(2011/03) Mar 2011

2k & Tres - Yeah... Let's just say i trust CC more than maid lo... Eden still can't talk also. Later he get abused or mistreated no ones know...

Maid ah - To do housework, cook and clean lo... and "back up" plan when my husband gotta go overseas.

Yeah. my friend also told me my maid gonna be very eng... LEt her clean and clean the house lo.. Windows la, toilet, so many shelves... etc etc...

Hope it work out well...

Have second one ah... I planned to go study again this october, take advanced diploma in nursing, specializing in something... it's from oct - june 2013. Maybe try after that... haha... dont wanna get pregnant while studying, sure very tired... n cannot take mc...

Tres - Yeah... i agree with u the changing cc part... MFS very "hot" one...i think once out... can forget about going in soon...

tres: thats very wasted for the maid...and its tough for the pocket also leh.

unless really rich dont say la..

i definitely cannot afford.

2ks,

yep.. it the same for my gal MFS as well.. each term there a theme... for eg. during the "family".. then that wk they will b asked to draw the family.... then homework is a portrait of the family... they will sort of "pre teach" the kid on the topic.. then when parents do the homework with, easier....

but i didnt know tat the teachers goes for first aid lesson as welll..

2k - Yeah... tough for the pocket... sometimes i can't wait for her to come.... i can be free from housework..n make her cook every day....

but gotta send her to some cooking class - so she can cook some decent food... - any suggestion where to send for cooking class n not so ex?

2Ks, bo pian leh! CC better than maid ba!

Fel, on the contrary hor, no matter how much you ask your maid clean the house, she will be very eng 1, that's when she will 'find' other things to do..... that will be worrying too! possible to ask nanny ard your area or not??

SApphire

Arts Kidz is not a cc, its a preschool.. 9am-3pm only..

nice environment and teachers... e kids are quite international with mainly japanese kids.

previously i put him part time 3 days for $450. 5 days is abt $600plus.

Now i change him to Chinese Kindergarten in Outram, cheap and good...

Tres/Fel

i have been usin maids. this is my third one now..

they take care of the kids. My #1 goes to sch via school bus, so she only pick him up..

Im very strict with my maids, previously they have to write daily report of what they do and how they spent their time, plus i also install two cameras at home.

Also cos my hubby is at home workin sometimes..

fel: hope u get a good maid..

but out of 10 maids, i heard 8 bad ones...so i hope yours be good

u have time to teach yr maid meh?

i read before, there are classes...check out community centres?

2Ks,

same, star learner also have the theme .. and i love their activity. Say last quarter is Animal kingdom, they will have field trip to the farm de leh .. feeding rabbit/hamster, walao, go longkang fishing & bring back 1 fish ... where to put ? i brought it back to school the next day .. dun feel comfortable that the fish just die like that in my house .. haha.

Shay is going with her jiejie should be better ba .. Cherie Heart is ok, but i feel they have less activities lo.. Star learner still got free play, catching ball & playgournd at the courtyard behind the school, water play every month .. field trip every quarter.. maybe Cherie heart has it too just that i'm not aware .. Ooh ya, forget one important thing, i dun really like aircon environment, especially when kids having flu/cough.. it takes them longer to heal in the aircon room .. also easier to spread the virus around if there's kids sneezing/coughing .. just my thought..

Finally, i dun have to drop/pick them from 2 place .. haha

sinmey: i know alot of parents that put star learers like it there. but i dont like it. cos i find it overcrowded. virus easier to spread, and cleanliness more difficult to maintain.

and i heard they always increase fees also...

2Ks,

over crowded ? i think still ok, coz the overall compound is big .. U said too crowded but i'm surprise all teacher knows by my girl's name and they knows each of the parents for the student .. power. All the K1/K2 is upstairs & other downstairs. They have different rooms for different classes.. it's open air and they have 3-4 aunties who keep cleaning the places de, including those big toys like slides. Fees wise, i thought only once after my girl joined .. So far ok for me.. Only down point is, dunno why they always kena HFMD ... maybe its too crowded too.. haha.

There's one more thing i like about there, very chinese focus. My girl learn and start speaking in mandarin there. Now, if Shay doing well in something, she will said 你很棒 !! Even we don't say that .. haha

Oh, below my house, there's another CC called Sweetlands - for 18months and above.

They charges $600 for full days cc - this price is after govt subsidy. atrocious price...

If only they r cheaper, i sure change eden there at 18months... ony 2-3mins walk from my place..

Big n spacious... non aircon...

My neighbours went to ask why so ex their fees, they were told they have a lot of enrichment classes and blah blah blah... not sure how true though...

Cherie heart's IFC is $700 & if upgrade to PG is $600 ... expensive leh .. That is one of the reason for me to switch to star learner too. $480 with class still cheaper than CH

fel,

you may check what is their classes content ..

Like star learner, i pay extra for the weekly Gym class & Speech and Drama class .. for N2/Ka above, they have Aikido(like taekwando) too. If the cc include the classes and the fee could be reasonable. I like it that way, coz me a lazy mummy who will hardly bring my bb out on weekend for classes. Since they are full day in cc, it's better to include the classes .. to make full use of the time there?

Sinmey - maybe i should go check what classes they have... but, $600 monthly very expensive lei... aiyo

Cherie Hearts at my place is 450 after subsidy leh...

But got this new teacher I'm not so happy with, gotta call today and make some noise, sigh.

i also intend to send Janelle to Cherie Heart at Bukit Gombak next year. Janelle will get to attend the same school as both my niece and nephew at CH (different class though) and will let her take school bus home with them to my mum's place altogether.. my sis was saying since i got ppl to look after, best is go after 28 months.. any one know why ar ?

super happy that today is Friday!! and 4 days of long weekend to Batam awaits!

smiggleprincess,

i dunno pumpkin can help to reduce phlegm .. hehe.

