(2011/04) Apr 2011

Ting ting

u so cute haha a meatball. I love ur description.

Michelle S

welcome n congrate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbgoh

I oso look like 3mth preggy since last pregnancy. Last few wks I take train got ppl give up seats to me lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] reali very sad lo then now confirm have bb Liao nobody give up seats grrrr

sandy

haha me too ler.. last time take train also got an auntie give up seat to me.

Michelle

i thk its normal for the waiting time bah.. u got appt or walk in?

usually my gynae if make appt the waiting time is ard 30-45min

Hi Michelle,

gosh! I can't imagine myself waiting 2hrs to c gynae esp if I have fixed an apptmt. it's not public hospital or polycinic.

Anyway its quite common to wait 1-2hrs for d popular gynae. Maybe u could ask d clinic nurse to give u a call when it's about ur turn rather than u waste ur 2hr waiting there.

had nice korean food for lunch today, i hope it will guai guai stay in my stomach. seems like i can only eat btw 1pm-5pm everyday. before or after and i'll merlion.... very strange. puked 3 times this morning. ARGH!

Hey Sandy,

I went for first appointment with a woman gynae and i was very traumatized, so i won't recommend to you. i'm changing to a male gynae for the 2nd appointment at Gleneagles, if he's good i can intro to you! many mummies here have recommendations too if u know where u wanna give birth already. =)

Talking about waiting time, I waited 1 hr last week to see that gynae and she only saw me for 10 mins~~~ 5 mins to do scan and 5 mins to tell me there's a water bag and come back in 2 weeks. got to pay $300plus somemore....

!@#$%^&*&@#$~!@#$%

Hi Michelle S...welcome! The wait at my Gynae's also very long...but usually not longer than 1.5hrs. can understand ur frustration.

Hahah..TingTing..u wont b alone..let's "bouce" together. Talking about meatballs...now I'm thinking of eating Ikea's meatballs.

hey ningyo thanks for your advice i think i'll go register next time n eat lunch first. super annoyed by the waiting time hahah

pinkraindrops i understand how you feel. i also waited for 2 hours then see doc for 5 minutes to scan, and 5 minutes to explain n ask everything then after that tell me to come back in a few days but mine not so expensive... i only paid around 60 - 70 bucks for my scan and if need to take blood test, it's around 130 only... where did you see your doc?

and it's kinda early to decide now but my hub and I have already decided to give birth at TMC. a friend of mine gave birth to her first child at KKH and second one at TMC and she said TMC is so much better. a few friends also had bad experiences with KKH though its cheaper. i think i'll pay a bit more for a better doc.

oh ya TMC has optional packages for 1st and subsequent child. i think the package costs around $148 (if im not wrong) and you get some rebates off the wards tt u stay when you give birth and you get lotsa goodies and such. i think it's quite a good package...

rapple, thanks for the welcome :)

Pinkraindrops

I haven decided yet but confirm not KK hehe me oso got very bad experience.

Michelle S

me have bad experience with kk so won't be gng back. Hehe but got some ppl say their service is gd it reali depend maybe I difficult to handle ba :p

Hey rapple,

no lar not your gynae. I think ur gynae is nicer than the one i saw. I don't want to say her name anymore.. really turned me off. Made me do pap smear, and it was my first time for everything. First time to see gynae, first time to open my legs, and first time to scan *down there*. *SHY*

And because I was very shy, I was quite reluctant to do the pap smear. I asked her and the nurse a few times if it was really necessary and the nurse said yes, it's common to do it. The gynae didn't bother with me and proceeded to put on her gloves and whatever without even assuring me that it will be ok and not painful. (I've heard horror stories before) I just felt very helpless sitting there letting her do what she wanted to do. And when I cringed, she asked me in a fierce voice, Am I hurting u? I'm not right? Why are u making a face? Like hello??? I'm not purposely making the face, but I'm clearly uncomfortable?? I made it very clear that it was my first visit to a gynae ever, in my 27 years of life? wah, really super pissed. Seeing her took away all the joy of my BFP and excitement of seeing my baby.

