brands to recommend? I still cannot decide which type of bouncer/swing to buy for baby.. hmm ..undecisive mummy.

Starfruit..my appt is on the 8th, 10am..hmm..I also dunno how you look like leh..but hor I very easy to recognise, not tall and quite plump..maybe the day before, we tell each other what clothes we wearing..keke..

bunnymum..I think mid March bah, not very sure also..on and off can check in taka website when nearer to the date.

I like Avent pump but duo is too ex liao..I am very happy with my Avent Uno last time but a pity I sold off already..hope the Ameda will be good also.

I advise you dun stock too many bottles and teats first as you do not know if your baby will like the brand you are using..initially my boy is ok with Avent and later he refuse till I switch to Pigeon..this time round I will start with Pigeon straight as I still have 6 new bottles not use yet.

i seriously do not have any shopping mood at all!! hahah i think most prob urgent to buy before bb arrival is my nipple cream and maternity pad to bring to hospital. Other than that, will prob leave to hb to get..hahah HB well trained already, can go get any last min things if required!!

wets, bb bath product, mosituriser etc and all still have cos #1 still using.

I think I need to buy baby detergent soon also..my boy is using normal adult detergent after 3 yrs old.

Yty wanted to buy wipes and bottle cleaner one but too heavy to carry home.

i see i see.. I bought the Avents steriliser. But later on I heard their steriliser can only be used on Avents bottle and not other brands? Is that true?

U gals are using Komodo detergent? I usually see Pigeon or Tollyjoy washing powder being sold..is this good?

I was using the medela freestyle for abt 8 months for my #1. It is really good esp since i will travel from one house (mine) to another (my mum/mil). And i was also exclusively pumping out to feed my girl so it came in handy in terms of portability.

This time round, I'm hoping to be more successful in latching on my #2 so i dun have to rely on the pump so much. I may just get a less expensive one to express out any excess or for those times when i need to stock up on BM...

Oh, remember to get breast pad also..I stock up 3 boxes liao..think can last 1 month plus..

My boy not using much baby stuff except lotion, bottle cleaner and wipes for hand and mouth..a lot for him to stock up..

Am going to break his milk drinking from bottle tonight..bought him a new thomas mug and he eager to use it..now he tell me the bottle is for didi usage liao.

bunnymum, so far I used pigeon washing powder and pureen detergent..not bad for these 2..not sure for tollyjoy and kodomo..

Basically I seldom use Kodomo product as I find it quite foamy..

Hannah, ur freestyle can be resued right? then no need to buy any pump already.

bunny, i am using Pigeon liquid detergent.

I tot the avent can also fit non-avent bottles, just need to remove the tray cos u will also need to steralise the breastpump parts, so dun think the steraliser is so rigid lah.

Wayne: yaya breast pads...good reminder.. haha i still a box of pigeon ones lying around.. hehehe

bottle cleaner is till have cos still using now, so guess no need to buy too but i really need to dig out my steraliser and check if its still in working condition. Need to go mothercare and buy the steraliser cleaning tablets!

apple : ooh.. so send us the receipie once you have the access..

BB washing powder:

Have been using Pureen ABD washing powder before #1's delivered till now...

starfruit..I too need to check on my steriliser..been keep it in the cupboard for 3 yrs+, dunno still can work or not..so we just put the steriliser cleaner tablets to clean it few times we can start using liao har??

Hi bunnymum, congrats.

For avent teats….got to depend….my boy was using teat size 3 only after like 15mths…. I tried changing earlier but the flow was faster than teat 2 that he took faster to finish the milk, end up he tot that he did not drink that same amount of milk, why so fast finish and keep crying for more…..so end up I change back to teat 2 which was meant for below 6 mths….so cant depend on the range stated.

Some babies are totally opp, drink too small flow will whine and whine…..

So it all depends…..but no harm buying more teats as we change teats & bottles every 6 mths….

RE: Mini electric

I have 1 from 1st preggy. But I don find it useful. Cant suck out the milk leh……I felt tat I use my own hands are even more effective….ahahah…..so it wasn’t put to good use yet….hopefully this round can use it effectively.

thanks for the tips! When i heard should buy Pigeon steriliser instead of Avent, I sian already. I thought I can only sterilise Avent bottles and stuff. I haven't figure out how to use the steriliser. hee! so many things to learn..

wayne: actually can also clean using lemon juice or vinegar mix with water but i like the cleaning tablets cos can really clean all the dirt out. i think just 1 tab can already after that run about 2 cycles of clean water and it should be good to go. no stinky smell too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmmm ok, seems like mini electric not that good... so prob won't get it. I have ameda fr my #1, i tot of getting one to leave in office so dun have to lug sit to work every day.

