(2011/04) Apr 2011

Rach/bbgoh ,

thanks jus wake up from nap fever back again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Elmo,

thank.. Ya if nex review still down ward trend I tink will stop goin back since today no call from poly I assume we won the first battle[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] actually while I in hosp my PD n the nurse there told me by lookin at skin colour can't tell 1 cos I ask him if BB need to stay 1 more nite he jus say he look yellow bt gotta wait for BT the nurse also told me 1 BB look v yellow bt v low some nt yellow v high so if the PD say BT nt necessary I really doubt he gd anot( no offend ya)...

Aries,

y nt both my BB sleep in play pen[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elmo,

my hb bott me famous Amos too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, have not posted here since my birth story.. Re full month, hee, actually, i prefer cash, can get anything which we need.

I found the breastfeeding help videos at http://nbci.ca/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=6&Itemid=13 helps. It shows what is good breastfeeding, nibbling and how to do compression.

can I rant about MIL? I actually like my CL but this week, hubby is overseas and MIL stayed here. Told my hubby she's really a pain in the neck. Forbid me to bring my son downstairs for walks, forbid me to carry my son. I missed carrying my son since I was pregnant loh and I want to let him know that I still love him. And he has been so miserable since daddy is overseas, no one to bring him downstairs cos MIL also refused to. Sigh, cant wait for hubby to come back..

Piggy: cos we didn't get her a proper cot, and I realize the default playpen mattress is very thin, I worry that the back support is not good enuf for her developing spine. Then did u buy additional mattress to put inside? Or urs already came with a good mattress?

Aries, babies sleep in playpen is fine. But I think a cot is useful cos you have to put baby in and out of the playpen several times a day woh..

Aries,

i bott another mattress cos the playpen is a handmedown[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Aries,

I think playpen is fine.. Some people argue that play pen no good cos not much back support..

However, i bought a cot that can be converted to a toddler bed so can be quite long lasting.. My 2+ year old girl is still sleeping in it.. Without the side barrier.. But i am going to buy a child's bed for her and pass the cot to #2 when #2 turns 6 months.. In the mean time, my #2 will be sleeping in a small crib.. =)

piggy, are u hving mastitis? If so, just take 2 paracetamol(oops can't rem wat my gynae told me, 3 or 4 times a day, I think it's 3).

oic elmo, mine's the classic teats, din wanna change the whole lot of bottles, so just get the standard size teats. So, the hole face up ya? thks!

mum05,

the GP examine my breast say not mastitis mostly viral fever n mus take panamol 6hrly so total 6 tablet cannot exceed 8..

Piggy: oh dear! Hmm doc never give u fever meds? I think u should rest more, drink more water, after next med dose then take a hot herbal bath and go sleep? Hang in there, Jia you Jia you!!!

Mummies.. Today had my 1st massage... Feeling is Shiok but with the binder makes my movements as if I jus had op Lila.. After massage, I noticed my lochia alot & is those fresh de.. Hubby say could b these stay in my body, cannot come out so that is y cannot clear.. Lols..

Aries: I'm here I'm here.. My brother came to visit so was Entertaining him.. Hehee.. We're all learning mummies.. So dun feel Bo sei okie.. Let's work hard!!

Piggy: oh dear.. Better rest well and drink more fluids....

Piggy,

Oh dear.. Please take care.. If your fever is up and it's not time for your meds, you can take a shower and Not with hot water ok.. Viral fever, you would just have to wait it out.. You probably got it from your #1..

thanks ladies.. i jus took the medi be4 the time n now it droppin[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] really xinku dun even feel like pumpin..

Gerry,

ya lo now after taken medie whole body cover with sweat hope wun come back again...

Piggy,

Not cold.. But mustn't be very hot.. Room temp water.. If your fever is very high.. And don't cover yourself with a blanket even if you have chills.. The same goes for our children when they have high fever..

mommies who direct bf, do u pump out the bal after bb latched-on?

After I tried latching-on the whole day y/day, I tried to pump today, but the volumn seems to hv dropped, my gf told me it's becos I din express out after bb latched-on, din empty the Bs, n that will decrease the milk production, is it true??

