(2011/04) Apr 2011

Piggytoh

Hope kyler recover soon.

Pupsik

Wow soo many mummies bought it makes me so tempted to get 1 haha.

Mrs chua

Gd tat ur bb can slp thru. U gng back work le will b very tirin if need wake up middle of the nite.

Finali saw bb G hehe he is sooo cute n I love his eyes

Ningyo,

Haha...I'm a super lover for crabs. When I know I can't eat them for mths after csec, I had them every weekend for one whole mth before delivery..hehe

I used to store the fbm in my normal freezer..oh so abt there loh..

Yoti

I feed on demand if she no cry when she is sleeping I won't give because she hardly sleeps . Yesterday she is supposed to wake up at 1.30pm for mill end up she overslept till 2.45pm. But then she was awake from 7.30pm till 1am so last night she drank about 2 hours interval

The pupsik is 45.90 and there is a reversible one at 65.90. There is a 15 % discount at mothercare. Buy the 45.90 can already

michelle

how cum yr ss drop so much? u took any med for yr blocked duct?

Gerry

how do u noe if yr Eva having reflux? my Kay ll vomit out sometimes when finsih the milk. I dunno if it's due to wreflux

tbf mummies

have u start intro water to yr Bb?

my Kay so young alrdy noe to chose sweet drink. everytime I gave her a small sip of plain water she ll give me disgusting look and she ll vomit out after awhile. but if I add glucose or gripe water she can finish 20ml and won't vomit. -_- her stomach seem like not accept water ler. how??

do u give water to yr Bb?

Bbgoh,

I gave water during confinement aldy, just a small tea spoon because the weather is tooooooo hot! I wanna keep her hydrated... She is ok...

If Kay dun wan plain water, the more u cant give glucose water mah... She has a choice the more she reject plain water? This is hippo theory.... Haa haa... Grip water not sweet de, I taste before... But still tastier then plain water lar... Haa haa...

Bbgoh

You gave 20ml water at 1 go I don't dare because I thought baby cannot drink too much water

Vianne likes to drink water. Sometimes try to give her the lady bit of milk she either shake her head or she use hands to

Push away. But give her water she slurp happily.

My dad and Hubby likes to give her water especially when she cries a lot. They said after crying thirsty Liao

By the way ,is the theory of after baby poo will be hungry

yoti.. just pm-ed u.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, is there any powder recommended to apply for baby's heat rash?

oh really gerry, then perhaps can really give it a try... ya, my menstrual cycle has always been very bad, but after the birth of my #1, it became sooo good, but then a few yrs later, hay-wired again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

This time round duno cos stl hvnt got my menses yet...

When will we get our menses when bf ar? My gynae said it's hard to tell cos diffnt ppl exp diffntly.

ya, ningyo, gerry has answered yr queries very well. My gynae tot I'm still not that old to go for ligation(unless I insist) but I am! So when he heard me saying "no way"/"no more", thus he suggested the 2 safer for bf contraceptives to me when he talked to me abt birth control. From what he told me, ya, no surgery, just insert via vaginal...

Bbgoh,

She is always spitting milk.. Her breathe is sour.. And at night, she gurgles alot.. Like got stuff coming out and she will swallow back.. And she will have a disgusted face like it taste really gross..

Mum05,

The last time my menses came back 4 months post partum although I was bfing till 10 months.. I have a friend whose menses came back at 6 months. Another friend, hers didn't come till she stop bfing at 2 yr!! So ya it's women dependent..

Ya will talk to my gynae about it.. I really cannot afford accident!! Haha!!

Michelle,

no worries! when i cleared my blocked ducts too, the supply was low as well till a few days later after that. and now finally i have excess BM to freeze!

Also, anyone encountered what if bb doesn't like frozen BM?

I find that R is taking damn long to finish a bottle of 100ml of BM, taking like half an hour, should i change the teat size? or he is just lazy to suck and drink?

mum05,

my gynae told me if one day find that BM supply is very low, then menses will come back le.. but i forget to ask her low is how low. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bbgoh

I didn't take any meds... Just dropped like tt... I find it hard to squeeze out milk (as in massage till boobs soft) as well... I'm going to stop breastfeeding... Gonna ask for meds from gynae tmr to stop n slowly transit to formula...

Lynn

Decrease also never mind Liao... I'm switchin to formula... By the way if I give a 3 out of 9 feeds of formula to my boy everyday should I give him water?