I also tried avent single pump last time, it is very good but think i SUAY, the motor got prob after a while then when i exchange it for 2 times still give problem until i fed up, ask for full refund. The dual one i find veri x and veri heavy so i dun intend to get that...

For bb detergent, i initially use powder one, can’t recall which brand then after that I dun feel that it is good, then I started using dynamo. Dun use too much I think it is ok. Furthermore, TV also show that dynamo dun leave residue on bb’s clothes so I quite comfortable using tat. Use the anti bacterial type.

bunny_mum,

why sian to use Avent sterilizer?

U not using avent bottles? I’ve been using Avent sterilizer since bb1 and it has been 2 yrs…..still serving good! I buy the one tat can chose 12/24 hrs sterilization de. The front is digital panel. There is one in front is just a long button to touch to operate. I cant comment on that as I didn’t use it before.

Muz rmbr buy bb ru yi oil…….

Starfruit,

didn’t know can use lemon juice / vinegar……I buy the citrus acid from Daiso, a big pack for $2 only… [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple

Okay, wait for your recipe on pasta soon yeah.

Wow, farewell lunch tomorrow? Eat wat arh?

Dolly

Aiyo, me getting up also very lazy lor. But I scared swelling leh. So I try to walk abit la.. I told my hubby I very tired lo. He got find chance to come pick me from wk at times la... But not frequent affair lo. Haz.

Bunny

I used Pigeon & Pureen ABD, so far both are very good at removing stain cloth nappies and no-detergent smell after dry. Then I will use Kodomo Softener, the smell is nice and 'cute'... like baby smell. Hahahaaa....

U can use Pigeon/Avent Steriliser and yet steriliser all other brands bottles, sippy cups, etc as long as you place them properly can liao (and of cos the items must be able to sterilise de la).

I didnt follow exactly the 'arrangement' shown on the manual when I use my Avent Steriliser. Heehee. I trial and error and so far ok. :)

Wayne

Where did you buy your steriliser tablets ah? I cant find leh, or I forget liao. Hahahaaa.... so long liao.

Sh..

I used the cross-cut avent teat for my 3.5 yr old boy, and I cut into a hole, much bigger hole lo.. Heehee.

vv..starfruit says mothercare got sell..I have not buy yet..will go find.

I agree on the Kodomo softener, I like it too..this is the only Kodomo product I bu :p

VV: mothercare, its under the mothercare brand i think, its a steralisation powder for steraliser. sorry forgot, its in powder form. cant remember how much is it already.

yes VV, I swear by ABD too…..very effective in cleaning stains……I even use it mix with our adult detergent for our adult clothes…. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now my boy 21 mths still using teat size 3.. hee

vv : think me getting more tired than lazy lei... i'll still have to entertain my girl after reach home... yesterday nite @ 1.30am, my girl woke up & whine.. she kept scratching her calve & foot. got mosqui bite.. i've to scratch for her, then applied zambak for her... only settle down after 2am.. this morning i've difficulty in waking up...

May I join in too? My EDD is 28 May 2011. Gender is still a clue.

bunnymum, I had pigeon steriliser for my no. 1 and yes, it is more user friendly as it is universal compared to Avent. Secondly, its cheaper also.

Hi Sh.., I am using the Avents bottle but in case if like some of the advice, bb might not like the Avents bottle then i got to change, i thought i cannot sterilise with my Avents. Mine is the basic one i think? Electronic but not digital. is that the one you are referring to?

starfruit: Ya, but i lent to my sister-in-law so she was rather worried that she might have spoilt it. I was more thinking if it spoilt then i will get something not so high end one... =)

bunnymum: My church mate passed me her avent sterilizer and i used it for bottles of other brands and it was ok. Just that i didn't use the rack provided.

Sh...: My husband swears by ABD. He's the one who washes the clothes. =)

Tweetie: Hello! Welcome! Would you like to give us more details so that i can add you to our table of mummies? Will need name of gynae, hospital to deliver in, this is your #? child, area you stay. Thanks! =)

Wayne/Starfruit

Oh okok, I will go check out Mothercare tomorrow. Heehee.. Cos I realised hoh, the Avent Steriliser will have one smell leh. Then sometimes I use Vinegar to soak awhile, then wash, then the smell disappear.