Yah so she made me do blood test, initially she said blood test will help determine how many weeks i'm in. Later on when the results came out she said she can't tell for sure, but the hormones level is very good and she estimates to be 5 weeks plus when i saw her. Really 吐血. Then after that, said my pap smear results, i got alittle fungus infection. But, I cannot take medication, just eat more yogurt. (=_=""") I really wonder what's the point of testing then. At this moment, I feel like i wanna 喷血.

She is very curt and cold in her manners, not warm and friendly at all. Maybe she's old already, too many customers, she looked at my chinese name and asked me, are you Singaporean? You got Chinese name I thought you're from PRC. I was stunned to hear her say that.

So the total bills was 300$plus, with all the tests here tests there, which I did'nt feel was very useful? Blood test also don't show me anything, pap smear tells me i've something that i cannot cure. Thanks, i really needed to know that.

Sorry for the long rant~~~ I will not recommend anyone to go to this female gynae at Mount E. If anyone is interested to know you can PM me~~~

I appreciate that she did whatever tests she needed to do, and I suppose she can be a good gynae if u're ok with this kind of bedside manners, but I think i'll bring my wallet elsewhere.

Hi Michelle S,

Welcome:p maybe u can consider Mt A.. many of my friend prefer Mt A to TMC after tryin both n TMC parkin is terrible:p

Rapple,

some man no initiative jus ask him to take over:p

talkin abt food i am cravin for NYDC bake rice lol~

pink:

my 1st and 2nd gynae for #1 at KKH...also make me pissed off...even thou i see them in private suite.

my 1st consulation is also $300++ for so many tests but dun think got pap smear.

pap smear can test for in fungus infection meh?

dun think so.

hey cowgirl,

think pap smear can check for infections. Think fungus= yeast infection whcih is quite common for pregnant ladies.

how are u feeling? any MS?

yup mine also no pap smear but if doc recommend to do just do... or just see another doc for a second opinion for things you're unsure of.

Sandy Dee yeah KKH isnt that good. i went to KKH to confirm my pregnancy when i was about 4 weeks. my test kit showed positive but doc said its negative on his side and did a scan... then he said sarcastically, "are you sure you're pregnant? maybe false alarm lah.." then he did a blood test on me and told me to go home. no results, no explanation, no medication n no chance to ask questions at all. at least e doc im seeing now prescribed some folic acid and duphaston to take to stabilise the pregnancy...

btw at ard how many weeks will pregnant moms experience MS?

Hey bbgoh,

sorry I missed your msg. I'm 6 weeks plus this week, and yah MS is quite bad. Puking a few times a day. Last week i was super happy and eating like there was no tomorrow... beginning of this week nothing caught my fancy anymore...

What about you?

pinkraindrop..ya some gynae test this & that to dig money out of our pocket which is not so necessary during the early stage.

Maybe now I experience hahaha,I will reject whatever test that I feel is not necessary. At KK A&E during wk4 ,I rejected blood test & Vscan, cause I feel is useless, dont want waste extra money. I request duphaston to stabilise my preggie & 1wk MC. hahaha..

U must be very stress to open your leg the 1st time. Is quite bad that yr 1st gynae didnt give u the affirmation that everything is going to be alright.

If u go KK Women clinic u will be more shock leh, they ask u to take off yr pantie under white light & infront of doc & nurses, climb up the chair & open yr leg, didnt event bother to cover u with blanket. I got a shock of my life then..that why I never opt to do V Scan at KK Women Clinic..heehee.

If I got a choice, I will wish to wait for wk10 then go check up, I hrate Vscan...

Hey zita,

Yah thanks for sympathizing with me. It was really a nightmare for me and I was traumatized for days. Plus, I checked with all the mummies here and no one had done a pap smear at their first visit. I searched on google and found out that it's widely practised in US. I also get the vibe that that gynae is very westernized because she didn't give any instructions on what food not to take. (some gynaes will say no pineapples or no chinese herbs etc) She can't even pronounced my chinese name in hanyu pin yin. *shakes head* Aren't we taught to be bilingual in school?