Yea, Hou Zao San helps ..

allets,

Coz cc have virus ma .. so if J go later means she is stronger to protect herself from getting sick more frequent

Fel,

I'm paying almost $500 for my girl & $700 for Shay every month now .. plus milk powder & pampers. I think every month pay in immediately out liao...

Fel: cos last time kyler IFC only $350 per month leh after subsidy so can tahan longer..

Kiefer one also not much left

Allets: I feel 20-24 months is a good time to put cc/classes

28months she might recognize Ppl and Plc will fuss more

Smuggle princess: try ba bao San or hou zao san

2ks

I agree! I'm going to put my boy in cc at 21 month. My nephew enrolled at 36 months. He has been crying since jan 2012, almost 5 months already! And he's only attending 3 hours daily though his parents paid for full day cos my mil cannot bear to let him cry and wait for her to pick him up. He goes at 8am, and then he carry his bag and wait at the gate for his ah ma at 11am.

Many pp told my mil to slowly extend the timing to pick him up but she felt that it's v cruel to him @_@

thanks mummies,

previously tried that on my #1 but eventually didnt work.

I gave pearl powder to Kasper and it work, but so ex and boys cant eat much...

maybe will try again on Kasper..

he has been coughin whenever it rain..

sign of bronchitis... haiz..

Sinmey

pumpkin will help him to congulate and cough out the phlegm

cc

parents can attend for 1-3 days for orientation rite??

then maybe they wont cry...

smiggleprincess - ymca, they let me sit in for a day and I never went back, I was shocked at the standard and my #1 was only 18mths. We waited and I sent her when she was 25 months to Cherie Hearts, I like what I saw when I visited BUT they didn't let me stay in at all, they said she was old enough to understand and me being there would just make it harder! She went home after her lunch for the first 2 days and then stayed on till 5 after, only the first two days she cried but my husband started to take her instead and she stopped crying. Now she tells me bye and looked annoyed when I pick her up cos she has to stop playing...esp when I don't bring her mei mei along ahahaha.

Anyone tried Herbal life products to lose weight here?

I feel like trying... So tempted to do it... My friend lost 7kg in one month... Sort of cheaper than TRA program...

All my stubborn fats just wouldn't go away... sigh...

I'm also comtemplating removing my contraceptive, think it maybe one of the cause of me putting on like 5kg? *faint*

Sapphire - Elias (Pasir Ris), sorry bit far from you.

It's the second cheapest around my area... the rest are those house near the beach and they are 1.1k and up up up.

nowadays childcare fees really killer.

maid also killer..

My sil ifc also increase price, after subsidy is $1000+

elder one after subsidy is 700+

poky: u know hor...i just realized kyler got homework also leh! last week he brought back worksheet, tracing chinese name and small letter from the childcare lor..

aiyo...those poor kids!

2ks,

eh? kyler is 2009 baby rite? playgroup? alrdy start tracing name liao? in chinese some more? my 2008 gal stil not tracin leh!! i tot all MFS syllabus will b the same time n method... hmm... look likes it not....

Smiggleprincess,

Thanks. I have visited learning vision but don't like the environment there. The principal doesn't even want to meet us.

I will check out the other two.

Poky: kyler same with your elder.. 2008 dec baby..

He not in mfs ma.. In another school..

N2 this year.. Cannot imagine next year he be in k1! Time passes so fast...

But cos he dec baby, so he is really pretty slow..

2ks

oic... i keep thinkin he early 2009 bb.. =p

ya lor... so fast they goin K1 liao... it alrdy near half a yr over le.... i dreadin the P1 registration... c my frens n neighbours worryin abt it... make me sweat!! i still thinkin to do PV or not... sigh

poky: he supposed to be early jan baby...but end up dec. i actually regretted, i should have kept him in tummy for another week.

ha...i confirm not doing PV, its no guaranteed a place in P1 anyway...

2ks

doin may not confirm place. but not doin. confirm no place mah.... suay suay, the school tat is most convenient to us in location r well known sch... sian...

hubby also quite against doin PV... so most likely not doin... but seein so many tryin... make me feel like i shld do a part leh.....

How is everyone?

So quiet...

So fast your #1 going k1 liao?

K1 is 5 years old?

fel: next year kyler will go K1 lor..

but he is sooo small size...he doesnt look 4 years old at all..

sometimes i really wish that he grow slower..

he is so fun nowadays..

My #1 keeps getting sick, coughing since Dec!! I'm just asking, should I change CC? Cos I don't think the AC is doing her any favors. Thoughts anyone?

I'm just a bit sad cos she is happy at Cherie Hearts but she can't seem to get better.

2Ks

my kayden also small size..

we can compare the 2008 instead of the 2011 babies..haha

M

yup, aircon plays a huge part in the damagin our kids' nose, lungs and immunity..

imagine if they do not clean their aircon...

My two kids will start to cough if i dont clean my air con every 3 mths, they have sensitive airways..

Plus i try to find non-aircon school..

Sapphire

Learning vision has too many malay teachers for my liking..

My #1 at Chinese Kindergarten in Outram.. but its a school, not cc..

Around tiong bahru,i find Arts Kids the best..

M

i also put non AC as first criteria when findin CC... alrdy got alot of viruses around. no "fresh air" to circulate. condition b even worsen... 4mths of coughin not gd leh..

Long time not come in here. How's everyone? Any mummies can recommand wat DVD to recommand for our kids? My son now watching barney and only have 1 DVD, everyday can repeat 3-4 times, he not sianz, we watch till sianz.

Panda hut

My boy loves doreamon! He calls him dang dang.

TGIF mummies! Super odd weather these days, hope you ladies are not feeling the heat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]