(2011/04) Apr 2011

morning girls,

gerry: me too... tired and a bit stressed thinking of work and having to handle new baby with existing family structure. not sure If i am giving myself unnecessary stress. i'm going to start my ML on 4 april. so looking for it. also, i wanted to take half day for my checkups but i decided forget it just take full day so that I can have some rest. these few days just want to rest rest rest.. maybe its the insomnia plus the family is sick.. im now having the flu..

fung fung: yes i remember the avent cups can only steralise for a certain # of times. the box says throw when it shows sign of tear and wear but if keeping milk i won't risk it to use it more than 3-5 times. anyway as piggy says, can keep food.

btw, if you guys read my earlier post I had a friend whose baby had some water in his lungs.. she felt something wrong when there was less fetal movement. and due to motherly instinct, she saved her baby. she told me that her doc told her there were 3 of his patients whose baby did not survive even though they were 37 weeks already cause they did not think much about less fetal movement. one felt less fetal movement on a fri.. sat was a PH and sun thought don't want to disturb doc.. on Mon, baby had no HB. the other one was worst. doc told them to do emergency C sect but husband said that day no good for delivery.. so.. well, you know what happened. Her episode taught me not to take things for granted/easy. Though we are almost there we still have to be vigilant.

Gerry and Piggy.. at 1st I oso duno what donut relief pack is for.. jus thought is something which we need. since as u all mentioned hot towel oso can and after discussing with hubby, I will not get it... svae some $$$ hehe

Vivi.. me and sandy not getting the donut relief pack le.. sorry ah.. have u aranged how to colect from Rach? if u stil need me to colect on ur behalf let me know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy.. sandy will get the donut relief pack from u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Austin: my gyn has been putting me on CTG once a wk since 33wk, so far for yesterday he measured quite alot of uterine activity on the Ctg readout, he said that is probably BH. Actually I do feel very frequent BH, whole tummy tighten and then sometimes can get painful esp at my lower left pelvic area (where bb legs have always been), it occurs quite frequent leh, like everyday also will have. Some days can be even 5-6 times within an hr, some weak some strong. I wonder is such freq BH normal? Since I'm only 35w leh.

Sandy: woohooo!!!! Jia you!

Went OG Chinatown ytd, cant find cheapo front button pyj, end up bought younghearts de, ex leh. I think being preg I lost my sense of judgement liao, the usual me I definitely wun buy such exp clothes for sleeping =s.

For those using breastpump do I need to sterilize b4every use?

Good morning everyone... Weather a bit crazy... raining earlier but now hot sun again....

Hippo me too see you at the Taka Fair yesterday hee hee so concident.

Mrs Chua never mind la I get Rach to post to me save your trouble [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yesterday bought 1 more pack of Huggies New born and 1 packet of S size diapers. Bought a bolster and a cheap mobile cot toy for only $9.90 and a fan for the stroller at the Taka fair. Hubby is very irritated as too many excuse me and prams liao.... wa ha ha so he said this fair already so crowded not going to the one at EXPO because he foresee it will be worse.

I saw the Pigeon booth was crowded with people buying milk bottles and there are quite a few of bundle deals for breast pump too....

sandy you so fast and the first one to deliver in our thread and it is next Wednesday.... feeling excited for you.

Aries the open button Pjs is at People Park not the OG but never mind la better quality as a luxury to pamper yourself since being a mummy is tough.

Piggy,

Wow so gd of BM.... Shd try if got extra.... Heehee!

As for the nurising bra, scare tht need to feed direct when outside so hv to prepare 1 or 2 pieces. And i got one for 50+ with soft wire (wire can be taken out). Reason i got this coz i worry tht mine will expand after delivery and this one can stretch, then i dun need to keep changing bra size.

Sandy,

Oh OG chinatown sell so cheap...hmm.... Shd go and hv a look then. Tks

Ningyo,

Oh.... Bt very funny, the box i saw yesterday didnt stated abt the disposal after certain use. Must ask avent probably. Coz the one tht i bought are for storing blended food. So hubby said can duo usage ( store milk and blended food)

Vivi/fungfung: lol I went Chinatown aft my checkup ytd, cannot find at people park there. Then very pek ceck dun wan to go back empty handed mah, maybe also cos mood not gd cos doc say bb still breech. So I went over to OG and buy the ex ex pyj. Haha.

Thanks for your reply on the sterilizer and washing of new bottles.

Sorry if I sound stupid here regarding the sterilizer:

For e.g Early in the morning, we have 6 milk bottles at one go and I place all 6 bottles into the sterilizer. However, after sterilising, I need to take out 1 bottle for each feed. Thus, if I open the cover to take out the 1 bottle, will the other 5 milk bottles be contaminated? or I need to re-sterlise again just for the other 5 bottles? cos understand that baby needs to drink milk 2hr interval.....

For milk bags, what are the recommendation? we can only use once for the milk bags right?

Hope mummies have a nice weekend ahead as these last weekend seems so precious to us....

Aries,

If I am at home, I would sterilize after each use.. But at work, I would use hot water to wash the funnel and bottles..

