(2011/03) Mar 2011

smiggleprincess: was that mummy you?

u are so brave!

i can feel u, when kiefer went into seizure and lost conscious...my heart dropped...

i cant imagine how u went thru!

M: yes...i definitely cannot click with my SIL..

she earning big bucks but can go thru lotsa of hassle just to save few dollars kind.

the thing is her house is sooo dirty, how clean she can be..

smiggleprincess: cannot imagine how u went thru during that period...it must have been sooo tough. not forgetting the amount of medical bills, must be damn huge bill.

you working during that time??

2nd one delivery was smooth??

Hi Smiggleprincess,

My emotion went up & down like roller coaster when i was reading your story ....it must have been very tough on you ....

smiggleprincess: u are so brave! but heng everything is over...

imagine when having #2, it must have been not easy also rite...u are so brave

smiggleprincess

u r a v strong mommy! dun worry. ur boy will soon catch up with his peers. i am such a bb also. my mom deliever me at less than 4mths. My health n learnin finally catch up by primary sch. the hole in the lung was also finally closed in my primary sch days. Thus endin the need to go back regularly for the xray.

kangaroo care is to hug bb flesh to flesh?

ST

kangeroo care is like when u sling your baby..

Just hug lor...

Poky

u came out at less than 4 mths???

#2 came out at 35weeks, my gynae so happy..

I also very happy i can tahan more than 31 weeks..

cos i started to dilate and on bed rest..

if not another bill bomb!

smiggleprincess

ops. sorry.. calculate wrongly. it shld b 6mths. between 24-26wks. but i think tat was bcos of the abortion med causin it.... my parents tried to abort me. but too bad la.. not sucessful.. end up, i born prematurely with complication instead.... lol

but i was in ICU much lesser than ur boi. mth plus only.

lucky my dad was workin under gov.. all medical bills covered.... so they didnt hv the burdern of the bills....

Hi all just to share something that happened to my sister's friend.

In jan '12 she went to KK hospital to check on a lump in her breast. The doctor told her to ignore it as it was 'just a lump' just past 3 days she went to see a private doctor. And the doctor told her to go for a scan as it might be breast cancer. And it turned out to be true. She's at stage 2b of cancer stage. Lump removed but it doesn't mean the cancer cells are gone.

She's a mother of 3 kids 10, 8 and 5. And she's a non smoker.

1) nv trust a doctor..... Or rather always seek second or third opinions.

2) she didn't buy any insurance coverage for herself. And had to fork out 20k in cash. She was only covered under her husband's company co insurance as she's a SAHM. And she's only 36yrs old.

Imagine she was well advised earlier. She could have seek treatment earlier too... Sigh. I do pray that she does recover...

It's a scary thought but this actually happen to someone I know and it's kinda a wake up call. No matter how tired, how much my baby can frustrate me etc. what if one day something happen to me >.< I would rather be frustrated everyday knowing that I can still be here..

Hope your sister get well soon.

Yeah. Very important to get hospitalization insurance coverage. Get those that covers 100% of the bill. My husband, myself and Eden all covered under same plan.

Deduct medisave $100+ PER YEAR

PAY CASH $25 PER MONTH

IT CAN SAVE YOU FROM A LOT

trouble and financial headache.

If you're Poor or not cash rich - like me, personally I feel all the more you need to get this plan. Cos no one know when you will fall sick. And you need to get this coverage while you're still

Healthy.

Let me give two example ok. I'm

Not an insurance agent ah, I'm

Just a nurse. Last two month I have two patients with newly diagnosed Acute Myeloid Lukaemia. One is 26 years and very handsome, another 30+ and behave like a baby. As I talk to them they tell

Me

This history.