Yah can u imagine the first time you walk into a strange clinic and infront of 2 strangers u got to take off ur bottom and undies and open your legs. All within 5 mins of stepping into that room.

I wish i had the courage to refuse the pap smear there and then. Subsequent searches online showed me that lotsa women had miscarriages after doing pap smears. I was so upset and pissed.

pinkrain,

mine 4weeks plus only, haven feel any MS.

yr MS queit Bad woh..

my last preg totally dun have so hopefully this round will be the same hehe

pinkrain

why u did pap smear at this moment? i remember last time is after birth then did de.

recently i m having itchy at my private area, wondering if got any infection but no discharge ler

Nowaday I dare not go out lunch w colleagues scare smell certain food wan vomit. Haha rather hide in office eat.

KK

for me is aft delivery so tired n they push bb let me feed wanted breastfeed but donno how so ask for help in the end all avoid me don't care. So I let them btl feed in the end they push my gal out of the room leave it along corridor crying at tat time was wondering whose baby crying till so KE Lian. I nv check cos tooooo tired Liao den a senior nurse came in scold me say why I leave my gal outside corridor was so shock lo

bbgoh,

read my experience above... it was my first time so i didn't know i should reject the pap smear. Hopefully if any of you girls, like me (first time mummies) will read about this and reject the pap smear. It's not a MUST to do it.

Hmmm, I read online that it's quite common to kenna infections during pregnancy coz the acidity level of the area is unbalanced. Maybe you can try taking some cranberry juice (that's to cure UTI's) or for my case, gynae told me to take more yogurt.

You're so lucky! no MS... that's really a blessing. Last week I wanted very much to experience it, and this week, my wish came true. *smacks forehead*

Let's be meatball together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

During lunch time, my appetite is okay. But at night, my appetite will be bad. I was telling my hubby that his face made me lost all my appetite.

TGIF.... going out to meet my gf. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh ya! I realise that seeing gynae is damn expensive. Talk a few mins, scan abit, 150+ gone.

enjoy urself tingting! i must register myself in ur meatball club also because i freaked myself out when i saw the weighing scale at the gynae's last week.

Pink,

Aiyo..ur gynae really horrible n not empathetic. supposed to b a happy event..marred by her attitude. Cant imagine having to face her for 9mths or have her doing e delivery of e baby. we, mummies need alot of assurance thru'out e whole pregnancy de.

Good to rant to let out some steam...after this..try to stay happy & +ve so as not to affect bb n ur wellbeing anymore.

tingting,

Have fun! was supposed to meet gf too but last min she cant. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] going home n become couch potato instead.

I was told by the nurse ...if want to increase the chance to know the gender of the baby.

Drink more fluid (e.g: warm water) and have full bladder before the scan.

Sandy,

alamak tt really bad... think u can consider mt A n TMC this time round.. like Mt A their serivce v gd.. :p

BBgoh,

usu MS kick in from wk6.. hope u dun get it la..

Pinkraindrops: I also get the feeling of lightning strike when I weigh myself at the gynae's clinic. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] shall monitor my diet.

All mummies let's enjoy our weekend.

Oh ya! I think mine is a bb girl because I got the urge to eat chocolates and like to read those makeup stuff. Heehee!

Rapple: enjoy your Friday night at home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u r potato and I am meatball. Gosh! We are the combi of Ikea Swedish meatball.

Wah.. So many posts today. I cant catch up! I saw some dark yellow or v v light brown discharge just now leh. Sianz. Hope it's not spotting. Monitoring now. Seems dun have already.

i also dun wanna go gynae so early cos i hate v scan too. Heng my gynae dun like to poke me unnecessarily. When i did pap smear 1mth after my delivery... I bleed after tt leh. I find it painful leh.

