(2011/04) Apr 2011

YOlk sac,

actually i find not true leh cos my gynae told me not all bb engage n some only engage durin labour n no guideline as in when will engage cos when i had #1 many mummies only engage few day be4 pop in wk 39 or like me no engage but cervix open liao..

Elmo,

wah i so long nv KTV leh miss it tink ever since my #1 pop i nv go KTV till now ahahah....

Hmm.... already settled all my baby's stuff leh.... so, wondering if I still wanna go Taka fair or not...:p But the Baby fair at Expo next week seems more interesting wor....

piggytoh: Yeah lor, I totally agree with you! Gynaes say second time mums engage only during labour, while babies of first timers usually engage earlier. But like my friend's example...not true in all cases! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yolk Sac,

ya lo tt time i was so looking forward hope my bb engage or wat gave me some sign but nothing even till wk 38 i dilate 2 cm still not engage but heng got dilate can induce if not dunno how... so i dun tink it applies to majority... at least most i see not this case wor..

Hi mummies... Thanks for all ur wonderful support... Hugs... Super touched...cowgirl, piggy, Gerry, yolk sac, ST, hippo, sandy, SY...Muakz!

I've decided to go ahead with the maid after discussing it with hubby. He said the same stuff as yolk sac, let the maid do the chores so that I can focus on teaching n playing with the baby. Since that's the plan I will discuss with the agent n see what's the next step. The first qn this maid asked was whether she gets off days! Sigh

Hippo: Wah u set off to taka fair liao so early 7 early 8 early!! Heh

Vivi: think our april bunny girls are bigger than bunny boys! Tweety's jerrell's 1.9kg@34th weeks... Ours hor... *shakes head* Lucky you're taller.. so still can try natural!

Yah like mikio says can become sumos liao

pink

most fiilino maids wants off day..u can see if u willing to pay like $10-$20 is she ok without off day..but i've heard cases they say ok then after few mths they will request off day again but they are some good cases they are ok without off day

but since urs has work in Singapore before mostly they will want off day de

PInk,

hmm wah this maid i think too experience tt y ask this kind of question so now u gotta see if u wan to proceed or see got other maid to chose even if it cost slightly higher???

dun worry abt bb weight.. like my boy big at birth but now only 50 percentile [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST: yah lor. So hard to find a maid who is committed to working and don't chao geng. Hubby keeps saying, don't be so fussy, you're paying $370 a month, not $3700 leh! Makes my blood boil!! =(

Hippo: wanna have lunch in the west? I wanna lunch with you but Taka very crowded and I have to travel quite far! :p

piggy: yah my hubby says all the same things as u girls, why don't we pay a bit more see if they are better. But I HATE to be paying more and more! =( Arghh....

Yah I think in 3 weeks Parsley will be around 3kg at least.. her head circumference already 32cm this week... wahaha... 大头咯

Pink: Good decision! Expectations are important. At the end of the day, we can tear our hair out over what Helper X is not doing/doing wrongly, etc, or we can be grateful for the help they give. And I really believe that save for the worst cases, with the right training, almost any helper can provide basic help with the basic chores, like what your husband said.

My second helper (arrived two weeks ago) doesn't seem that great at the moment, but she can do the basic things, like wash stuff, keep the house clean, wash the car, feed/bathe the dogs, etc. So no major complaints.

That frees up my first helper to help with the more "value add" stuff like assisting me to run the household - sort out bb's room, ensure my daughter gets to her appts, pack bags when we travel, etc. When the baby arrives, I'll be very hands on anyway and any more "menial" task related to the baby (e.g. sterilising equipment) will be handled by the first helper. Well, that's the plan anyway...

Piggytoh: You opted for induction with No 1? Pitocin? Pain or not?

pink

that is why in the end i go for indo maid lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yolk sac: yes I guess I have to be realistic about my expectations. So you're keeping 2 helpers permanently or having one train the other first?

I tried to ask hubby if it would be a better to get my parents + in-laws to help out but he predicts that that arrangement will drive me nuts, coz I'm a control freak! he thinks living my life around their schedules will give me even more stress! Sigh

Hi Girls,

So stressed at work.. also woke up in a foul mood cause so many problems at work and I have to solve them as my boss on business trip. Can feel my stomach aching and my shoulders all tensed up. I really feel like letting go but I can’t cause only just my boss and me.

Tweety: my husband scolded me on why I did not insist on weekly checkups cause that was what the Dr told me 2 weeks ago. He said package paid already. Like I needed that extra pressure when I am so stressed at work already. By right, I am 35 weeks, 5 days yesterday.. so if two weeks later, I will be 37 weeks 5 days which is almost 38 weeks… I’m half a mind to call and ask if I should be on weekly visits. For you, its right cause your next appt is next week which will become weekly. Mine is 2 weeks later then weekly and we are due at the same time. Yah I know.. can take MC but I decided not to take cause I have quite a bit of leave plus, I took a lot of leave during the 1st trimester with all my puking.

Jtho: happy birthday to your son!

