(2011/04) Apr 2011

My gynea said can't do induce cos vbac, so now play waiting game with my bunny girl, somehow I hope I can like u girls at least can hv some prepare when to go for induce. N now bb is big enough to come out also....

Mr Chua, congrate, the baby is big...

Piggytoh,

I found the group Liao, but need someone to accept... Nw then realise i cant do through my iPhone app, must go through browser.

hippo

no lah i mean tot i got BF well but nvr latch on, so i nvr go thru the latching exp dunno how it feel like

vivi,

just monitor.. For me I also thought I LS.. and really got stuff come out.. but after a while, the pain only got worse.. You see whether the cramps got pattern or not.. start timing it..

baby26,

I think pink can accept you..

Gerry now no mense cramp liao but then it is like on and off .... Huh I thought I ate something wrongly wor... but then my hubby ate almost the same thing as me and he have no problem sleeping away last night ....

Congrats Mrs Chua!!! Rest well! Wow, ur bb is really big! U delivered at 39wks rite? What was the last estimate of bb's size. Boy.... now I'm really scared tt my bb will be too big!!!!

Yoti, congrats too!

Vonn, u pop le? Jia you!

piggy, maybe cos ur bb small this time.. so wound is not tt bad. So envy. Wah the Mt A goodie bag so gd ah. Btw, ask u har.. ur hb drive anot? U know how's the parking charges like at Mt A now? Last time the gantry will open at nite so we can have 'free parking'. Now still have anot? Dunno wat time open also...

vivi, sounds like a sign. keke! Maybe u popping soon le.

Aiyoh gals, no need to feel guilty about choices we make for our babies. If for whatever reason, you don't enjoy latching on or want to use FM or whatever, just do it. No need to feel guilty. I really believe that each and every mum does their best, but circumstances may dictate different choices from the so-called "norm" etc. Doesn't make the mum a bad mum!

For me, I like to do things my way - have a drug-free birth, if possible, so that I know how to push and the birth is efficient and fast. I want drug-free to make my life simpler later (less recovery time, higher likelihood that bb is alert to latch on well, which means better supply etc), not to be a hero. I like to latch bb on as I find pumping and sterilising very troublesome. So it's not that I'm trying to be a "super mum" (assuming there is such a thing), it's just my way.

Everyone has their own way. But most important is that everyone is trying their best. We can and should share our views and share knowledge etc, but at the end of the day, there is no right or wrong.

So good luck gals! Those who are in labour - wishing you a smooth, easy labour! Those who are recovering and BF-ding, wishing you many gallons of milk and happy feeding times....and some sleep too! Those who are waiting, wishing us happy waiting times and a smooth journey ahead.

Go APRIL TEAM!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Huh Elmo then I want to eat MAC first la.... if this is a sign...

Just yesterday I was like bringing out the milk bottles to wash and sterlize for 1 time to try out the sterilizer and double check on my hospital bag.... dont tell me that is the so called nesting instinct.

PiggyToh

Yay! Thanks for the info. I am looking forward to my MT A goodie bag. How is the delivery suite like? When I went on my tour, they all looked v close by each other. Can hear lots of mummies yelling or not? Eh great that you are healing well and not in pain!

elmo

I'm very scared too! My No 2 looks to be about 1kg or more bigger than my No 1. Had such an easy birth with No 1, may not be so lucky with the current one. Sigh.

Vivi

I've been having those issues too - cramps (esp when first wake up), loose stools, etc. Did you ask your gynae if normal? Gerry is right. Can tell if it's real labour by monitoring the patterns. Mine go away pretty fast, so I know it's not labour.

Vonn

Thinking of you, gal! Jia yo.

vivi,

Just monitor.. May not be too soon.. but you may be dilating slowly..

For me when I was feeling quite a bit of bearble contractions, I was already 5cm dilated wor..

