(2011/04) Apr 2011

hippolai

last time LC told me Must wake Bb up to drink not more than 5hrs. my #1 was a sleepy Bb can slp whole day & night nvr ask for milk so I must look at timing to feed her.

from my experience, our milk ll turn thinner & thinner de. of course if u can eat more rich food maybe ll help but it won't be as thicker as the 1st 2mth tats y ppl ll say when Bb grow older must supple with FM as our BM turn thinner but i still wait till 8-9mth then give fm lah

Vivi: they r okie with curling up their legs in the pouch.. U still remember how to put her in? Reverse way to take her out.. Hope u can understand what I mean.. Good to try bringing her out alone.. I took jerrell to take a 1hour bus journey last Friday.. Heehee

Thank you for your reply on the daytime feeding...

becos sometimes, she sleep veri soundly and I woke her up for milk when 3 hrs reached. After reading some of the post here, seems like most of the mummies feeding on demand. Thus, will BB drink lesser milk?

Hi Gerry - I have the same question with Hippola. If after 3hrs, bb is still sleeping soundly and not cry for milk? u still wake her up for milk once reached 3hrs?

Hippo,

I don't really have to wake Eva for feed in the daytime cos she doesn't usually sleep for more than 3 hours.. Will wake up by 2.5 hour.. She drinks quite a bit in the day which is good cos at night she can last for 4+ hour during her longest stretch and if she wakes up 2-3 hr later, she will only drink for about 10-15 min and go right back to bed..

Hmmzz maybe if you ate more fatter fish and nuts, bm will have a creamier and thicker consistency..

Eva also takes the pacifier if i know she has had enough and still wants to suck.. My girl got quite bad reflux so pd said cannot feed her too much but she wants to suck so i give her pacifier.. Now I scared if I don't give pacifier, she will take the thumb and now super hard to wean Lisa off her own thumb!!!

Vivi - thank you for yr reply. Is it difficult to use? I wanna buy one for my girl so that I can bring her out alone.

Pink's hse 1 month celebration:

My hubby will not be in town this weekend. I am veri keen to go and meet all the pretty mummies & BB. Having said that, I do not have the confidence to bring BB out alone thus may give a miss..SAD! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yoti: I'm using pupsik pouch too.. It's convenient to bring bb out alone.. But still.. Have to see if bb likes to be sling or not... Come join us.. Have to take the first step bringin bb out... ComE come!!

hmm quite easy to use ba practice makes perfect I use bolster to practice first so I get the hang of it. While I was practicing my dad carry her I think she look at me eyes big big wondering what the heck I am doing. Considering I am an idiot on this kind if stuff.

Tweety

I know what you mean. But haven't try. Erm now no choice have to bring her out alone so have to try then I know. I will update you all on my mini adventure.

Oh another question the head is usually At our chest area right? Like 45 degrees or more like 180 degrees?

Gin

Erm ok la XL for me easier to put her in but looks long after she is in the pupsik. Like she is at my tummy area Liao

Yoti

Join us hope to see you. Maybe you try the pupsik and see if you dare to bring her out.

vivi.. u bought the punsik pounch ah.. can let me try ur XL? the other day I tried tweety's L size one, seem tight but wonder if XL is more suitable for me.. den no time to go mothercare try their XL size.. furthermore hubby not v supportive of me buying pounch.. so whenever bring bb out oso cant get to try.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but now I oso wondering if my bb already 7.2kg, should I still buy? my mummy was commenting that it would be tiring to jus rely on one shoulder to carry my boy now since he is heavy.. but I still v keen to use leh..

hippo.. how's is ur trip to malaysia??? both kids cooperative?

gerry.. guess I will keep looking at my boy's pics ba jus like u.. now I treasure every single moments with him...

piggy.. hope kyler is feeling well now... take care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lols.. my boy dun like to wash his face whenever bath.. he will wail and wail.. but once put him inside water, he will be smiling, so happy... lols

Vivi: yeah.. Update us!!

Mrschua: y dun try using the carrier?? I have been using the bb Bjorn carrier to bring him ard also wor.. If u use the pouch.. Might feel the weight on one side of ur shoulder...

tweety.. I duno leh.. still prefer pounch.. hehe.. guess have to ask hubby let me try more often on carrier.. so far I onli used once.. most of the time is hubby used de..