Vivi-thank you for the info...will go dwn mothercare and try it on my girl over the weekend...

Bblog-tat time u mention in yr post yr #1 will not cry for milk and you will see accordingly to time to give milk..can explain more?

Mummies,daytime feeding: wat is the max hrs interval yr bb do not ask for milk?

Afternoon Mummies,

so tired after a busy morning.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so happy that first time my boy cry for milk at 5am after his last feed at 1am yesterday night (this is so successful partly is coz MIL is too tired, not able to wake up)

Piggy,

As for bathing, i also dunno when is the good time to bath.. if can't bath immediately once they wake up, then when? coz can't bath when they juz finish milk also.. sometime MIL will make him wake up to bath 1 hour before feed coz scare later wake up want milk, cranky so can't bath him... i also find that is not right to force him to wake up to just bath coz he will be cranky too..

Mrs chua,

wow..like that good leh.. sleep thru the night...

how i wish Zaccheus can sleep thru the night soon.. but then it will still be the same if MIL force him to wake up to drink milk when it's time to drink milk...

pongzai,

i also try to distract him by toking to him when i bath him once last time and it works, he only cries when he is been put into the bath tub...

As for my MIL, when he cries, will try to bath him quickly and chop chop so that can calm him down once finished...

Gin,

thanks for the advise.. maybe should try it next time when i bath him alone (coz usually can't try if my MIL bath him, he will want to bath him quickly so that he won't cry too much)

u mentioned that after washing bum with clothes on, wrap him in towel, wash hair at tub (this time round, clothes still on when washing hair). Mittens still on (what about bootie? need to be on too?)As for water temperature, is always not too hot or not too cold.. warm one...

Pacifier will decrease bb milk intake? serious?

Hippopolai,

my milk is also getting thinner as what my HB told me

bbgoh,

but i think if by 6-8months can start to give semi-solid food, so dun need to supplement with fm right even if bm is getting thinner and thinner

i gave water when my boy got hiccups

Yoti,

ya.. just give it a try and we have lots of experience mummies at the 1 month bash, thus should be able to assist should there be any needs arise

Gathering at clementi mall:

is the gathering this thur confirmed?

Bbgoh: I feed jerrell water during my confinement Le.. Very very hot weather...

Yoti: there's motherhood fair at expo.. Y dun go see if got good lobang for the pouch??

Michelle: hugs hugs.. U must feel very Xin gu to have block ducts...

Bbgoh:

I also feed bb water during confinement, but i find that it interrupts with my bb feeding, as in he doesn't drink enough BM to be full. I think cause my inlaws always feed bb water before feed. until i told them it will interrupt with the demand and supply of BM, then they stopped.

Michelle:

switching to formula because of the blocked ducts? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] not sure about if you need to give bb water if u give 3 feeds of FM though..

my mum got give by spoonfeed during confinement when she got hiccup. now I use bottle feed she just dun like. I thk I shd slowly intro her in between milk time.

Gerry

Thanks for te explain. I just wonder if my girl has it.

yoti

for my #1 case. I fed her 3hrly interval, if she sleeping I ll wake her up it dreamfeed her. she was such a lazy girl I thk most if the time I dreamed her. the LC told me the longest interval is 5hr. but I just wanna make sure she drink enuf during the day so I fed 3hrly

Tweety - Thank you for the info...is this weekend for the fair? By the way, understand u feed yr prince when he cry for milk...How many feeds per day are you feeding him? He will auto cry for milk when he is hungry?

bbgoh - Thank you for yr reply..Cos sometimes I observe that my girl will not cry for milk..I have the same conserns as you too worry she does not drink enough in the day...She will finish the drink when you dreamfeed her?

Lynn,

When you have menses while bfing, bm supply will drop.. Mine drop about 10% the last time.. And the funny thing is while bfing, my menses super heavy flow compare to my usual..

Bbgoh,

No prob!

Actually I have started giving water to my girl as Lisa is like Kay.. Don't like water.. So #2 better start earlier..

Yoti: yup.. It's this weekend.. 2-5th June.. My boy will cry for milk automatically de.. Now his time drags to 3.5-4 in the day and 4.5-6 in the nite.. He's taking 6-7 feeds daily.. 120ml...