Hehe!! Go and eat your Macs as soon as possible!! =)

vivi

haha so the thg u like to eat b4 pop is MAC mah? :p

baby26

i accepted u in the group alrdy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yolk-sac, now i'm getting more n more chicken out le. Wondering if bb is really tt big.. shd I just take epi anot?!? But #1 i din take.. #2 then take.. like so lang fei. Dilemma. Or shd I just ask for induce if gynae check on Wed and i dilated le. Hai... v scared.

vivi, but my LS and pop date for #1 is like almost 1wk apart. :p Depends also lah... hehe

My groin pain is back abit.. and inner thighs keep feeling like it's gonna cramp like tt. All loose loose le. Dunno izzit i walk too much. Tummy still no action.. not even BH.

gerry

the cramp is ard lower abdominal? is it true if near due we ll go do 'big biz' more often?

like maybe usually once a day but bcum 2-3/day

will u on aircon 24hrs while doin confinement?

yolk-sac, same here. my #1 only 2.74. This one now already more than 3kg. 怕怕!

bbgoh, i only on air con at nite. 24hrs.. bills v shiong leh!

Yolk Sac I didnt get to ask my gynae as I only have this symptoms 1 day after my check up wor....

Gerry yeah I also think that if I am popping soon maybe that I am slowly dilating...

Bbgoh dont know lately I have this craving of Mac maybe baby waiting to eat Mac before she comes out. ke ke

Elmo hopefully soon hor because the mense cramp last night was a bit disturbing....

for epi I think I may take it and my gynae encourages wor because she says I am a first time mummy and baby is not small so may be torturous if there is no pain relief. She also says less stressful for the hubby beside us

elmo, vivi

but daytime more hot ler, i also thking of on at night only.

but fan cant direct blow to us also, rite?

Mrs Chua,

Congratulations on the arrival of Gervaise!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vonn,

Jia You!!

Piggy & Yoti,

now are your turns to 加奶 with Sandy! :p

Mummies... Will post his pics once I gotten it.. He is still @ special nursery for observation due to some breathing problems, can onli pick him up @12pm. 

bbgoh,

I can't really remember where exactly was my cramping but I had soft stools only that night when I started contracting.. I thought it was from overeating as I was doing so over the weekend.. Hehe!!

But the pain persisted after i went to the toilet 3x.. then I thought I better wear a watch and start timing.. true enough the pain came every 20 mins following by tummy hardening.. and the interval got shorter and the pain (it's like menses like cramps-- but still wasn't as bad as my worse cramps) got worse..Make me cannot sleep the whole night before delivery..Sigh..

By 6am, I think the interval was about 10 mins apart.. and so I bathed and made my way down to the hospital.. and first VE I was already 5 cm..

I use the aircon only at night.. In the daytime, I use fan.. But I did not do any strict confinement.. Still wash my hair.. Wear shorts and spaghetti straps at home... and didn't blow dry my hair!! Hehe!!

yolk sac, elmo,

Same same.. my #1 was 2.7kg and my #2 as of week 34, she was already 2.6kg!! Getting a little scared.

Hmm ya lor day time more sticky and hot.... if I use fan I think I will have the fan on rotate so it will not directly blow on me.... hopefully the CL and my MIL is ok with it...

I cannot imagine this kind of hot weather just yesterday I bathed 3 times and soon this will be like a luxury

vivi,

I think for your case, since no complications, just wait for more signs like regular contractions or water bag bursting.. if not just go about your usual activity.. I think when your body tells you that you are ready, delivery will be smoother..

During confinement, will be extra hot leh.. I remember after breastfeeding, Lisa and I would be sweating like nobody's business.. and I bathed quite a bit.. sometimes when I am bleeding too much, I will also wash that area more often too..

Good Morning everyone! :D

Wowww.. the thread really moved very fast !

i'm lost in the words.. =X

tweety : yes.. my #1.. it's a baby girl.. delivering @ TMC.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gerry : ya.. quite close.. hee.. @ TMC, how abt u ?

Hello elmo, pinkparsley, hippopolai.. :D

Yeah am waiting for the signs for the signs... anyway they always say " a watched pot never boils" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah I think if I am really hot and sticky then I will bath twice and wash that area often because I cannot stand wet and sticky down there. dont want a risk of infection too...

