(2011/04) Apr 2011

Morning ladies..

Bbgoh,

sigh same fever shoot up at 4am again really dunno it my breast or other thing now on my way to KKH hope can get some ans there...

Vivi

Pm u[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bbg

When we breastfeeding we release two types of hormones. One of it actually stimulate the milk.. Hence when we think about feeding,it will actually have a stinging feeling, diff mummies feel differently..

Some other symptoms are milk leaking when mummy hear baby crying or milk leaking hen feeding and uterine contraction.

Anyone feel itchy down there even when you are bleeding? Is it ok to apply cream like vagisil?

Piggy, ur fever sounds bad. Hope kkh docs can help you! Take care.

Hippo, my boy also wake up every 1+ hrs asking for milk leh! Day or nite also like tt. But if give him more milk he cant finish. Now he drinks 90ml every 2-3hrs. But at nite 1+hr drink 50-60ml only. CL say next time must give pacifier at nite to dong liao. Else no need zz. CL go i cham. Intend to try latching on at nite. But dunno if I'll end up latching on whole nite anot? I dun feel like intro pacifier so early leh. Any gurus got gd solution?

Elmo,

thanks sigh now shiverin badly ..

tt time my boi also keep cryin for milk so Bo bian I gave pacifier after a mth n I make it a pt I only gave when necessary so he wun ask for it all the time..

Hippopolai,

ya I will thanks..

Pink,

I feel like cryin jus seen the dr din even ask me do any test jus told me could be engorement n ask a LC to assist me full stop ... N if I wan to stop BF they can gave me the medi-_-

my pain is mainly bottom of the breast n after pumpin usu even no clot I press still pain[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have delivered my baby girl on Friday @ 3.06pm by c-sect with epi.

Tried to latch baby on these few days but she always in sleeping mode....anyone experience this? Currently no sign of milk supply yet...stress....

I am going to discharge today!! Yipperz!! Baby Eva and I are doing great.. Her latching on intervals are long.. About 3 hours + but she will latch on each boob for about 30+ mins.. Always feel like falling asleep!!

Piggy,

Aiyoh.. Very poor thing.. I think dr sometimes also no help one..ESP when it comes to this kind of problem.. Unless they are specialist in the breast and breastfeeding.. So what did the LC say??

Prayhard,

Congrats!! I delivered on sat morning 1.59am and I also don't think I am producing milk.. Will take a few days.. As for sleepy babies, just try to latch on every 3 hrs and see whether they are interested.. But don't force the issue yet.. NB tend to be sleepy for the first few days..

Sookie,

Usually I will try to tickle but if mouth still too small, I will wait till Eva yawns or cries then I will try to stuff my breast into her mouth.. But Eva got quite a strong rooting reflex..

Elmo,

I think should only delay when baby is older at least 2 months.. Cos the first few months, they have lots of growth spurts.. So you don't want to deprive them unknowingly.. They might really need the nutrients..

Piggy, Wah the doctor very cmi leh... Did he give u any other medication ? Never check for infection? Why don't u call yr gynae? He shld be able to help u?

If ur fever is still bad u definitely need medicine lor. think madam Rokiah just cleared yr engorgement yesterday so is it still due to engorgement? Did the kkh doctor check u?

Must be really bad for u u must drink more water in the mean time also ok? Stay hydrated

Prayhard, dont worry it's like that. Try to latch every 3hrs. Must unswaddle her n burp her to wake her up. My C is 2weeks plus now.. First 1 week or so she spent her days sleeping or drinking only n she can sleep thru 4 hrs without milk n dont even cry for milk...

Milk will come in btw 4th-7th days babies have reserves to last them a few days .. Don't stress!!

ya sookie, but he was sooo 'different' when we had our #1, he loves children and wanted more, mayb now he tot got helper so everything he need not chap. Talk to u via email, e posts here tooo fast, hard to catch up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy,

So did u see LC!?

Prayhard,

Pink is right.. Dun stress... Just latch 3hrly... Bb tends to sleep longer 1st week... U'll gonna be busy 2nd week onwards!!!!!

Think my Jovie going thru 1st growing spurt... She ask for milk just after 1.5hrs after milk!!!! She is drinking 80ml 1.5hrs ago!!!!!! CL said coz she is awake since last feed, so she move more hungry faster... -_-"" latch like that my nips sure finish... Now latch 3hrly aldy pain.. If latch 1.5hrly I think I need nips cream liao... The super efficient that type... Haa haa haa haa...

Hippo she is just cranky lor even my Cl got to sleep

Late because of Vianne.

