(2011/03) Mar 2011

i just came bk from a 2 hours photoshoot at sean lau/studio play...so dead tired..poor my girl...

poor me...

i shall be good girl n no more photo shoot for a LOOOONGGG LOOOONNGGG time..

its good i prefer it over studio loft for the different settings that they have..think i did more than 10 settings in 2 hours ...

so if every setting got 2-3 good photos..then 10 setting means 20-30 photos..should be money well spent..think no choice but to buy all..

its 100% studio....so no natural lighting etc..

studio loft has an area in the studio that has natural lighthings..so not all dependant in studio lightings...which is a plus...

2 hours indeed very shiong for the baby...luckily she was a champ last thru it with minimal fuss..jsut tt the smiles were getting lesser n lesser and almost non existent towards the end... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so sometimes if just wan somethign fuss free n fast...those walk in studio loft will suffice!!

my two cents take on studio play and studio loft

Shucks!!

Sibei pek chek!!

Maid said wanna quit, mum complained she no longer wanna take substantial role in helping take care of kids, dad blamed me (kept sending stupeed smses)... + Loads of work to clear + Board meeting coming up + my hormones haywired due to preggie with 2nd kid + my boy's 1st birthday party coming up (with tasks still not settled). Sibei STRESSED!!!

KILL ME!!!!

Arrrrgghhhh...........

chill Airmez!

you're doing great!

my dad kept nagging at me cos we just got a new maid!!! and what's killing me is that the new maid doesn't know english!!! i'm so gonna faint n vomit blood!!!

all of your photos here are making my heart itch!!! but i think my hubby will kill me if i'm going to arrange one for Jo!!!

limlim,

how did you find the chinese jg classes? good?

jaime, how much u spend? expensive anot? i lookin ard for my baby..so at least he has got some nice baby photos before he turns 1 yr old..i felt bad..caz didnt take nice photos of his growing up..

Jaster: up to individual la. But Lucien knows where is his 头 cos of the song they always sing. And it's nice to see him paying attention during story telling and listening to simple instructions. And he really enjoy the artwork session, he really 'hands on'' he gets paint all over.

Airmez: Relax..dun be angry.

limlim: Lucien goes to JG? Which branch did you go to? Heard that the one at Evans is better?

I'm thinking of sending my son to class too. He dun seems to understand what we are saying and very hard to get his attention. At home he also play alone, like not learning much. Apart from bao bao, he is not able to express his wants. Not sure if this is normal for bb at this age. That's why I want to send him to sch so that he can interact and socialise with other kids.

Mummies have any other recommendations? I'm also looking at GUG.

limlim,

hahaha.. i'm still thinking whether to send him for the chinese one! and Jo doesn't seem at all interested in the art work!

last week i took his hand to spread the paint, he looked at his hand, looked at me, then looked at his hand again!!! he cried lor!!! hahaha...

Jas: yes. Some babies don't like the feeling of paint on their hands. But usually the younger ones blur blur, they still will try. My class have a 15 mth old toddler who hates paint aso. So the younger you expose them the less adverse they are to new things bah. Got one week is sand play , some babies also don't like the feeling of sand. But Lucien just play happily in the sandbox .

Jojo: Evans road no more . They shifted to Rochester Mall.

limlim,

seems like Rochester is so much more fun!!! we dun have sand play nor water play leh! hehee... Lucien really seem to be enjoying himself!

Oh...I didn't know that Evans road no more. Cos their webbie only put Orchard Forum. If Rochester Mall it's better for mi as I leave at west side.

Sand/water play only available at Rochester?

I'm not very sure as each semester differs. Not sure if every semester have sand/water play or not. And I've never been to Forum before, all I know is forum is eng and Rochester mall is mandarin.

Jojo

At this age it is perfectly all right for our babies not to understand us. They are not even 1yo....cannot expect them to understand us liao lah. Just keep talking to your child. He will listen n absorb. Not all babies have the same advanced skills. He maybe developing somewhere somehow for now. So different area different level of skillset. It all depends on what the brain wants to develop now.

Now at this stage they are bz exploring. So maybe to us, they dun listen to us when we call or hard to get his attention.才你都傻

Going to classes may not help? Imho lots of interaction with parents and play is all they need now. Their job is to play. Thru play they learn. U go gug, its all structured play for babies now

You can google baby checklist by mth and see if your baby is 'on par' or not

jojo- yes, agreed with pixie... right now what is importantly is the constant communication with your child. doesnt matter they understand what you talking about not..but that should not prevent you from talking to them.. i rem reading somewhere is that all the child requires is the 5-10mins a day where he gets to play and interact with you, that is enought...

like for Janelle, what we did currently is that pil will talk/bring her out like to supermarket , ntuc to see real objects/ let her listen to music during the day (diff context of learning & interaction), than at night, we will sit down and let her play with her books(show her some objects at the same time), than as time goes by, you can start to see that they are responding to you. like now she can start associate the word you said to the book and point out correctly. so i believed constant comm is definitely impt and this is easily achievable...

diff bb react diff, so dont be overly concern if your kid doesnt know how to express out..

eh...i agreed with pixie too..

they are really too young to understand anything or everything. its based on their observation only.

u give them practically anything, they also will touch.

but of cos, if have time & money, can still go ahead la..personal preference.

like kiefer, the teachers keep repeating and repeating the twinkle star song, and then show him the movement using the fingers, then he managed to learn in school, now is the if you happy song, clap the hands, he also learning to clap..

so its just repeating and repeating.

rest and relax now la mummies...dont stress yourself and the baby now...

to me, the longer i need to teach the better leh...

more things to do lor.

