(2011/03) Mar 2011

allets,

i also cover my 2 bb with company premium ... The last time Shay got hospitalized and the insurance cover ALL, including the super expensive ambulance .. i only pay for GST.

For the GP, it is covered by company i think.. Not the extended Group insurance though ... and there's limit per year too

And 2Ks mentioned my worry lo.. All of us are well covered now, but if i change job, i have no more coverage and it takes a while too for the insurance to take in place so i might have a gap in between... Not sure if i should buy something 'outside' to minimize this risk .. haha.. Nowsaday very kiasi .. the medical bill in SG just too much for a normal worker like us to afford

sinmey: perhaps u should get a medical outside, with less premium one? just standby?

i also think medical is most important...

the other time kyler admitted cos i never buy rider, i cant claim leh..

anyway, the stupid insurance rules keep changing. when u sign up, everything ok ok, then after that everything got to declare, write nonsense etc. very sian one la

allets,

mind if i ask wat industry r u in? y the coverage so gd? can even xtend to family members?

smiggleprincess,

ehh... hard or not... tat my parents lor.... since they r the ones takin care of the premie.... but i juz want to say that dun worry too much. ur boi will soon grow up of the "sensitive" period n b able to catch up with his peers. meantime, u n ur hubby will b the ones takin xtra effort to ensure his health. jia you. =)

2Ks,

yea, thinking of just cover the MediShield, covered by CPF one .. they have premium plan and the coverage is 'quite ok' de.

Poky,

i think is depends on company ba .. my company also cover my hb & kids, including the vaccination/medical check up. That is why Shay having all his jab at PD.. haha. But after sometimes, i think the GP near Sembawang is equally good too ..

some companies i have seen with really good benefits are Google, Bloomberg and HP..

they take care of the family..

Sinmey

yes, shld enhance your medisave..

Fyi, my #1 stay in hospital for 5months, total bill is $170K.. after subsidy,stil must pay abt $40K.. Im still paying it after 4 yrs..

poky - oil and gas service industry and it is the company culture to provide comprehensive converage to family. cos though in my location is considered a fairly safe work environment since we are a manufacturing centre, those ppl working in the field, oil rigs are performing high risk task..

sinmey

o... my hubby one only for GP, PD only subsidise small small %. So after my gal go GP after 1yr old. =p else, wkly visit to the doc, siong ah...

allets

oic. but come with the stresses....

poky: i cannot take stress...so i am stuck in this job for 13 years...wahahahahaha...

no benefits for family leh...

but no stress, can FB, MSN surf net la..

and do my BP...kekeke

2ks

lol!!! i stressed out in workplace. but dun want to change work due to the perks i get... flexible timmin n able to take leave most of the time when i needed...

poky: ya lor...me not because of the benefits, its more to colleagues and leave also..

i think i spend half of my working time surfing net and whatsapp..LOL

2ks,

gd life siah.. rest more at work, after office work more siong!!

me opp,, cos of politics, dun like my office...

2Ks, Mr Wong lo ... My girl so cute .. she took her doctor set & chk my temp .. then said, 'Ooh mummy, 38.4'C. Fever already' Then she took her toy phone, said she will call the clinic 1st .. (coz my always call & ask which doctor in house before i bring them down). Then she told me, ooh, it's Dr Lim today leh, you ok ?

haha ..

Poky,

Yes, All covered .. but it's by company instead of insurance ..

hey.. i rather have a lower stress job that os not so demanding than feeling so stressed out in work.. never in my job that i will stress until diarrhea, have terrible headache..

sinmey: LOL! Dr wong is good! he is very good with kids...

i dont like dr lim...but bo bian...

u see the crowd u know...dr wong = crowded

dr lim - very fast my turn

the nurse also very nice, those work long one la...

they always called kyler PEH YONG JUN (the korean actor) instead of BEH YONG JUN..

got once the nurse even gave him the actor photo lor

allets: higher stress = higher pay mah..

my hubby also very stressed with his work, i told him, u want higher pay of cos la..

thats why i settled for lower pay but no stress job, in order to go home punctually and can sleep in peace, last minute on leave also ok

2ks

Me too! I quit my high paying but hectic job 4 years ago to get married and start family planning. Took a 15% pay cut for slower pace, can go home on time, anytime take leave job. I miss the challenges from time to time but so far I am grateful for the time spent with my boy. No money can buy that. My hb is taking flight in his career, mine is at a standstill now but no regrets - someone has to take the backseat, IMO.

Insurance - I also super kiasi. We bought aviva medical insurance to cover for ourselves and boy. Also added the riders. I also buy those cheaper group insurance one from my company. It's from QBE, they pay for outpatient and hospitalization.

