(2011/03) Mar 2011

Sorry all, I think I can't make it to the x'mas party already coz I have to attend my company event which coincidently falls on the same date. 2Ks, please remove my name from the list, thanks!

2Ks > Oh, okay.

Chen > trust you saw my post. Please drop me from the x'mas list and update accordingly. Thanks!

another option to stop BF is to use Basil leaves pound and apply on boobs 3 to 4 times a week..do the usual pumping still..by a few weeks should stop totally if you pump nothing come out liao..this is what I heard from Mdm Rokiah from her customers experience.. worth a try too..

i jus heard from one of the mummies who is in the same lactation room with me, she mentioned her grandma mentioned that drinking 山渣 boiled with water will cease milk production, worth to try... she say olden days ppl used this to reduce milk too...

happy wkend mummies!!!

Hi Danzel, sorry for the late response. Was v ill and coughing the last few days. Now my bb also coughs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Thanks, could you PM me the sites where i can get Nanpro2 made from Switzerland online? My girl tried Similac but hates it! So i will try Nanpro2 coming monday. She is back to her 100ml per feed... sigh.

Any mummies know how i can get my baby to sleep through the night? She sleeps around 8.30pm and wakes 5+am(!) lately. In between she wakes up 2-3 times, sometimes fidget only but sometimes fully awake not wanting milk. I have tried patting, rocking, nursing with milk, cereals for dinner and coaxing her to take more milk in the day... my hubby and I are like zombies now...

Alamak... Ppl don't get it wrong hor..

Annie, rach and me not connected one..

We didn't plan to not go to the bash together hor.. Lol

Hahaha yah... Not related... Individual reasons...

I also dunno why 2k not going...

Annie says got company event...

How to be connected... I dun work in Annie company leh.. Lol...

preloved cinch found and deal closed

thanks for all the mummies response..

Got the cinch already..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If need somemore will let u all know...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear mummy I need some help, how much milk does ur bb drink per feed when they were 2mth and how much bm did you all express per 3hrs? I am wondering if my bb is having enough ;) thanks!

Mummies... Ask your...

how do your store stock for cooking porridge?Can store in zip lock bag and freeze them? then thaw overnight before cooking?

how much to store for each pack???

Then then then, important question

What recipe for cooking stock? I know there's a lot of combination... would mummies please share with me???

Haha yah... 吃来吃去就是那几样... Actually can put whatever u want also la... So long it's fresh and nutritious foods..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Basically vege stock, chicken stock, fish stock (abit fishy), pork stock ba....

Just vary the vege used and the 料 u add to the porridge...

I nv tried freezing stock so cannot answer ur question...

But I think no need take down the nite before... Just straight away put into pot and warm it up with the grains I think... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ICic... Let say if i store in zip loc bag hor...

How to dig the stock out straight from the zip loc bag with the stock being frozen? Haha.. Will be the plastic break?

I'm wondering..

Fel, maybe try freezing the stock in ice cube trays... May be easier... Impossible to dig the portion u need fr a frozen bag ba.

No need dig leh, it will just like defrozing bm lor.. Then dun need ziploc bags la... I used those put kueh type plastic bag, bigger ones..

Ice cube tray too little leh... Need alot to me la..

Ftwm Bo bian hv to resort to freezing stock ... Haiz

2k- means you bring the frozen stock to defrost overnight first then use it to cook porridge next day?

Sian .. My part time cleaner just told me that she doesn't want help me clean the house anymore cos she found a perm job requiring hEr to work on weekends ..

Anyone got good part time cleaners to rEcommend ? For weekend only .. Available to help in jurong area (taman jurong) ? Can pm me ? TIA !!

fel

i always freeze stock, even now. even when i have maid, LOL

nowadays i make stock good for 3 days, and then portion them into viacups....avent via cups very good to use, when bb older, can store your raw food that you buy especially for them into via cups...

then separate use different via cups for the stock meat & the stock. scour the bottom of the cup with a sharp knife or scissors & also the top of the lid as well, those kena knife marks are for meat, fish etc...so all packed nicely and put in fridge. those no knife marks are usually my stock and other ingredients eg toufu, vege

thats when your E is older lah...for now, i use it to store pork and stock

for now, stock i use pork meat

chicken i dont start, i scared phlegmy

fish i avoid too coz i dont start any kind of seafood at all

you can try vegetable stock...when your E is older, can make 1 big batch

try few combo of below

carrot

celery

corn

onion (little)

broccoli

leek

tomatoes

remember, corn is very sweet, so put 1 is enough

strong smelling vegetable like leek and celery cannot put too much else the smell very off for your child. i dump in more broccolli, carrots, and ALL vegetable left in my fridge so that i clear my old cargo in the fridge.

once the stock is done (must simmer at least 45mins), plunge the pot in cold water, best is ice water. this way, you force the temperature to go down. this is because bacteria thrive in warm temperature so plunging the temperature of the stock ensure as little bacteria growth as possible. once reached room temperature, i will portion them into via cups. 1 full cup can cook 2 meals (for now).

when our babies grow up, the stock can be used as a base for porridge, soup, stir fry etc....very useful

hths

Pixie - Wow... Your input is super useful to me!!!