Michelle,

position feeding means you feed bb in various different position with bb chin pointing towards the part that is blocked. like cradle, football hold postions etc etc.

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/breastfeeding/positions/

For TMC parentcraft, better if you call and make an appointment. if not walk-in sometimes they might not see you and you need to wait..

anyone going to the motherhood fair this weekend?

Gerry,

Thanks! Ya, I eat lesser fish nowadays... Guess that is the reason... Shall try on nuts!

Bbgoh,

Ya lor... Last time chilled milk won't see the fore milk (very diluted layer like plain water), now can see 3 layer Liao... Bottom is foremilk follow by milk and the creamy layer on top... Once order tingkat worst I think... Now can buy fish oil to gallop lor...

Mrs. Chua,

Jovie quite good girl lar... Sleep n drink milk only... Terry is horrible!!!!!!!!! Guess this is the 1st time we let him sit in the car seat for so long and he gets bored, that's y... Luckily Jovie stretch her night feed hour if not I sure die...

Dun think u can tahan use pouch wor.. Since bb G so heavy Liao....

Yoti,

1 month bash is next week wor... Actually we just go to Pink's house and station there... Shouldn't be a big problem leh... Some more with all of us around.... Maybe u shall give it a try? Just a suggestion!

Mrs chua

Can la next week you going pink's house I will bring along. You have carrier already can actually save $? Maybe that is why Hubby not in favor of you buying. I dont have carrier ms so i bought it.

Hippo

I thought Terry is a good boy ke Ke ke

hippo and Vivi.. I pi ku yang wan to buy lo.. lols.. maybe i think bb G prefer to be sling than carrier.. ok, vivi.. u bring and I try....

Hippo.. u no bring any books or toys for Terry?? my SIl that time bring DVD and DVD player to let her daughter watch DVD during the trip so she not so bored...

hippolai

after chilled bcum 3layers ia queit normal bah, mine long ago alrdy like tat ler.. lata when turn thinner is u can see the milk more white more thin and the fore milk layer is lesser. I alrdy start fish oil since end confinement ler

last time there is a mummy wanna donate her excess ebm, who huh? bcoz mine not as many to donate liao and nw also drop won't freeze everyday so may stop to give out. anyone wanna donate let me noe I can give tat mummy contact

Tweety-u haf bjorn carrier? Which type u purchase? U have use it on yr prince? His head stable le? Cos I go try and feel tat my girl head veri flimsy wen carrying her...thus alternative wanna buy the sling....

Hippola-yup,typo error..know is next week..hmm I will go buy the sling and practice..hope I will be able to join u mummies...

Vivi-hope u can sling yr vianne with yr new pouch..practice makes prefect! Hope I can join also...

Mummies,what method u use for yr bb to nap in the afternoon? I feel tat my girl does not wanna take nap recently..shag! Vivi-I feel for u...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Mummies, I've Brand New Mustela postpartum Body Restructuring Gel to let go at $40. Retail at: $52.50. Item is brand new in box, will only be collecting it on 03 Jun (Fri), as it was won in a lucky draw.

PM or Email: [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5530162.jpg]

Yoti

I think they mention before bjorn synergy is good.

Hmm hope to see you next week. For me Vianne likes to sleep on my chest so when she is tired I start to

Put her on my chest give her pacifier then pat her backside. Then once she is sound asleep I will put her in Yao LAN. But of course sometimes she will wake up and wail and I have to put her back on my chest. Process can go on and on so

If let's say is near to the next feed time I will just let her sleep till she wakes up.

Mum05

Some of my friends are using it and they like it.. One of them said, she felt her complexion getting better and she lost weight.. Don't know whether due to the iud..

But I have also heard of it dropping out or cause quite a bit of spotting for several months..

Bfing can use?? I thought only can use the mini pill..

Thanks gals... my #1 seems better no more vomittin but still havin diarrhea..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbgoh,

hmm dunno if it stomach flu also v hard to say but my HB family all down with diarrhea wor.. the dr say separate them but tough la...

chillicrab,

FBM can keep for 6mth not 3mth.. n some of us will replace fresh 1 with FBM so ok mah.. but up to u la[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs chua,

wah gd leh.. my boi now can only sleep thru for 6hr v slow but better than nothign.. since ur boi alr 3 day in a row so shd be la.. so try not to break the routine n feed him if occassionally he wake up for milk leh..