Sh

Yes, ABD is very effective. In fact, I switched to ABD now. And also, a long history brand liao. Heehee. I remember seeing their new 'collection' is, baby clothes can hang indoor for drying without odor if use ABD. But hor, I cant find tat description anymore on ABD. Hee.

Wayne

Yes, I only use Kodomo for its softener. Recently, I tried Kodomo shower for my boy. I will switch to Loreal Kids soon. Cos hoh, he sweat alot liao.

Bunny

I had the same fear last time when I had #1. But u must straightaway let them use Avent Teat for their 1st try. Thereafter, bb should get acustomed to Avent teat very fast de. Cos I rem some said Avent Teat is harder but I think its not really that hard. :)

Dolly

Same lor, I also need to entertain my boy. I think we are getting lazier cos we need to look after #1. I dun remember myself so tired leh.

Oh poor thing. My boy bites will swell very big if kena mosquito bites.. Haz. I use the indonesian brand 'Balsam' to apply. Later in the night, u apply Zambak again yeah. My boi cc also use Zambak. I realised Zambak can be very effective. 2 nights ago, my boy fell and kena a very BIG BIG baluku... I cried when I see him like tat. So heartpain. I rub with ice pack for him.. the swell went down from green to red. Next morning, becomes dark red. Then cc applied Zambak for him, the redness suddenly disapear and becomes much lesser visible eh.

Tweety

Congrats!!!! When is your next detailed scan?

Hi tweetie, congrats too…

Bunny, the avent sterilizer comes with many parts n accessories, frankly speaking I don put the bottles nicely each time I sterilize. I only use 1 round tray as the bottom and the long stick / stem to put together, then all bottles / teats and covers just throw in……lazy la…..

So don hv to assemble so many parts to get it sterilize…. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So mayb without assembling so many parts, the pigeon bottles can go in? avent bottles is consider fat, which is good, easy to brush the inner……so pigeon bottles slimmer shd be able to fit in to avent sterilizer ba…

hannah, pls help me to update, mine is a bb gal…. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stay in sk.... tks

Thanks alot for the advice! If it's brand new, do i have to buy the steriliser tablet that you all were talking abt or use lemon to sterilise it first?

Bunny

U can buy the tablets and keep. Then hor, for me is, I will 'sterilise' 1st before use and thereafter once a month after 1st use.

hello everyone,

havent log in for d past few days...how's everyone doing? lol

duno y these few days...keep thinking of mac bfast..esp d hashbrown & sausage muffin with egg...had it 2 days in a roll...i better stop liao..hehe dun 1 those extra calories..hehe

sat i was sitting ter surfing net..suddenly i felt 3 'kicks' on lower abdomen wor...wonder is tat bb kick..cos it was too fast & all along i hvn experience anything...when i recall back was gone liao..but these couple of days..on off i do feel something lah...sometimes abit like stomach vibrate.but not very strong or long..jus for like 1 or 2 times tts it..hope is bb kicks..hehe

starfruit, my d.s on 6th jan..oso hvn cfm bb gender..u r not d only 1..hehe

me too... cannot walk too long..tired...1 2 sit dwn....very sian..last time i can shop a few hrs no nid sit dwn...nw mus rest...then after rest a few more times..pek chek 1 2 go home liao...hai...i hvn started any shopping at all!!!!

Ya, sometimes I find my avent sterilizer got 1 smell…….muz be telling me I lazy? Tonite muz sterilize le, cant rmbr when was the last time I did tat….hahaha….

How often u sterilize the sterilizer? I did it once 2-3 wks if I kood lak…..hahahha……

Bunny, its recommended to sterilizer it often…….avent pack comes with the citric acid….think a few packs only…..

vv : ya lor.. told my HB that during #1, i'm not that tired lor.. best thing, we were doing our traditional wedding during my 5th month pregnancy... so i'm the one who's doing the whole planning... afterwhich, fell ill coz over-exhaustion.

