(2011/04) Apr 2011

Hi all mummy-to-be! I'm new to this forum. I'm now at my 10th week. Any of you have pain in your lower abdomen (just below the belly button)? For the past few days, I am feeling this muscle-ache kind of pain especially at night whenever i am changing my sitting/sleeping position. I thought I have pelvic inflammation but my gynae told me if i have pelvic inflammation then I wouldn't be pregnant.

smiggle

i c. but i tink western doc will not said cant drink cold stuffs etc. they will said 1 day 1 cup still acceptable. like my mum told me not tea, coffee etc. but gynae will say k, but limit to 1 cup per day.

jaslyn

me too also took MC till i only left wit 3 days of mc for tis year. I tink if ur boss is supportive of kids and pregnancy, i tink u can let him/her know lor.

SY

ya lor. Luckily my MIL is not my hubby biological mother. thus, he also support tat i get my mum 2 do my confinment and look after my gal.

dz

yup me too..at work can't function at all. any only my boss know i am preg.

worse still got new big boss reported to work this week and he is very onz..means more work liao

Sharlin,

cannot ask ur gynae gave HL??

bearhugz,

wat did ur gynae say? did he scan n double check for u?? if he say no prob den shd be ok bah cos sumtime we will experience cramp 1..

Hi piggytoh,

My gynae did ultra scan for mi to make sure baby is alright. Then he told mi "if car is not spoilt then you won't go and repair it rite?"...farnie gynae. He told mi to look out for bleeding, if not some pain is normal. But I'm just puzzled that why the pain comes only at night.

piggytoh

never tried asking 4 tat. haha

SY

tat day I ask Dr Lek whether tis time rd will i give birth early like my #1. but he told me no as different pregnancies diff. if my tis baby born early, next time can celebrate birthday wit my #1. as my #1 birthday fall on 22nd March. haha

Dz - everynight i will toss & turn to find a good position to sleep in ... getting tougher n tougher to find a right spot ...

seriously considering the preg pillow... did someone here mention got a afforable one at spotlight ? any brand name ? which outlet ?

Hi JJ,

I read from www.babycentre.com.sg that sleeping on the left is gd for the baby. This position will maximise blood flow and nutrients to baby and our kidneys can expel waste more efficiently which will reduce swelling. So I have been trying to sleep on the left with a soft pillow between my legs.

bearhugz,

it like tt sumtime i have cramp at nite too.. i read tt sometime ligaments pullin also will cause cramp.. dun worry too much since ur gynae say ok..

Sharlin,

my GYnae only gave me HL now wor if i need long rest he say tt shd be the case.. maybe u try requestin dun waste ur HL..

JJ,

later stage worse n u havin twin will be double weight.. for me dun tink the pillow is necessary.. i jus hug my bloster n sleep n bearhugz is right sleep on left is gd but sumtime no position is gd for us...

bearhugz - ya pre-preg I always sleep on my left side. now i try to sleep on my left but sometimes being in 1 position too long & my hips ache...

I tried many types of method for placement of pillows but like getting harder to get comfy

bearhugz

ya left is good but i'm a right sleeper haha..tried to do this for my no1 but gave up in the end..

Hi Pinkraindrops,

this was taken from baby centre:

Why can't I get to sleep?

Surprised by your sudden insomnia? Could it be because you can't get comfortable, you need to pee constantly, have leg cramps, or are anxious about your baby's arrival? With such a big list of physical and emotional sleep disturbances to cope with, it's not surprising that 78 per cent of women have insomnia and other sleep problems during pregnancy! Some people believe that insomnia during pregnancy may be Nature's way of preparing you for for the inevitable lack of sleep you will cope with in the first few weeks and months of looking after a baby.

What can I do about it?

First and foremost, you should stop staring at the clock and becoming more and more anxious as the minutes tick by. Worrying about your lack of sleep will only compound the problem. Instead, start winding down before climbing into bed by relaxing in a warm bath, or, if you and your partner are in the mood, suggesting that he gives you a soothing massage. Or you could try a relaxation technique, such as progressive muscle relaxation or guided imagery, before you turn in for the night.

Before you get into bed, make sure your room is a comfortable temperature for sleeping. Is it dark and quiet enough? Heavy or dark-coloured curtains can help keep out unwanted light and noise. If you aren't asleep within what seems like half an hour after getting into bed, get up and go into another room. Read a magazine or listen to music until you feel drowsy, then get back into bed.

