(2011/04) Apr 2011

Hippo,

Wah!! Jovie really got a good learning attitude... Finally can latch for so long! Yeah keep the bottles away until you start work!! =)

Mei,

Didn't the LC at the hospital tell you that milk production will only kick in between day 3 to day5.. For 2nd time mothers, milk production might start earlier on day 3 postpartum..This is what the LC and nurses at Mt e kept telling me and reassuring me.. The first few days will only just be colostrum and that is enough to keep the newborn full.. plus baby has storage to last till mother's milk kicks in.. That's why after baby has recover from delivery, baby will suck vigorously to stimulate mother's milk production..

Taking milk from the nipple is way more hard work then getting milk from the bottle.. so some babies might end up being lazy and not bother with the breast anymore..

You can wait till he opens his mouth big big like when he is crying or yawning and stuff your nipple to his mouth or you can express some milk on your nipple and try to tempt your boy to open his mouth..

Hi shice,

Very Sian when Bb keeps dozing off right? I always rub his feet/chest when he doze off but it doesn't work all the time. Now i latch on about 20 mins on 1 side then 10-15 mins on the other side.Sometimes, in between, I have to spend about 20 mins to wake her up!

If she continue to doze off while feeding, I dun know when she can sleep through soon. Oh ya...my gal also like your Bb, she can finish 80-100ml when we btl feed her but i try to limit to 1 btl feed in the middle of the nite only as I still wish to bf her.

How long do you bf your gal shice? On one side or both side per feed??

hippopolai

wow, u can express so much now!!! so good!! how to achieve that?

i was like you during #1 did not manage to bf much cos low supply, but now i still low supply leh... can pass some tips to me???

Sianz... Kana flu virus & good poisioning.. Now whole body so weak.. So sad to see what ever milk pump out gone to s waste.. All got to throw into the sink.. Can't give bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mrs Chua

Aiyo. how come Kenna flu? bcoz of yst Bb shower over tired?? why yr ss cant give Bb? u went see GP? hope u gets well soon. to maintain yr supply no choice altot wasted still must pump on time

mikio

yr Bb sleep on Yao LAN?? dun listen to r CL nonsense. dun let her spoilt yr Bb, when she left u sure can handle well yr Bb. dun scare too much on Bb crying during shower. try to bath him 1hr b4 milk time.

Mrs CHUA,

Why cannot give ebm to your baby?? Did you tell dr you want a safe antibiotic for breastfeeding? I had a very severe case of mycoplasma infection and had to be on pretty strong antibiotics but dr said still can breastfeed but I will wear a mask to prevent infecting my girl.. In the end, my whole family was sick except my girl.. I think when you are sick should still try to bf as the antibodies you are producing will be passed on to your baby.. The only thing I missed while I was sick was that I wasn't able to kiss or hug her..

hippo

no leh... my hb and i didnt have sensitive skin history at all... the rashes that appear around my boy's neck look like newborn rashes... but it's like... a lot... so weird. his skin is peeling also. i know skin peeling is normal but the rashes dont look normal to me.. eeeks. now using cetaphil to bath him and need to apply lotion given by the clinic. i guess it's the bird's nest that i took. i took new moon bird nest bottle once a week and now like this. hmmm.

Gerry,

Yeap... Another finishing line to look forward... (throw bottle aside, hahaha...)

Bbgoh,

Yeah yeah, thanks!

Jtho,

Actually think the credit goes to all mummies here with the advise, papaya fish soup, Milo, red dates drink, my CL, my good learning attitude daughter & me myself for working so hard to pump on time!!!!!! (sounds like star awards that on tv now huh...???? Lols~)

I just drink alot alot & alot of fluids, my CL will make me soup everyday... So all I gallop down during confinement is fluids!!!!! No special remedy this time wor~

Thank GOD!

Piggy, is it a promo for the free hair brush thing? Coz after looking at their website, I'm thinking of putting both hair and cord in to the stamp.. But if they got give free hair brush, I may wanna separate the hair and stamp.. Got picture of ur brush and stamp.. Can share the pic n pricing? Tks!

Jojo.. Ya loh.. Very sian.. My boy latch only abt 10min or so then fall asleep liao.. Only when I put him down then he start crying and need to latch him again.. The cycle carries on for a few times.. Very tiring.. Most of the time I latch Liao then pump out the remaining.. I usually latch 1 side only coz I wan him to get the hind milk.. But also dunno when is enough to change side.. Anyway most of the time he latch one side then sleep Liao.. So no diff..