Mum05,

I was a full on latch.. And when I went back to work, I latched at night and I pumped in the day.. And I get about about 200+ml per pump 2 x during office hours.. When you latched, baby will take whatever they need.. So it isn't necessary to pump.. Unless of course bb has some issues with latching.. Then they might recommend latch first and pump after.. Vol of bm you pump varies from pump session to pump session. May not be the same.. You decided to go back to latching??

Mum05,

I wouldn't pump out 'balance' milk after a latch unless I have plans to be separated from my baby for a while (like to attend a function etc) then I would need to store some milk for the caregiver to feed my baby while I am away.. This is of course during my ML.. =)

Hi mommies!!

Went to gynae today and had VE done. Gynae says cervix soft and estimated me to be 2-3cm (he did not go all the way in since I requested not to). By next week if I have not pop, he will do a membrane sweep!!

So these few days is eat until faint. Hahaha!

Mrs Chua,

Unless you specify the exact brand/model of stuff you want, you might end up getting things that you might not like. If not you can request for vouchers? Most big ticket item you might have bought already?

hippopolai

i'm opposite of you. I don't have ANY assests. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

piggytoh

glad to hear its not mastitis. Take care yah?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evening~~~

Piggy,

Please rest more!!!!! Stop come in until tomorrow!!!! Oops~~~ =X

Aiya, u rest lar, whole body pain still online... How to rest???

I also told hubby last night, I want to go JP walk walk this weekend... Then next weekend want to go the confectionary shop at bukit timah to have a look... Kekekeke... But I doubt my hubby will approve me to take pizza, he is the old folk in my house... Even my CL also not as strict as him...

Gerry,

I bought M&S once n that is the last time liao... I find their support not as fantastic...

VS only can get online right?

U know what I did when I'm younger? I bought those lace n flowery tiny bits to sew on my bra!!!! Wahahaha.... Now cannot liao... Too tired with all these...

Mrs. Chua,

So fast can massage liao arh? Shiok lar u!!!! I still waiting to bath... Today whole morning stay in living room to settle some chores, I was like having sauna man, the very first time I feel like I seriously need a bath during my confinement...

Elmo,

Subway cookies!!!! I saw it, I saw it!!!!! Tomorrow ask hubby buy for me also....

sengkang/punggol mummies,

wan to get bengawan solo vouchers for bb shower?

thinking to share to hit $200 to get 10% disc..hee hee.

PM me.

gerry, cos 2 nites ago, after a full feed of 110ml, she was still crying, I let her latch on, she suckled for a while n fell aslp. I don't want her to always want to suckle for comfort thus I tot to just latch her on. Y/day whole day and nite was ok, good intervals of 3-4hrs. but today terrible leh, she tend to just want one B, and wldn't wake up for the other. Like tt, every 1 hr, she'd wanna feed liao, I headache la, duno wat to do, just gave her last drop of EBM + FM at 9pm+. Duno how long this will tahan her, if ard 12am still ok, if earlier or even later, aiyoh...

Hippo.. Today is day 21 for me Liao so I can't wait to hv massage lo.. Furthermore I plan to go back woodlands Hm next wed so got to start massage today & end it on tues..

Gin.. I jus give them an idea what we wan euth pictures attached... To me, vouchers must b of places where I can easily utilize it. I still Prefer cash hehe

Wah finally I can have some rest. Duno what happen bb was fussing so much just now, after feed then poop then change diaper she urinate, wet her clothes, cry and cry, struggle and struggle...then change clothes again. Aft that poop again! Then sleepy for 15min wake up fuss again and wanted to suckle! Whole episode took me more than an hr to settle. Gosh, my inexperienced hands cannot tame her. =s

Mrs chua: wah so shiok! Enjoy the rest of ur massage sessions!! ^^

Tweedy: lol ya when visitors come we have one more item on our already packed daily agenda.

Hmm I don't know why like my milk supy decreasing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Aries,

Is like that for 1st time mummy... Take time to let bb adapt you... Don't give up! Sure u can do it de!!!!!!!!

Vivi,

What happen?

Hippopolai: get vs bra online.. Their cup very very big.. Heehee

Aries: Jia you Jia you.. We're still learning.. Be patient okie.. =) heehee.. My family members are coming over on Sunday to see us.. Haahaa

Vivi: hugz hugz.. What happened? Are u too stressed??

Hippo,

Ya VS can only get online.. But some quite pretty.. Don't know about support cos i got no assets to support!! Hahaha!!