Hmm since the 1 mth bash is nex wk can every1 double confirm on the eatin adult? n who wan to be the treasurer?

Vivi,

Terry is a good boy, but sometimes can't avoid still will naughty mah.... Afterall he is a good gorgor n son lar... Haa haa....

Bbgoh,

But last time my chilled bm dun have 3 layer de... Only 2 layer which is milk n the creamy layer... My hubby asked me whether bb will feel full coz the milk seems like thinner... I feel like throw him down from my house window.... Lols~ gek sim... Pump on schedule, take care of daughter 24/7 liao... Still comment something like that...

Yesterday I told him I wanna go for a hair cut... My hair now look so pong n messy... He told me go lor... Then I asked him then Jovie how? U know what he answered? Bring Jovie along... Another moment I wanna throw him out from window.... Grrrrrrrrhhhhhhh!

Piggy,

Confirm next Monday? Confirm now a bit too early? Later something last minutes crop up...

Hippo dun wan be treasurer, later give bang ka li account... Haa haa haa....

Hippopolai,

cos need to order food leh den need to collect $$ etc i tink v hard to 100% confirm 1 la on tt day tink will still have pp cant make it hmm maybe by Fri bah den see how many pax to order for buffet..

huh bring Jovie go haircut? yes throw him out window keke... my hair also but no time go cut[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] btw BM will get thinner 1 it norm food dun tink will thicken the milk by alot also..

Mrs Chua: i should be going on sunday, probably not bringing bb along. hopefully the fair will be worth it.

btw, anyone knows if goods vehicle van need a carseat for bb? and strap it to where? cause behind is empty and no seats.

Yoti & Tweety: ya i try bb bjorn on my girl oso, her head oso like dangling leh.. But if without a carrier veri tiring 2 cari bb for long period of time.. Use sling i like hand machiam leg, leg machiam hand..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Tweety.. I still not sure when going. Wat abt u? U bringing bb along??? I dun think I wan bring bb along cos alot pple will b there, too crowded for bb.. The other day, Mdm Rokiah came my house for massage, she told me a story of last time got a mummy bring bb along den too crowded & stuffy, bb duno how to say so end up send hospital.. 

Piggy.. Shall c if can last, if really den will b great [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u say dun hv occasion feeds meaning? 

Mrs Chua,

ya cos sumtime they may wake up middle of the nite cryin if can dun gave cos once u gave they may start wakin up at nite for milk...

LittleTwinStar: mine won't dangle leh... Ur bb head should be supported by the carrier..

Mrs chua: I should be bringing him along.. We go on weekdays shouldnt be very crowded ba... Friday late morning - noon time??

Vivi-thank you for yr reply...thus u also feed on demand? If near to heR feedtime but she still asleep,u just let her sleep until she wake up?

By the way, how much did u pay for the sling?

piggy

Yahlor, I remember last time my #1 very alert most of the time. But this one very diff... Maybe i should just count my blessing... Hehehe

Tweety/Twinstar: yup I tried on my baby on the bbjorn carrier..her head also dangling lei..tweety,think yr prince head is stable ba...

Mummies,my bb girl keeps licking out her tongue...any remedy to stop her bad habit?

baby carrier - i using babybjorn synergy.. baby's head is quite snugly fitted in the carrier when facing mummy.. yesterday just tried carrying baby facing in front to see pple and things.. quite ok too.. but i heard facing forward is not good for baby's spine.. so i try not to let him sit in that position for too long.. btw my baby is 7 wks old..

Pupsik Sling - i'm selling my brand new pupsik sling (fairground colour) XL.. let me know if any of u interested. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yoti.. i stay at queenstown.. near redhill.. y leh? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby also have the habit of sticking/licking his tongue out.. dunno izzt becoz i give him pacifier too often..

Shice-yes I also feel tat it is due to the pacificer-veri ugly!!! Shake head!!! Any remedy to cure tis bad habit?

How much are u selling the pupsik?

