(2011/04) Apr 2011

Mummies, enjoy ur gathering later! Sorry ah.. Not joining.. Cos I'm too lazy. Havent even got hb to teach me how to manipulate my bulky Stroller. Hehe. Will join you all next time if hbs come along!

Hey mummies, sorry i'm unable to join the gathering ltr le.. Bb having blocked nose and was cranky the whole night.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] then this morning he drink till so fast n milk come out frm his nose.. Hmm.. Blocked nose must bring him see doc le ma? Or wait after today see how? Any advise?

Heya gals

Enjoy your gathering later! Hope to join you all next time.

Sorry haven't been online much - really have my hands full with two kiddos at home! Don't know how the mums here with three kids survive each day. Pei fu!

Mikio: My bb has a blocked nose too. I'm bringing him to Pd this afternoon - but his condition is worse than your son's. My boy is coughing, can hear phlegm etc. Very poor thing. Hope your son feels better soon!

Elmo: Which stroller do you use? Mine also very hard to use - Bugaboo Chameleon. Not a clever buy! Can't wait until bb hits three months then will switch to my Maclaren.

Gerry: Hello gal! Long time no chat. Sorry to hear you had a rough night. Colic is tough to deal with - my PD gives out colic drops (infacol, etc) but my friend says they don't work. How's the breastfeeding going? Are you also pumping? I'm almost 100% latch, but I also pump out about 80ml extra each day. Not sure what I'm going to do with the extra. Not keen on freezing the EBM, want to keep it fresh if possible.

PreciousMum: Congrats! Big BABY!

Gerry,

Have you tried colic drops? One friend told me she put her baby face down on her hand (wrist to elbow) n zoom around the house like superman. It worked for her.

Bbgoh

Oh no. Speedy recovery to her!!

Milk storage

I keep my pumped milk in my room for up to 10 hrs. I never warm milk. So far so good leh.

Michelle

Ohhh I rem your pic of your stored milk. Yes you definitely don't need supplements!! How to get from you? You stay where har? Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think I will miss confinement. So shook to sleep all day long! This morning baby slept when it was raining. Heaven.

Yolk sac

I have three!! Hahaha. Still surviving!!

We got the same pram! I hate using that if I am alone. Cuz I dunno how to fold it. Haha!

Congratulations precious mom!!!

yolk sac, i dunno wat brand. Think it's baby luv or something like tt.. hand-me-down de. For #1 as soon as he can sit up well, we change to umbrella stroller le.. use till now. haha.

been wanting to share this article, it's kind of belated ;)

May 8, 2011

A first-time mum's pain... and joys

No matter how well you research and prepare, it can come as a huge culture shock

By Nur Dianah Suhaimi

Motherhood is no walk in the park, but with the right attitude and support, one will survive the challenge like billions of women in the past who had done so under more trying conditions. -- TNP FILE PHOTO

In the nine months I was pregnant, I had visions of motherhood in soft focus. I'd be sitting in a cafe in a pretty floral dress. I'd be nursing my baby girl, who would be dressed in eyelet lace, and holding a cup of frothy chai latte in my other hand.

I'd be the poster child for motherhood and passers-by would nod and smile when they saw me with my baby because we were the epitome of serenity.

Someone should have pinched me and quashed my daydreams. A week after giving birth, I was permanently in pyjamas at home, trying to console a baby who cried no end and harbouring secret thoughts of throwing her down the stairs.

Nuha, meaning 'intelligent', was born a healthy 3.87kg baby on Nov 5 last year. Even before she came into this world, it was apparent that this little girl wanted things to be done her way.

While gynaecologists guessed that she should leave my tummy some time around Oct 28, she was ready to make her entrance into this world only a week later.

When the doctor put her on my chest seconds after she was born, I expected myself to be like other mothers who spoke about feeling a rush of emotions when they first set eyes on their baby. They would then sniff and tear and offer a finger which would be clasped tightly by the little bub.

