(2011/03) Mar 2011

2Ks, lolz... but it's seriously dam painful... maybe it's becos it's at the bottom part of the boob tt y... AM TRYING V HARD TO BEAR WITH THE PAIN AND RUB LOR!!! sian... i'm pumping as usual, dunno y the ducts still blocked :c:C

Prestrabb, i think mine alr over warranty period liao ba... anyway i alr wrote to medela yesterday. see wat they reply me lor. oh well, i dunno where the dust come from lo, cos the battery compartment is kinda divided from the motor de. sigh, i still need it for a few more months lor. it better don fail me, else i'll die without it. my manual Avent one CMI, only two drops came out when i tried to express when i first bought it. haha

zenia: i also notice the black dust after you mentioned...

bo bian lor...even i lao neh neh also will have...so what i do is i pump longer and rub and press...like nie dai ownself lor

jaime: he dont la...but i give him the mushrooms, prawns in it..he ok leh...he takes otah last week...

2Ks, thanks for the compliment! Ok will apps you when I wanna cook... You wanna buy the si shen powder since now got discount at Tamp, can help you get if you want...

Tom yum soup *slurp* I nv cook before, next time got chance I try... I don't mind cooking if time permits... must train myself to cook else tabao eat until sianz also... some more sbw got not much variety of nice food lor... weekdays usually cook our own dinner then bb some days porridge some days puree or really tired then just give milk... weekend usually I don't cook for ourselves cos will be gg out or to my mum place, only cook bb porridge, stocks and puree so ok la do-able... next time got #2 then I duno if I still can manage...

Zenia, I thought the motor warranty is 1 yr or even more? Our babies havent turn 1 years old lei. I was shaking the battery then and seems that the dust did not come out from there. I read online that it could be the " internal motor brushes" that caused the black dust. Like u, I was even paranoid about the blackdust getting into the tubings.

XFZ: thanks for asking...not yet giving leh...

my cupboard is full la...their discount always have one...not urgent..

ya la..SBW boring can...i eat until dunno what to eat...so weekdays try to cook lor..weekends usually out mah..

quick meals la..

if got #2 then think how la...now dont think too much 1st...

Yeaa..!! Finally I read some posts which I can get related to! Haha..

RE: Medela Motor Black Dust

I also have the same prob since donkey months ago, but I don't see the black dust finding its way into the tubing leh, so I continued.

Babybride, I also haven go into porridge stage, still giving cereal and puree.

Actually I don't know when and how to start, but by then I think I can privately apps some mummies because very time consuming to read back the history here. Hahaha..

2Ks, yup SBW food boring... hehe yes dun think now when it happen then think lol...

*yawning* in the ofc now... do report until sianz... need to submit appraisal tml, duno what to write...

Milktea - I just started porridge over the weekend... Turn out ok... As long as cook till nua nua my baby can swallow... No problem.. I use the smallest slow cooker also...

2k - Wow what recipe do you have to share?

Your threadfin, silverfish, spinach, eggs recipe is cook for baby or adult soup???

Got any adult soup recipe to share? Cos im not a adventurous person...

fel, am... like... dun know when to start porridge leh, bcoz I haven let him try out all the puree yet leh. Heehee..

I been wanted to let him try out FM too... still haven also.

Want to gradually switch him to FM for the last feed then slowly stop BF too.

At the same time, I scare I bu shi de to stop latching him totally.

Sigh.

fel: XFZ was asking me cook si shen can add what so i told her can add what lor..

soups many kinds leh...

1. lotus root with peanuts/bei qi/ba jiao yu, ming mu yu

2. watercres soup

3. wintermelon soup with yang sheng roots

4. 3 colours eggs yin choy soup

5. huai shan soup

6. fen ge soup with nan xing/bei xing

7. szechuan cai soup

8. chicken feet with peanuts soup

9. black bean soup

10. chicken herbal soup

11. ABC soup

etc...

Milktea - Same sentiments... I also didn't know when to start porridge also..

I also felt that there's so many puree i haven let him try out... So many combination and so many food out there... I see Linda's FB food adventure picutures and combination, i feel like Eden missed out a lot... Haha...

But he started porridge in school last monday.. and his teachers said he love eating porridge, thats why i decided to start over the weekend lor... Also headache to cook everyday...

I also haven let Eden drink FM lei... Other than <10x of Wakodo fm when i was doing night shift few months back... I threw the tin when i moved house...