Also 1 thing I dont think I will get used to is not to drink plain water and have to drink the red date drink. dont know how to quench the thirst with that since I drink a lot of water

Applenut,

I will be delivering at Mt E..

Just join us anytime for a chat.. Work can be very boring esp when you have passed over to your colleagues.. Hehe!!

vivi,

Actually my friend's mom (who is a midwife) told her that the red date logan drink can only be drunk during the first 2 weeks post natal leh.. cos it can cause excessive blood loss and it's very heaty.. so after that just have to drink warm or room temp water..

bbgoh, bo bian loh. esp after a meal with hot soup.. whole body sweat! I din on fan at all.. but cheat la.. windows open big big.

Mrs chua, take ur time. Bb will be alright! How u feeling now? wound ok?

Gerry, scary hor? How come all our #2s so big? In fact i gain less weight than #1 leh. The red date drink i also drink for whole confinement leh. I tot it's supposed to bu xue? I love the drink le. hahahaha! I hate plain water. :p If not i'll drink milo loh.

Mornin!!!

Piggytoh

u make me miss my stay at Mt A esp the food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya lo I don even know can rent me still bring all the barang barang to hospital then ask hb bring hm again.

N I find tat the goodie bag very nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how's BF? Painful when u latch? Cos ur #1 u fin it very painful when latchin rite.

Pink,

nope stayin at 2 bedder tink yesterday so full all 1 bedder is taken .. Ya managed to catch some sleep but din sleep well cos nt used to it..

Gerry,

ya lo no tear only cut but my gynae jus checked he say gt bruise ard my wound shd be ok..

Elmo,

ya my hb drive but dunno the charge need to check with him but he din stay overnite so nt sure.. Ya this time round my experience with Mt A is even better!! Hmm thou my BB smaller but his head still 32cm leh jus tt body v tiny...

Yolk sac,

hmm no leh I din hear alot of screamin but can hear BB cries[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sookie,

my PD jus told me BB is ok no issue so when I ask abt jaundice he say only v v mild jaundice if tml din shoot up shd be ok for #1 day 2 alr need light treatment so hopefully tml can all discharge together..

i hv a pack of huggies dry (M)80 pcs $15 and drypers (M) 84 pcs $17 for sale, my boy can't wear this size anymore .. anyone would like to have, please pm or msg me at 92343419 .. thanks

elmo

Hard to decide now leh. I think see how you feel on the day itself. Not a competition to see who got epi and who didn't. You just do what you think you can handle. But I think it's important for us not to fret about bb's size - in hypnobirthing, there is an affirmation that we use: "My baby is the perfect size for my body. I birth easily". I think we gotta hold onto that. Sometimes, the more we freak ourselves out psychologically, the more problems result. Let's stay calm and positive! We can do this! Jia yo to us!

gerry

Sigh...we are members of the Big No 2 Club! But same principle applies here. I am determined to stay positive. Have you heard of the epi-no? Been working with it. Can now inflate the balloon up to 6cm and push it out without damage. It's tough work tho. Really hope to be able to get to 8cm before I pop!

vivi

I feel your pain, gal! I love water! And I really feel upset when I can't have as much as I want.

bbgoh

Yes, I keep reading that it's usual for us to empty our bowels in the run up to birth. But as the girls have said, can be a few hours up to birth, or a few days/weeks, so not a very "zhun" (accurate) sign that labour is upcoming.

Sandy,

I can't wait to discharge leh thou service gs but boring leh.. Ya abit sore Liao so quickly apply nipple cream Liao the LC v nice alr gt colostrum hope will have more supply this time round..

Bbgoh,

I poo same near pop also leh so dun tink it true..

Ha ha mine #1 is big liao I think the little one enjoying the food....

Piggy so fast you can be discharged liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Have you settled on your CL already?

piggytoh

Really crowded ah? I hope I get a good room. How long are you staying at Mt A? When can you go home? If got nice room, I will stay longer. Let the nurses look after me there as I don't have a CL coming over.