Haha tingting... You are so cute! You make me feel like eating meatball!

oh.. Regarding v scan.. My gynae will close curtain will you strip below leh. But din cover with blanket too. So i try 2 wear skirt when i go see him so can cover.

i like mt a service too. Food also nice. Delivery ward like chalet. :p

Ahem ... piggy!!!! Din know u so fast strike le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Happy for u ... sorry ah, being kaypoh, cos i just happen to see yr nick when i scrolling the page :p

I still trying .. haha .. dunno can be so lucky like u or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pegsfur,

hahah ya la i really din expect so fast got a shock too... but not v stable... hope u can join us too:p

Elmo,

yup cos every 1-2 yr i will go for pap smear my friend did warn me after birth will be more painful n indeed really wor. i tink maybe inside still not recover tt y... my bleedin seem to stop but still have abit of spottin ..

Sandy,

The only horror I have in KK is at delivery suite at wk33 pre term contraction, When the MO infront of me,ask the mid wife whether can he precripe me this medication? The mid wife reply, should be ok & then he feed ME. I was in total shock. I refuse to eat the medication till my gynae came & she told me NOT TO EAT.

Other then that I am happy, because all the nurses & MO very very scared of my gynae, so service is super good & efficent. Keep hearing Dr Tan patient fast fast...hahaha

A MO did some error on me, she please me not to tell my gynae, if not she will be death...so funny. Then the nurses & ward Dr very kanjong if come to Dr Tan patient. She must be very xiong to them. So in-patient is excellent for me...wahahaha.

elmo..oh ya no blanket but at least closed curtain & dim down the light...

Elmo: what do u mean by strip below? How come no blanket? Is that any nurse or helper ard? Cos it sounds so "RA" to me.

Is it a must to do pap smear after delivery? It sounds so scary.

Michelle,

I have heard BB heartbeat Liao but cos I gt bleedin on n off so consider threaten m/c so not stable yet..

Ting,

yes compulsory to do pap smear to check any cancer cell or infection I tink..Well compare to labour I would say it nothing[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re papa smear,

My last delivery is caeserean so to me the pap smear also not scary not pain at all. And my gynae very gentle the nurse ll ask me take off panty then cover me with blanket, gynae then cum in when ready. And he ll apologize b4 do.

Yes yes I heard abt Mt A has got a very gd service haha so I think shld b there ba since my hubby oso got no comment.

My apettite is back haha which mean soon I will become a huge meatball [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

any1 gng down taka baby fair? Thinking to start getting baby stuff (wat a ks mummy) haha.

But anyway ladies, ENJOY THE WEEKEND [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tippy

V-Scans, those of you who do not like v-scans can already go and get a abdominal scan. I had one yesterday and gynae could detect heartbeat and everything. Much more comfy than a v-scan, though I personally have no issues with v-scanning.

pinkraindrops, sorry to hear about your terrible experience with that gynae, cannot believe you were subjected to a pap smear for your viability visit! the gynae - was it Dr YSC (initials)? I have only had bad experiences with women gynaes, could be just my luck, which is why I gravitate towards male gynaes now. which gynae are you seeing at Gleneagles? maybe can help with feedback.

hey ladies..iv gone bek 2 my old gynae...confem 6weeks preggy.

haha!all over again.

excited oso but overwhelmed.mayb coz its 2nd time n we know wat 2 expect. d tiringness , d sleepless nites. aiyoh. hope dis time not s tuff.

Hopeful,

tink a very faint line means that you are preggy, but just tt it's stil too early in ur pregnancy, that's y the HCG level is not tt high to show a strong line yet. Confirm it w a GP asap!

Everyone,

i just went for my 1st gynae checkup last nite, q a pleasant n simple experience it was for me..no fuss, did a scan n haf a photo of my tiny waterbag..haha (hubby say i too gan jeong went gynae so early)..shd b 5+ weeks now..shall go back in 2 weeks time n hope to see more! ;)