Now i got Friso, Nan HA and one more don't know what brand sitting in my cup board waiting for me... Haha...

My supply getting lesser also... But still enough for Eden la... I'm getting lazy n very tired... Yawn....

XFZ - You also use the thermal pot huh?

I wanna buy one too!! Hope buy liao i better be hard working and cook man... If not it will be waste of money... NEed to buy big big thermal pot.

Cos my slow cooker is 3.2 litre... Another pot is 3L..

Yest i had to cook two pots together... One for husband and me... Another for Eden's stock.. So ma fun...

Need to buy a big fat pot soon...

Do your add salt inside soup or what do your add inside to make it taste nicer?

2ks..just pulling ur leg..coz everytime we order soup we also need to consider the tot..

tt day we order pig stomach soup..the aunty say wil be abit spicy..then we just order..he can take also.hahaha..but train him up til the level of tom yum soup.

haahah.he can take nasi lemak with a little chilli lor., prata with little curry...haahahah

fel, ya lor, ma fan to cook seperate soups. I encounter that too. But if you don't add salt or soy sauce to yr soup, and ingredients are bb friendly, can share with Eden ma.

fel: no need to cook separate soups la...

just that pot for eden one dont add seasoning first...then for yourself, then u add seasoning lor..

that is what i did for kyler too..

i scoop up one big bowl first before i put seasoning..

jaime: ya la...i like him to try everything..that day he ate the man tou dipped in chilli crab sauce..

pig stomach kyler also eat leh...

curry fish head also ok with abit of sauce...

prata havent try...good idea..i shall try soon

fel and the rest, my prob is... dun laugh!!

I don't know how to do marketing leh.

Whahahahaa!!!

Once I wanted to try buy ribs..

I have to apps some of the mummies to ask which rib should I buy bcoz so many names!!

Si mi spare ribs la, prime ribs la.. wahlau..

Then I bot the Happycall pan too! Buwhahahaa!! Coz I really wanted to learn cooking then my Hb can enjoy home cooked food too.

But... the pan is still in the box.

I don't know where to find time leh. Sianz.

But am a very slow person unlike 2Ks.

I need 1hr to take my lunch.

My colleagues told me they are surprised that I am still eating so slow after I have baby. Wahlau..

2k - No la... The thing is i hardly add seasoning to my soup one lei... lol... My husband always complain my soup super bland... Haha...

I cook two pots of soup yest cause one pot just enough to store 3-4 shares of stock only...

Then another pot for us to eat n drink lor...

Wa, suddenly the thread has so much porridge talk. I think I am very fortunate coz all ingredients (cod/thread fish, pork meat, veggie, wolfberries, etc) for porridge are bought and stored in my fridge by my mum. I just decide what porridge to cook for Javier and take out the desired ingredients to cook during weekend. So far I only cook fresh stock. This weekend I going to try prepare n freeze stocks! Coz I find myself no time to cook porridge if I wanna go out during weekend. Bought a steam n blend to make more puree too! I wanna be more hardworking in making Javier's food life colorful! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie and other mummies - sometimes i envy your so much to have mom or mil to cook and care for babies... I wish i got a little help lor...

Regarding cod - Can give baby codfish huh? Wolfberries also??

pooh bear, i have tried giving Enfapro and Wakodo. Both same reaction, one sip and "vomit". For Enfa, he really vomited, for Wakodo, he almost vomited and we quickly took the teat out. Wow, your company so nice to let you pump 3x?

Fel

Depend on Eden appetite

Wolfberry- is good for eye sight. Not everyday eat la

Cod fish - if Eden eat threadfin before, u can occasionally change cod fish which is higher in omega fatty aso

Infact if Eden can eat well, u can start to be adventurous w your recipe.

The onli thing I avoid is peanut. So when cooking lotus soup, I skipped the cuttlefish n peanut.

And chicken is no mo cos it will trigger phelgm for Clara

Currently I change her from enfapro to isomil cos her poo is super hard and she has the phelgm sound very badly.

Bern 2 weeks and her poo is very frequent n smooth!

Her phelgm reduced a lot as all poo out plus I fed her e the yin hou zou ( from eu yan seng)

So if Eden got sensitive airways, don let him take liang veggies such as celery ( can trigger leg cramp when older),

Watercress, melon soup.,, those cold one don let him take

Fel: maybe u can dump more red dates, wolfberries more ribs into your soup.. Should b better

But sometimes depends on the ingredients too like lotus root, some lotus roots not nice one..

