(2011/05) May 2011

dolly: your girl is 15 mths old rite? Has she taken her MMR jab? Will you be delaying her jab? Heard some theory about MMR will cause autisim. What do other mommies think?

dolly: the mention of curry chicken there made me miss it...do you have any idea does the stall open on sunday?

My two SIL keeps telling me this theory made me so worried whether to delay the jab a not. So seeking advise around. Personally I feel no relation to it but juz want a peace of mind.

dolly: yes, I had taken MMR. I believe it should be ok too, if not MOH will not make this a compuslary jab [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi apple,

Yes, my MS was so serious that i got dehydrated... actually now still feeling nausea... and the smell of laksa is making me sick too... so it is definite NO NO...not even near it or thought of it.

My girl had her MMR jab. She doesn't seem to behave any differently... Anyway, i've read that some mummies are going to wait until their children are older before proceeding since they feel that this will help them to develop stronger before taking it. It's really how you feel abt it really...

Hi Auroa,

Our 1st child same month & year...wow...2nd one also same (tho' not sure whether will deliver early in April or not)

Hi Ash,

same gynae... so we may have seen each other during check-up? Guess what, we stay same area leh... maybe we are neighbours...haha...

To all mummies,

Thks for welcoming me....

dolly, hannah, wayne: thanks for the advise! At least I don't feel the odd one out. Coz when I told my SIL that the theory is not true, they give me a look as if I am gog to harm my boy!

apple, will stopby ipoh for one nite... they will bring us to Lou Wong Bean Sprout Chicken for dinner.... heard that's quite famous... penang trip, they will bring us to try penang laksa, char kuay teow and penang nasi kandar (not sure what's that)... looking fwd to it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] potluck? great... let me know when to hve 1... i can make meat dishes or desserts (erh, i quite poor in cooking veg dishes) looking fwd to yr laksa.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, i started my girl with cod liver oil abt 15th mths.... her previous childcare centre recommended that.. we tried to feed her at home but she dun take it so we leave it w the previous centre to feed her but the currrent centre dun do that, so currently stopped giving her... now what i do is to buy the golden kiwi and occasionaly give her oranges to eat, so as to build up her supply for vit C... i heard fr my cousins said that can start at age 1 liao but take the original and not the orange favour....

June, wow, yr appetite seems quite good.. judging by the list of food u take, once a blue moon is ok but not often leh as ard week 24 need to take gulcose test... got to watch out sugar intake...

cuppie, ya, glad that bb is active inside as it gives me a piece of mind that it's doing fine inside... my next scan is on 30 nov, so while waiting for the next scan, quite assured that bb is ok inside [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Heaven, there's one more mummy, Lena... her boy also born in the same mth, date and yr as my girl. Our children born on 25 mar 2008... can know when's yr child born date [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my 2nd bb estimated edd is 26 May 11 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly: My SIL (hb's sis) delay her boy MMR until MOH send them a warning letter, then they bring their son for the jab. Now my younger SIL (hb's bro wife) also wanted to follow and delay as well. So they ask me to do the same too. When I told them my thinking, they give me a look lor. Anyway I am not very closed to both of them as we were in the States for quite a while soon after my hb and I got married. We only recently started to "chat" after I had my boy. Since both their children older than mine so they sort of wanted to give tons of advise.

No comment with family planning..only use e rubber n do on non fertile period..

My frez who gave birth to baby boy say tummy sharp,belly button pop out fast n hairy tummy r sign of boy.. Something to share..

Auroa, Lou Wong bean sprouts chicken is famous in Ipoh. If u got chance, try the salted chicken, very yummy. My colleague got 1 back for me last week..

Nasi kandar is Indian curry rice, like nasi padang but definitely more delicious. Wah I feel like going Pen after all the food topic!

Cuppie, take jabs according to MOH advised schedule age will not harm our kiddo..if any issue pertaining this long ago MOH has stopped the jab.

apple, is the salted chicken same place as the Lou Wang? same as the hougang salted chicken?

Auroa, not too far..it is at the old town. The guide shd know or else u ask Lou wong workers they will tell u. Definitely better than hougang one hehe..

apple, not too sure whether can go there as dinner at 6pm... we are taking the coach bus there and estimated to be back to hotel by 8pm (free & easy after that)... hope can finish and chop chop go there and buy but hor, after dinner dun know whether can eat liao... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple, thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly, apple is right. I started giving fish oil when my boy is one yr old. Bought mine from vitakids. I find it's really gd for their brain development.