Wow, K has a big head - means more brains = very intelligent!!

Gerry : no leh.. i'm still doing my work, nobody taking over yet.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

tweety : my EDD, 26 Apr.. :D

Just curious, how old is everyone here ? =X

Breastfeeding Strategies

Thought I'd start a post on tips to get the breastfeeding off to a good start - please feel free to add on, comment, etc:

1. The first hour is crucial - try to do skin-to-skin contact with bb after birth as this is when he is more alert and calm, no need to rush bb off for tests, jabs etc, unless bb's condition requires it. Spend the first hour trying to get bb to nuzzle nipple or latch on, no need to force the breast on him.

2. Feed baby every two hours in the first few days until your milk comes in - don't let baby oversleep, he needs to come to your breast often to stimulate supply.

3. Get advice from different LCs/nurses - in my time at the hospital, I happily took advice from a number of different nurses. Everyone had different tips and strategies and the advice was usually very helpful.

4. Don't be shy - use lots of nipple cream if you need it - Purelan or Lanolin is good. After each feed, apply the cream or apply some BM to the nipples, then air dry. Do not use soap!

5. Try not to supplement with water or FM in the early days - If you're aiming for TBF, don't need to feel pressure to give glucose water, water or FM to the bb. BBs cry in the first few days as they are adjusting to the new environment, doesn't always mean they are crying b/c of hunger.

Vivi,

usu only stay 2 nite if no complication so tml lo.. My CL will try the 1 my CL recommend 1st if I dun like her friend she will come on 1st apr to help me..

Yolk sac,

my #1 even bigger 34cm .. Cos yesterday gd date so many pp c-sect etc so v crowded [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy good that you had also settled the CL issue, have kor kor came and see di di liao?

Glad that the LC at Mt A is good so hopefully nurse and LC at TMC is also just as good...

Yolk Sac who will be helping you since you would not be engaging the help of a CL?

vivi,

ya I think drink plain water is the best too. Really can cool us down..

Elmo,

Ya lor #2 is big.. But I feel like I am eating less than #1.. but weight wise, I am putting on more =( Yikes!!Hehe!!

Yolk sac,

Never heard of epi-no.. So how it works is you put the balloon inside and inflate as big as you feel comortable??

I know they say kegels also will help improve the elasticity so I have been doing that diligently... cos I also scared of urine

incontinence..

Applenut,

Ohh.. But eventually you will be going on leave..

I am 29.. =)

vivi

I usually DIY my confinement. I have domestic helpers to help with washing, chores, etc, and my grandma is around to help with looking after No 1. I cater confinement food from Natal Essentials. Wrap woman comes in for 10 days. It was ok with No 1. Hoping to be able to cope this time too. Are you getting a CL?

Gerry

Yes, can inflate the balloon up to tolerance level and get used to the sensations of stretching etc. Then after it is inflated to the max that you can handle, we practise pushing it out. Kegels definitely help too! No need fancy equipment. Since I used it for No 1, I thought better not waste - and brought it out for No 2!

Applenut

I'm quite old lah. Will be 33 this year.

Vivi,

yup he even sayang him hope he will love him[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tweety,

thanks will jia you with my moo moo career lol~

Hi mummies!!

I just stumbled across this forum...

Congrats to all the mummies who have given birth! And to those mummies waiting anxiously... our babies will be coming soon! Hang in there!

Yolk Sac I will be getting a CL because this is #1 and I dont have any experience in taking of baby same goes for MIL .... hopefully can learn as much knowledge from the CL as possible.

Applenut my EDD same as Tweety 8 April and I am 30 years old liao

TWEETY : oh.. 6 apr very fast leh.. 2 more weeks.. hehe.. 26.. 1985 ah ? i'm older than u 1 yr.. 1984.. =X

GERRY : haha.. ya.. waiting to be on M leave only.. :D

YOLK SAC : 33 not very old.. dun say till like tat la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So up to date, how much have u guys gained during the whole pregnancy ? :/