Sigh.. wished I don’t have to work anymore!

andrea: my agent says they CMI leh and communication will be very very hard. Arghhh feel like tearing my hair out already

ST: yeah true. My hubby is the kind who doesn't like to rely on others so if he could he would do it himself. He has even offered to do all weekend shifts and night feeds. He makes me feel guilty lor!!! (>_<)

sookie: my appointments are still every fortnight... but I think for you're having #2 and it's more likely that you will deliver earlier, so you should check with your gynae? HUGS I don't think your hubby intended to scold you but he's concerned for you and baby! Maybe you can call your gynae to check during lunch time! Take a breather!!!

sookie

normally gynae will see if he/she think urs will not be so early to labour they will still stick to 2 weeks..but if he/she thinks will be early then will go for weekly.

Pink

don't feel guilty leh..he also want to bond with bb meh

my hubby also don't like to relay on pple that is why he is also so xin ku LOL

pink, the 39 yrs old maid, u dun like? if not u choose those with higher pay ones n c if they r really good.. if u go without maid, think u need a CL.. There's part-time cleaners around.. one hr $10 only.. ur HB will be on leave?

Pink: it really depends on your parents and in laws. LIke my parents, they can't be bothered to help out cause to them, they have already done their part to bring up their own children. they will only like take the kids out if they really have nothing on their hands. my MIL on the other hand, can't wait to take care of her grandchildren. Unfortunately, i don't live near my MIL so i have to depend on maids to take care. i suggest since you and your hubby decided, just go with the flow and make the best out of it. Cause you really don't need the stress at this moment.. when we are so closed to our due date.

Pink: We're keeping both. Lots to clean at home, and I have my daughter, plus my 80+ granny, plus two naughty dogs with us. Soon will add a baby to the mix. Not fair on one helper lah.

Good that your hubs is so hands on - must support and encourage him to continue! That should be the way. You'll have your hands full with bf-ding so he needs to help with the other stuff, e.g. settling to sleep, bathing, taking care of you, etc.

I agree with ST that you should not move in with ILs esp if you intend to GF. The older generation doesn't quite get the GF routine plus some don't understand TBF. Less stress for all concerned if you stay at your own place [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sookie: I hear you! Work sucks. Weekly visits should be done at this stage. Impt to check that cord is not in problematic place and that liquor levels (water bag fluid level) are sufficient.

andrea: i'm already getting CL ... I don't know how to bathe, change diapers, feed, everything... haha... sianz. Feel horrible and ill prepared. Think I may get depressed and cry and cry and cry! Hubby is very scared of that.....

Sookie: yeah for mine.. hubby's side both parents are still working and chionging their careers wor, my side my Mom can help but she stays far away lor. That's why I keep bugging my hubby we should move move move... then he will look at me with the exasperated look. Both sides say they only want to PLAY!!!! When it comes to taking care both sides want to SIAM!!!!!!

I'm so envious of the mothers here who have ILs or parents to help out. Ours told us a long time ago that if we wanna have children we have to jaga ourselves!!!

elmo: I'm seeing you at taka tonite rite? Need to collect the stuff from u... heheh

Those who're heading to taka fair earlier, pls update us on any gd buys u see!

Jtho: Happy Blessed Bday!

Went to gynae yday nite, bunny gal's weighing in at a healthy 2.8kg. Gynae said she's reached a healthy weight already so next wk onwards, no need to check weight anymore.... =) Happily awaiting her birth lo!

Yolk Sac,

ya i induce #1 cos scare bb too big n my HB will only be back for 12days so cant afford to wait n see when bb happy to come out..

hmm actually i find the process same as natural leh.. they will insert a pill to soften the cervix but this pill will bring in contraction the rest is the same i tink the only diff is for induction we bring the contraction in but natural we wait for the contraction to occurs keke...

Pink,

i tink it not wise to get IL/own parent help leh cos like my parent same as sookie n my mum way of takin care of bb i dun like n my MIL alr lost touch on how to take care of bb so if u alr decide on gettin a maid jus try to get 1 u comfortable with?

piggy: yupyup I'm going to call the agent liao. Agent says this maid left because her Indian employer got sent back to India so they sent her back to Philippines. But no lor I talked to her and she said she wanted to get a transfer but the Madam refused and sent her back to Philippines! So who knows what kind of problems she gave the previous employers? How am I supposed to take her knowing this.....

Rene,

but u goin for natural or c-sect??? if natural ur gynae mus check weight leh... i remember there was a case the gynae din check n the mother thot bb small so ate alot the last 2 wk n bb suddenly grow alot n becos the gynae din check end up the bb come out way too big for natural birth the woman end up lower body paralyse.

piggy - i'm going for natural. He said last 2 wks just have to check water level and can't-remember-wat. Gynae said there's no actual 'cut-off' weight for natural delivery cos he's even delivered 4.5kg baby vaginally and there're those under 3kg who need emergency c-sec. So according to him it's nt so much the weight of the baby as it is the mother & that's something not predictable.

Oh well, since he's my gynae I'll just take it from him la. He's the expert, not me so I leave it in his good hands lo.

