(2011/04) Apr 2011

Nurse jus came to insert the pill for me.. b4 inserting, VE check.. 1cm.. So hopefully inserting pill will help to speed up whole process..

Gerry

Yes, that's a good idea. Can put a few drops on the pillow/bedding. Another idea is to use a spritz bottle (I think you can get empty ones from Watsons), fill it with water and drop a few drops of the oil in it. Then spritz the room. Also a good way to get the scent in!

SandyDee

Not really. Among other things, I wash my hair and I usually drink water, which is apparently a no-no during confinement. If you are practising strict confinement, maybe can take more longan red date tea (there is water in there anyway) to keep your BM supply up.

My confinement practices are - I try to bathe in the herbal water where possible, I use Malay wraps and massages, I eat confinement food (catered from Natal Essentials), I try to stay warm but will still use airconditioning.

Mrs Chua

Good luck! For my No 1, I was at the same stage as you (about 1.5cm) after water bag had been burst for 8 hrs. Then inserted pill at 9am-ish and was 4cm by 2pm. Jia yo!

Yolk sac: hahhaa I think we all need the good luck when we are in labour. Nope, I intend to wait and let baby choose his own birthday, unless for whatever medical reasons but based on all my checkups, everything seems fine and since my baby is already small to begin with.. don’t have to worry about being too big to push out cause I’m petite size.

Water birth: seen lots of it on Discovery home and health on cable. I think its really brave to do it cause really no pain relief and you have to get used to feeling wet all the time and when baby is out, be used to all the blood and all in the water. I’m a chicken… can’t stand the gore and blood so its not an option for me. hmmm I think after the baby is out, they will still have to move to the bed to deliver the placenta. Make sure mummy is kept warm.

mrs chua

at least the dilation started already. soon you'll be 2...3...4... then fully dilated and can see your boy boy soon. anyway... the VE painful or not?

yolk sac, ur confinement practice similar as mine. haha. Just tt i din drink much plain water.. i preferred flavoured water anyway n i love the longan red dates tea! So ok for me. For ur #1 ur water bag burst naturally? After 8hrs then dilate 1.5cm ah? I'm still thinking if gynae wanna break my waterbag in his clinic.. shd I accept anot.. hmm..

Yolk sac,

Thanks for the idea! =)

Just curious, why did you induce for the first one? You seem quite pro-natural..

My friend's mom (who's a midwife) was telling her that actually the longan drink can only drink for the first 2 weeks.. cos it will cause you to lose more blood and weaken you.. Don't know how true that is..

elmo,

You are inducing? Cos I only waited for contractions to kick in and by then I was 5 cm dilated before gynae broke my water bag in the delivery suite..

Mrs Chua: be patient ok? When I went in, I was only 0.5cm and I laboured for 21 hours.. gynae broke water bag, put on drip.. took epiand still took 21 hours.. … dilated very slowly.. in a way, I am glad that my gynae did not give up on me to do C-sec cause eventually I managed to push her out with assisted delivery.

elmo

Yes, definitely not strict confinement. My grandmother, MIL and mum are actually very blur abt confinement rules. To them, even what I practise is quite a lot. Weird huh? Usually the older generation is more strict abt these things. Yes, for No 1, my water bag burst naturally at 7pm on Day 1, no contractions, went into gynae clinic at about 9am on Day 2 for pill to be inserted (about 1.5cm dilation, no contractions still), then active labour from 2-7pm.

If possible, please say "no" to AROM (artificial rupturing of membranes) i.e. say you'd rather the doc not burst your waterbag unless you are very very advanced, say 6-7cm dilated. Once the bag bursts, most doctors put you on a clock because of infection risk, i.e. they will start to suggest other forms of induction and even a C-sect if you don't progress well.

sookiewookie

Yes, it's all quite messy isn't it? But my gynae says he finds the water birth really helps with the pain relief. Yes, I will birth the bb in the water hopefully and remain in there for about a minute or two. Then will have to step out and go on the bed (with towels) to birth the placenta. I have chosen a bathtub outfit and a bed outfit (hope they let me change and don't insist I stay in my wet clothes). Haha bimbo right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good for you for wanting to handle it naturally, I really believe it results in fewer complications down the line.