I looked at my baby and felt nothing but fatigue. I had a 40-hour labour and did not get much sleep the previous two nights. I also felt extremely hungry. But that was all.

There was no overwhelming rush of emotions and no surge of protective instinct over this baby. A sense of dread crept into me as I realised that I might have been born without a maternal gene after all.

The two days I spent at the hospital was quite a holiday, considering the nightmare that was to follow. Visitors kept me occupied and entertained. Nuha seemed content even though she was constantly passed around. The kind nurses at National University Hospital lavished us with attention and treated us like royalty.

I thought I was prepared to be a mother because during my pregnancy I read religiously and researched widely, everything from breast-feeding to yoga for babies. I lapped up tomes on how to raise a bright child and took elaborate notes on how to teach my baby to sign when she needed the potty.

I thought surviving motherhood was like an exam. If you prepared for it sufficiently, you would do well. But nothing I read prepared me for what was to come.

After leaving the hospital and back at home, I was rudely jolted out of my soft-focal mother-hood daydream into breast-milk-splattered reality.

Nuha cried all the time. She cried when she was hungry, she cried when she was sleepy, she cried when she was being bathed, and she cried each time she had a bowel movement.

It didn't help that confinement was cruel. My belly was so tightly bound up by a traditional post-partum masseuse that I could barely breathe. The only food I could eat had an overwhelming taste of turmeric, and I was prohibited from drinking iced water.

My husband returned to work after a week's leave, leaving me at home alone with the baby. Each morning, I begged him not to go to work, which was of course impossible. Then I would count down the hours until he came home, just so I could pass him the baby and take a break.

I was convinced that Nuha had an antenna which could sense when I wandered farther than 10m away from her.

She would sleep peacefully when I was beside her but the moment I stepped into the bathroom and had shampoo in my hair, she would cry dramatically, complete with loud shuddering sobs.

After being so used to living for myself and by my own terms, it was a culture shock for me to suddenly be dictated to by this little person who demanded to be carried all the time.

So for the first time in my life, I trained myself to finish my meal in less than five minutes and shower in less than three.

Each time after I consoled her and put her to sleep, I would be so drained that all I wanted was to sit back and stare blankly into space.

People kept telling me I should give myself a break and get help, but that was easier said than done. My parents have their own careers while my in-laws run a thriving business. And last I checked, I did not have a governess at my beck and call.

It is true they say it takes a village to raise a child because doing it alone can drive anyone mad.

And I think I was on the brink of madness. I resented it when my husband went out for a jog or took his time in the shower, just because I couldn't do the same. I wanted him to suffer as much as me because Nuha was his baby too. As the other parent, he had to have an equal share of the misery.

But then I reflected on how my own mother survived being a first-time mother 28 years ago, several months after her mother died. She must have felt so lost and lonely, but she never once complained.

It was then that I realised how every mother must have had it difficult, if not worse than me. Mothering is a job which offers no breaks though extremely demanding. But none of these mothers complained.

They gushed about the wonders of motherhood, the unconditional love, the cotton-candy sweetness and the fluff. But they kept to themselves the sleepless nights spent rocking a baby to sleep, the hours spent trying to pacify a crying baby, or the fatigue and frustrations that come with caring for a child.

I just wished that someone could have assured me that it is normal to struggle with a newborn baby and it is all right if I do not feel an outpouring of maternal love in the first few months because things will eventually work out.

Four months came and went and one morning, just like that, Nuha woke up and decided not to cry any more.

Instead of whimpering when she wakes up in the morning, she will smile brightly, showing off her pink toothless gums. Instead of crying for hours in the afternoons, she shows enjoyment in music, books and my clowning around.

I've no idea what caused the sudden change but I do not care because I'm enjoying spending time with her so much that I don't wish to do much else.

I guess motherhood is just one of those things you learn from experience. The learning curve may be steep but you will learn quickly enough and survive the challenges like the billions of women who have done it before.

Nuha turned six months last Thursday and is now a very cheerful baby. She can signal when she wants to use the potty. My parenting research and studies did not come to nought after all.