Above all, don't worry about not being able to sleep. Getting worked up about it will only exacerbate the problem -- and leave you feeling exhausted the next day. Of course, if you think you have a serious sleep disorder you should consult your doctor. In the meantime, remind yourself that insomnia may be frustrating, but during pregnancy, it's also normal.

Hihi Piggytoh, can you help me to update?

EDD: 7 April

Gynae: Paul tseng

Hospital: TMC

BB#: 2

Gals, can you advise what did your sinseh advise you to eat? I have been drinking lots of Ribena, Fruits and Barley.. Which i just see from here that its forbidden!

Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jus went for my DS scan. Everything is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the doc that help me do the scan say I'm now in my 12weeks 4 days, with baby 6cm long... I dun really believe I'm in my 12weeks already as I still experiencing MS [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] think is my baby growth that makes the doc think I'm already 12weeks... Baby from 3.5cm on my last gynae visit on 2sep to today 6cm.., think

is a huge growth ba? Hubby is happy abt the progress, GE say now eat more is ok but 3rd trimester must nt eat too much le if nt baby hard to come out next time lols

btw, how's everyone? Hope everyone doing beta now.. 1st trimester gonna end soon, let's jiayou!!!

Bearhugs... Ya, I also heard from one of hubby's friend that during pregnancy, is best to slp on our left side... But actual reason I'm nt too sure hehe

as for cannot slp during the night ah.. Sometimes I do ESP when I need to wake up & pee every night... Sianz

Mrs chua,

tt gd actually going forward the Edd will be slightly diff depend on BB size so jus base on the Edd taken in ur first visit or scan ard 6-7 wk tt would be more accurate as BB sumtime grow faster sumtime will slowdown.. Usu MS will fully go away in wk 16 so it norm ..

Hi Mrs Chua,

Congrats, glad that everything went well for your DS scan. Seems like you are the first to go through it for April 2011 mummies. May your good news bring good news for everyone.

Hi mrs chua,

Congrats to u. I'm going next Monday for the scan.. We have the same Gynae [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Mrs Chua, my fren's MS only went off in her 14th weeks.

I am also feeling very tired. I want to go home but the thought of taking crowded mrt juz put mi off. Vomitted on the mrt platform twice oreadi.

wah Mrs Chua u so fast go for DS scan ah. I still havent decide whether to go for the scan or just do blood test like last time. Will have to decide after discussing with gynae today. Actually... I'm v scared of such tests. V scared i'll go crazy if i see -ve results.

Hi elmo

I think it is crazier if baby come out that time then know any -ve result *touch-wood*

My mom told mi save $, don't need to do tests. But I will still do it just to have a peace of mind.

hi smiggleprincess

Poor thing...i also felt giddy on the train once during early weeks. I was either too hungry or the train too stuffy. So i also stepped out of the train and waited for my hubby to come fetch mi on the platform.

Now i will try to eat something before taking train home and always have sweets and fan in my bag. I hope time pass more quickly so that the MS will be over soon.

Sharlin,

Maybe u can call n talk to dr lek n ask for HL ..... I rember e other time when I was preg w #1 I was too tired n feeling unwell most of e times he give me 2 wk HL N I was spotting too

Hippo,

For fruits I avoid watermelon (too Liang) n papaya (coz mc easily n bb might got jaudince too oh yeah grapes n orange can cause phlegm easily

Drinks: I dilute Ribena so not so sweet n those cold drink in moderate .... As for those Liang chai try not to drink too cooling for our body n bb ....

Food: I eat in moderate but can try not to eat too much preserved plums n curry got yellow Ginger ( bb can get jaundice easily)

Above is wat I did wat I had #1 some advise given by my 3rd Sil so I just listen n follow according .....(I just sharing wat I doing n eating right nw hope I dun offend other mummies)

SY,

papaya dun cause jaundice.. in fact it not true yellow food cause jaundice for infant.. jaundice occurs when the infant liver is not mature enough to process bilirubin.. but it gd not to take papaya becos it contain many small worm not visible to eyes...

bearhugz,

icic.. yes unless u can accept a DS child it better to do the test la;0

aiyo - i ate papaya this afternoon cos it helps me with my constipation.