Yday I read a fb about a friend who gave birth to #2 two months ago. The fighter has been in icu since birth and discharged yday. He was diagnosed with brain abnormality and a host of neuro and devt conditions. Now he's fed on tube and has a tracheostomy to support his windpipe. She posted photos of him and it broke my heart. No matter how many times I re-read her post, my tears just flow. She detected the risk when he was in her womb but they decided to let him come out and find a cure. I have nothing but admiration for my friend. My friend has a v healthy #1 - her words to me last night : pls do not take pregnancy and good health for granted. I'll keep this mind, especially when i get frustrated with my boy. 

This also teaches me that if I am blessed with #2, I will get insurance from the start.

mimimo24,

really admire ur fren n her hubby for the decision they made. To b willin to take the chance n stickin it thru, not an easy feat.

ya, dun take pregnancy n even delivery easily. While many have successful n worryfree experience. Not ALL will b so. So treasure n b thankful for a smooth pregnancy n healthy bb/child. =)

2ks,

pump up kyler! talk as if so easy to beef up kiddo.. lol

he not a big eater? or cos he v active?

sinmey,

wow,,, such gd company benefits!! then cant jump to nxt company unless with equally gd benefits liao!

allets...

"you qian zhuang, mei ming hua",,, if the work causing so much stress n health prb.. mayb u want to reconsider ur pirority..... sanity n health or comfort of life.... IMHO...

mimimo: exactly lor! many times i wanted to change job, just a jump there be a difference in pay, but then i keep thinking, if stressful, need to OT, boss not understanding then how?

i cannot depend on hubby, when he is around to help, its bonus to me already.

but well, there is a limit on what men can do..

they can never multi task, and papa usually play with them instead of really teaching la, IMO

kyler stuff all i teach one, but there is a time limit for me, i can only afford 15-20mins per day..

poky: he is a small eater...he is the smallest in class, even SIL son who is younger than him is taller by one head, then other kids which is 20 months also heavier..

he can still fit in 18 months clothes lor..LOL

mimimo - ur friend is so brave. dont need to read her post, i see ur summary above i also feel heartpain.

tks for e advice: pls do not take pregnancy and good health for granted.

2k - ^5! me too. prefer less stressful job and can leave office on the dot so that I have more time for my gal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ks,

agree.. papa cant multitask at all!! but for us, it the daddy doin homework with my gal... cos i no patience n my daughter not scare of me. even if i scold or punish her... her dad can "control" her more to hv her concentratin on the homework than to look around or play... now it a daily b4 bed routine ever since she started her xtra lesson.

poky: nowadays the kids very cham hor..

even we send them to cc, doesnt mean they learn properly there..

like my SIL son, he doesnt know his ABC and the teacher can ask the parents to teach, said cc is play, no teach one

2Ks,

serious ? how old is ur SIL son ? which cc ?

My girl learns a lot in cc leh ... ABC & chinese too .. but i feel the most important is cc teaches her to be diaper less, must wash hand before & after food, go toilet by herself .. & since last week, they teach them to brush after meal ...

but me kiasu mummy still send her for Chinese enrichment class starting last few wks.

Poky & sinmey- how old r your older ones? Still got homework?

Omg la. so young do classes. I think I'm a very lazy mom. I only play n play with him... N watch tv.. Haha

Read book when he wants too...

sinmey: SIL son is 2009 feb baby. difference with kyler 3 months, but he is giantic..LOL

he is in the NTUC premium one...some skoolhouse or something..every month dunno 700+ or 800+

kyler also learn to go diaper less, all that in school...now at this age, they amazed us hor..

but this kiefer also amazed me la..

fel: 13 month do not need any class IMO ok..

waste time waste money.. u can do that at home..

like finger painting all that, but they might not enjoy it now..

singing dancing, i am sure u can do that..

IFC teaches kiefer how to stamp his feet...

so he does it at home...so i think u can do it at home too..

2k- oh no la. I'm not intending to send him to any class. Just curious what class does sinmey n poky daughter go to? Cos I think they r like only 3 right?

Yeah Eden can dance a bit now. Lately he started to stamp his feet - I think IFC taught him that also..

your SIL pay so much and they don teach??

My #1 went to a school when he was 2 yrs old. 9am-3pm

its was fun for him cos the school also have violin and yoga classes..

budden it increase their prices and so i pull him out...

those keen can check out Arts Kidz at tiong bahru.

smiggleprincess: ya lor! sil said the school dont focus on teaching, focus more learn thru play, so her son doesnt know his abc yet, but he is very good in talking though...