Thanks mummies.. Ya.. My baby is big.. Hehe.. Causing me so much pain during labor.. But luckily finally it is out.. N is so 'solid' to cuddle..

hahaha... i'm starting to feel lazy too Elmo.. but Sook will come and drag my lazy ass to the gathering i guess... hahahaha

baby hasn't had her bath yet and weather seems cold... brrr

Mummies, enjoy yr gathering later!

No confidence to bring bb out even she's my #2. she tougher than #1. last nite cried 1hr till no voice.

Gerry/hippo, colic-I give rid wind doesn't seems to help! I give gripewater 5ml mixed inside 30ml of water, she finished, let's c!

Anyone knw if we can give gripe water and rid wind in same day?

Yolk, anyone sick at home? Wondering y nick will fall sick..

Im Mac user, have a xt and quest, both serve me well.

Take care ya?

This weather is so freaking hot!!!!!!! Even wind frm fan feel warm!!! The moment after shower I will sweat!! Shitty

morning mummies...

mikio,

my bb block nose v long liao den develope cough with phlegm... now no more cough but nose still block they take v long to recover 1...

Hippopolai,

me too last nite bb wake up from nose block again i tink i slept few hr only zzZZzzz~

Piggy: hmm.. U brought ur bb to pd ma? Hmm.. The 'pi sai' got stuck in his nose will cause them to be uncomfortable? I tried to use the pigeon thingy to suck out but can't wor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mummies going for gathering.. enjoy! :D

got woken up by bb making alot of noise through the night, super super stone now..

Gin: haha! Must tell me how you manage with 3! I have an army of help but even then, two is tough. Yeah, I always struggle with that frame and then it's hard to get the car seat to fit on it. Sigh...might try my sling later and see if bb likes it.

Vonn: for once nick didn't catch the bug from his sis! Dunno where he got it from to be honest. Poor guy. Listening to him breathe and cough makes me so sad.

Elmo: yeah I much prefer the non bulky type of strollers! And they cost less too.

Pink: great article, thanks! Yes I agree! It really gets more fun when they are a bit older. And it just gets better and better! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haha pink, so you dare to bring bb out in e end ah? Have fun later! My side dark clouds clear le.. No rain le.

piggy, ur bb got pi sai stuck inside anot? Can use cotton bud to dig out then they can breath much better. J nose stuck till almost covered the nostrils.. Breath also difficult.. Heng hb managed to dig out big pieces of pi sai. Can hear his breathing much better now. I no technique dunno how to clear e nose. Last time we dunno.. Bring #1 to pd. End up spend $60 for "mechanical cleaning" aka dig pi sai by pd!

Piggy: sounds like Nick has the same bug as K! How did you treat the condition? Any good meds? So far, we just do the suctioning. Can get a bit out.

Michelle

Thanks will pm you in a while

Yolk sac

I bought a cheaper pram for everyday use. The big elephant use only when hub is around!!

I still dunno how to cope with three. Cuz in confinement just close eyes n sleep. My challenge will start next week bah!!! Hope I can remain sane!! How to go gaigai with three kids?! Real challeging!!!

I tried to dig but sometimes Vianne got woke up so I gave up digging the pi sai until the pi sai are real near the outside if the nostril

hahaha, so funny, we are discussing pi sai

elmo: i'm bringing maid along.. she more pro than me i think.. wahahaha... her boy back home is 7 years old now... shes my back up plan =P

i cannot don't go leh the mommies here all so onz.... u come lar u come lar... i wanna see baby JOEL!!!!!!!

congrats precious mom, take care and rest well.

pink,

that is a great article which my cousin also ask me to read but i don't have ST, luckily i can read it here.. What it say in the article is quite true. So Let's ganbatte nia coz child will grow up very fast, just enjoy all these moments with them before we knew it, they have grown up.

Pink

Good article! Lets all hang in there till we see light at the end of the tunnel!!!