Selling this brand new in box Mothercare Barcelona Highchair - My Jungle Family for $55 as I have just gotten another highchair as gift. Features of the highchair:

- Tray with removable, washable insert with SteriTouch antibacterial finish

- Ultra light-weight highchair with adjustable footrest

- Folds flat for easy storage

- 5-point safety harness, removable and washable inserts

- Seat height: 54cm

- Unfolded: W78 x D61 x H99.5cm

Please PM me if you are interested. Self collection at Toa Payoh/ Queenstown area.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5535450.jpg]

sandy,

thanks.. ya hope my #1 recover soon now my turn tink caught from #1 LS since morning sigh..

Bbgoh,

i gave water when i TBF also but abit la cos i dun 1 him to reject water nex time.. but my #2 dun like water so can only gave when near feedin time..

Fungfung,

i dunno abt ur bb cos for mine both sleepin less after 1 mth old n usu they wake up ard 7+ till the nex feed so i use the timin in between to bath wor.. u mean even midnight ur MIL wake bb up for feed? den when is he ever goin to sleep thru???

yes thurs still on so u gals confirm wan lunchie at fish n co?

shice,

for their age dun use powder better use cream cos powder no gd if they breath in[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u can consider usin california bb cream..

piggy,

ya...if my bb didnt make noise for milk, she will wake him up after 3 hrs from his last feed for milk. now better ald coz previously 2hrs, she will feed my boy if my boy didnt cry.

but i was also thinking, if i increase my boy milk intake, will he sleep longer at nite coz now most of the time he will make noise after 2.5hr to 3hrs for milk.

As for lunch, i'm fine with it.. what time?

Fungfung,

For me every time I increase the amt I will increase the interval also.. But seriously speaking to wake BB up at nite is nt a wise choice cos it may eventually become a habit I gt quite a few friend child even 3/4YO still wake up for milk leh n u wun know how long he can sleep if u dun wake him up..

yoti: sorry i took so long to reply. have been using my iphone to surf the forum but no time to use my laptop. it's hard to type on the iphone! =S

this is the GF's routine for 6-8 weeks old babies

roughly:

7am- 7.45am: feeding

8am-8.30am: bath time

8.45am- swaddle baby for morning nap

9am- 9.45am: baby's morning nap

10am: baby should be awake

Encourage him to play under his play gym

10.45am-11.45am: feeding

12noon- 2/2.30pm: Baby's afternoon nap

2.30pm- 3.15pm: feeding

3.15pm- 5pm: play time (baby allowed to take a short nap if he's tired but he must be awake by 5pm to ensure he will sleep at 7pm)

5pm: feeding (can skip this if baby can wait till 6.15pm feeding)

5.30pm-5.45pm: bath time

6.15pm: feeding

7pm: swaddle baby to prepare for bedtime, baby to be asleep around 7pm

7pm-10pm/10.30pm: change diapers then feed the baby. Feeding should not take longer than one hour

She recommends that by 8 weeks the baby should be able to sleep through the night but my PD says after 3 months. So my next feed will be at 3/3.30am. Then the routine starts again.

I find that waiting for baby to cry is very subjective coz mine doesn't really cry... if u have a hungry baby it will work. But er, i find it difficult to wait for baby to cry and decide when they wanna drink... i find it hard if u let them decide when to drink and when to sleep becoz when they are sleepy they can't drink well and if they don't drink well they can't sleep well. Vicious cycle. As they grow older they will spend more time awake but sometimes they are actually tired but we can't tell. Her eyes would be wide open and she would end up being overly stimulated and when it comes to feedings she would be super cranky. So it's up to you to decide what kind of baby you have and what suits you the best! Of course, this is only a guideline. Don't follow it to the dot... work around it and be flexible but the idea is such that they limit their day time naps so that the baby can sleep through at night. Also, the baby is supposed to take enough milk to last through the night. But er, mine drinks only a small amount at each feeding so we can't do away with the night feeds.

Mich S: sorry to hear that your blocked ducts are causing you so much pain! I find it quite a pity that u're stopping ur BFing because of that though I can understand that it must be painful. Your supply is so good! Think the block ducts happen to mommies with lotsa milk.. like you, bbgoh and piggy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] So unfortunate. Haiz. Maybe you can try to switch to FM slowly lar... your boobies are so productive! can save alot on FM.... heh.

jtho: my C is awake as per the scheduled hours on GF.. usually 7-9am, 10am-12pm, 2.30pm-7pm she will be awake...