Btw, I used to pump abt 150-180 per pump a couple od days ago. But since yesterday, my supply suddenly dropped to 50-80ml per pump!! What's wrong? Sob.. I dun wanna stop breast feeding so soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] tonigh no choice gotta supply with fm.. Very sad.. Been pumping and latching every 2hrs now.. Hopefully can increase..

hippopolai

i also listened to all the advise here, drank lots of papaya fish soup, milo, red dates drink, even anmum and oatmeal... my son also latch on quite well and i also pump leh... but still my supply stagnant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

think it's just fated that i cannot bf for long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbgoh: at first she ask if we got rocker.. so my hb took from his aunt.. then CL use loh.. put bb on rocker, he sleep very well.. then i tell CL say after bb slp on rocker liao put him back to the cot.. after that she complain saying that bb keep waking up after awhile so she put him on rocker again.. then now sometimes bb don't wan to slp on rocker.. then she ask if got yao lan.. my hb took from his aunt again.. we set up awhile nia.. then she put bb in the yao lan.. after that we went out to buy FM for bb, then come back she say bb slp yao lan then she must keep yao him else he don't wan to slp... Zzzzzzzzzzz....... WO YAO BEI TA QI SI LE~~

think after 8 days i will pengsan..

Tweety/sandy/hippopolai

Gerry,

Bt my boi keeps crying non stop tht day so no choice even though i want tbf. Then my HB said maybe my supply is nt enough for him so ask for fm frm hospital. And my boi really drank some and then stop crying and sleep after tht.

Nw i feed him every 3hrs or based on his demand. And nw i'm hving painful engorgement. And when i try to squeeze out, i'm so happy to see milk.

Even though my boi keeps sucking when latch on bt he will off latch quite often

Jtho,

Man man Lai... My ss also crawl like tortoise but I just tell myself... As of today, I'm lucky can TBF Jovie liao... Last time Terry I have supplement with FM... Out of 8 feed, 6-fm & 2-bm... So dun stress... Let's Jia You together ya!!!

Fung,

Ur bb just few day old... It's very common problem for us... The de-latch very very very often... Even Jovie is now 20day old, she also sometimes de-latch after 10-15mins latch... I have to knock her head to wake her up... Haa haa haa... Both u & bb need to work out to make a perfect latching team!!!!! Dun give up... Communicate with hubby for all the support u need... Support from partner is very important to successful BF!!!!!!

mei: you mean day 9 you get 200ml or 20ml? 200ml is alot leh!!! anyway the first few days my bb is on full FM and even till now i still need to supplment 1 or 2 feeds with FM as my supply cant keep up with my bb's demand. So long as you are determine to give BM, just keep latching and pumping and if your baby is hungry you can always top up with FM.

hippopolai

ya, now can only give 3 feeds of ebm to lud... feels so demoralised despite telling myself i can do it this time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i'm not too stress la, just feel sad lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Fung,

Agree with hippo.. Babies are like that.. My #1 first night in the hospital was like hell!! I was itchy backside.. Decided to room in with baby.. But baby was terrible.. She practically latched on to me non stop the entire night!!!! As soon as I put her down, she would cry the house down!! But my hb was very supportive.. He never once said my supply was not enough.. In fact he knew it would take a few days for milk to come in.. I feel that for successful breastfeeding, both mummy and daddy must be equipped with some knowledge about breastfeeding..

If you persist, I believe you and baby will make a good breastfeeding team.. Babies also need to learn how to latch and suck and mummies need to learn how to breastfeed.. Jia you!! =).

Hippopolai,

Wow u so rough, know jovie's head.... Heehee

Ya, i tried to communicate with my boi and hope He and me can become a gd latching team. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya, dun worry. I'll nt give up. My HB is supportive juz tht, tht day he worry my boi didnt get enough frm mi so ask for fm (ai ya, u noe 1st timebeing a daddy is like tht) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jtho,

3feed still much more better than Terry!!!! Jia you!!!! Yup, it's quite sad sometimes when we cant do it totally, but still better than totally don't have/ cannot, right? Cheers!!!!!!

Y not u latch lud & dun look at the number? Might be super duper tired but it might help?

Fung,

Haa haa... I where got really knock, say nia...

Erm... U very understanding towards ur hubby... That's good!!! My hubby not very supportive as in he dunno how to support when we tried to BF my son... Then I use the entire 9mths ++++ to 'educate' my hubby what is good abt BF & what I expect him to do... He is much better now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi shice,

Oic. At least ur Bb still cry for milk when you put him/her down. My gal hor~headache, drink not enough(only drink 15 mins on one boob at times), also cAn doze off but surprisely, she still can 'tahan' to wake up 3 hrly for next feeding.

U delivered ur Bb in mt a? The LC in mt a also taught me to latch on 1 boob per feed but my the other boob leaking leh...so I have to express out the other boob whereby Bb never suck. To avoid expression, I try very hard to wake up my gal to let her latch on the other boob but rely xinku Loh.