Pixel, allets, 2Ks: Thanks for your valuable advise. We do talk and play with baby. But cos bb is with my mum most of the time and my mum seldom play with him or bring him out, I worry that he's not learning much. However, he likes to play with other kids and I feel that he learns better with other kids. Maybe he finds daddy and mummy too boring..haha.

Like what 2Ks say, no need to stress over the baby. Last time when I see parents sending their child to classes at such a young age, I will think why need to be so kiasu...should let the little ones enjoy their childhood. But now as a mummy, I'm also so worry.

Ok...I need to slow myself down and enjoy the time with my little precious.

Jojo, my boy mostly ignore me when I call him, don't want to wave bye, everything just depends on his mood. I prob don't look like a fun toy in front of him plus he only associate the word 'milk' with me.

^5 2ks! My boy is clapping along with if you happy -his dad taught him that while on short daily 10min car ride to the nanny. they will eventually pick up something. He's now on twinkle star. I guess it's tough if the daytime caregiver is unable to spend much time on interacting with the child, some may not know how to or simply don't have the spare time.

We try to bring our boy out for nature walks, gardens, parks and beach on weekends. Teach him about the surrounding and keep him in touch with the nature. I guess that for us, that's what imp now, just free play with mum and dad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jojo: u have a long long time to stress down the years ok...so now, enjoy the 'free' time that u dont have to teach yet.

when they about 2-3 yrs old, and all the "why" "how" "where" come along, then u go think about how to answer/guide/teach them ok.

enjoy them still 'baby-ish' now la..

whenever i look at kiefer i will think, hey why are u growing soooo fast...

he is like walking already but its like, hey why so fast...crawling is cute..LOL

they wont be crawling for life, so i am enjoying him as he is now...

MINUS the seizures..

mimimo: the thing is REPEAT and REPEAT, i think they learn that way...

no need to specially go parks or what de...

on the way walking home also can teach, u can tell him where is the tree where is the leave, let him touch the leave, and next time u ask him where is the tree and leave, and he will look upwards or where it is de..

u try...it works,

babies are like sponge, u tell, they absorb

little M progess -

wave bye - dont want to wave bye ...force him to wave bye ...he will say "bye" instead of wave lo ...

clapping - till now still hvnt master the skill [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

walking - cannot stand unassisted

simple instruction - ask him to get the toy and pass it to me ....he can carry out simple instruction...

fridge magnet - his favourite past time activities

I find his progress is slow ...

RE: twinkle star song

think he is getting tired of this song...last nite when i sang this song (bedtime song) and he shouted out "NO" ...lolx ...

ST,

his progress where got slow!!! least he's saying all the words!!! my boy has golden mouth lor!!! he uses his mighty finger to point to the things he wants!!! hahahaa...

but he does mumble words.. just that each time i only heard him saying once! or maybe twice for the word BIRD? hahahaa...

i cheeky mommy ah.. sometimes i ask.."where is your penis?" he will look very shy leh! hahaa... n he sometimes sees me nude lor.. is it okie?

ST, i PM u...

Hmmm....my boy also slow but i guess its ok bah...i enjoying the "freedom" i have else when he start walkin i goto chase him liao...

come to think abt it..my boy sometimes also ignore me...or look blur blur at me when i talk to him...haha...like talking to the wall but its ok bah i guess they trying increase their vocabulary also bah...i was just telling some mummies a month ago, my boy til now stil need to blend his food else he choke..whereas most of the babies here dont need to blend liao..so i guess my boy is lazy to chew or he still learning loh..so i slow down abit..afterall our babies not yet one yr old mah..

so u all start / finish the 1st bd party plan liao???

me havent book caterer, balloons, goodie bags, bd clothes yet..only managed to book the venue and design of cake but havent decided what flavour...what else i have to do??? i havent take him for photoshoot yet..now searching..

did i miss out anything that i need to do before his BD?

babybride: dont worry la. all babies progress differently..

kyler last time also need to cook until nua nua for him

dont have to follow the trend la...just do whatever u think necessary to plan for the birthday..

photoshoot if not urgent can later la...

Wave bye - Will wave bye to others but not everytime to ppl close to him. (He likes to show off)

Clap hands - Yes when he feels like it. If we ask him to clap, he will not (He likes to act cool)

Walking / Standing - Lazy...dun even want to try

Words: Cant speak any words yet. Only can say ah, ba, ma

Songs: Cant do the actions along to the songs, but can see the sparkle in his eyes when we sing and act to him.