Haha...

Good idea to use viacup if no need to freeze... I'm just thinking of freezing for lazy days and busy days... lol...

What i wanna ask is,

I work

- 7am - 4pm (reach home 5pm already)

- 1pm - 10pm (reach home 11pm already)

- 9pm - 8am

How to cook porridge for baby ah...

My own method that i come up with is

If i work 7am - 4pm, i will wake up 5am boil porridge and then put into Tiger Food jar, let it "boil and cook" through the afternoon... Come back already make heat up a little and add ingredients? Hope still can have enough time to let the ingredient to become nua nua..

If work afternoon shift 1-10pm not too bad, i can cook everything in the morning and put into food jar... Just that dunno if my hubby will feed him properly a not...

Cos it seems like some food need to grate la.. This la that la... Also don't know husband will follow instruction a not... Keep telling me to feed him outside food... lol... I scold him...

Porridge, my worse nightmare... lol... I also want to give him home cooked food as long as possible....

Do your give fruit puree on top of porridge?

Mummies - if I add 1 whole sweet potatoe into porridge, will it be too sweet for janelle ? Any side effect of sweet potatoe ?

Janelle typicall weekend poeridge goes like this :

1) 1 slice of pork w 1 tbsp of rice, pour hot water into ceramic bowl n put bowl into slow cooker to cook on high temp .

2) about 2-3 hours later ( I let it cook n once awhile go see), remove meat n let porridge cook on auto .

3) prepare sweet potatoe or pumpkin (at least for the past 2 weekends) into Philip steam n flip . Once steamed, add in broccoli or veg n steam awhile until broccoli soft.

4) dice that threadfin fish n put into porridge.

5) n blend the sweet potato n broccoli .

6) pour porridge into blender n blend a while .

7) pour half portion into tiger food jar n serve the rest.

Realized that for food jar, if portion too little, wun keep hot for long . Yest my food jar betrayed me n in he end stil need to heat porridge befor serve .

Frozen stock - I never do stock cos lazy n mil said the pork is sweet enough .

fel:

7am - 4pm (reach home 5pm already)

this one use fire to cook, will be faster...

buy those xin mi, it will cook even faster.

before u leave home, bring down yr fish to defroze 1st... cooking over stove prob will take u half an hour, then add in your chopped spinach or chopped carrot..

if u dont want, add in diced pumpkin/sweet potato, when cooking, just mash them

- 1pm - 10pm (reach home 11pm already)

cook over fire before u leave house, then hubby can warm up.

if u scared he dunno how to do it, skip the adding vege at later part. set this meal with those everything dump in type of ingredients e.g silverfish/pork.

- 9pm - 8am

this one cook everything in the morning before u leave house? u can try to cook dump the porridge in the porridge jar...but what i see is, it wont be hot at night too means u got to warm it up too..

can hubby do it?

of not, suggest u cook the porridge before u leave home in a pot and just get him to warm up...

erm...i dont see a need to steam the veges then dump in the pot leh...

i usually dice it then throw in together to cook...

except chopped green vege, this one i add in last..

vege works the same..the more u put in, its lost the nutrients already, so should add last..

only those root veges can add in, it will make the porridge nicer

hello mummies who are using medela freestyle.

do u all see this carbon color dust when u all open the back cap? the cap that closes up the battery compartment. Medela US say it's from the battery and it's non poisionous and they mentioned i could do a direct replacement if i bring my set down. but it's kinda impossible lar. then i called Medela service centre here they say the dust come from the motor and it would cost $140 if they open up for assessment. and a replacement battery costs $169!!! how how? my unit still working properly, but i'm a bit paranoid with the dust seen :c sianz

Stock

my mum nv cooks stock for my gal's porridge. she jus add the fresh treadfin or pork slices and grated/chopped veg into my gal's porridge. so wats the diff of adding stock and not adding? i ever tried the porridge and it's alr quite sweet liao. still need to add stock? if stock is added then do u all still add meat to the porridge?