Cuppie: Ya, sometimes we just need to pick and choose the information we get. =)

Serene: ya, I've heard the tummy sharp one before... But dunno how zun la...

Wah... Fish oil... i dun like so i din take even when i had my girl... She seems ok to me now, like her development is all on time. Hee hee... I very defiant hor??

Dolly, my girl is taking Nordic Naturals children dha, u can get it fr vitakids or online. She started with liquid until almost 3 then I switched her to soft gel.

Auroa, hmm..u save ur stomach for more yummy food in Pen if no chance to buy the salted chicken.

Hannah, we r talking about giving fish oil to our lil one..

hi apple! I know. I think I didn't make myself clear, i have a problem with that. haha... What i was saying is that I find it difficult to give my girl when i dun even wanna take it myself... and she seems fine even without me taking it when i was pregnant with her. =)

auroa and heaven-

both jerejoy and myself (plus lena) also had march '08 babies! both jerejoy's boy and mine born on the same date (march 19th) some more!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, our children birthdate so close... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

have u start to plan for next yr mar birthday? i'm sourcing for the cake design now.. planning to do a dora birthday cake for my girl... already bought the figurines but only got dora and diego... can't find boots the monkey yet...

morning ladies.

jerejoy,

ur boy is sick? hope he recovers soon.

june,

wah! i am impressed with ur appetite! u have gd appetite le.

dolly,

i tried giving cod fish oil (original) to my boy but he dun like the fishy taste. even i myself oso dun like so i nv force him to take =P

cuppie,

Neo Garden! =) or cheaper one will be meihao99??

Re: MMR

if i nv rem wrongly, for preggie, u have to delay the MMR jab for ur elder kid. coz if ur kid has some side effects due to MMR, may pass on to the mother n baby and its nt gd. pls doubt check with the PD's clinic??

auroa,

my boy bday in may but i am looking n sourcing ard for cake designs and venue le =P

auroa,

tell me abt it! hehehe. I tried Build-A-Bear workshop this yr, so next yr i may wanna try places like polliwogs kind. or mayb wild wild wet?? havent really decide on the venue....but cake design more or less le but abit ex la...

Wow..my girl's b'day also Mar, but I do nothing yet :p always last min..haha

As she is older, am thinking of getting her buddies on Ben & Jerry workshop or Bakerzinn workshop

Greeting from hk. I am at the disneyland hotel now. Love love love the plc. Told hb i must stay here for 2 nites next time!

I love the character buffet dinner n breakfast thks mummies for the great recommendation!

Will be flying back this afternoon. See u all back here tomorrow.

apple,

yes! i enquired on Ben & Jerry workshop before. Its looks fun and i think yr gal's age sld be able to appreciate. i am waiting for my boy to be older then give it a try =)

starfruit,

hi! glad to know u are having fun!! =) safe trip n flight to u! =)

Val, the build-a-bear workshop, how many kids do they require? any min nos? i asked what kind of cake design my girl wants... day 1, she told me she wants dora, day 2, she wants diego, day 3 she wants tinklebell and then spongebob... then she wants dora back....feel like knocking her head..

apple, the ben & jerry workshop seems very interesting.. got infor? suitable for which age group? thanks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit, wow, seems like u hving lots of fun... share with us after u are back.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruits - good to know that u enjoy urself very much @ disneyland resort [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] treasure your last moment, we shall chat when u return tmr!!

Have a safe flight home..

Auroa - Ben & Jerry b'day workshop I saw is located at United Sq. I have not make further enquiry on the package..shall do it over the weekends when I send my girl for enrichment there.

auroa,

i forgot wat is the min # but nt v high type. if u have 6 or 7 oso can but nt all places have party room and if they do have, v small lo.

as for Ben & Jerry's, that time they quoted me $40 per kid.

morning mudppie.

I'm thinking with the arrival of #2 next year, i'll just have a simple party for my girl in April with just close family members. Scared it's gonna be overwhelming if i do big party...

val, apple, thanks... will check it out.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple: yes i know coronation area. my parents used to stay near tt area n my pri sch also there. used to freq coronation plaza n serene centre when i was in pri sch! ahhhh....memories!

heaven: serious! we stay same area also? my #1 is born mar07

wah! some of u start planning for next yr b'day parties already? so fast!

i only invite immed family for small party/get together at my pl. its quite diff to cater for small numbers too