Staying nearby-thought pop by to see how mummies use the pupsik sling ( if any) for demo if dun mind...

gerry, this was recommended by my gynae, he said either this or the one that's to be inserted into under arm are both safe for bf.

this IUS is supposedly to be 'better' than the older version of IUD, are yr frens using this same one? Said to have minimum side effects as compared to the one inserted into arm/pills. Cost : S$500+(not sure exact amt).

Ya, I read from the pamphlet, it's indicated that some might get spotting for the 1st few mths but once stabilised, most women shld benefit from it cos it helps to regulate hormone, menstruation and those whom used to exp menstrual cramp will be eased of pain and hv lighter flow. One can even conceive the next mth after removing it. Sounds good rite...

I have abt a mth(can only go for this after 3rd mth, something like that) to decide lor, cos my gynae said I shld consider if I do not wish to have another baby(and due to caesarian delivery, I'm not to get pregnant within a year).

oh ya, due to insufficient storage bottles, I told my helper to bring out the glass bottles. But when we fed bb with the warmed-up EBM which was stored in 1 of the glass bottles juz now, she cried and cried after drinking only 80ml(I only warm up 130ml) and refused to drink anymore. I even tried to trick her - I bf her 'cos she sounded sooo poor thing but when she dozed off, I slipped my nip off her and put in the bottle teat, she cried after 1 suckle but was ok when I resumed bf her...

I'm now wondering what's the problem. We've punched the teats' hole to M size I think yesterday and I'd tot it might be due to the faster flow. But according to our maid, bb didn't appear 'choking' on the faster flow, so I guess this shldn't be the reason right? Plus she only cried after 80ml leh.

Earlier this evening, we had warmed another feed-150ml, also from the glass bottle(can't be sure if they're both of same timing, but I believe they're of same day's ebm-no report of such behaviour frm maid just now so din take note), my helper said she fussed abit after drinking about 100ml.

BB's tummy also seemed bloated when we changed her just now(she poo-ed and soiled her sleepsuit lor) but after burping her and sayang-ing her for awhile, she felt aslp and I went to taste the EBM, took a tiny sip - tasted like coconut! Why like that ar? I'm not sure how my ebm actually taste like though, cos I usually only tasted a drop, so can't tell...

Hello mommies!

Lynn

Ok thanks for the info... And maybe not gg to parentcraft centre le...

My bm supply dropped drastically (by half) after my blocked duct is cleared... Used to be able to fill up 2 bottles of 120-150ml each but now have to squeeze and massage n press then can squeeze out one bottle of about 100ml... Latched bb but got sore nips instead. Feeling really frustrated. I'm startin to introduce formula to him liao... Have substituted one feed with formula today.. Will slowly transit over... But would like to ask... If bb takes full formula, is there anything I need to expect or do? Like give water? Constipation in the first few days? Reduce feed etc?

Mum05,

Ya my friends are using the same one and they swear by it.. Haha!! Tell me to use it to.. I am thinking about it too..

Really bfing can use .. Hmmzz maybe this thurs I will ask my gynae when I go for my 6 week check..

But I tell you the old wives' tale regarding pregnancy and delivery will reduce cramps is soo true.. I has super severe cramps before pregnancy.. But after it was gone!!

Chillicrab, see ur nic makes me hungry n crave for chillicrabs!

I think in order to store for 6mths, must be deep freezer.

Gerry & Mum05, any idea y gynae recommend iud/ius instead of d tubal ligation? I haven't seen my gynae for d 6wk review, quite lazy to go....I know have to take pap smear n he's also going to tell me those birth control....

Read on wikipedia, d iud procedure seems scary n every 5yrs must replace, kind of troublesome. Anyway, to me, any form of surgery is scary!

Ningyo,

Actually inserting the iud is done in the clinic.. No surgery required.. Tubal ligation is actually quite irreversible and this requires surgery and GA.. The dr will cute your Fallopian tube and tie it up to prevent fertilization.. Of course if you have done a ligation, it can always be reverse thru surgery again.. But the chance of getting pregnant might be slim.

The 6 week check is more to check whether you have recovered from pregnancy and delivery and since you are there dr will suan bian do pap smear.. The dr is more concern whether your uterus has shrunk and whether you still have any clot or placenta left in your uterus.

However, it is important to do a pap smear yearly as early detection of cervical cancer is easily treatable.

For birth control, you should choose the method that you are most comfortable.. =)