2Ks, i saw the sliverfish u mentioned at ntuc the other day, do u chop the sliverfish when u add it to the porridge or jus add them in whole? i see the sliverfish like quite big and long (like the length of a finger). can bb eat the sliverfish when it's added to the porridge or it's for adding sweetness to the porridge only?

sori arh, early morning so loo soo alr haha

zenia: those silverfish from ntuc very fishy one...u got to parboiled them then u keep..

i usually buy mine from market...my that side the market sells already parboiled one and it look smaller..

i usually chop it then add it..

can eat one..

yday kyler just had silverfish with dried scallop and pumpkin porridge.

actually up to individual whether to cook stock or not..for me, i add in a parboiled pc of spare rib in the porridge...

if i am too free then i think i will make stock..see how..

my hub already complained that i am biased..

Zenia: My freestyle also have the black dust. It has been like that for a long time. I just use a piece of tissue to wipe off the dust before n after using. Since the milk won't come into contact with the motor, I guess it should be safe ba.

Wow lots of mummy already start on porridge, mine still on cereal.

try getting the silverfish from japan one... the seller claims it's sweeter lah! hahaha... anyway, i i will mesh the silver fish into the porridge before giving it to Jo...

I am enjoying cooking for Jovan! hahahaa...

Little Janelle cant take those soft porridge without blending... she will push the food out... am i pampering her by blending ? i need to blend half the porridge and mix the rest. realised that she only like to take porridge that is similar texture like cereal, or a litte coarser than cereal... any grainy de or small pieces of fish, she push them out. why is this so ? not ready for coarser food or being fussy ?

but anyway, as long as she eat i happy liao.. her appetite not bad for yest.. hb said he keep on seeing her eat and drink the entire day.. haha... her yest feeding goes like this :

9am : 30 ml of milk .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

10am: bathed and had 2 scoops of cereal and she finished them.

12 noon: 120ml of milk. make 200ml but cant finish.

~1pm: porridge, small bowl and she finished them all.

2pm: nap time, took 160ml of milk.

5.30pm : small bowl of porridge

7.45pn : 200ml of milk and nap.

10.15pm: last fed of 200ml and into zzz land til 6.46am .

2ks - previously you mentioned can buy the pigeon instant porridge. any idea get from where ? thought of letting Janelle sample first so that she wun reject when we go on holiday.

2Ks, noted on the sliverfish... i also ask mum to put spare rib in bb porridge but she say wait scared got the bone fragments... haiz, so she used the lean pork instead.

Jojo, my gal don like cereal. tt y i started her on porridge when she turns 7mths.

Jaster, where to buy the ones from Japan? cold storage?

I am here to collect $ for the christmas party!

Please see below for the price list:

Adult: $25

Helper: $11

Kids: FOC

The price inclusive rental, foods, game n prize.

Please kind trf to POSB saving 151-12165-9 by this FRI 21/10/2011. Pls use ur nick as ur ib nick so easy for me to trace and pm or email me at [email protected] after u had trf as I might nt coming to forum often.

Please use ur nick n the amt you had trf as the subject for the email.

Example: blurjen and $25

Thank you v much!!! See u all at the Christmas party!!!

zenia: jaster mentioned ones are those dried type..

i am saying fresh type..

the spare rib i put in i got par boiled with hot water 1st..

actually lean pork also ok la...

oh, hmmm... i din realised she say de is dried ones... i prefer the fresh ones... heehee. cos i keep feeling dried ones will be preserved by salt. and my mum ask if she can put dried scallop in bb's porridge. i tell her cannot... haha, is can anot i also dunno. i jus think i don like preserved stuffs in her porridge. like ikan bilis also cannot... haha

pinkybubbles, boymum, lai_lai_ and alyssa, can pm me your emails, bb's DOB and contacts?

serenetjl, pm me your contact pls?

Thank you mummies!

zenia,

same, i also stop my MIL to put those dried ones as those alot of salt. Dried scallop I think can bah, not sure though.

My boy had his first taste of "hun" (Meat), on Sat, I dun knw what my MIL cook, and by the time I found out, the meat porridage already inside his mouth. His face expression was so funny when he ate his 1st mouth of pork meat porridage.

Raffles Place Mummies,

anyone interested to get anything fr amazon.com (FREE DOMESTIC SHIPPING items)? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pls PM me asap... thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

matched_gal

"Medela freestyle black powder"

I also encountered the same scenario. Not sure what it is.. But I also think it is from the battery. Local distributor wants to earn from assessment so they say is from motor? hmmm...

Anyway, like you all say, its still functioning well.. so I ignored the problem and continue using. haha..

But I put a tissue paper underneath. It has already stained the pump cover.. I can't get rid of the stains.. anyone knows how to get rid?

zenia, 2Ks...

ehhh.. not sure if it's dried ones... it's white in color though.. hahahaa... anyway.. i tasted the silverfish when i use hot water to wash it... it's not saltish... but i will soak the silverfish in hot water 2 times before throwing it into the pot...

esnow,

you want to try using toothpaste to remove the stains? =)