@ 1st, i applied "ru yi you" on her her.. she's still cry & whine.. so after applied "zambak" then she seems to cool down... haiz.. still wants her mummy to scratch for her...

hi Hannah!

can update mine? I'm expecting a girl. staying in tampines [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!

dolly, hahaha...bo MIA lah..lol

on off i got come in read read abit...nv really post...hehe...

oh ya...mommies, my fren 1 2 sell me her medela in style advanced. Is that d medela PIS style u all talking abt ah? Im quite clueless leh...& wer to look for display set where i can test the suctions for diff brands? cos my fren using medela mini electric dual..she say d in style will massage abit b4 it pumps. she dun hv patience thats y bought a mini electric dual...is that true ah?

vv - ABD powder is so power ah? I wanna go buy liow..I just get my maid to soak bb 0-6 months clothings. OMG..all yesllowish spots. I probably wanna throw all of them if the spots can't be removed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh..bought so much during #1, all good pieces from Mothercare. Quite wasteful if I just discard ler

skye skye: Sure! Will post the update at 2pm. =)

mudppie: Yep, it should be medela pump-in-style advanced. Actually, it's best to massage before your pump or latch on bb so that the milk can flow better and you have less chance of having blocked ducts.

mudppie, congrats, u finally feel your bb kicking.. heheh

I am uncomfortable by all the movement in my tummy.. movement are more obvious especially when i bend down.

The pump from your fren should be the medela PISA, motor is good for that. she selling u at a good price?

SH, i think u can use lemon juice and water (forgot the ratio though) to get rid of the smell? i also cannt stand stinko steraliser.. must air them sometimes.. they are like our BB's butt, must treat them the same way!!.. hahah :p

hannah, icic...ya..i heard she got blocked ducts & i think it got serious & she went for ops...

but she stil using mini electric nw leh...

starfruit, she say she only used for 10mins & she bought locally at 700+ i tink she say selling me at 300. is tat a gd price? cos i m thinking wer to find those samples to test eg.. for medela,avent or philip like mommies mentioned on top..i hvn really seen any..went to dept stores or mothercare.like all wrapped up...

i oso duno whether there is a nid to chg motor or so anot etc...cos by then when i nid the pump.it will b like a yr after she bought...quite confused....

but im oso wondering if my bb is a greedy eater kind..LOL..it seems like..when after i hv eaten..start to feel bb abit more active..if not..like not much movement...b4 i feel all these...used to b like..immd after i eat..stomach will itch feeling stretchy kind...but if i didnt eat...like nothing much felt...anyone experiencing this? hehehe

Mudppie i think u can get a brand new set around $300 plus leh. Import set. Me having lunch now i look for thd bp link for u later.

starfruit, no worries...enjoy ur lunch 1st...lol

issit? i tot previously i read u all getting brand new set at 400+..cos my fren say she only used hers PISA for 10mins & bought a mini electirc, currently using....so she was saying like...is almost like a new set...

then another fren told me she bought a 2nd hand oso PISA for 250.but d seller changed quite a number of things for her liao..

so u tink is better to get a brand new set than to get from my fren?

paiseh ah...im confused..cos totally new to all these pumps stuff..so alot of qns...kekeke

vv: didnt know ABD powder so gd. think ive bot it b4 last time. also didnt know its an "old brand".

apple: the yellowish spots r caused by milk stains? can use those clothes for home wear lor, dun waste

oh, for first time mummies..do remember to get digital thermometer also..you will need to use it.

mudpie, for PIS new set from US can get ard $360 like that.

Apple

Hey, I also realised hoh, Mothercare clothes will get yellow stains too. I threw away quite alot of Mothercare's clothes too. The yellow stains are horrendous. IN fact, some other brands looked much better after 3.5 years. Heehee...

Yap, the ABD Powder can remove fresh stains lah. Old stains, I hadnt try yet..

Ash

I also heard from one of my gfs. She said ABD is a good brand and she had been using it for years last time, think now her girl is in Pri one liao or sth...

Dolly

Maybe Zambak is really good lei. Ru yi oil for stomach pain pain la. :p

Yeah lo, at times I cannot tahan my boy. I ask my hubby to take care. So tiring lo. Like now after lunch, my tummy is so full eh!!

Mudpie

How are you?? Long time no see you!

mudppie: i borrowed the PIS (not the advanced one) from a fren before i bought my freestyle. It didn't need to be charged but had to plug in to power source. Not too sure if the PISA has battery packs. Actually, if your fren only used for 10 mins, i think that's really VERY new... So you can consider getting it if you want to save some money. Anyway, the US set also got no local warranty so is almost as good as what your fren has.

Anyway, it is your fren's choice to continue with the mini-electric without massaging la... I wouldn't do any pumping with the massage coz i scared pain. Haha...

Ash - the spots are not stain..but due to long storage! My girl already 4+..can imagine the storage period :p I kept all these clothings in toyogo boxes, never open eversince my old maid packed them..haha

vv - I guess I gotta trash most of them bah..especially white & cream sleepsuits! Look at the spots already sien