I think i shall avoid from now on ... then what fruits can we eat ?

Apples ? Oranges ?

Piggy, something wrong with the table, my doc is Adrian Woodworth n my EDD should be 22-Apr, deliver at TMC, all data mixed up?

hippopolai,

lol ya i tink i mix up so sorry..

JJ,

apple is gd orange some say will cause phlegm i been eatin kiwi n strawberry..

I've been eating alot of papaya also leh. Wat abt honeydew?

Btw.. Anyone knows if go for Oscar test.. Can they issue you mc? Haha.

I just went for my NT scan yesterday and bb is growing well and healthy. I'm at 11 weeks 5 days today. So excited to pass 1st trimester real soon!

We can also see my bb's gender too. It's a boy coz bb's was very cooperative. He even waved to us. haha...the feeling of seeing the strong heartbeat and healthy scans were just amazing.

Hi Piggytoh, can you please add me to the table?

Nick : Unome

EDD : 1st April 2011

Gynae : Dr Ang Huai Yan

Hosp : Mt. A

Is any mummy drinking prenatal formula milk? I just bot one from Malaysia - Anmum. I think it's much nicer that the Enfamama sample milk that was given by my gynae. I drink it every morning now. I also felt v giddy and heart racing fast one morning on the mrt. Had to step out at one station and sit to rest. Luckily i had dried raisins in my bag. So i suggest mummies to carry small snacks or biscuits in the bag just in case.

Hi elmo,

I think papaya is ok. Just don't overdose lor. Dunno about honeydew le. According to my gynae, all fruits are good but take everything in moderate.

My mum just told me she had alot of watermelon when she was carrying my elder sis. Coz had a watermelon plantation in front of her house! Sis still came out healthy.

I was offered MC by my gynae yesterday when i did the test. She said better save leave for next time. V nice of her but i already took half day leave. So I'm sure you can ask for one too.

hi gers - I've upgraded to actually vomit stuff out (water I think) feel better after vomit it out. Heng my dustbin caught it in time.

my MS can be called night sickness cos i notice that it comes only in evening time...

lying down now... stil feeling awful

morning ladies...

Unome,

welcome.. seem like u r the first to know the gender:p personally i find only anmum chocolate flavour n similac nice the rest i dun like.. yes watermelon can eat i also eat but moderate:p

Elmo,

yes can ask for mc.. tt time detail scan i also ask my gynae gave mc... honeydew is ok... but go easy on mango cos heaty... but papaya dun eat so much cos really alot of worms n bateria 1 tt y for bb if wan gave papaya steam first..

morning mummies

Unome

wow so fast can noe the baby gender. COngratz for bb boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elmo

to my gynae i can ask for MC whenever i visit him so u may try to ask for i thk Gynae is diff with GP they not stingy for giving MC de hehe

i m entering week 9 only still got few weeks to go and i feel so tired & sick of keep puking, i hate the puking. yst after dinner all return back to toilet bowl, this morning also my 1st breakfast. nw just finish another packet of mee rebus hope can keep haizz....

Unome

u can see bb's gender at week 11? Wow that's early. I'm excited to know my bb's gender too!

Last night ard 2am puked for the first time. Damn gross and head was spinning n couldn't sleep. Jus woke up and still feelin dizzy n couldn't get out of bed. Hubbies should know how noble we mommies are hahaha

Michelle,

usu boi it faster to confirm for gal usu gynae will confirm wk 16 onwards for fear the organ developed slightly later[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://picasaweb.google.com/107435811188765719302/MummyBabyStuffs#

dear mtbs, sorry to disturb again. have added new items. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've alr delivered my gal & looking to clear the abv items. hope mtbs can find them of interest to u.

pls refer to abv link for related pics & descriptions. all items are described to the best of my knowledge.

items u see in the provided link are all up for grabs, items once SOLD will be removed from the link.

if keen, pls PM or SMS to 96495528 for fast deal. pls do not leave postings in the forum as i'm unable to keep track of them.

calls from unknown nos. will not be entertained.

here's wishing all mtbs a safe & happy pregnancy!

Morning all, thanks for the advice. Now then i know papaya got a lot of worms and bacteria.. i have been eating alot cos it helps me go to the toilet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats on your bb boy Unome!