Cod fish is very oily fish.. I never give until after 1 year old.... But of cos it's up to individual..

I don't like to give too "complicated" food to baby..

Chris: good job!! Jiayou! Start learning now la, it's not too late.. And u r really slow... Got to speed up la...

Annie: envy u lor got mum to help u.. Me everything got to do myself.. Sob sob

SN, I try to pump 3x at work if I can find time. Otherwise just 2x. Gotta rush & sometimes pump & work at the same time if I can find a room with computer. Keeping fingers crossed that my bb will take fm easily.

Poohbear, u might wanna try fm before u go to australia? I read that some bb reject fm so much that they go straight to fresh milk once they are older than

1 yo..... But i think fresh milk may not b as beneficial as fm.

2k- I tot u mention for bb.

Anyway just to drop the note since fel is not those step in kitchen n know every thing type.

U n I know but other may not know

No offenden hor!

Agreed that cod fish are oily fish but aso ex than threadfin due to the high omega fatty. For lean bb, they can eat occasionally. Not every day.

I read abt high omega fatty fishes- best not to give too much to bb girls aso it can attritube to their birth of their young one on a higher risk of abnormalities. But not on boy so far as boys metabolism is higher than girl.

Moderate will do but not over

good morning mummies...

just watch the video on the 2 yr old girl in china...

my heart sink when watching it..

cant imagine china people are sooo heartless...

Yeah very upset w these mankind

I watched till insomnia these 2 nites

When I asked bran tutor who is from china,

She told me is a common stupid law from the country that dead ppl , the driver pay minimum. If injured, the driver pay alot till like life time. So she was so upset that the idiot 1st driver must have purposely reverse to make sure she die!

Very ipset

Yes, the video clip was so shocking.

But the law is actually the same here. If the person dies, the damage that the driver has to pay is less. If injured, the driver has to pay for all the treatment & compensation for life time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

tt y i nv go and click and watch, i knew it'll be heart breaking to see.

i did let my gal eat salmon and she loves it leh. her mouth smells of dha after she eats lar. but she had it on different occassions cos her diet is mainly threadfin. how much is too much? like everyday eat one portion of oily fish is too much izit? how to judge?

btw mummies, did u noe that Horlick will reduce bm supply? i had a bad blocked duct yesterday and didnt wan my boobs to be too engorged when i express, so i took Horlick. true enough, my supply dropped by abt 50ml per pump... haha. my colleague told me tt Horlick will decrease my bm supply and i din believe so i tried it out and it 'works' keke.

I saw that news too. My heart n tears dropped. It's really heart breaking. Even the thought of it is very depressing. Hope Singapore will not become like this with all the influx of these ppl.

Zenia

Same here, I didn't want to watch the video cos it was too upsetting. Dha got smell de? Haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I haven't started fish though, so can't advise on that.

About Horlicks reducing supply, I've heard about it but thought that it was a myth. Huh it may not be so after all.

Afternoon Mummies!!

fel - yes I bought the Tiger thermal pot... I KS la buy the big one which is 5.2 litres cos during the promo at Taka this 5.2l litres pot more discount then the other sizes and I like that the lid is sprung up type and it has a handle meaning can potluck, cook liao can bring the whole pot out hehe... then sometimes my family will come my house for dinner on weekends so the big pot easier for me to cook soup... this size really useful to cook stock...

like 2Ks say use more ribs to make your soup tastier, or add one 'mi zhao' into the soup will help sweeten it then you just need to season with some salt then ok liao... then like lotous roots, my MIL say buy those got soil one taste better and the soup won't turn out so dark in colour as compared to those already washed and vacuum packed as sold in NTUC...

2Ks - Is celery really liang like what Linlee mention? I gave my gal veg stock that has celery in it... I saw the video too yday... very traumatising, can't the image out of my mind... the 2 driver and all the passer-by are just inhuman...

Mimimo, the dha I eat is those gel type... Got a lil smell lo...

My China vendor ever told me, life in China is 不值钱 de. Tt y foxxcon got so many ppl commit suicide cos the $ tt will b paid out to their families will b much more than they would earn in years... So I guess the case of this accident.

Lin and other mummies...

For the cooking of stock recipes..

Besides these few... Any other to share??

1) Ikan Iblis Stock -

2) ABC pork Rib Stock

3) Dried Scallop/FIsh bone stock

4) Spinanch/ Carrot/ Corn stock

5) Pork Rib spinach Stock

6) Carrot/ Potatoe Stock

For scallops hor, will the soup be "smelly n fishy"??? A bit not sure about this..