Fel,

My girl is 3yo now .. 2009 mar bb ... slightly younger than Kyler & 2Ks's SIL's son .. I'm sending her to some Chinese class .. to recognize the chinese words. You can do it yourself if you have time .. but i'm just simply too lazy. Plus i think kids learn faster with friends together. Only 1.5hr per week is ok ba .. & they only teach 2 words each session. All the activities like cut/paste, coloring, story telling, game, sing song & dance are all about the 2 words that they learn ... They will give the parent a guide sheet & the flash cards for the 2 words.. what i need to do is flashing & asking her when i'm free .. haha

am i too kiasu ? hehe .. but i never send her for any other class, except this chinese class 3-4 wks ago .. and not bad, she now knows at least 8 words now .. hahaha

2Ks,

learn through play also consider 'teach' ... i remember during the 1st quarter review with my girl's teacher. They do have the comment on the child, comparing to some guideline milestone that he/she suppose to know. Last year, they commented that my girl still dunno how to differentiate 'girl' & 'boy' ... and now too familiar with some of the alphabet which the school expect them to know A-K in playgroup or something .. imagine she is only 2+ last year ... know A-K though not very fingertip is good enough for me .. haha

mummies.... have you register your kiddo to like toddlers classes or those play groups when they are 18 months & above???

I just called MFS in Bishan, it is FULL and waiting list is like 50 pax?? Gosh!!!

sinmey: i also only enrol kyler in chinese class cos he is potato one..he dont speaks chinese AT ALL. until he went for one term class, now he starts speaking alot..

but actually its consider slow to some people, but well, i dont care, hey they only 3 YO leh..what u expect

to me, i just tot some exposure to chinese la..

but its bonus to me when he really can sing or read in chinese lor

tres: do u have friends or something in that branch? ask them to call the principal and ask..

MFS everywhere also full one, unless they newly open.

tres,

Shay is in IFC now .. i'm thinking to switch him to my girl's cc .. he would have priority since his sis is there .. else, he also can remain at his current centre & upgrade to playgroup when he turns 18mths.

Who is taking care ur bb now ? if u intend to enroll him to full time playgroup, i guess you need to put your name in the wait list .. else u will never get ur place .. every centre is full & on wait list i think.

Thanks Sinmey, I've put my name on waitlist liao!

My mum is looking after her now, I was hoping to put her into half day CC when she turn 18 mths so i can relieve my mum as well as let her learn things from school.

ya you are right, every where I want seems to be FULL.. we got so many kids meh? I tot birthrate very low??? dun understand the govt sometimes!!!

Sinmey

My #1 is slower is development.

So i teach him at night during bedtime..

We recite A-Z together and 1-20 when he was 3 yrs old..

u are not KS, its good exposure..cos they can learn and absorb alot now..

#1 is in nursery so he cant go for any classes..

but they teach him chinese, one day he came back with SAN ZI JIN.. I was so impressed so he also a potato[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chinese

WINK & LEARN has some nice chinese CD..

Yes yes I checked out all the MFS in my area plus bedok. All full. I'm #50 in queue for the branch just below my block since 1.5 yrs ago. I'm still #50 now!

mimimo: have to go thru recommendations then easier to go in MFS...everywhere also full one, otherwise go down personally and look for principal if u managed to get her, at least got chance.

sinmey: u intend to change shay? u not scared he not used ah..

i am very happy with the IFC teachers there, got one hor..think dunno she rich or what, she buy things for kiefer one...

my friend's daughter hor, she buy her gap and the chateau de sable clothings...

2K- wow the teacher is so nice...

I ask your ah. If given a choice would u choose MFS or PAP school for your child 18months onwards. ??

Eden's current mfs is about 10-15mins walk away from my house. But Now below my house 5mins away building one PAP infant care and cc. I was thinking whether to change Eden to the one nearer to my house when he turns 18 months old. ?

Reason being- gonna hire a maid soon out of no choice also. Husband starting new job in July. New job might require him to fly. And I work shift hours. So need a maid to send / fetch during those absent husband period.

Then if PAP CC- don't need to cross road at all. Just walk through playground reach already.

But MFS - need to cross one big T - junction. Also scare maid not "smart" enough to cross road...

I read PAP website they said just attend to basic needs. Mfs website says it let them learn through science.