Oh yes, with repeatations everyday he will learn. J has a lion toy attached to his pram. I tell him 'This is lion' everyday and now if I ask him 'Where's lion?' he will grab the lion.

Wah! Lots of kancheong mummies here!

Walking- niska can do about 5-8 steps then plop on her butt but I believe crawling is good for right brain devt so I keep planting her onnthe floor to crawl! Lol

Food- I'm seriously the laziest mummy ever! Other than salt, niska eats almost wat Sunay n the rest of us eat, when I cook I just add salt last n dish out her portion first, or I might dilute her portion, eg. If I forgot n added salt to the veggie, I'll put lots of unsalted soup n rice n a lil veggie only. Horrible right!?

Julia Gabriel: all English n Billingual classes at forum n all Chinese classes at Rochester, both have sand n water play every term

babybride: I'm still planning J's bday. Will not be anything too elaborate. Just a simple gathering at my home for family and close friends.

Buffet: Yet to confirm

Cake: Maybe will get a Jelly Cake

Decors: Simple decor. Will buy from party shop.

Clothes: Just an existing nice outfit, n new shoes

No goodies bags.

limlim...actualy my mum also say charmaine quite a champ..never throw tantrum much..just tt towards the end...so difficult to make her smile and stay put...2 hours n change more than 10 outfits also never really whine much...

n pass her morning nap and milk...so horrible this mummy..if my hubby know i torture his girl like tt sure divorce me liao...

baby bride...258 package plus 300 to buy all back..so total outlay is 558..if u wanan take...is additional 35 per headcount

pinkypink , if u r the lasiest mum, then i am worst..my daughter only ate porridge, cereal n mee sua to date...

never eat pasta, or chim chim semolina...

i forgot to tell u tt day teh one u make..she dont like [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ..she never taken anythig besides the 3 i mention....

think my son similar age got more stuff to eat..baby pasta..i think even risotto!!!

poor girl every week so busy ferrying the boy here n there..her lunch n dinner is an afterthought

waaa jaime, its expensive loh! $558 ...machaim like wedding photoshoots leh...waaaaa...but if photos come out nice..worth it hor...

if i tell my hubby, he prob kill me for spending this amt..kekeke

ya lor...during kyler time, he get to eat more variety leh, semolina, pasta, mee sua, home made nuggets, french toast, pancakes etc..

kiefer not even mee sua lor...

only porridge and cereal..

heng the ifc gave him varieties otherwise think he be choosy in food next time..

actually now at this stage its kind of the explosion stage where they accelerate their growth in certain parts only so you will see suddenly somethings they do and learn very shortly.

like what 2ks said, repeating is the key now. they dun understand logic for now so only thru repetition then will do what you want them to do....think like a lab rat.

im not saying our kids are like lab rats but put it bluntly its how you nuture them (in the lab, how you condition them). they like to please and will do whatever we repeat to them daily.

their brain is a sponge, first 5 years most crucial. if the sponge is wet, then can scrub and mop. if the sponge is dry, it will flake off or abrasive to the surface.

olso, the baby's brains are choked full of "alive" synapses, by age of 1-2 years if these certain ones are not being used, it will die off by itself, so engaging them, interaction, play play play is most important to keep these synapses alive. just to keep the alive ratio as high as possible. but hor, disclaimer ah, sure got synapses die off one, cannot hit 100% success. we have ~ 100 trillion synapses leh by adulthood

baby bride....tt's y cant tell hubby lor..

hubby doesnt know the cost...

he only know his daughter was made to go thru another photoshoot..he already roll eyes...

Jaime: bring C over another day, I make risotto n grilled chicken for her! W baby cheesecake for dessert!!

I managed to cancel my loft photoshoot tomo n book studio play! Woot!!!

i use the barley teething biscuit as the base, so crush the biscuits n mix w melted butter then let it chill.

soften cream cheese n mix until very smooth, add in pure vanilla extract, orange zest a bit of sour cream, and an egg, beat until well blended.

pour onto the base and bake at 150deg for 15 min or so until center still a bit wobbly, then chill for 2-3 hours and serve with blueberries etc.

i use this recipe as a guideline but i do adjust as i go, for babies i dont add sugar at all, creamcheese is not very tangy and my baby likes it, so it works for my kids (and me too!)

I also make it in individual cupcake cases, cuz easier to serve, can keep in fridge for 3-4 days, or u could make 2 w/o sugar and the best with so u n hubby can serve to guests etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

i am taking with family members so here's my breakdown:

Loft: 120 + 15 x3 (for additional pax) + 250 (for all unedited additional images) = 415 (but onoy one hour and 3 outfits)

play: 258 + 35 x 3 (for additional pax) + 300 (for all edited images) = 663

Around 200 difference but play is 2 hours shoot with many more outfits and you get a nice tabletop picture too.

Same Same, I only feed porridge, cereal and bread to my boy.

Wah Pinky, so good still make so many varieties for your bb and the food seems so delicious. yummy.