Like to check where can we find nice baby bedsheets? Found KP design not very nice . TIA [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

finally have time to come up here again, been really busy trying to tie up all loose work.. big projects halfway done, nobody take over, really have to chiong all the way and finish by this mth manz...sian diao. @_@

Piggy: bb too big for natural will paralyse? *glurp* how come leh?

kaira - depending on yr budget, plenty of places have. If budget permits, Robinsons have their own in-house brand. Full set costs over $100. It's those solid colors with stripes like hotel kind. Cotton Sateen.

U can also check out motherswork @ great world city. PLENTY of lovely designs, some full sets can go up to $300-400 though! Imported from Australia etc.

Of course there're the common brands available at Kiddy Palace, OG, Taka etc like Babysafe (my personal fav), mamalove, etc.

Rene,

ya but sumtime also mus see if ur pelvic bone is narrow anot cos i tink tt case was reported in the news n i tink the bb is 4-5kg bah not v sure n i tink tt gynae also did not do a gd judgement durin labour...

Aries,

yes cos the tear is too bad n damage the nerve....

elmo: i'm onz for KTV!!!! heeheee....

sookie: hugz hugz.. maybe call up and asked?? my next wed appt i will be 37weeks 5 days le...

rene: wah... bb is 2.8kg now.. how many weeks r u in??

pink: hugz hugz... dun be stressed up...

Thank you for your reply in baby's head down. Just hope that baby's head will be down.

Gerry: what do you mean by cord prolapse? this only apply when induce early?

pink, it takes time..

piggy, I dun like mil to look after too.. not said she not experience or bad is very pamper him.. everything give in to him.. she came back from China this two days, to my suprise, he not close to her.. he prefers to go CC..

sookie,

i m 34 wk+ this coming thurs.

It is my #2, 2 wk ago, my last checkup, gynae actually mention that see her in another 3wk time. but when the nurse come out and tell my my appt is next 2 wk. gynae changed her mind.

guess mine so close becos i got alot of discharge and confirmed is infection and at the same time bb seem quite big 2.6kg at 32+wk.

told me if reaching 4kg i can opt for c-sect.

even thou my build is big but dunno whether my birth canal can go thru or not.

however i rather the bb is big than small.

cos my #1 is only 2.4kg at birth. at first her wt is very gd but dunno last trimster her wt slow down alot. so i rather this one keep on increasing than slow down like #1. even if i need to go thru c-sect is also worth it as along as bb is healthy.

at the same time my gynae ask me to cut down all sweet stuff. like ice-cream and chocolate.

then i told her i only drink soft drinks. hee hee

pink,

once make decision, dun think so much liao..see how it goes.

Piggy & Rene,

Thks haven check those places u mention. Will go check it out. Not easy to find the right size with nice design though since I'm getting is for playpen..

Aries - don't be scared. The case piggy talking abt may be an extreme one. I'm sure your gynae will take gd care of u! Just relax & chill..... 99% of deliveries are smooth one la... & if anyone happens to have to go through birth complications of any kind, well dat's probably quite inevitable too.

Aiyah, my pt is... relax & be happy & chill! Things out of your control, don't worry abt it!

Thank you for your reply in baby's head down. Just hope that baby's head will be down.

Gerry: what do you mean by cord prolapse? this only apply when induce early?

Kaira,

oh playpen size i find harder to get leh.. so limited...

Aries,

ya the case i mentioned is not common but tt report did mentioned gynae is suppose to check the weight etc every visit or nearer to due[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Andrea,

i also dun like they dote on him too much always gave in so i rather he go CC....

Taking a break from work.. Everytime I have to hunch to do work.. I think my little girl will get pissed off and kick me super hard.. Arghzzz...

Yoti,

Breech babies when mummies go into labour/waterbag burst, the cord might be the first thing that comes out.. cos bb's head not blocking the canal.. When that happens, the canal might squeeze the cord and therefore deprive bb of oxygen.. basically it's an emergency.. not really induce early.. but you never know when you go into labour.. and what if you go into labour when bb still breech.. My dr kept telling me if I show any slight signs of labour better come in quick..So that got me real worried cos last time, she seems soo bo chap.. but that's cos my #1 was such a straight forward pregnancy/delivery..Haha!!

Yolk sac that epi no seems like quite a scary device.. did you have an episiotomy for #1?

Maids:

Actually I really don't mind my maid going on off days.. cos then I would have the whole house to myself.. It is damn shiok.. =)

Kaira - the places I mentioned got sheets for playpen also. Hmmm.. if it's playpen then i suggest u buy the inexpensive ones. Cos no pt investing few hundreds since baby can't sleep in play pen for long also...

Thanks mummies, for supporting me and your concerns. I appreciate it. Just feel that I don’t need this kinda of stress at this stage of the pregnancy but you know.. when sometimes come in, they all come in at the same time. So stressed. I’m so tempted to tell my boss, I think I want to take leave already.. but definitely its spur of the moment cause I’m still 4 weeks away from due date! Ha sorry, just dreaming.

Pink: did the maid say how come she wanted a transfer? Maybe after hearing her reasons, you can access further? Sometimes, cannot trust the agent too much cause to them, they just want to make a “sale”.

piggy, she said so young put him there.. I said where got young.. going to 2 next month le.. I see him there's lot of changes in him.. He now more independent which I found is good..