Yoti,

I didn't sterilize every time after I opened..I would only sterilize once in the am before the day starts..

Piggy,

Ya I remembered that conversation.. Must go find out..

I was at the taka fair.. Left around 12.. And the crowd was coming in..

Sookie,

Oh dear.. Must take care.. Nowadays really getting harder to sleep.. Ya I think I really don't care Liao.. If I need to take leave, I will just take..

Actually, I am thinking of leaving after ml.. Want to change career.. Sick and tired of research.. But don't know where I should go..

Afternoon ladies,

Back fm check up bb bunny at 33wk plus est wt at 2.3kg ( she gain 100g per wk) gynae mention bb quite big but dunno he mean in term of length or wat didn't ask ......

Seeing gynae in 2 wk time to decide when to induce bb bunny ......

Oh yeah my gynae mention those who r donating cord blood to SCBB pls take note gynae will need to draw 3 tubes of blood fm mummy ......

Herbs for confinement,

Today manage to settle herbs needed for confinement spend abt nearly $300 to buy all e herbs coz e price went up quite high n it more expensive .....

Sookie, yes, just try to rest whenever u can... Alamak, the hubby of ur friend CMI!

Yoti, don't over worry about contamination... Actually bb is not as fragile as we think... They are fighter themselves!!!!! U can sterilizer and recap all the bottle and leave them aside so the inner part is close, so no worry abt contamination... For me I also practice the same as Gerry... I just sterilize once, will just take out when I need the bottle....

Fung, nvm... Just pamper urself...

SY, where u got the herbs huh? The price go up alot? I haven't bought mine yet leh... Was thinking to get either next or next next week since I'll b on leave 1 day per week... Haiz...

Mummies who r keen to get a double deck stroller,saw Tandem brand stroller at vivo toys r us selling at $269.95! Quite attractive price but d weight is 16.5kg.....

It have reclining option for both front n back seater n a footrest for both too.

Tempting sia......but worried that my girl won't sit.Shall bring my son to try d stroller after his class.

Gerry,

my hb was lazy n juz puts avent storage cup inside a metal pot n pour hot water direct in d pot n left it to warm w/o monitoring that's y d cup melt n go out of shape.

Back from taka sales the crowd today is so much better.. Bott a stroller n some clothing for #1 Nia nothing much to buy Liao..

Yoti,

ya dun be so worries even u use imm after sterising in between u still mus pour in ur milk be4 u close the cap mah so no diff 1 la else u can assemble all rite after u sterilize n put 1 side?

Usu newborn drink 3 hrly if BM maybe 2.5hr each ..

Fung,

actually I feel tt even latchin outside no need nursing bra if u r nt wearin nursing top u still gotta lift up ur top mah ..

Personally find the window of nursing bra abit small still prefer to lift the bra n clean.. N usu be it nursin bra or wireless bra there r some allowance 1 even ur boobs expand can still wear ..

Was @Taka fair jus now.. Bought pigeon refill pack of liquid cleanser 2 packs $18.90.. Quite worthwhile [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wanted to buy the wipes too, refill packs 6 packs @ $19.50 but hubby maybe next week go expo fair den buy.. Furthermore their stock jus arrived so they were busy unpacking..

Went to OG buy nursing bras.. Each for $9.90.. But of cos gt exp de like trumpiah.. $30-$50.. & sales girl v pushy saying their one v gd etc..

Thanks all for your reply on the steriliser...Think I am too paranoid...As EDD is getting nearer..feel a bit stressful...bad new is baby's head still not down make it worse...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Piggy: Any cheap offers on stroller at Taka fair?

Yoti,

dun tink so much most impt bb healthy if really cant go via natural at most c-sect?

hmm it depend on which stroller u wan wor.. tink quinny goin at $500+ if u haven bott a stroller it best u go n take a look[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Aries,

i tink sum1 mentioned the tea will tone up ur uterus so may have contraction becos if it.. but it also norm tt BH get more freq nearer to due.. for me be4 i start the tea alr got BH/contracton so no diff for me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hippo/vivi,

I got all e herbs fm bugis dry store at level 3 u know where e hawker centre is ..... U wan I can give u e address e lady boss quite gd so things like $12 she charge me $10 n etc ....

I think e price quite reasonable coz my mum know her n she dun overcharge us .....

Hi Piggy,

Thank you for your reply...Yes, most impt is baby must be healthy..If cannot natural, will just opt for C-sect...

I am not buying those high end stroller..Maybe will go down weekdays to see see look look...Thanks for the info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How is yr new maid getting?

Vivi,

Those herbs are ;

1) black dates 2kg

2) red dates without seed 2kg

3) wolfberry 2kg

4) dry longan 2kg

5) hui Shan 200g

6) yu zhu 200g

7) bei qi 600g

8) black bean 2 pkt

9) mee suan 1 kg

10) ikan bills 1kg ( to cook food during confinement)

11) 3 bottles of double taste vinegar for pig trotters

12) 3 pkt of bath da Feng cao to last me for 1 mth

13) black fungus ( it a must to clear those dirty blood clots )

Below theses 3 items my #1 godmother bought for me liao

1) dang gui

2) Tiong xin

3) Pao xin

Hi SY,

How much is per packet of Da Feng Cao? U just buy 3 packets? Does it comes with large quantity in 1 pack?