Is your Lud sleeping alot? Now I really want C to sleep more so that I can sleep too, but she will stare at me with her eyes big big... humpf. hahahaha

bbgoh, piggy: I only just started giving C water yesterday! I spoon fed her and she gave me a disgusted face too and wanted to spit it out. Damn hilarious. I also want to slowly introduce to her coz I'm giving her more FM liao.. to fatten her up. :p MY BM also getting less...

brand new baby gap white party dress for sale

size: 3-6m

price: $10 including free normal postage

i am selling this item as i received it as a gift but it is too small for my baby girl. pls PM me if interested to buy.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5535917.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5535918.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5535919.jpg]

pink

Ya, Lud is sleeping quite a lot... Like I said, I should treasure my time now before he decides that he should be more awake to torture me... Hahaha

His milk intake also fluctuating quite a lot. Sometimes he can sleep almost 4 hrs before asking for milk, but sometimes can ask for milk every 1.5-2hrly. Like today, he drank 100ml at 12noon, then at 2pm, asked for milk again, and drank 80ml. But at times, he can just drink 50-60ml and last him for 3-4hrs...

Previously got some mummies bought pumping pals supershield rite? I'm interested to buy, but my sizing is in between M/L.. any advice whether i should go for the smaller or bigger size? TIA! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

sigh ya lo tink got it from #1 LS from mornin till now -_-

wah C can be awake from 2.30 to 7pm? how u entertain her? i let K awake 2-3hr in between feed alr tired n run out of ideas how to entertain him liao wor... but ok la at least u can rest more at nite[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy: some days she will take a nap in btw.. maybe 1/2hr to 1 hr...

I have to read books to her, let her do tummy time, play the music cube, use my iphone to play nursery songs, sing songs to her, let her sit on her chair, play with her toy, carry her around the house to stimulate her visually coz I have black, white+red theme at home mah, sometimes I will bring her downstairs for a walk if the weather is good.

At night... usually 7-10pm we will have dinner... shower, then soon it will be feeding time again lor. 10pm feeding again... feed until 11pm.... then I'll have some quiet time to myself (finally!!!) to go online, read a book... then sleep at 12 plus 1 am... wake up at 7am again... i feel like i'm so tired everyday. Last time when i slept 6-7hrs everyday it felt ok ! Maybe I didn't rest properly during confinement...

Well, it can't be worse than you girls who have 2 kids.... you mummies are super!!!

U must drink alot of water!! Glucose water or H20/100+ will be good too!

oh yah yoti, the other good thing I find about following the routine is that it's not standard 3 hours feeding. Sometimes it will be dragged a little longer. I think that's good for my baby coz she's not so hungry. Previously after my CL left I tried to continue feeding her every 3hrs it became very hard to manage because she took 1 hour to drink her previous feed then by the time she went to sleep again she had to wake up for another feed again... It was driving all of us crazy. If I kept being woken up from my sleep to drink milk i'd be cranky too... so the routine is good in the way that the naps are structured and they get their rest.

I don't think babies can be like robots..every 3 hrs MUST drink... most mummies here seem to have babies who want to drink earlier than 3 hrs.. but mine.... wahahahaha.... i must beg her to drink her milk. SIGH. Then when I tell my PD(s) all of them think I'm some crazy mother because she's gaining weight just fine. Argh....

lots of things happening on my end. first, its the june hols for my 3 year old so I am so busy managing 2 kids 24/7! next my family home got sold so I need to find my own house to move to by end of this year. then i also need to employ a maid under my name...

another headache is i think my baby does not like frozen milk. I've latched all the time except for 1 feed.. feeding him frozen milk so my stash won't be wasted butttttttttttttttttttt he is only drinking like 50ml! tomorrow I am going to try my fresh breastmilk in a bottle to rule out that it's not the bottle but the milk but if its the milk.. i have like 40-50 frozen milk leh! so sad it will be wasted..

michelleS: you must have gone through a lot. no matter what, i think you did pretty well on bf your baby.

anyway, thurs at clementi mall on? shall we meet at 12 at fish & Co?

Tweety.. I let u know again whether I can meet u go expo this fri.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy.. Thanks for ur praises in bb G.. Not onli u being attracted to his eyes, everyone too hehe.. Really can't take my eyes off him at times hehe.. Jewel so cute too.. Slowly getting closer & closer hehe.. Jayden looks so comfy inside the slingz.. I really duno how to sling him in.. Sad... Thinking of selling it away Le cos really find sling not easy to use.. U & me same.. Tempted to buy pouch hehe..