She just couldn't get to sleep soundly despite after drinking milk , parting her to sleep and ensue diapers clean

Woke up @ 5am, right Side of my breast feeling suPer hard, as if like a stone.. Try to pump but v little milk onli den even after pump, still v hard.. Try to slp awhile more until 8.45am woke up, use hot shower to spray & massage hand hand until my hand gonna break.. Den try pump, supply still Little.. Was so worried lo... Den @11am, boy woke up for milk, tried latch him on right, after latching for abt 20mins, breast become softer but still got the hard hard lump, no matter how hard I massage oso cannot, gonna ask ml later help me massage if still like this will ask hubby do it Liao.. I really v scare will have to b cut like Wat Mdm Rokiah said or hv to stop bf etc.. Hubby say if really no choice & got to pay $70 for another round of massage to solve this prob rather than having to go cut etc, he say he willing to pay..

Hippo, that's gd eh.. Miss C got no growth spurth leh still drinking 60ml only n she cant finish sometimes.. I have to make sure she drinks at least 430ml everyday coz that's the amt she needs... (=_=) I hope that she can drink more like Jovie.........

Piggy: hugz hugz.. No other solutions from dr? I was asking my sil.. She said might be because of engorgement that causes the fever... Hope u're feeling better now..

Mrs chua: hugz.. Dun scare urself k... Maybe just ask the lady to massage again?

Prayhard: congrats!!!

Gerry: yeah!!! U and eva can go home Le.. Heehee

Omg.. Jus receive msg from ML she hv something on today so cancel the appt.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mrs Chua: u posted awhile ago about silk bedsheets? Can email me to discuss?

Anyone has recommendation on comfy cot bedsheets? Bought a set from Baby kingdom but the fabric is so rough n it traps heat.. Wanna buy a better set for baby C...

Gerry,

Congrats!!! So fast can go home...

Mrs. Chua,

Could be the massage method incorrect so cannot dissolve the lump? Me sometimes also feel got lump then keep massage also no use... But I heck care lor... Since Gervaise can help to soften ur breast... Maybe u shld do fully latch? Gerry said she has no lump when she do full latch with Lisa... Only pump then lump appear de...

Pink,

U wanna buy silk bedsheet for baby C!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wanna get Jovie to play date with C!!!!!! Spoilt mom~ lalalala~~~

mommies, do we really need a pump if we bf? Cos someone wana take over my pump and i'm not sure if to let go or not now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mum05,

If u prefer fully latch can no need pump but sometimes u will have some errand to run whereby u can bring bb with u so u need to pump out n let the care giver feed ur bb right?

Pink,

Erh... Dunno what mattress n normal bedsheet lor... She is not sleep in air-con some more.... Haa haa haa... Ur baby C sleep in air-con room right????

ningyo, I did pretty 'good' dur my confinement for my #1-(no bath, no shower, no wash hair for 1 mth and used only boiled water to wash up!), but this time round, I cannot tahan, I already bathed & washed my hair at least 3 times, despite the daily rinse off with herbal water. Maybe water too hot now.

Now it's coming to my 4th wk of confinement and I'm bathing and washing hair every 3 days. I went out 'cos needed to bring bb to PD for jaundice check up and for my wound check up...

These outings did help to relieve abit of my bf stress I must say.

This, to me, wld be my last confinement too if I can help it but I really can't tahan the heat anymore leh, even though I've ensured that I've had my long hair cut real short before my bb's born.

Gerry, salute u, u're like such an expert and bf to u is sooo easy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hippo, ya lor, tt's why I duno leh, to keep or not to keep.

Piggy, how's things wif u now? Wat did the doc say? U're alr past confinement period?

mommies, u ladies really can feel the let-down? Don't think I feel anything leh, does that means I hvnt got any 'let-down' yet? ooh...

Hippo: no we turn on the fan for her now... Her breathing seems better without air con. Only sometimes in the afternoon when its really warm n stuffy that I'll turn on air con for a short while to cool the room down .. that's why I'm looking for better bedsheets for her so that it's not so warm... :p

Yah lar she's very spoilt by me lar I know.......... die liao

elmo, me too, felt like stuffing a pacifier to my bb whenever she cries, hee but I tried not to, my #1 din hv it also(she refused and preferred her thumb a few mths later...) but I was told that if u intend to bf, esp direct latch-on, then it's best not to introduce pacifier too early.

I believe this is true, cos I've resorted to pumping of bm the past wks and when I tried to re-latch bb on, I find the sucking style is very different alr, 'cos I didn't use the wide neck and nipple feel-alike kind of teats...

Thanks ladies for ur concern jus wake up after takin fever med..

Yes the dr super cmi my breast still v soft she say engorement .. The LC trainee after helpin me express out the milk with no ducts no lump she press I still pain so she suspect mastitis cos got redness on my skin n my symptom looks like 1 so help me get the dr to prescribe anti biotics etc.. But she gt ask me go back tml see senior LC jus in case it sumthing else n refer me to breast surgery but she say most prob mastitis..