Wah you got ideas!! Very creative wor..

Aries,

I remember an incident similar to yours with my #1.. Also like that.. Mine after wipe her and was going to put a new diaper, my little girl decides to poop again!! Omg!! It was such a mess.. Poop all over me..=)

Mum05,

Oh.. I was also scared that my girl was going to be too dependent on my breast.. But after a while, i got too tired to even bothered.. And i figured I am going to breastfeed for T least 6 months.. So I succumbed and just let my girl latch on in the middle of night if she woke up.. And in the end both of us got more rest.. Cos I managed to sleep while she suckles herself to sleep.. I was too zombiefied to even worry whether my girl will become too dependent.. For my case i think I am very lucky despite the fact that I let her seek my breast for comfort until about 9 months.. And then she just lost interest and i could wean her off at 10 months.. And she has been sleeping in her own room by herself since 18 months!! I always thought I was the unlucky one.. My girl still woke up 2-3 times a night right up to about 1.. And i was hearing stories of babies sleeping through the night since 3 months!!

In the early stage, i think it is ok to let her latch on to you and seek comfort by your close proximity.. I mean to spend 9 months in the womb and then suddenly into this world is quite a huge transition for them.. And the only comfort they know is their mummy.. =)

Vivi,

Don't stress.. Maybe you should just do full on latch for the time being and not look at the vol.. When I first pumped, also very little.. Less than 50 ml.. Super demoralizing!! In the end, I just told myself to do full latch on and don't care about vol.. And i breastfed for 10 months!! Can be done one..

Ask you ladies...

I am getting super swollen.. And now my feet and legs are a darker shade than before.. Is it normal??

Arghzzz.. Super itchy.. Sorry trying to distract myself by typing and not think about the itch!!

Hippopo/tweedy: ya I know actually the things she fuss abt are just everyday routine issues, somehow I work as thou my hands are my legs, so clumsy. =s. Guess I really need more practicing! Hurhur...

Vivi: *pat pat*!

Btw can I check is it normal to be passing alot of gas after delivery? I'm already day 10 post-op today, and still passing quite alot of gas.

I also don't know if I am too engrossed with the output thus making me stress.

Gerry I try to latch her on but she don't like to suckle onto my breasts .

How many water did you drink I don't know is it because I drank less water compared to when I was pregnant.

Aries me too fart a lot especially at night so I wonder if it is the food I ate

Vivi,

Oh.. Ok.. Latching might be harder.. But did you ask LC why she doesn't like to latch??

I think drinking at least 2L of water is good.. I was just reading up, and some of them say drinking too much may also hinder milk production.. Don't know how true though..

Don't over drink I suppose.. Drink like as if you are quenching your thirst..

Oh now you feel itchy?? Maybe too hot and too much confinement food?

Dear mummies , I'm currently in Day 5 of my confinement after birth . I'm currently doing pumping at every 2 hours . Each pump is around 20 mins and I only got 20ml for both sides . Is it normal? I'm kinda of like very demoralise seeing such little amount of breast milk. I also feel very upset that my production of bm is not enough for my little boy which I have to supplement with FM .

Any mummies can advise me how to increase BM ?

Aries,

Both bb n u need to adapt, hands on more u will find it easier liao...

Tweety&Gerry,

I find it abit hard to buy bra online leh... Cannot try... But anyway, I just bought some nursing bra online this morning... If the cup can fit me, think I'll be confident to buy online in future... Thanks ya!!!

Vivi,

Bb need time to adapt to latch also... Jovie was doing absolutely well during my hosp stay... She can't suckle the moment we reach home... I still remember I complained with u girls here a week ago!!!!!! It could be she need to adapt to new environment too according to Gerry!!!

But she can now suckle both my nips liao... After so many days trying... Dun give up, try n try... That is the only way to make ur girl latch, by latching actually stimulate ur milk rather than to pop all the pills!

I insist I must try to latch her every feed despite the first few day she din manage to do it... After 10-15mins try, if she can't latch, CL will bottle fed her, I'll try again next round... Until she can do it! Think my stubbornness won... Now my girl will turn her head here n there to look for nips liao... Super happy!!!! U shld try too!!!