Vivi,

These are e basic n needed herbs that needed during e confinement I dun need those high end food coz my mum make rice wine for me ( during my #1 I finish abt 12 bottles of e rice wine ) on top of those herbs I need to prepare 1 bottle of DOM ( after I latch or after pump) to drink n 4 bottles of VSOP to let e CL to double boil w black chicken during e 28 days to buy my body .....

Piggy,

Wat stroller did u buy ? I was tempt to buy quinny but I got maclaren quest n xt at home e price seem quite okay was thinking nxt wk e bb fair at expo dunno got better deal or not ....

Mobile cot ,

Anyone saw cheap one coz I c some brand like tiny love n etc all v ex ????

Yoti,

my new maid not v gd now the thinkin of replacing her so see she cgt improvement anot if not will change...

SY,

i was hesitating between peg perego n bon bebe end up i get bon bebe 1... i dn intend to get high end 1 also infact as long as it stable n easy to move ard i am ok...

Sy the shop u went at level not the dragon something hor?? U can give me the Aunty add..at first tot of buying from that dragon stall

Aries,

Ya I am thinking along this line.. Maybe IP also not bad.. Going to start thinking about it.. How long have you been in this line? I'm really sick and tired of research..

Yoti,

I got a quinny buzz. It's really stable and very good for all terrain.. But I find it a bit heavy.. So I always need my hb around if u use it..

ST,

It unit no #03-55/56 got a lady logo pink colour u look for e lady boss quite short wear spec White frame one ask her to give u cheaper price ..... I never like e dragon one coz last time buy dry stuff fm them quite ex n not honest .....

Piggy: I see. Cos I am worried if my freq BH is due to the raspberry. Been drinking it for 2wks already, 1 teabag a day.

Gerry: Abt 4yrs lo, a bit sian too. This job, maximum input no output, sometimes I also dun see why spend so much $ to publish useless data that seem to have no direct impact on mankind, what exactly are we doing manz? Lol...

Aries,

i drink 2-3 cup a day leh i tink 1 teabag the impact not so bad bah....

SY,

icic quinny is too ex for me liao n i intend to stop after this bb so no pt for me to invest now keke:p

Gymboree

Hey, i got $50 voucher off for registration of 12 session of any programs. I prob won't be using it. Any of u wans? Got it when i bought my stroller from mothercare yesterday. The voucher is valid will 15 Mar 11, i.e. coming tue.

Wow SY that many herbs... at least I know what to expect to buy .... hmm didnt realize herbs this part costs quite a fair bit liao.

Vivi: yah it's like that and that doesn't include the cost of buying fresh cooking ingredients... My mom and auntie bought me alot of those herbs I dont know how I'm going to ever finish. She even bought cordyceps which was almost $500 for a few stems in a box. I nearly fainted. Oh and still need to buy rice wine for cooking.. Mine was $13 per bottle I told my Mom to buy 6 bottles for me. She says it won't be enough... Zzzz... Then still need to buy Dom or VSOP for drinking........ Super alot of stuff. This confinement business is exp lor...

Aiyo Pink looks like I sort of overlook the herbs and the wine part lor.... all need $.... but $ dont drop from the sky lor hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I see what can be bought in Malaysia at least save some $....

This weather is very hot I need to bath again liao

Vivi,

herbs is v v ex 1... usu i check with y CL wat to buy... n like wat Pink say still got the cost of the food we goin to eat durin confinement.. imagine i had either salmon or cod fish daily...

pink,

i tink u buy 6 bott if rice wine first in case u like me dun eat alot cos i really ate so little tt i only finish 4-5bott nia... dun buy so much Dom cos u might received some after u pop i got all my DOM from gifts so many from my #1 i still got left quite a few bott lo... n yes confinement is v v ex wor...

Vivi,

dun worry so much there r ex way n cheap way to bu our body how many can afford the cordyceps thru out the 12days? jus buy wat ever u can afford lo..

Hi ladies, can I knw vsop is wat brand? Courvoisier?

if courvoisier, I got lobang but not sure cheaper then outside anot.

Do we drink dom or Vsop on it on?

Can share the recipie of cooking dom/vsop w black chicken? Heard it's very bu.

Tks in adv

Piggy,

I also intend to stop after #2 maybe c if can sell away e existing stroller than buy quinny if not my Hubby sure scream at me ......

Vivi,

In fact confinement period a lot of things to buy like veg, meat, black chicken, normal chicken n etc it never end till e confinement period is over .... During my #1 we did calculate all in all CL, herbs n food abt 5k .....

Ha ha Piggy me buying the common ones first then the rest see what the CL says.

Can use VSOP not necessary DOM? If that is the case let me go dig the cupboard to see if I have any .....

vivi,

usu we use either the hard liquor or DOM la.. n we only start to bu after 12days...

SY,

not forgetting the electric bill it was double for tt mth also lo scary...