Pt A: went for medical checkup, blood test shows abnormality and GP ask him go to hospital for check up. One blood report out and doctor say highly likely blood Maglinancy and ask Jim

To transfer from cgh to SGH cos cgh doesn't treat blood cancer. He came to

SGH and very soon he was arrange to

Go

For bone marrow aspiration. A painful process where they remove your marrow from

Hip

Bone there. Just before the procedure, doc told the pt to be prepared as its very lightly to be blood cancer. It turns out true. He has AML. Lucky for him, his brother told me he just bought a hospital insurance plan not too long ago and he just started working. He can stay in A1+ room and bro say wanna let him recover in best environment! Very supportive family. I told the bro he made a very right choice to buy the insurance cos few cycle of chemo cost 200-300k SGD. not having include bone marrow transplant if u want to be cured. "hopefully"

Pt B - also lukaemia. Felt unwell

For

Two months. Keep having fever, fever returns if he doesn't take panadol. Went back to msia for CNY. His relative realized he has a lot of bruises and small little red dots on him. Advise

Him to see doc back

In sg after CNY.

Which he did. Went gp, abnormal

Result n referred to raffles hospital haematologist ( blood specialist) and it turns out to be AML. Had two cycles of chemo

In raffles and it cost him 100k. Advise by raffles doc to go

SGH as raffles does not have facilities for bone marrow transplant. Pt wife told me luckily they just UPGRADED

both their hospitalization insurance plan. So they got 100% full coverage as well. No need to worry about money at all. Just get well. Oh he found a perfect match for bone Marrow donor- his bro. Going for transplant next month. Hope he is survives the transplant.

Haiz. That's the fragility of life. I've seen a lot myself.

So I stress the importance of medical coverage, I advise all my colleagues to get the same coverage. Even my patient service centre colleague ( she deals with all the billing) will ask

Us to buy cos medical bill is really scary and sky high in sg.

One of my own colleague- she finally went to find an agent to buy but was REJECTED by prudential cos she has mild bleeding disorder and mild heart problem. She regret totally for not buying the coverage earlier. Now she has to see which company will wanna take her in. Quite difficult cos she has existing medical problem.

My

Own husband. - had accident in end feb and there after had

Chest pain for two weeks. After two weeks of nagging. He finally went to see doc on CGH for X-ray. We were suspecting pneumothorax but two doc in cgh insist there is nothin on the X-ray and send him

Home with huge amount of pain killers. One week later cgh doc called me and say they found something on the X-ray and ask

Him to see respiratory medicine doctor as outpatient one month later. I asked the doc is it urgent. Doc say no. So I leave it as it is. Few days later we received the outpatient appointment slip via mail

And we saw the attached chest X-ray report. I read and it says THERE IS A 3.2 x 1.8cm mass IN THE LUNG. I was thinking could it be cancer la. ( work hazard)

I decided not to wait so long for the appointment. Brought him to SGH and I force the doctor to admit for CT scan. Outpatient have to wait very long and have to pay cash. By admitting him

To

Hospital

Everything is covered by medical

Insurance. Plus husband get $125 cash from

Prudential

For every one day he stays there.

Luckily the scan shows no mass and just some

Hairline fracture on

His ribs. We were relieved.

Really don't know what to say about cgh.

Moral of the story- get good 100% medical insurance

Coverage. Don't depend on company one or etc. cos those are quite limited.

valerie n fel

reading wat u both post... makes me guilty....

i belong to the group of not much coverage.... but hubby n 2gals r well covered la.. cos hubby also strongly believe in insurance coverage....

think tis shld kick start me to faster go n sign up...... the older i get, the more question they ask.. the higher i hv to pay.... sigh.....

a parent at my gal cc shared with me the other time, her son was admitted to hospital for fever, etc for once every wk for abt a mth... bills was v high.... but lucky she an insurance agent herself, so she bought full coverage for her son.. so the son stay in hospital was quite comfy n parents didnt hv to worry abt the bills....

nowadays doctors dunno to be trusted or not..especially those govt doctors? sigh..

those good doctors all private practice already rite...

Poky

wow, im amazed, cos in that era, medical technology might not be as advanced and u survived..

must be hard on you..

insurance

My #1 cos so premature, all insurers reject him lor..

until now, stil no coverage...

my hubby is an independent adviser if anyone keen..

he's not tied agent so he can do most financial things. you can pm me if u wan to know more.