Gerry,

Seriously!!???? I drank like nobody business leh for the pass few days... But yesterday most of the time I lie on bed end up I din even finish my longan water... The pumping like become less Liao.. But coz I latch Jovie, so I tot she suckle well...

Aries,

The passing gas is normal, dun worry!

Evelyn,

Breastmilk need to stimulate... Not like u give birth the milk will flow like tap water de... Man man Lai...

U can drink more hot fluid, like longan drink, Milo, soya (if u'r allow to)

Or mother's milktea which contain fenugreek & some other herbs that help to produce milk...

U have CL? Ask ur CL to boil u papaya fish soup or black bean pork ribs soup... Papaya fish soup is good to help in milk production...

& finally, take fenugreek!!!!! Can get it from GNC like some of the mummies here....

Hope the info helps & good luck!!!!

Erh... U pump 2hrs interval!? A bit too close Liao the timing!????

One more question to ask: y u pump n not latch huh? Latch helps to stimulate supply too!!!!!!

Hippopo: I see the gas is normal. Cos I was like vivi wondering is it the food that I ate. How long will it last until usually?

Another question to exp mummies, when do u all usually stop swaddling ur bb? I seldom swaddle my girl aft discharge fm hospital, she seems to sleep well without the swaddle although sometimes she does kick alot in her sleep and "shifts" herself to one side of the playpen.

thanks hippo for your kind advice. hmm where to buy the mother milktea ?

i have no CL , my mum is doing confinement for me, she says black bean soup and papaya soup needs to wait for day 10 onwards then can drink as I deliver via c-section. so need to wait .

2 hours close ma ? hmmm . i'm unsure of when to pump so i just make sure i try to pump every 2 hours to stimulate too.

I did bring my boy to latch on , but when I latch on like for 40 mins , each side 20 mins , he will stop suckling and cry non-stop . Guess it was due to not enough milk supply for him . I still bring him to latch on at times cause I know this will help to stimulate and increase supply.

Aries,

I dunno also... CoZ my #1 I dun remember I fart leh... Haa haa haa... Maybe other mummies can help to answer?

I also dun swaddle my #1 after discharge from hosp.. But this time coz bb under CL care she is gonna kena swaddle until full month I think... Actually to swaddle anot depends on individual preference... No hard rules. Since ur bb is doing well w/o swaddling... Shld b alright... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evelyn,

Mother's milktea can get online or some local organic shop if not wrong... TMC have it i think, sorry, cant really remember... let me check the link n get back to u... I happen to saw that while I searching for it after some mummies recommend here also... But I'm getting from piggytoh so I din bookmark the page... Give me some time ya...

huh? I also c-sec but I already been drinking the soup liao... I drank 4times of papaya soup n 1 time of black bean soup since the day I discharge... In hosp also drink papaya fish soup wor...

After ur boy de latch u try to check whether still have milk? Some bb just getting impatient like my daughter when they latch... She suckle for the longest 40mins (20mins per boobs) & she stop Liao... N will ask for milk like 20mins later, AGAIN!

Coz u bottle fed so the flow from bottle n our boobs is quite different... They need time to differentiate which is which also.. This is y bottle feed is not recommended if we latch, will coz nipple confusion... N to suckle from bottle is much easier than our nipples... So if you want to stimulate ur supply by latching, maybe u can try to latch him shorter but more frequent? If cannot u feed fm using spoon feed or cup feed method?

This needs ur mom help also, coz we all know that if bb issue comes to old folks, sometimes we get headache!

i think my mum has been my physical and moral support from birth till now . She has not given me any problem or headache , instead she is very supportive of my decisions and actions . I'm very appreciative and very glad that she is doing confinement for me and baby .

For the food wise , I leave it to her cause she is quite knowledgable in terms of confinement food , since she says can't eat for now , then I just listen to her . Anyway , it's another 5 more days till I start drinking papaya / black bean soup . I'm so looking forward to her "zhu jiao chu" ! Yummy !

Hmmm , think my baby not impatient la , I didn't check if still got milk . Anyway , I will try your method to latch him more frequent but shorter .

Btw , think I read in the forum that someone recommended shawl or something like that right for breastfeeding outside public areas . Can anyone give me a link to see some sample ? cause I went to motherhood forum (bulk purchase) , i saw a few but not sure which one is good , can really cover up .