Micheele.. For me, VE still ok lo.. I more scare of contractions ba..

Thanks mummies for all ur support.. My nose blocked when I lie on bed so requested to sit up but hor back ache.. So Duno how man.. Nurse say my blocked nose can affect me when I use luffing gas later cos can't breathe in.. Ask me if I wan doc prescribe any flu med but may cause me feel drowsy.. So I dun wan, scare later when need to push, I no strength.. Maybe after boy boy come out, den I will ask for flu med.. Dun wan go back still having flu den Duno how am I going to take care of my boy boy..

Gerry

Oh, interesting re the red date tea! Ok, will just drink for the first two weeks then, thanks for the info.

Yes, I'm very pro-natural. But opted for the pros pill (which is what they call "gentle" induction) as I had made no progress for almost 12 hrs (sorry, not 8 hrs as I said earlier) after my bag burst. A further complication was that I was Strep B +ve the last time around. As it turns out, the prostaglandin was just what I needed to push me over that hump and kick-start active labour. So no regrets.

Yolk sac: wow.. I think you are the only mummy I “know” that is going to try for water birth! Do share your experience ok? No lah.. its not about being vain.. its about getting out of wet clothes! But I know what you mean.. for my PJs, at the hospital, I actually have the ones from my first birth but when I look at it.. it looks so auntie.. I even questioned myself how come I even bought it. but its going to be my last birth so I’m still thinking if I should go shopping for PJs to wear at the hospital! So I’m equally vain. Hahaha

Gerry: I drank longan red tea for like.. at least 3 months cause in a way, I felt it helped with my BM production.

Gerry, din really discuss abt inducing yet. But my bb is real BIG.. I'm v scared if dun pop soon.. I cant push him out! And my gynae seem to have the habit of breaking waterbag in his clinic if he check tt you are dilated. So I think 1st in case he ask me next Wed loh. For my #1.. I went to see him when I got show.. he checked.. 3cm dilated.. he also ask me wanna break waterbag anot. But I din. But i know my fren under him let him break her waterbag in the clinic before she felt any contractions.

mrs chua

your contractions havent kick in yet? relax, take a deep breath and make sure the air con isnt too cold for you and your blocked nose...

mrs Chua

jiayou!! can u apply vicks on yr chest to open yr blocked nose? maybe ask yr hb go pharmacy buy nw

wondering if piggy gave birth alrdy, hope she is

sookie,

Wah your labour for #1 was quite long.. but thankfully you and gynae didn't give up.. I agree with Yolk sac, best is to go as natural as possible.. But for me, I scared of pain, so i will still opt for epi.. Hehe!!

Mrs chua,

Hmmz, don't know whether can or not.. Maybe you can use vicks or medicated oil to help clear your nose.. can ask the nurse to put some vicks in hot water for you to breathe..

Yolk sac,

Ya cos 1 of my friends bled so much that she actually fainted during confinement..

Oh your water bag burst.. that's true cannot wait too long after that.. Hehe!! For me even with contractions and 5 cm dilation, my water bag didn't burst.. but epi did slow down my progress and I had oxytocin..

sookiewookie

We are the same! I bought Karmy PJs to wear the first time around, but I couldn't find them this time. So I think I've decided on an open front (with buttons) nightdress from Mothercare for the bed element - so I can have the skin to skin contact with bb. For wet clothes, I bought a tankini as I find the bikini top a bit revealing, plus my stretch marks are gross.

elmo

See how you feel, but I am really not pro-bursting water bag. If you don't want gynae to do it, just be clear with him and say "no, thank you". How long did it take you to go from 3cm to 10cm?

yolk sac, I tot waterbag burst must go hosp immed? How come u still can wait till next day morning? I think for my gynae.. if dilate 3cm onwards he'll suggest breaking waterbag to speed up the process liao. This time round.. cos bb is so big.. if really dilated few cm.. I dunno wanna let him break/induce anot. If dun induce dunno gotta wait till when then bb will come naturally. But i dun wanna take epi.. also v scared induce contractions will come too fast n painful. Hai... alot of unknowns. I also prefer all natural if possible.. but who knows this bb grow so big. I din gain weight he also can keep gaining. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

What is pros pill?

u gonna wear tankini during water birth ah? But will be bottomless rite?