2k - many doc go to private for money sake...

My friend went to raffles to work part time for two months... many doc there are more to business man, than doc...

some patients end stage cancer liao... that business man doc will make them buy "chemo package", then when even knowing the chemo wont help the patient already.. but still go ahead and give...

cause the man paid for the package... i dont know what kind of practice is that...

Govt hospital still has good doctors... Especially lymphoma patients, many private doctor dont know how to treat... end up send the patient back to sgh cos we have one big expert here... haha... happened many times...

omg!!...just read smiggleprincess #1 story...u r a v v strong & tough mummy!!

how is kayden condition now? he is also a tough boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fel - I hate CGH as well...HATE. I went in to remove a cyst it was infected and I was having fever all and admitted on the spot then wait wait wait wait and starve till the next day AM, finally operate. Then they put me next to this lady with bronchitis and I caught it lah! 4 days later, I'm coughing till blood come out and I go see a doctor and he insist I must be smoking *rolls eyes* I never smoked ever! Keena more MC, boss all pissed off. Damn CGH, nearly got fired cos she didn't believe how unlucky I was. This was 5 years ago.

Then I got UTI a year later, till pee blood, bfen insist I go to CGH, went got meds, still keena, do ultrasound all, spend so much money and still keena, 4 times in 2 months! Finally I went to my regular GP. She was stunned that they gave me such old-school antibiotics. My GP gave me the new ones and I haven't gotten UTI since then!!! That's all it took, good proper antibiotics! I have never gone back since then.

Fel,

jz wonder those $100+ per yr medisave is those good enough full 100% coverage plan ?

i wanted to buy but drag very long liao .. coz gotta study & understand a lot 1st b4 buy ma .. haha

wow, so 'happening here for the past few days!

Smiggleprincess, u really went thru a lot! Glad that those days are over!! Take care!

Valerie, you are scaring me, i had my check up 2 month ago, found a lump, did ultrasounnad doc says nothing suspicious, i think I better get appt with a specialist to get the clearer picture!

ya, I agree with the hospital coverage! In fact I'm thinking if i should buy for my parents as well? afraid that I will not have enough money to pay for their bills later.....been thinking for this for a while??

thanks everyone,

Kayden is now 4yrs old and fine.. just slow in development..

medical coverage

i just purchased for my parents..

share the insurance cost with my sisters, so that incase they are hospitalised, don have to fork out money..

Sinmey

u can just approach an independent adviser, they have all the info and comparison. just don go to tied agents cos they are limited.

if u are worried abt your kids, first thing is personal accident then medical ins cos your kids are healthy.

unless your kid like my kayden, alway sick then buy medical first, then personal accident.

Life and endowment are secondary.

I just called my agent who also happens to be one of my best friends and got told her I need a rider of some sort for hospital etc, don't wanna burden the family if something happens to me. :p

She asked why all of the I care... told her cos of the mummy forum ahahahaaha

Sinmey- if just $100+ per year from medisave. It's not 100% coverage. Maybe like 80% or 90%. To get 100% coverage need to top up cash one. I top up $24+ per month per person. This covers 100%, no need pay a single cent in event of hospitalization except give birth la. No minimum sum also. Some plan only cover if u hit minimum 3k or something like that.

This plan that I bought covers to a1 class (single room) in private hospital. But private hospital need to pay deposit and pay all the bills first. Then they will reimburse you later. My patient told me they will keep pressing for you to pay bills one. Call every 2-3 days and make them pay 5-10k each time.. Good for cash rich people.

Remember Matthias hospitalized few weeks back. Luckily we bought insurance for him when he turned 1....100% covered

Deposit - use credit card (same as hotel booking)

Bills - Just provide them the policy no. and they will claim from insurance company directly. If is not 100% claim, they will charge to credit card.

ST - WHICH hospital u went?

wow you are very lucky! only bought at 1 year old ah... im KS... bought at 1 month old...

I have been wanting to get insurance coverage for the family. But just dunno which company to go to.