Last time when I bf my no.1, I also like you...latched & expressed every 2 hrly. That time really could produce a lot of milk but very xinku so Now for this no.2, I try to express out one time in the morning & one time before I sleep. When it is approaching 2th-3th months, then I will add on one more expression in the afternoon to build up the supply. So by the time I go back to work in the 5th month, I will also express out in this 3 different timing (2 times in office & 1 time at home), hopefully the milk would be established by then.

Wow, you could express so much ah!! So far I can only express around 80-110 per pump. I am thinking...the sudden drop of your supply, could it due to tireness?? Did you drink a lot of fluid?

Hippopolai,

Ur HB didnt attend the pre-natal class with u? Coz my HB got attend the class with mi so that's why he noes the benefit of bm and he helps mi w bf during my hospital stay. Ok lah at least ur HB willing to learn aso.

Hippopolai,

i find own parent i can still tell them straight no.. but IL cannot n my parent i dun tink is any better than urs lol~ i told my mum be4 she came can jus gave me a call anot incase i sleepin or wat she can tell me u sleep lo i jus wan see bb mah.. i tell her wat if we not at home she say aiya confinement sure at home mah! at most go back lo bth~

wah like per pump u can get so much liao ah gd gd ... gambateh...

Shice,

in hosp goodie bag got the voucher even if u do the taimobi can still keep some in the stamp mah.. basically got 3 type crystal($128), Liu li with zodiac($228) n the most ex is $268 .. i haven collected so no pic to show the person jus came on Fri to let me chose.

Mikio,

Simply BTH ur CL leh!!! I think it's a bad habit to let baby get used to sleeping in yao lan or rocker.

I think if I'm u n CL ask for these 2, I'll tell her straight that I don't want my baby to be dependent on such things to sleep. If shes really that good, she shd be able to coax baby to sleep. :p There r other methods like pat pat baby or gently stroke d head or ears.

Also, I thought u shd be resting well n let d CL bath d baby?

Er, maybe u want to try bathing d baby BUT I think 1-2 tries shd be enuff lah,let d CL do such things coz once she leave, I'll b all by urself n nobody to ask for help.

Piggy: sorry for the late reply. My computer crashed on me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my bb was borned 2.610kg natural with epidural ;)

Ladies, my confinement is officially over le! But somehow.. Feel quite sad le. Wait till CL leave.. No one to serve me like a queen le. Gotta do everything myself and be a slave to my kids. Food also gotta go buy or cook myself le. :-( Had a nice baby shower today. Feels good to catch up w old frens after hibernating for 1 mth. Heng food din left over too much. Tmr still gotta go interview.. Super sianz.

hippopolai

sigh... my CL always top up with either EBM or FM after i latch cos lud will cry for more... think if i want to do exclusive latching and pumping to increase milk supply, will only be able to do it after confinement liao...

CL is not against bfeeding, but she thinks that i need more rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

when i'm sleeping or resting, CL will not bring lud to me for latching cos she doesn't want to disturb me, so she will bottle feed lud directly...

i just told her just now to bring lud to me everytime before she feeds him, at least to let him latch and stimulate my supply before i pump out the remaining...

i really dunno the problem lies with me or the way my CL does... however, she still cooks a lot of stuff for me to increase milk supply la... but i think what i'm lacking is the stimulation from latching lor...

i feel that i had more chance to latch when i was in hospital [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

now i'm researching online how to increase milk supply and wean baby from fm later, after CL leaves...

super tired from baby C's manyue party today... whole day affair

and i got 2 more rounds to go... today's one shld be the longest and most exhausting one i hope...

Fungfung

Don't cry! Should be hormones making you feel this way! Can go home soon right?

Jtho

Most cl think we are not resting enough. With enough rest milk ss goes up very fast. Hang in there!!

Elmo

I'm starting my confinement!! Haha. Looking forward to eating n sleeping!! Cuz it means I can take a break from ferrying my kids.

But tomorrow discharging. So far enjoying my stay here cuz sooooo quiet and I eat n sleep only.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gin, so shiok!

My hospital stay damn hectic...... no rest and no sleep at all....