Mum05,

nope last day confinement wed[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrschua ,

try the bott method work like the hot stone..

Mrs chua, oh! Tot so late still open. Lol

hippopolai, myhubby wants to give our boy the pacificer. But im against it. :x

how much milk should a 8days old bb be drinking at each feed? He seems to want milk every hour.

Feeling very sad now. MIL makes me feel like an incompetent mom... Im alr total bf-ing my boy. She stil went and make formula for him to drink.. There is still ebm in the fridge as well. And comes in to carry him the moment he cries. I really feel like giving up to the xtend that i regretbringing him into this world...

Lynn,

dun feel tt u r jus affected by ur hormone.. Tell ur mil u only wan to ga BM.. Or get ur hb talk to her or the Amy of milk every BB diff u may try to increase the amt of the milk tp see if it prolong the feedin time? BB is urs u definitely have a say.. Maybe ur il thot ur BB nt full tt y gave FM?

Hello mommies..

Finally home after spending 2 days in hosp... Cant poop, very tired and baby is super bad tempered. Just managed to feed formula right after dropping everything on the floor once I rch Hm... Din even have time to settle down.. Nw finally can relax a little..

Prayhard

Congrats! I also delivered my boy on fri. Try to massage your boobs... Tmc's bfeeding class taught us to massage the 3, 6, 9 and 12 points on our breasts like it's a clock. I massaged and pumped and managed to yield 30ml altogether from both sides today. I dunno how to latch my bb correctly and he kept fussing and chewing my nips so I expressed out instead. I find expressing easier and more convenient. Jiayou... Pump 3 hr interval and latch if u are able to do so.

Piggy,

Hugs hugs... So tmr u going back to see senior LC?

Lynn,

Bb on BM tends to hungry easier coz bm is easier to digest compare to fm so not to worry... As for how much to drink depends on bb weight... As long as ur bb is drinking, pee & poo, at least there are 6-8 wet/dirty diapers, u iare on the right path.... Get ur hubby to talk to ur IL... Old ppl in their era always think that BM is insufficient for bb... No point argue, will only strain ur relationship... Do what u think is right!

Hippopolai,

hmm i dun feel like goin back actually was tellin my Hb if tml i dun feel so painn better maybe will gave it a miss...

Pink,

U think C is hot sleep on her current bedsheet!? That's y r thinking to get her better bedsheet?

Y not u try on the air-con set at 26/27 degree, buy those air moisture to leave in the room? For me I dun even buy the air moisture, just leave a cup of water in the room can le... Their nasal still so narrow so sometimes u feel she can't breath well? Even Jovie sleep in non air-con sometimes will also have funny noise come out from her nose, not to worry...

YES, U'R SPOILT MOM~~~~ Hahahahaha......

I'm home!! Had a nice long shower.. Something which I really need.. =) just happy to be back.. Hospital is so crappy..

Michelle,

After settle baby, must try to make sometime for yourself. Have a nice shower or rest.. This is going to be the start of a long tiring journey..

Mum05,

Hehe!! Breastfeeding doesn't come easy to me lah.. It is also painful and tiring.. I already have a few milk blisters which I burst and now my nipples are getting sore!! My #1 was super fussy.. The sort that cannot be put to bed.. Woke up very 1-2hrs at night.. I was pretty miserable.. But I figured it is a mind set thingy.. I told myself I mustn't feel miserable for myself.. Cannot keep thinking "I didn't sleep enough" "I am tired" that kind of thinking will only make a bad situation worse.. Must be positive!! Like hippo!! And I never for once thought I didn't have enough despite feeding my #1 ALL the time.. Now I will see how #2 will behave.. Hmmzz..

Pink... The info on silk thing I hv to get back later cos all info save in lapy while now using iPhone reply

Sapphire.. U can try KKH? They hv a photo studio which allow u hv a photo frame & his foot print.. V memorable.. As for umbilical cord, KKH Oso hv a shop that put umbilical cord as their olden stamp or chop.. They even uses baby's hair to do mao bi.. 

Piggy.. Feeling ok? Take care ah, beta go see doc if really unwell, find out Wat when wrong beta than later still unwell, sure v xin ku de.. Jus how hubby help me clear my blocked ducts, now feeling beta Le.. Right side pump out more than left.. Left still got blockage but supply remain @60ml @5pm pump.. hubby say later he will clear again.. He really press v hard on my blocked ducts, so painful... But as long clear, Pain oso worthwhile [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hippo: can i ask you when its green papaya is it young papaya or a diff type of papaya. my mum claims the one she is cooking is green but when cut, the flesh is orange.

Mummies who have #1, any idea how high is considered high fever for kids? My girl is at 38.3deg.. She was ok this morning at gp.. Suddenly shoot up.. Usually wat deg then need to go hospital?