*dilemma*

fel: i have a couple of friends who put their bb in Sparkletots, but all negative feedbacks and they didnt withdraw cos nearby no other slots.

from what i know the PCF which teaches K1 K2 N2 is ok, but not sparkletots, alot of malay teachers also.

eh...why do u have to put eden in full day cc since u have a maid?

if i have a maid, i will only enrol my baby to those 3 hours playgroup. in fact those are really INTO playing/learning, cos usually small groups and no nap time etc.

wont your maid be very eng if u put yr child in full day cc and she alone at home?

or another choice, have a 2nd one, let her take care...otherwise very wasted u know

ok, regarding MFS, i spoken to the supervisor of the IFC before after office hours, she talk to me almost for half an hour. and i understand more on how MFS works. they have something to follow one. every term they have a topic, eg. last month, it was family, so they ask for family pics, and then they show the babies, tell them who and who and what..

and really kiefer does understand, he come back he took the family photo from the shelf and i ask him where is papa, he will point..

it might be a simple thingy, but the teacher said this way help to "open up" their brain or something..

their terms...well..

then i told her, to me, i think babies dont understand much la, but she disagree cos she said even up & down bed all that is a development a milestone...

(chey...i tot they will know it eventually?}

their terms la...apparently they have to go for courses, and in every centre, there is a couple of teachers that went thru first aid training, so they know what to do...

i am very relieved to hear that, i know i didnt chose a wrong centre for kiefer.

other branches i dunno la...cos it actually depends on teachers also.

but kyler ifc confirm dont works like that...

2Ks, i think Fel feels more comfortable to put Eden in IFC /CC then let Maid look after. PErhaps the maid is only needed for send / pick up and household chores ba!

If given a choice, I will prefer IFC / CC vs. maid!

Fel, to change CC hor, will Eden ge use to it, at least in his current IFC .. when he and the kids move to CC, he will still see familiar faces mah! Understand your concerns abt crossing the road lah. If that's is your MAIN worry, i suggest you try lor, if cannot then go back to his old IFC (can this work?? just afraid there will be no vancanies then). I think Kids are very adaptable, let them have a first few tries, they will be fine too!

2ks,

ya lor,,, cc dosent teach them much.. expect the parents to have the time to teach.... my gal last yr only sing n dance mainly.... this yr, start nusery, then story tellin more, drawin n learnin alphabets more....

at the recent briefin, the teacher told me that tis yr, they r stil only learnin to scribble n hold pens. not to write yet... only nxt yr, when they start K1. now is "recognizin" the letters n words... but for me.. i ok la... as long sooner or later will teach,, i ok la... furthermore i also didnt enrol her in those art or music lesson that is held in the sch... those r suppose to teach them more on interestin arts ba.... previously, i tried the trial with my gal. but she was v shy n didnt want to participate, even with me together... wat more when it bcome her alone with the classmates? so decided to wait longer... then tis yr, feel the dancin n music no longer seems worth the xtra fees leh... so start her on piano.. abt the same fees, but it something that she can benefit from, instead of juz jumpin n hoppin in the music lessons... IMO la... BUT... feel kind of cheated.... b4 we sign up, they say parents cmpy the kid in the class so that they know wat happens in the class, can handle the kid more so that the class benefits... so we tot not much homework... after signin up.. then realise it a daily homework!!!! but then, come to think of it la.... no hardwork,,, where to reap the fruits?? i was thinkin to simply when i enrol her... sigh,,, so now the daddy start doin homework with her daily b4 slp...

Fel,

my gal turing 4 in another 2-3wks. previously only homework from her cc, but only occassionally when she in playgroup (<3yrs old), after startin nursery, homework more often.. but also abt only once a mth?? but it simple ones,, like findin pictures, learnin phrases, colors, shapes, etc...

i also feel to start them only after they reach 18mths... b4 then, they wont "appreciate" the lesson.... i tried gymboree, kindermusik, art classes with #1 b4 she 18mths... but most of the time she shy, unfarmiliar with environment, the enthu of other kids, dosent want to participate,,, sit still most of the time... but after 18mths... i enrol her with the positive focus. she was by then, more comfortable n confident with her own movement,,, when we do the movements with her, she learn to appreciate n enjoy the lesson. n also to start lookin at her peers movements also...

likewise, for #2, goin to start lookin only after she turn 18mths... then c the arrangement...

Tres,

i waited more than 6mths b4 i start receivin calls to ask us if we stil interested to get the slots for the ones that we ask to put on waitlist,, about 5 centers??... cos durin that period, MFS start a few centres nearby,, so some parents change their cc,,, so leave empty slots liao....

wow... some of the older kids here alrdy know san zi jing leh!! my gal older, also duno... shld i start to b concern?? but she speak chinese la... juz not v zhun... sigh.... her singlish stronger than chinese... faintz..