XFZ - OKay... I also think i need to get a BIG pot to cook soup and stock!!! lol...

Mi Zhao = Honey dates??

Your 5.2 litres thermal pot how much?

fel - I not sure if it is call honey dates hehe... it is much bigger in size as compared to normal red dates and its is golden brown in colour with some white powder coating... I buy before from Fuhua and ZTP but ZTP ones looks better and bigger =) its a natural sweetener for soups.... I think the thermal pot cost ard $260+ during promo when I buy...

whoa.. all mummies talking about porridge.. my ger even though started on porridge, but mil not adventurous de...everyday same menu... can copy down these recipies and pass to her..

ask you all ar, can babies eat frog leg now? haiz.. mil go hear say that bb can eat frog leg so that leg will be strong.. ask me can feed janelle not... how i know.. i told her cannot lah... heehee..

my mil, very good mil, but a little prob is that she like to hear say from her aunty friends.. yest showed me a stack of VCDs saying that good for bb.. when feeding porridge time can on and let J wathc... i flipped through is all those barney, dora cartoons.. educational meh ? so i told hb rather not.. cos also dont want J to have the habit of glueing to TV... haiz...

anyone of you tried giving bb biscuits? bought Baby bites.. but is it salty ? J doesnt like the Heinz teething biscuit i bought.. take and throw loh! but according to mil, J can guai guai sit and eat the Baby bite biscuit... waiting for my puffs so that can give her...

porridge - i saw from FB some babies eat a big bowl sia.. for my J, i realised she eat v little. about 1 tbsp of rice grain (flat flat), with 1 piece of treadfin, si sen powder, 1 brocoli / veg. we have been telling mil to feed more but her execuse is she cant finish... aiyo..

watched the 2yo girl knocked down ... damn sad loh.. hopefully this girl will pull through and survive...

i just love our march mummies... so informative and beneficial to 1st time mummies like me!

any upcoming gatherings ? realised that haven attended 1 since June....

I bought Wakado, Pigeon, Farley's Rusk, Heinz Biscotti , Moringa and the Happybellies Puff for L. He likes the puff and those Jap biscuits a lot. The bicotti so-so nia. But Jap biscuits mostly is savory while ang mo brand is sweet de.

Fel, you can train yourself up n be like a super mom like 2Ks!

2Ks, I really admire you for being such a superwoman/wife/mummy. I know not easy with 2 kids still can cook and best is you don't have a maid! Whenever my mum didn't come over to help me, I feel very busy and pek chek to do many things!

I saw the China girl video and I felt teary loh! Ya, I think the van driver purposely ran over her again to make sure she die in order to save the fine! He still got cheek to tell the reporter he turned in only after confirming the girl died in coz like that only pay SGD 4,000! Damn bugger!

Fel, I think the no. of stocks you mentioned already enough to cook yummy porridge for Eden for a month liao lah...

No porridge for my baby yet but reading all this porridge - talk has been making me crave for porridge! Especially after the rain!

I think I'll leave the cooking of porridge to my mum! Shall note down the recipes and share with my mum..

Thanks lots, mummies!!

Really wonder if my baby will ever sleep thru the night! These few days her new pattern is to sleep across my tummy! Sleep one hour then will whine/whimper/cry till I cry her and let her find a comfortable spot across my tummy!! Arghh. Can't turn on the aircon cos of her easily congested nose and now it's so warm when she sleeps across my tummy! She gets all sweaty on her back and neck. Sigh.

Celery is consider a bit liang as I didn't know cos last time Alway gave my boy eat since young then when he was abt2 then he alway woke up leg cramp n pain.

Bought him see the Chinese physician and that how I know

Fel- mi Zhao is honey date but mi Zhao is good for lung and dry throat also

If u feel heaty, then u don put red dates cos red date is heaty just like when u do confinement everyday eat red date

U have the 1st book? Something like that? I dint buy but I know they got quite good recipe huh?

haven got time to catch up with the archives in the thread... juz scanned thro n looks like quite a lot started on porridge liao... mi haven started! like Milktea, i don't haf any clue about cooking bb porridge... hahaa...

saw the news on the china toddler too... saw the video online but i dare not click on it... sure veri sad de... haiz... wat's happening to the society man...

ooo... izzit too late to join the xmas party? chen i pm u okie? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]