My #1 i was v v lucky.. after VE check 3cm.. I went home bath, etc. Then gush of blood came out.. but still cant feel any contractions. Went to hosp.. then from the time i feel the contractions till pop.. only 3+ hrs. Wanted to take epi already.. but dilate too fast no time.

Mrs Chua, drowsy good mah. Then wont feel so much pain. Take laughing gas also will feel drowsy de. I feel time pass faster like tt. Ur pain threshold must be quite ok too.. since u find VE ok. Jia you!

Dug out my old birth story (just for fun!) - just realised that I got some of the dilation numbers wrong just now.

Day 1

9am - Mucus show and water bag starts to leak. No contractions.

2pm - Gynae (at clinic) confirms likely hind water leak. VE: 2cm dilation. Prescribes oral antibiotics (Strep B)

7pm - Dinner at East Coast Lagoon food centre

7:45pm - Water bag bursts at food centre. Go home to wait for contractions.

9pm - No contractions.

11pm - Still no contractions. I go to bed.

Day 2

9am - Report to clinic, still no contractions - VE shows I'm 3cm dilated. Prostaglandin gel inserted to stimulate contractions. Gynae instructs me to get admitted by noon as IV antibiotics must be started (due to Strep B)

10:30am - Contractions begin. Very manageable. Laughing and posing with my sister for photos at Takashimaya and along Orchard Road (for baby scrapbook)

12pm - Admission to Gleneagles Hospital

2pm - 4cm dilated. Contractions still very manageable with hypnobirthing breathing techniques.

2:30pm - Antibiotics administered via heparin lock.

3pm - Contractions become more challenging, but still not very regular or evenly-spaced apart. 3:30pm - Contractions are difficult but still irregular... sometimes 2-3 minutes apart, sometimes 5 minutes apart.

4:30pm - Getting tired. Toilet break in between contractions. Discover blood on pad. Panic. Midwife-doula insists on a VE.

4:35pm - Hospital midwife performs VE : 7cm dilated.

5pm - Start using air and gas

6:15pm - Start feeling the urge to bear down with each contraction. Hospital midwife does VE - 9cm dilated.

6:30pm - 10cm ... hurray!

6:45pm - Gynae is in position.

6:58pm - Intensive pushing. Gets lots of praise for good pushes.

7pm - BB emerges - no episiotomy (as per my birth plan) and I only sustained one small 2cm tear.

elmo

Yes, bottomless in advanced labour. But I think I can wear the bottom bit earlier on. See how lah. Pros pill = prostaglandin pill, to induce labour. How big is your bb? Mine is big this time around too - at 37 weeks, he was already 3.1kg.

Ladies.. I already hv vick with me . Jus now apply on my nose ok but maybe lie down too long so felt v xin ku.. Now sitted my back oso pain so maybe will ask nurse let me lie down & I apply more vick on my chest to clear the airway..

Contractions hv nt kick in ba.. Still ok leh.. Js tired, wanna slp..

Mrs Chua

Can you walk around instead? The gravity will help labour progress faster. Or stand up and lean on the bed also can. Lying down may also put stress on your sinuses.

Gerry: hahah sorry, when i mean naturally means lets baby decide when baby wants to come out. I'm sooooooooooooo chicken, i took epi when i was only 0.5cm despite rejections from the nurse.