Regarding tummy time, is it too early to start? R is already 7 weeks old.. my in-laws says no need to start tummy time so soon. and get very annoyed when we want to give R tummy time now.

I read online that by 4months bb will be able to do mini pushups liao.

wah lao, next time my boy development slow how! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mrs Chua,

saw your fb u added BB G as occupier in your new flat, need to produce any documents? like Birth Cert etc?

pink,

have you tried feeding her on demand? or doing that C will drink lesser?

Mil really one kind de lo.. Cook our dinner without asking if we going back eat den now jus call say she cooked our dinner & wan us home for dinner.. Hubby & me @ my mummy's house, already plan to go back after dinner.. But now becos of her (mil), hubby piss!!!! Argh!!!

piggy,

i got no choice, if i'm staying by myself, i'll not do that.. but now MIL scare bb hungry so must wake him up at the appropriate time (if he didn't make noise) to drink milk so that won't go hungry.

As for increase in milk amount, don't dare to increase too much coz partly scare he can't finish, waste milk, secondly is coz he is only 5 weeks now and drinking 90ml (i think is more than enough for his age, thus will not increase so soon unless find that 90ml is not enough for him to last thru 2.5-3 hours)

Pink,

wow.. ur C has got a good timetable...i think i must start to instill this habit for my Z and try to follow the guideline and see how is it..

most of the time, whenever my Z finish his milk, or while drinking milk, his eyes will close and fall asleep.. will C like that?

if like that, how to make him wake up and let him have playtime?

i think i'm also going to try to let my Z have two bathing opportunities in a day so as to let him get use to bathing..so that he won't be scare.. and hope it will works.. coz MIL said cannot bath too many times.. sigh!

Lynn,

tummy time is ok 1 it gd to train their neck n motor skill...

Pink,

u let C sit alr? in bumbo? but now too early rite? i tink i gettin lazier alot of time jus let him lie in his rocker till he make noise oops... u gd la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fungfung,

every bb diff u cant use other bb guideline on urs.. but of cos if he does not cry for milk ealier it ok la.. my bb tink 5/6wk alr drinkin 120ml n #1 wk 4 alr 120ml so u mus see ur bb enough anot 1... ya stayin with IL got restriction so tougher...

for my boi after milk he will like sleepy but once i put him down he will be wide awake wor dun worry as they grow older they will be more alert longer..

Sookie,

ok meet 12pm[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fungfung

Booties can be on or off up to you. I think I took mine off in the tub. Most important is to make the baby feel secure n calm.

Hmm for me both my kids drop milk intake when pacificer was introduced cuz sucking instinct lah. No pacificer just suckle boobs or bottle lor. But but but every baby is different. If it can help soothe your baby I feel it's ok to introduce. I will def introduce cuz I use it to teach my baby to sleep by themselves.

Sookie

Ohhhhhhhh so u will not be my neighbor anymore?! So sad, nan de find someone staying soooooooo near me.

I just fed after waking up from a nap. Tuesdays are my most tired day of the week. Once school starts my entire week is full! Sad man!!

I cant do the Gina ford schedule. My kids nap way too much. But it's a good guide n can be tweaked to suit individual babies.

piggy,

no worries, i wont' follow exactly the same.. juz as a guideline coz right now, Z sleep in the afternoon.. thus maybe i can instill some play time for him in the afternoon so that he can sleep longer and better at night...

wow... 5/6 week already drinking 120ml...hmm.. that time i gave 100ml.. sometime he drinks finish, sometime got some left.. thus decided to give 90-95ml instead which he can finish.. maybe now.. Z is 5wk+, i can consider to give 95-100ml and see whether can stretch his feeding time or not...

on the other hand, i aso scare give too much...sigh!

Clementi Mall Outing

Hey gals, what's the confirmed position on this? Why don't we just fix a date/time and a place (lunch at 12pm at Fish and Co sounds good) and whoever can come can join in? If you want to come by later etc, then can do so also.

Frozen BM

I had soooo much stored in my chest freezer (bought specially for the purpose) with No 1. But then she refused to drink ANY of it. So it went to waste. This time round, I'm storing less because of what happened with No 1. But we haven't actually tried giving No 2 any frozen EBM.

Piggy I was referring to the rocker chair .. I haven't bought a bumbo chair yet... Thinking of getting a 2nd one hand from WTS thread

Fung fung , I try to follow it but on some days she will invent her own schedule too.. We can only try