Fel, You paid yrs thru medisave $100+ per year n top up $25 per month and covers 100% on medical bills for both private n govt hospital in a single room? You bought through prudential?

Sapphire - Yes, $100+, ( i think is $120-140++), i can't remember the exact amount but is deduct from medisave...

Then cash around $25 monthly - This covers me single room in govt and both private hospital.

Previously my cash was $18+ monthly only, but this only covers me govt hospital, and if i stay in govt hospital A1 (single room), i don't get the daily cash of $125 or $250, depending on which class u stay.

So i upgraded to the better plan which is $25 monthly... Will get cash no matter what class you stay and covers private n govt hospital... =)

Fel - went to Mt A. ya...really lucky cos only bought his insurance plan in March....i hv been nagging to my hb since day 1 ....and finally he decided to fix appt with the insurance agent...

whao.. talk about insurance.. i very kiasee.. i told my agent, i want to get the most comprehensive one for my hb, janelle and myself.. especially the hospitalisation one.. so i leave it entirely to my agent from Prudential to plan.. and just pay the premium.. maybe it is time to review my plans again. .. i even pay a little like <$5 per month to include Janelle for my Company's insurance.. so be it going to the GP or other , all covered under insurance.. cos medical bills are too expensive in sin and i cant afford one day if i am sick or what, i still have to think of the huge medical cost..

smiggleprincess - read your story.. yes, kayden is a fighter..hope all will be well for him!

my colleague also shared with me a similar story where his wife delivered around 27 weeks.. he showed me his son's picture taken in icu.. so tiny and small.. i think he was just 800g when born last sept ... it took him almost 4 months before he hit the weight to be discharged sometime Jan this year. and the nurse told him that for premature babies, their birth development should be taken as the date they discharged and not the day they were born.. so i think it is somekind like to pre-empt the parents that the child development might be slower compared to others so that the parents will not be overly concern abt the child not up to speed etc.. i saw his photos taken in feb.. now so chubby and cute..

i think all babies are fighters.. especially those born pre-mature. cos they fought hard to survive during their intial stage of life.. and i believed they will outgrow the rest of the babies..

thanks allets..

fel

allets meant Group medical insurance that cover dependents when they go GP

good luck, u working stil have time for BP..

so hardworking...

i cant even finish my work..

wow...2K...i went to kpo, biz seems to pick up these few days...hehe.

very curious about the hospital plans, etc. i think i better go back n check wat i have bought. is prudential more popular? i bought mine thru AIA leh...hope the coverage is ok.

smiggleprincess: one week before u...i havent book hotel yet...going to find our thai agent to do it..

u book which hotel?

won_mummy: ya lor! wonder why these 2 days business like pick up...it was really slow the 1st few days leh..

going to close it today, at night plan delivery routes...

smiggleprincess: have to see which hotels, some hotels my agent dont do..

i booked thru my agent cos i always last minute decide, and then i want the 2-ways airport transfer lor..easier for me...

Fel - the one that i got for my daughter from my workplace is the same as my coverage by the company. go to the list of panel clinics, pay $5 than company pay the rest. yes. Group insurance.. this insurance also cover for hospitalisation, surgical, major illness etc.. that is to say, what ever coverage i have, i extended to my daughter by paying a slight premium every month(total probably <$10 per month)..

Allets - Your company insurance is good!!! Haha...

WOw so fast got 2013 mothers already...

yes.. the medical benefit is good cos my industry consider quite a high risk one for the rest of the field engineers. so need a comprehensive coverage for employees loh.. ya loh, now with the company still got this benefit.. but if resign, hope the next company still have..

fel - ya loh, 2013.. my mum was just asking my husband directly on sun when is #2.. my hb reply was not be in time for dragon bb, not interested in snake bb so earliest to try will be after April 2013 to have a horse bb.. i was just wondering, hb zodiac is chicken, i am rat, janelle is rabbit.. if snake bb, will he/she eat all of us up ? haha.. i am concern about compatibility of zodiac..