Same thing happens when I'm home...think I'm the kind who can't rest ~~~ the CL keeps asking me to go sleep but somehow I'll find alot of things to do~~~~ Enjoy your confinement! i'm counting down to end of mine :D

Mich S: don't think the sensitive skin is due to the birds' nest... i took a lot too throughout my entire pregnancy... that was the only thing I didn't throw up...

mikio: ur CL really makes people vomit blood.. don't know how u can tahan...

fungfung: don't be sad you'll go home soon!!!

sandy: hope you had a nice weekend and didn't quarrel with hubby. i'm sure you guys will patch up after all the fights! ;)

Fung,

*hugs*

Jtho,

Ya... CL is like tat... Mine also like that... Keep ask me rest... But I just tell her that I need bb to suckle on me so can stimulate my ss... She quite understand also... & she sort of know my stubbornness... Haa haa... So she will ask me everytime if I want to latch... But night time she ask me to rest... So night time she will do btl feed, but I'll still wake up to pump...

Ur CL is right, enough rest also help in supply... Which is why some ppl ss drop after CL leaves coz they get nit enough rest... It happen on me so I will try to rest if posssible...

Elmo,

Congrats!!!! Haa haa haa... I'm not looking forward to end of my confinement... Kakakakaka... No more queen service, no more nice food, no more rest... Sianzzzzzz.... My CL very bad... Keep reminds me... Sob sob....

winwin and hippo, i get 200 ml per day, not per pump, pump until no time to rest

Gerry, the LC did told me milk supply dont comes in until day 3, but in fact, even my colostrum only comes around day 5, when i in hospital, the PD told me cos my baby is heavy, so is normal to be drinking 30-50 ml by day 2-4, by day 5-7, shld be drinking 50-70ml, i tried to latch on day 1 and totally nothing, until day 2 my baby is crying very hard for milk and cry also when he latch and no milk,i feel heartpain to see him cry like this, so only gave him FM on day 2, and thereafter until my milk supply comes in on day 4-5, i cant catch up with his demand now, he drinks about 85 ml per feed now at day 9

Gerry & Bbgoh..As I oso got food poisoning so those med he given me stronger therefore beta dun give bb drink those bm. Anyway hubby & me think Le, beta b safe than sorry waste now beta than later bb anything worse. I jus hv to continue pumping to continue my milk supply lo..

Morning mummies...

Woke up to feed bb den after which decIded to pump. During massage, noticed milk already flowing out non-stop so try hand express method, wow managed to hand express out 50ml... But too bad, bb can't drink it..

Mei: dun worry abt ur supply, juz keep pumping every 3hrs n drink lots of fluid n ur supply will increase one. Try to rest more also, when I got enuf zzzz, my output usually get better. Anyway since ur bb needs high intake juz continue to give whatever BM you have and top up by FM. Dun b over stress by breastfeeding. I have learn to take it easy since I know I m trying my best liao

Mrs Chua: its very good that ur supply remain good even though u r unwell. Once recovered u can resume ur moo-ing career le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gin, enjoy ur confinement food! keke. I actually quite like confinement food. :p

pink, yest is Miss C's full mth also ah. I saw the pics.. v lovely n pinky party you've got! Izzit at ur condo function room?

hippopolai, ya lo. Tmr CL leave le... kind of sad. Then everything gotta do myself le. Scary. Yest hor.. hb bathed bb for the 1st time. CL say he did it better than me! :p I tell hb.. can he take my maternity leave n i go back to work? hahahah! I think hb is better at looking after babies than me! hahaha!

Mrs Chua, how to do hand express har? Later going out maybe 5 hrs cannot pump. Dunno will burst neh anot!

Morning!!!

Mrs chua: take good care!! Speedy recovery..

Elmo: ^5.. I loved confinement food too.. Heehee.. going for ur interview right? Good luck!! Can bring pump out? I cannot tahan 5hours wor.. Will be hard like rock de..

Elmo: yup miss C's manyue at my MIL's house ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] n

She slept through out the whole afternoon .... Zzzzz

It's ok practise makes perfect !! U'll be fine with Joel u got jerrel liao ! I'm more scared than u lor... CL leaving soon too

Have to bite the bullet n try

Joel's party looks like a huge success too very nice pics!! He's so handsome !! Don't look like Jerrell?

Hello everyone

Had a nice baby shower but sotong me and Hubby forgot to take pics . Vianne supposed to sleep but she somehow tknow that she is the star of the day so she only sleep a while and woke up again in the middle of the party.

Mei me too 1 day less than 200ml now a bit better 1 day more than 200ml and like hippo me too out if the how many fm I only manGed to have 2 feeds of bm . One time pump 30ml if not 60ml the max for both breasts. Sometimes on the verge of giving up.

Mikio Pui your Cl don't worry next week you will be having your freedom soon. Jesmi just went to the baby shower and she said next will be yours

morning ladies..

Pink,

congrats on C full month[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elmo,

gd luck on ur interview...

argh 4nite in a row i din sleep liao or shd i say 4 day? i am feelin so emo n tired now how... sumtime look at my bb i feel like cryin dunno y he is so difficult argh... stress..