Yolk Sac: wah.. just read your previous birth story..still can go eat seafood dinner. i am told for #2 onwards, can't really dilly dally.. and don't wait too long to come in. My gynae encouraged me that as long as got any of the symptoms of labour, come to the hospital to get checked. the most, he will ask you to return home. Cause the last time mine was 21 hours and we were thinking ok, since it took so long the first round, second round can take my time but he advised better not.

hmmm no updates from Piggy or Mrs Chua so far.. hope they are doing fine.

sookiewookie

Yes, that's good advice. My doula wants me to call her the moment I have any early signs, and she says we should make our way to Mt A once I have contractions about 7 mins apart. I guess I will guai guai go - after all, I want to enjoy the tub for a while!

yolk sac, can share with me wat are the hypnobirthing breathing techniques? I rem i was self-hypnotising myself during the contraction pains.. saying "it's not painful, it's not painful".. and try to let my body relax.. dun fight the contractions so can dilate faster. My bb last scan at 35wks 5 days is 3kg already! But gynae say over-estimate.. he press my tummy n est ard 2.6-2.8kg. Dunno how accurate lah. My #1 only 2.74kg I totally no strength to push leh. Still need to nurses to push my tummy together with me! This #2 come out sure more then 3kg liao.. v scared. Hai...

Mummies, no one pop yet? I'm insert Prostaglandin at 10am and till now no news. Still walking ard.

During ctg, there's very mild contractions..really hope contractions kick in soon and get myself admitted. Other tml gotta go gynae to inserted Prostaglandin again.

Vonn

Ah will miss you this afternoon, seeing Dr L at 3pm. He said to go back to his clinic tomorrow if the contractions don't start?

elmo

Basically birth breathing is when you do a short exhale, then inhale slowly as if filling a big balloon (your belly). We inhale and our tummy rises with each contraction to help the contraction work more efficiently to draw up the uterus muscles (which causes you to dilate faster). Then for "pushing" (they don't call it that), you use "J" breaths. Short inhale and long exhale in a J direction - from throat all the way out below.

Yolk.. Nurse wan me lie down for 2hrs observation after inserting pill cos they wan to make sure the pill dissolve & in the mean time, monitor my contraction. After 2hrs, if contractions still low, will ask me go walk walk ard Le..

Voon.. I'm still here.. Contractions v mild, boy boy still v active... Lols.. I onli inserted the pill ard 11.30am cos nurse say my boy too active need to give Him time settle down b4 insert pill Lols..

thks yolk_sac! Will get hb to remember it n remind me when i'm in pain. :p

yeah, congrats piggy! Waiting for ur birth story!

Mrs Chua, maybe ur pain threshold is better than u tot!

vonn, hope u'll see some action soon too!

Ladies have pop-ed.. My BB is pretty small only 2.6kg..

Here my birth story be4 I forgot:

6am. Admitted

6.40am. Insert pill

8.05am. Contraction start to kick in VE checked abt 4.5-5cm asked for Epi

8.33am. Contraction gettin intense Epi administered.. Contraction slow down.

10.30am gynae arrived checked only 5-6cm. Break water bag.

10.40am can feel mild contraction

10.50am inform nurse abt the contraction VE checked alr 10cm as BB head still high was told to push abit if I feel the contraction while the mid wife get ready n inform dr..

11.20 officially start pushing

11.40am BB Kleavan is out

as he is nt cryin alot so now in icu under observation..

Piggy you rest well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Didnt know that baby not crying a lot also need to be under observation...

Piggy,

Congrats on the fast & smooth delivery! Dun worry, baby will be fine.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy.. Urs birth story is fast.. U dilate v fast too within minutes, from 5-6cm already dilate to 10cm, I think becos ur gynae broke the water bag so speed up the process..

Actually 2.6kg nt small la, I think put in nicu for awhile onli, will join u in a short while [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do take Plently of rest b4 u start ur moo moo..

Hi ladies, have been reading silently for days cos of busy work schedule. Decided to come up today to give all the mummies support!!!

Piggy: Congrats!! Rest well!

Mrs Chua/Vonn: Jiayou jiayou jiayou!!! =-)