Today is my first solo breakout. Am going to pick up my kids n send them to two diff enrichments. Wanted to bring baby along. Think better not. Wait drive halfway wanna drink milk how?!?! Hahaha!!

Gin- I have my Maclarens but can only use from 3 months. Till then, I'm stuck with my Bugaboo. I think next week, I will attempt a solo outing with my baby (while jie jie is in school). Must slowly build up our "gai gai" confidence!!

Hey yolk sac! Long time no see!! Ya handling 2 is tough.. What more 3!! Haha!!

I am still full-time latch on.. But I pumped this morning as I need some for this Friday as I am going to the hair salon.. Hehe!! I have a wedding to attend next sat.. Must look a bit presentable.. Haha!! Now look like a mess..

Hmmzz.. No need to pump if you are not goin to be away from NIC? I usually would pump if I know I am going out without Eva.. If not I wouldn't bother to pump.. Too troublesome..

Hope NIC gets better soon..

Gin,

Oh.. Sounds fun.. Hehe!! Ok will try it when Eva starts fussing again.. You are good lah.. Handle 3 kids!! I think I am going crazy with 2.. Haha!!

Voon,

Ok let me know.. Yesterday I went to buy dentinox colic drop but haven't try..

Pink,

Haha!! Great article.. But I also tell moms to be that motherhood and breastfeeding ain't a walk in the park.. Not fun at all.. But yes it gets better as they get older.. More fun and they are oh so cute when they can interact with you.. Just tahan!! You can do it!!

Hi Gerry, since u bought no harm trying.

My bb farted 2x during her feed(nt sure if it's due to gripewater).

Pi Sai-I use cotton wool buds to dig it out. Dnt use the norm wan, it's too big for their nostrils. I use the pigeon brand.

Little secret-I enjoy digging her pi sai, feel a sense of accomplishment when I see it on my cotton bud but she's usually irritated! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mummies here tinking of letting go of your Pre-loved Babyplus, please let me know as I am very keen to get it.

Hi mummies! If ur babies have "pi sai", u can also get this pigeon plastic tweezer to "kiap" the sai out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

great outing! can't wait for the next one.

piggy: i forgot to pay you for the gong cha. Will pay you the next time round, if not PM me your account # and I "TT" the money to you?

Damn tiring for me Vianne did not sleep the whole day . When I thoughtshe is sleepy put her in Yao LAN and she woke up.

Sian no nap for me how to last till tonight

pink,

okay. cause there's something on bb R's butt and my in laws says its cause wear pampers too long and then something grew. -_-

C sleeping means you can rest already! :D

Aiyah i swallow my words back she's cranky still keep crying in her sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lynn , it shld be the bcg scar...

Indeed a great outing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't wait for the next one @ pink's house? 

Sorry mummies that I was feeding Gervaise when I go to nursing rm. So did nt manage to say bye to u all.. Now in the train with hubby & Gervaise.. Luckily got hubby, if bt I duno how to handle cranky Gervaise who wan to zzz & the stroller.. Omg.. 

Sookie.. Thanks for finding the cooler mat bp, will go order later when Hm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink.. At least now u get to rest too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now I jus hope Gervaise can slp longer tonight b4 his next feeding so i can slp longer too.. Tmr going to HDB collect house keys [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jtho.. What is the brand name of stroller u recommend jus now? Hubby & me went c c stroller jus now, find the preg pego, Mac v heavy & dun dare anyhow invest in any until we find one which is v gd de... Even sales lady @ Mother's care recommend us to get European  brand de cos Gervaise is long & bigger in size.. Haizz.. 

Wow envy la you all get to meet up I am waiting for the next one

Pink my mil is here tomorrow but part of me don't like it because of the way she talk . And I hope she will not hoard on to Vianne

Hihi mummies.. Nice meet up today.. So fun!! A experience for me to bring bb out alone.. Just now reached home and pumped.. 450ml.. Haha.. Boobs like a stone sia..

Pink: looking forward to the next one at ur house..